DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geiser (EP 2033725 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Geiser discloses a bar feeder (20) configured to push a rod-shaped workpiece into a hollow main shaft (4) having a holding mechanism at one end, from another end, the bar feeder (20) being arranged in a work room (WR) that is arranged adjacent to a processing room where the main shaft (4) is installed, the work room (WR) being provided with a work mechanism (50) including a transport mechanism (40) configured to move an article to and from the processing room, and the bar feeder (20) being arranged at a position where at least a portion thereof overlaps with the work mechanism (50) in a top view or a front view.
Regarding claim 2, Geiser discloses a workpiece stocker (10) capable of accommodating a plurality of the rod-shaped workpieces (18); a workpiece support (23) configured to support the rod-shaped workpiece (18) so as to be movable toward the main shaft (4); a work feeder (21) configured to retrieve the rod-shaped workpiece (18) from the workpiece stocker and guide the retrieved rod-shaped workpiece to the workpiece support; and a workpiece pushing mechanism (i.e., pusher, not shown) configured to push the rod-shaped workpiece (18) supported by the workpiece support into the main shaft (4).
Regarding claim 4, Geiser discloses a machine tool comprising a processing room where a hollow main shaft (4) for holding a workpiece using a holding mechanism provided at one end of the main shaft (4) is installed; and a work room (WR) arranged adjacent to the processing room (PR), wherein the work room includes a work mechanism (50) including a transport mechanism (40) for moving an article (28) to and from the processing room, and the bar feeder arranged at a position at which at least a portion thereof overlaps with the work mechanism in a top view or a front view.
[AltContent: textbox (PR)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (WR)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hohne (DE 10 2011 082 839 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hohne discloses a bar feeder (26) configured to push a rod-shaped workpiece into a hollow main shaft (14) having a holding mechanism at one end, from another end, the bar feeder (26) being arranged in a work room (WR) that is arranged adjacent to a processing room where the main shaft (14) is installed, the work room (WR) being provided with a work mechanism (24) including a transport mechanism (34) configured to move an article (18.1) to and from the processing room (PR), and the bar feeder (26) being arranged at a position where at least a portion thereof overlaps with the work mechanism (12) in a top view or a front view.
Regarding claim 3, Hohne discloses wherein the processing room (PR) is a processing room of a multitasking machine including a first main shaft (14) for holding a workpiece, a second main shaft (28) arranged so as to oppose the first main shaft, and a tool main shaft (30, 32) for processing the workpiece, and the rod-shaped workpiece is pushed into the second main shaft (28).
Regarding claim 4, Hohne discloses a machine tool comprising: a processing room (PR) where a hollow main shaft (14) for holding a workpiece using a holding mechanism provided at one end of the main shaft is installed; and a work room (WR) arranged adjacent to the processing room, wherein the work room includes a work mechanism (24) including a transport mechanism (34) for moving an article to and from the processing room, and the bar feeder (26) arranged at a position at which at least a portion thereof overlaps with the work mechanism (12) in a top view or a front view.
[AltContent: textbox (PR)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (WR)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiser (EP 2033725 A1) in view of Ebihara et al. (US 2016/0214805 A1).
Geiser discloses all the claimed subject matter except for wherein a shutter for allowing communication and shutting off communication between the processing room and the work room is provided on a pushing path of the rod-shaped workpiece pushed by the bar feeder.
Ebihara discloses a shutter (4; Fig. 2; [0033]) for allowing communication and shutting off communication between a processing room (6) and a work room (5) is provided on a pushing path of a workpiece pushed (24) by a bar feeder (20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a shutter for allowing communication and shutting off communication between the processing room and the work room of Geiser is provided on a pushing path of the rod-shaped workpiece pushed by the bar feeder, in light of the teachings of Ebihara, in order to partition the different chambers from one another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached PTO-892 are cited to show a bar feeder and machine tools.
/JERMIE E COZART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
January 5, 2026