DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the reply received 08/21/2026. After consideration of applicant's amendments and/or remarks:
Examiner withdraws rejections under 35 USC § 101.
Claims 40-59 are rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40, 41, 43-49, and 51-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodagar, U.S. PG-Publciation No. 2021/0320986 A1 (hereinafter SODAGAR), in view of Kolachala et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2018/0336062 A1 (hereinafter KOLACHALA), further in view of Leonelli et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2009/0070121 A1 (hereinafter LEONELLI).
Claim 40
SODAGAR discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor, and at least one non transitory-memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform. ¶ 0041: The workflow manager includes “at least one processor and memory that stores code” for performing its functions.
SODAGAR discloses process a task-group object that identifies a plurality of tasks corresponding to a plurality of task groups. ¶ 0077, Table 8: The general descriptor is an object containing a taskgroups array. Each group entry identifies its id and tasks. ¶ 0063, Table 5: The workflow description includes a table defining task groups by group identifiers and corresponding task or function instance identifiers. ¶ 0039: The manager receives the workflow description, instantiates the described tasks and connects them according to its connection map.
SODAGAR discloses define one or more task group types based on the task-group object. ¶ 0062: A Task Group is a “new logical entity” comprising a collection of tasks or function instances and having its own identifier. ¶ 0063, Table 5: The workflow description defines task groups through group identifiers and lists of their member tasks or function instances.
SODAGAR discloses wherein the one or more task group types comprise one or more of: a first at least one task group which enables executing a workflow comprising one or more tasks in the first at least one task group. ¶ 0039: The workflow description supplies task descriptions and their connection map. The manager creates the workflow by instantiating and connecting those tasks. ¶ 0044: The MPEs process media content according to the created workflow, which includes the instantiated tasks. ¶ 0045: The manager notifies the source when the “workflow is prepared”; the source then transmits media content to the MPEs.
SODAGAR discloses instantiate the first at least one task group or the second at least one task group on one or more media processing entities. ¶ 0039: The manager creates the workflow by “instantiating the tasks based on function names”; the described tasks run on one or more MPEs. ¶ 0062: A task group is a collection of tasks or function instances expected to run on the same cloud node or cluster, with its own identifier. ¶ 0044: The MPEs receive media content, process it under the created workflow and output processed content to a media sink.
SODAGAR does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more task group types comprise one or more of a second at least one task group which enables executing a sub-workflow or another workflow comprising at least one task in the second at least one task group.
KOLACHALA discloses a second at least one task group which enables executing a sub-workflow or another workflow comprising at least one task in the second at least one task group. ¶ 0031: The calculation engine determines the “sequential land parallel execution pattern” and generates a plan. The scheduling layer receives that plan and may distribute 500 parallel tasks over 500 nodes; tasks in the step execute simultaneously. ¶ 0050: The plan contains “information about each step” identifying sets of parallelizable tasks, together with information identifying parallelizable subtasks within each task. ¶ 0051: The flattened plan stores sequential steps with “associated calculation step parallelization information” in a storage module for implementation on the calculation platform. ¶ 0013: A task group comprises logically independent operations at a calculation level that may execute in parallel across processing nodes or processing threads. ¶ 0014: Parallelizable task groups are arranged in a sequential order, with execution of a group dependent on completion of one or more earlier groups. ¶ 0028: Each calculation step is divided into independent tasks and subtasks that run in parallel where possible; where that is not possible, the subtasks run in sequence. ¶ 0032: Each task set is “only scheduled upon receiving a completion notification” from executors running the previous group. The plan is stored in a plan and task table.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the task group scheduling of SODAGAR to incorporate the dependency ordered execution plan and parallel task sets taught by KOLACHALA. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that execution plan into SODAGAR, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce execution time and improve resource utilization by executing independent members together while preserving required dependencies, as taught by KOLACHALA at ¶ 0015.
SODAGAR-KOLACHALA does not expressly disclose specifies a group-mode parameter for respective ones of the plurality of task groups; wherein the group-mode parameter indicates that the first at least one task group is to be executed in a synchronous mode; wherein the group-mode parameter indicates that the second at least one task group is to be executed in an asynchronous mode; and execute tasks of the first at least one task group or the second at least one task group according to the group-mode parameter.
LEONELLI discloses specifies a group-mode parameter for respective ones of the plurality of task groups. ¶ 0288: “The launch-workflow mode definition may include information for designating the synchronous or asynchronous mode.” ¶ 0285: The launch task definition includes a recorded workflow definition, an input definition, a launch mode and a return information definition. ¶ 0286: The recorded workflow definition identifies the workflow through its name, address or a pointer to the stored workflow file. ¶ 0036: Respective task instances are associated with operation records containing their corresponding task parameters. ¶ 0037: The records need not remain separate: a workflow record may contain the parameters of the represented tasks and sequences.
LEONELLI discloses wherein the group-mode parameter indicates that the first at least one task group is to be executed in a synchronous mode. ¶ 0283: Synchronous execution completes the recorded workflow before another task in the calling workflow or branch executes; results can supply the following task.
LEONELLI discloses wherein the group-mode parameter indicates that the second at least one task group is to be executed in an asynchronous mode. ¶ 0284: Asynchronous execution continues other tasks “without waiting for completion of the recorded workflow”.
LEONELLI discloses execute tasks of the first at least one task group or the second at least one task group according to the group-mode parameter. ¶ 0144: The workflow application obtains the corresponding task parameters from the workflow record and uses those parameters to execute the workflow. ¶ 0282: The launch task selects the identified recorded workflow and triggers its execution in the chosen synchronous or asynchronous mode.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the respective task group descriptions of SODAGAR-KOLACHALA to incorporate the identified workflow and synchronous or asynchronous launch mode definition taught by LEONELLI. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that mode definition into SODAGAR-KOLACHALA, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid unnecessary waiting for independent work while preserving completes results for dependent work, by selecting whether execution waits for the identified workflow to finish, as inferred from LEONELLI ¶¶ 0283-0284.
Claim 41
KOLACHALA discloses wherein the second at least one task group comprises at least one task corresponding to a subset of the workflow or the another workflow which is executed in a step mode. ¶ 0029: The calculation plan contains sequential calculation steps. A step waits for the previous step to complete and may itself comprise parallel tasks. ¶ 0031: The scheduling layer executes the current task set and, after completion notification, schedules and assigns the subsequent set to executors. ¶ 0032: A later task set is scheduled only after completion notification from the preceding group.
Claim 43
SODAGAR discloses wherein the first at least one task group and the second at least one task group reside or are executed in at least one of: a network based media processing (NBMP) source; a central cloud; or a multi-access edge computing (MEC) cloud or a sink device. ¶ 0096: The assigning code causes the processor to assign workflow tasks to the media sink, media source, and cloud or network elements according to the specified distances. ¶ 0046: The media sink includes a processor and display for the processed media. ¶ 0078: Logical groups of task or function instances are implemented together, with their distances described relative to sources, sinks, MPEs and other tasks or groups.
Claim 44
SODAGAR discloses wherein a task group is a logical group of tasks that are deployed on a same MPE (media processing entity), or MPEs that are within a predetermined distance. ¶ 0078: Logical groups are implemented together, and the distance of each task or function instance inside a group is describe relative to other members of that group. ¶ 0075: A distance entry for the task group to which a task belongs indicates that task’s distance to all other tasks in the same group. ¶ 0056: The workflow manager uses the indicated distances when allocating resources and instantiating the task. ¶ 0057: The manager can reallocate tasks to resources that “satisfy the proximity requirements” and return the actual updated distances.
Claim 45
SODAGAR discloses wherein a task group comprises one or more tasks running in one or more MPEs. ¶ 0062: A task group is a collection of tasks or function instances, identified by a group identifier. ¶ 0039: The described tasks are performed by one or more MPEs, and the workflow manager creates their connected workflow. ¶ 0044: The MPEs receive media content and process it according to the created workflow containing the tasks.
Claim 46
LEONELLI discloses wherein the first at least one task group and the second at least one task group comprise one or more of: a breakable parameter for determining whether or not a connected task is splitable, when the connected task is splitable, the connected task is used to define a boundary of the at the-first at least one task group and the second at least one task group; a mode parameter for indicating whether a task group is executed in the synchronous mode or in the asynchronous mode; a replicable flag parameter for indicating that the one or more tasks within the task group are capable of being replicated by a workflow manager or the task group is capable of being divided into new task groups for new replicated tasks; or a step descriptor for enabling at least one of a stateless processing or a parallelization of a task or a task group. ¶ 0288: The launch mode definition designates the “synchronous or asynchronous mode”. ¶ 0285: The launch definition includes the recorded workflow definition, its input information, a launch mode and return information. ¶ 0283: The synchronous alternative completes the launched workflow before another task of the caller or calling branch executes. ¶ 0284: The asynchronous alternative allows other caller tasks to continue without waiting for the launched workflow to complete.
Claim 47
KOLACHALA discloses wherein the one or more tasks in the first at least one task group that are in the synchronous mode are executed simultaneously. ¶ 0031: Tasks in a sequential step “execute simultaneously across multiple task executors”. The scheduling layer assigns the parallel members to those executors. ¶ 0013: A parallelizable group contains logically independent operations a the same calculation level that can run on multiple nodes or threads.
Claims 48, 49, and 51-55
Claims 48, 49, and 51-55 are rejected utilizing the rationale for claims 40, 41, and 43-47; the claims are directed to a method performed by the system.
Claims 56-59
Claims 56-59 are rejected utilizing the rationale for claims 40 and 44-46; the claims are directed to a medium storing instructions executed by the system.
Claims 42 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SODAGAR, in view of KOLACHALA, further in view of LEONELLI, further in view of Wagner, U.S. Patent No. 9,811,434 B1 (hereinafter WAGNER).
Claim 42
SODAGAR discloses wherein a task group associated with the local scope is scheduled and instantiated by a control plane depending on a resource condition and requirements of a single workflow. ¶ 0039: The workflow description supplies task descriptions, connections and workflow requirements. The manager creates the workflow by instantiating and connecting the tasks. ¶ 0054: The manager selects resources for the entire workflow or its parts, and the exact allocation depends on the availability of cloud or network resources. ¶ 0056: When instantiating tasks, the manager uses the proximity array to allocate resources according to the indicated desired distances.
SODAGAR-KOLACHALA-LEONELLI does not expressly disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to define a scope, wherein the scope comprises a local scope or a global scope; and wherein a task group associated with the global scope is scheduled, allocated and executed based on resource requirements corresponding to a predefined threshold number of workflows.
WAGNER discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to define a scope, wherein the scope comprises a local scope or a global scope; and wherein a task group associated with the global scope is scheduled, allocated and executed based on resource requirements corresponding to a predefined threshold number of workflows. col. 14, ll. 36-53: The service limits simultaneous task executions and queues excess requests. Separate account queues can throttle concurrent executions for cost reasons. col. 13, l. 59-col. 14, l. 9: Task metadata specifies resource amounts, including memory to reserve. Resource constraints can be fixed for a particular task and accessed before each individual call. col. 3, l. 53-col.4, l. 4: An uploaded image triggers a task that retrieves the image, generates a smaller thumbnail and stores the result. col. 16, ll. 1-17: Available pool capacity can be increased or decreased. The pool manager can optimize the types and numbers of virtual machine instances using current or previous task execution metrics.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shared task admission and allocation of SODAGAR-KOLACHALA-LEONELLI to incorporate the concurrent execution limit and task resource requirements taught by WAGNER. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that limit into SODAGAR-KOLACHALA-LEONELLI, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control execution costs by throttling simultaneous independent jobs and queuing excess requests, as taught by WAGNER at col. 14, ll. 44-53.
Claim 50
Claim 50 is rejected utilizing the rationale for claim 42; the claim is directed to a method performed by the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 40-59 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See KOLACHALA, U.S. PG-Publication No. 2018/0336062 A1; LEONELLI, U.S. PG-Publication No. 2009/0070121 A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK D MILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194 October 31, 2026