DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are pending:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2023, 12/10/2025, 03/25/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Implied phrases
Claim Interpretation - Language
Language and/or terms in the claims are interpreted as follows:
“electrode polishing apparatus” in claim 1/6 does not invoke 112f due to “blade portions” structure
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“robot operation control unit” in claim 1/6
Corresponding structure
Generic controller with code, as informed by Para20
Or equivalent
“robot control apparatus” in claim 6
Corresponding structure
Generic controller with code, as informed by Para20
Or equivalent
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigler269 (US 8,436,269) in view of Sigler609 (US 6,861,609).
Claim 1
Sigler269 discloses:
“A robot control apparatus for controlling operation of a robot (C4L11-13,21-24, robot welding gun) comprising a spot welding gun (best seen Fig1, gun arms 16/24) that has a pair of electrodes (electrodes 20/28) arranged to face each other (electrode 20/28 facing arrangement best seen Fig1/2), the robot control apparatus comprising:
a robot operation (C4L11-13,21-24, robot welding gun) … configured to cause the pair of electrodes of the spot welding gun to move (C5L34-55, robot moves electrodes to cutter blade 50) to polishing positions (positioning of electrodes 20/28 best seen Fig2/3) for polishing by blade portions (cutter teeth 59 of cutting surfaces 52/54) of an electrode polishing apparatus (cutter blade 50) so that surfaces of the pair of electrodes are polished by the blade portions of the electrode polishing apparatus (C5L34-55, electrode ridges 48 are cut), wherein
the robot operation … changes positions of the pair of electrodes that are in contact with the blade portions from the polishing positions so that the surfaces of the pair of electrodes that have been polished by the blade portions are scratched (C5L34-55, robot moves electrodes to cutter blade 50 to cut ridges 48).”
Sigler269 does not explicitly disclose a controller for the robot that moves the arrangement of Sigler269.
Sigler609 teaches (Fig1, spot welding gun 10, robot controller 34; C5L5-12) that it is known in the art to use a robot controller to control the movement of the robot and to control the operation of the welding gun.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to include a robot controller for the robot welding arrangement of Sigler269, as Sigler609 teaches that the application of a robot controller for a robot welding gun is standard practice, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such an addition of the robot welding gun of Sigler269 in order to practice the disclosure of Sigler269, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the robot welding arrangement of Sigler269 with the working and known application of a controller as taught by the robot welding arrangement of Sigler609.
Claim 2
The modified arrangement of Sigler269 by the teachings of Sigler609 discloses: “The robot control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the robot operation control unit (limitation is within the scope of the modification discussed in claim 1) causes the pair of electrodes to move (Sigler269: C5L34-55, robot moves electrodes to cutter blade 50 to cut ridges 48) so that the surfaces of the pair of electrodes are scratched (Sigler269: electrode 20/28 surfaces are scratched to form ridges 48) while changing the positions of the pair of electrodes that are in contact with the blade portions (Sigler269: cutter blade 50 rotates while in contact with surfaces of electrodes 20/28).”
Claim 3
The modified arrangement of Sigler269 by the teachings of Sigler609 discloses: “The robot control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when scratching the surfaces of the pair of electrodes (Sigler269: C5L34-55), the robot operation control unit (limitation is within the scope of the modification discussed in claim 1) causes the pair of electrodes to move in an axial direction of the pair of electrodes and in a direction orthogonal to the axial direction (Sigler269: Fig2/3; C5L34-55, electrodes 20/28 are pressed against the cutter 50 axially, cutter 50 rotates about central vertical axis imparting radial movement/deformation of electrodes 20/28).”
Claim 4
The modified arrangement of Sigler269 by the teachings of Sigler609 discloses: “The robot control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when scratching the surfaces of the pair of electrodes (Sigler269: C5L34-55), the robot operation control unit (limitation is within the scope of the modification discussed in claim 1) causes the pair of electrodes to move so that the surfaces of the pair of electrodes come into contact with corner portions of the blade portions (Sigler269: Fig2/3; C5L34-55, electrodes 20/28 are pressed against the cutter 50 axially, corner of cutting surface 52/54 in contact with electrodes 20/28).”
Claim 5
The modified arrangement of Sigler269 by the teachings of Sigler609discloses: “The robot control apparatus according claim 1, wherein machining of scratching the surfaces of the electrodes is roughening machining (C5L34-55, cutter blade 50 to cut ridges 48 in electrodes 20/28).”
Claim 6
Sigler269 discloses:
“A spot welding system (best seen Fig1) comprising:
a spot welding gun (gun with arms 16/24) comprising a pair of electrodes (electrodes 20/28) arranged to face each other (electrode 20/28 facing arrangement best seen Fig1/2);
a robot (C4L11-13,21-24, robot welding gun) configured to move the spot welding gun (C4L11-13,21-24, robot welding gun);
an electrode polishing apparatus (cutter 50) configured to polish surfaces of the pair of electrodes by rotating blade portions (C5L34-55, cutter blade 50 to cut ridges 48 in electrodes 20/28 by rotation); and
a robot control apparatus (C4L11-13,21-24, robot welding gun) configured to control operation of the robot (C4L11-13,21-24, robot welding gun) and the electrode polishing apparatus (C5L34-55), wherein
the robot control apparatus comprises a robot operation (C4L11-13,21-24, robot welding gun) … that causes the pair of electrodes of the spot welding gun to move (C5L34-55, robot moves electrodes to cutter blade 50) to polishing positions (positioning of electrodes 20/28 best seen Fig2/3) for polishing by the blade portions (cutter teeth 59 of cutting surfaces 52/54) of the electrode polishing apparatus (cutter blade 50) so that surfaces of the pair of electrodes are polished by the blade portions that are rotating (C5L34-55, electrode ridges 48 are cut by rotation), and
the robot operation … changes positions of the pair of electrodes that are in contact with the blade portions from the polishing positions so that the surfaces of the pair of electrodes that have been polished by the blade portions are scratched (C5L34-55, robot moves electrodes to cutter blade 50 to cut ridges 48).”
Sigler269 does not explicitly disclose a controller for the robot that moves the arrangement of Sigler269.
Sigler609 teaches (Fig1, spot welding gun 10, robot controller 34; C5L5-12) that it is known in the art to use a robot controller to control the movement of the robot and to control the operation of the welding gun.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to include a robot controller for the robot welding arrangement of Sigler269, as Sigler609 teaches that the application of a robot controller for a robot welding gun is standard practice, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such an addition of the robot welding gun of Sigler269 in order to practice the disclosure of Sigler269, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the robot welding arrangement of Sigler269 with the working and known application of a controller as taught by the robot welding arrangement of Sigler609.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10,675,704 to Sigler: US Patent version of IDS reference
JP 2013-071182 to Sakamoto: Fig3, electrode polishing
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761