DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-5 and 28-32 have been elected without traverse in a reply received on 1/5/2026. Accordingly, claims 6-27 and 33-54 have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The office requires that all foreign patents include the Name of Patentee or Applicant, which has not been provided for several foreign documents submitted in the IDS dated 2/23/2024. The Patentee has been added to this IDS, it is requested that this is reviewed for any potential misinformation/errors.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in figure 25a figure number 6 points to the amplifier in the amplifier module 5. The specification however recites “measurement electrode 6” in paragraphs 0038-0039 and “amplifier 6” in paragraphs 0134-0136, this appears to be the same figure number which is used for different parts. Paragraph 0125 also recites “signal 17” no figure number 17 is found in the figures.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses “means” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
impedance compensation means in claims 1-5 and 28-32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Single US 2019/0357788.
Regarding claim 1: Single discloses a device for recording evoked neural responses (abstract) the device comprising:
one or more stimulation electrodes (paragraph 0015 “one or more stimulus nominal electrodes”) and a first and second sense electrode (paragraph 0015 “one or more nominal sense electrodes”)
a stimulus source (paragraph 0016) for providing the stimulus to the stimulus electrodes to excite a neural pathway to evoke a compound action potential (paragraphs 0011-0016);
measurement circuitry (“measurement amplifier”, paragraph 0017) for processing a signal sensed at the first sense electrode and second sense electrode, the sensed signal comprising an eCAP (paragraphs 0013, 0017, 0045); and
impedance compensation means configured to compensate for an impedance difference, the impedance difference being a difference between an impedance associated with the first sense electrode and an impedance associated with the second sense electrode (paragraph 0017, 0021 “differential voltage arising between the sense electrode and the reference electrode in response to the stimulus.”).
Regarding claim 2: Single discloses that the impedance compensating means comprises two compensating impedances connected so as to compensate for the impedance difference (figure 4 demonstrates the amplifier with two inputs, one from each sense electrode, also paragraphs 0046-47, 0050).
Regarding claims 3-4: Single discloses that the compensating impedances can be fixed (paragraphs 00417-48) or configurable (paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 5: Single discloses that the configurable impedance values are configurable under a feedback loop (paragraphs 0003, 0028, 0030, 0058 and claim 11).
Regarding claim 28: Single discloses a method for recording evoked neural responses (abstract) the method comprising: delivering, via a stimulation source (paragraph 0016), a stimulus via stimulus electrodes to a neural pathway to evoke a compound action potential (paragraphs 0011-0016); processing, with measurement circuitry (“measurement amplifier”, paragraph 0017), a signal sensed at a first sense electrode and a second sense electrode, the sensed signal comprising the eCAP (paragraphs 0013, 0017, 0045); and compensating for an impedance difference, the impedance difference being a difference between an impedance associates with the first sense electrode and an impedance associated with the second sense electrode (paragraph 0017, 0021 “differential voltage arising between the sense electrode and the reference electrode in response to the stimulus.”).
Regarding claim 29: Single discloses that the impedance compensating means comprises two compensating impedances connected so as to compensate for the impedance difference (figure 4 demonstrates the amplifier with two inputs, one from each sense electrode, also paragraphs 0046-47, 0050).
Regarding claims 30-31: Single discloses that the compensating impedances can be fixed (paragraphs 00417-48) or configurable (paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 32: Single discloses that the configurable impedance values are configurable under a feedback loop (paragraphs 0003, 0028, 0030, 0058 and claim 11).
Conclusion
PAULA J. STICE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3796
/PAULA J STICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796