DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claims 1 are supported by the specification. The new claims 9-13 are supported by the specification.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 8/19/2026. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nozawa et al (JP2018002861).
Nozawa teaches a composition comprising 100 parts of styrene-butadiene rubber, 90 parts of silica, 10 parts of a hydrocarbon resin, 2 parts of sulfur [0094-0096]. The hydrocarbon resin comprises 46 wt% of 1,3-pentadiene, 15.5wt% of C4-C6 alicyclic monoolefin, 21.4 wt% of C4-C8 acyclic monoolefins, 1.1 wt% of alicyclodiolefin and 16wt% of aromatic monoolefin of indene and styrene (example 2). The hydrocarbon resin has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 1300, a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 2100, a Z average molecular weight (Mz) of 3500, a ratio Mw/Mn of 1.6, a ratio Mz/Mw of 1.7, and a softening point 105°C.
Nozawa does not teach a ratio of Mp/Mw.
However, the hydrocarbon resin of Nozawa is prepared from a similar monomer composition using the same catalyst and under comparable polymerization conditions, and further exhibit similar molecular weight averages Mw, Mn and Mz, and similar molecular weight distribution of Mw/Mn, Mz/Mw. Since the peak top molecular weight reflects the most abundant molecular weight species within the distribution, the hydrocarbon resin of Nozawa would be expected or inherent to exhibit a similar Mp/Mw ratio as the claimed range, indicating comparable distribution shape and breath.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kameyama et al (WO2018/101365).
In setting forth this rejection a machine translation of WO2018/101365 has been relied upon and all citations to paragraph numbers in the discussion below are with respect to the machine translation.
Kameyama teaches a composition comprising 100 parts of diene rubber, 100 parts of silica, 20 parts of carbon black, 10 parts of a modified hydrocarbon resin, 1.7 parts of sulfur [0180-0182]. The hydrocarbon resin comprises 48.2 wt% of 1,3-pentadiene, 26wt% of C4-C6 alicyclic monoolefin, 6.5 wt% of C4-C8 acyclic monoolefins, 2.1 wt% of alicyclodiolefin and 16wt% of styrene (example 2). The hydrocarbon resin has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 1200, a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 2800, a Z average molecular weight (Mz) of 6100, a ratio Mw/Mn of 2.3, a ratio Mz/Mw of 2.2, and a softening point 101°C.
Kameyama does not teach a ratio of Mp/Mw.
However, the hydrocarbon resin of Kameyama is prepared from a similar monomer composition using the same catalyst and under comparable polymerization conditions, and further exhibit similar molecular weight averages Mw, Mn and Mz, and similar molecular weight distribution of Mw/Mn, Mz/Mw. Since the peak top molecular weight reflects the most abundant molecular weight species within the distribution, the hydrocarbon resin of Nozawa would be expected or inherent to exhibit a similar Mp/Mw ratio as the claimed range, indicating comparable distribution shape and breath.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nozawa et al (JP2018002861).
Claim 10: Nozawa teaches the content of the hydrocarbon resin is in the range of 1-30 parts [0073]. Case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 13: Nozawa teaches fillers can be carbon black or silica, although it is preferable that the filler is silica [0076].
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kameyama et al (WO2018/101365).
Kameyama teaches the content of the modified hydrocarbon resin is in the range of 1-30 parts [0014]. Case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument regarding Mp/Mw ratio, it is noted that 1) the comparative examples 1-3 and 5 of the present application all use mixing and polymerization temperatures below 65°C, and comparative example 4 use 70°C and has the claimed Mp/Mw; 2) Both Nozawa and Kameyama teach the mixing and polymerization temperatures are 70°C. Additionally, both teach the polymerization temperature would affect the molecular weight. 3) applicants should provide other evidence to show that the hydrocarbon of Kameyama does not have the claimed Mp/Mw.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763