DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsangaris (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0266633)
Regarding claim 1 A plasma torch assembly, comprising:
Tsangaris discloses:
a plurality of plasma torch apertures(Figs. 1, 2 and 20), wherein each of the plasma torch apertures is adapted to receive a plasma torch([0228]);
a working position for operation of the plasma torch([0228]), wherein the working position is pressure sealed for hyperbaric operation of the plasma torch([0192]-[0195]); and
a movement mechanism to move each of the plasma torch apertures to the working position([0228] sliding mechanism).
Regarding claim 10. Tsangaris discloses:
The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of plasma torches, one disposed in each of the plasma torch apertures.([0228]). Tsangaris discloses that there may be a plurality of plasma torches in each aperture.
Regarding claim 11. Tsangaris discloses: The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, wherein the working position is pressure sealed for operation between 40 barg and 60 barg. ([0008])
Regarding claim 12.
Tsangaris discloses:
A plasma torch reactor comprising a plasma torch assembly(Figs. 1, 2 and 20), the plasma torch assembly comprising a plurality of plasma torch apertures(Figs. 1, 2, 20), wherein each of the plasma torch apertures is adapted to receive a plasma torch(fig. 20[0228]);
a working position for operation of the plasma torch, wherein the working position is pressure sealed for hyperbaric operation of the plasma torch([00228]); and a movement mechanism to move each of the plasma torch apertures to the working([0228]).
Regarding claim 13.
Tsangaris discloses:
The plasma torch reactor of claim 12, wherein the plasma torch assembly is adapted such that a plasma torch is switchable into the working position for operation without substantial delay after a plasma torch in the working position is taken out of operation. (Figs. 1, 2, and 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsangaris (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0266633) om view of Amada (Japanese Patent Application No. JP H05 76671), copy of record, translation used for paragraph and abstract citations, and original document used for citations to figures.
Regarding claim 2-5.
Tsangaris discloses all of the features of claim 1.:
Tsangaris does not disclose:
The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, further comprising a feedthrough to provide input gases and an electrical feed to plasma torches.
Regarding claim 3. The plasma torch assembly of claim 2, wherein the working position has gas inlet connections and electrical connections to the feedthrough.
Regarding claim 4. The plasma torch assembly of claim 2, wherein specific inputs and exits are provided in the feedthrough for specified gases.
Regarding claim 5. The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, wherein the plasma torch apertures are disposed on a carousel.
Regarding claim 6. The plasma torch assembly of claim 5, further comprising a feedthrough to provide input gases and an electrical feed to plasma torches and wherein the feedthrough is provided on a longitudinal axis of the carousel.
In related art Amada discloses:
The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, further comprising a feedthrough to provide input gases and an electrical feed to plasma torches.(Fig. 3, [0017])
Regarding claim 3. The plasma torch assembly of claim 2, wherein the working position has gas inlet connections and electrical connections to the feedthrough. (Fig. 3, [0017])
Regarding claim 4. The plasma torch assembly of claim 2, wherein specific inputs and exits are provided in the feedthrough for specified gases. (Fig. 3, [0017])
Regarding claim 5. The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, wherein the plasma torch apertures are disposed on a carousel.(Figs 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 6. The plasma torch assembly of claim 5, further comprising a feedthrough to provide input gases and an electrical feed to plasma torches and wherein the feedthrough is provided on a longitudinal axis of the carousel. (Figs 1 and 2).
Amada discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing the device to allow for torch exchanges with high accuracy. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Tsangaris to include the recited features of claims 2-4.
Regarding claim 7.
Tsangaris discloses all of the features of claim 1.:
Tsangaris does not disclose:
The plasma torch assembly of claim 5, wherein there are three plasma torch apertures disposed symmetrically about the longitudinal axis of the carousel. However, it would have been obvious to include at least three aperatures for the benefit of storing more torches in the device, and as such would have been an obvious duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). The duplication of parts would provide no new and unexpected result. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8.
Tsangaris discloses all of the features of claim 1.:
Tsangaris does not disclose:
The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, further comprising means to lock a plasma torch aperture in the working position.
In related art, Armada discloses:
The plasma torch assembly of claim 1, further comprising means to lock a plasma torch aperture in the working position.([0015]-[0017],).
Armada discloses that recited features provide the benefit of providing a good quality weld continuously from the torch. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9.
Tsangaris discloses all of the features of claim 8.:
Tsangaris does not disclose:
The plasma torch assembly of claim 8, wherein said locking mechanism prevents operation of the plasma torch assembly without a plasma torch aperture in the working position.
However, the locking mechanism may not prevent operation of the torch in a working position, or it may prevent it. That is, there is a finite number of possible solutions with a predictable results. As such, it would have been obvious to prevent the device from working unless it was in a desired position for safety. As such, the recited features would have ben obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 14.
Tsangaris discloses
A method of operating a plasma torch device(Figs. 1, 2 and 20), wherein the plasma torch device comprises a plasma torch assembly having a plurality of plasma torch apertures(Figs. 1, 2 and 20), wherein each of the plasma torch apertures is adapted to receive a plasma torch, and wherein one of the plasma torch apertures is in a working position for operation of the plasma torch wherein the working position is pressure sealed for hyperbaric operation(Figs. 1, 2 and 20, see [0228]), a first plasma torch is disposed in the plasma torch aperture in the working position and a second plasma torch is disposed in another plasma torch aperture, (figs. 6), the method comprising:
operating the first plasma torch;
Tsangaris does not Teach:
stopping operation of the first plasma torch;
moving the plasma torch apertures in the plasma torch assembly such that the second plasma torch is in the working position;
operating the second plasma torch; and
cooling and removing the first plasma torch from the plasma torch device while the second plasma torch is in operation.
In related art, Armada discloses:
stopping operation of the first plasma torch (Figs. 1 and 2, and [0005]-[0007]);
moving the plasma torch apertures in the plasma torch assembly such that the second plasma torch is in the working position; (Figs. 1 and 2 and [0005]-[0007] and [0036]-[0041])
operating the second plasma torch(Figs. 1 and 2 and [0005]-[0007] and [0036]-[0041]); and
cooling and removing the first plasma torch from the plasma torch device while the second plasma torch is in operation. (Figs. 1 and 2 and [0005]-[0007] and [0036]-[0041]).
Aramada discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of providing a device that can operate efficiently and provide quality welds using various torches. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to modify Tsangaris in view of Armada’s teachings to obtain the desirable results.
Regarding claim 15.
Tsangaris discloses
The method of claim 14, wherein the plasma torch device is comprised within a plasma torch reactor.See [0193]
Regarding claim 16.
Tsangaris discloses
The method of claim 15, wherein the plasma torch reactor is adapted to decompose hydrocarbon input gases into carbon and hydrogen.([0049])
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898