DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response to the last Office Action, filed on February 19, 2026 has been entered and made of record
Claims 1-3 and 6-21 are currently pending in this application.
This action is final.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments to the claim rejections are fully considered, however they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that Iwata in view of Oh does not explicitly disclose “a central processing unit (CPU) configured to: detect, based on bit depth information that indicates a bit depth of input data, a first luminance range of the input data, wherein the input data includes the bit depth information, and the bit depth of the input data is one of 8 bits, 10 bits, 12 bits, or 16 bits; as it pertains to claims 1, 20 and 21. Iwata in view of Oh discloses a central processing unit (CPU) configured to: detect, based on bit depth information that indicates a bit depth of input data, a first luminance range of the input data, wherein the input data includes the bit depth information, and the bit depth of the input data is one of 8 bits, 10 bits, 12 bits, or 16 bits (Iwata, see paragraph [0070], where Iwata discloses that the enlarged image 31 has gradation values of image luminance (hereinafter, referred to as image gradation values) in the range of 1 to 256 (equivalent to 8-bit gradations). Suppose that the enlarged image 31 includes a low
gradation region 303 (image gradation value=1), an intermediate gradation region 304 (image gradation value=64), and a high gradation region 305 (image gradation value=256). The broken lines in the enlarged image 31 represent the boundaries between the divided regions 210 to 215 of the backlight 112. Divided images 310 to 315 correspond to the divided regions 210 to 215, respectively. In the following description, assume that the divided images 310, 311, 314, and 315 have an average gradation value of 64, the divided image 312 an average gradation value of 250,
and the divided image 313 an image gradation value of 10).
It is further noted that Oh discloses a central processing unit (CPU) configured to: detect, based on bit depth information that indicates a bit depth of input data, a first luminance range of the input data, wherein the input data includes the bit depth information, and the bit depth of the input data is one of 8 bits, 10 bits, 12 bits, or 16 bits (Oh, see paragraphs [0161] through [0163], where Oh discloses that data byte 7 to data byte 16 refer to fields indicating arbitrary color gamut information. In this figure, arbitrary color gamut information include Red-x, Red-y, Green-x, Green-y, Blue-x, Blue-y, White-x and White-y. Here, Red-x indicates an x coordinate of the R color of a color gamut ( e.g., CIE 1931) using a value of 0 to 1 in the binary form. In the present embodiment, a total of 10 bits is used and higher 8 bits of data byte 9 and higher 2 bits of data byte 6 may be used. Similarly, Red-y indicates a y coordinate of the R color of the color gamut (e.g., CIE 1931) using a value of 0 to 1 in the binary form. In the present embodiment, a total of 10 bits is used and higher 8 bits of data byte 10 and lower 2 bits of data byte 6 may be used).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11, 14, 15, 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al (US 20170293205 Al) in view Oh et al. (US 20160044277 Al).
As to Claim 1:
Iwata et al. discloses an information processing system, comprising: a central processing unit (CPU) configured to: (Iwata, see Abstract, where Iwata discloses that an image display apparatus includes an image acquisition unit configured to acquire an input image to be displayed on a display unit and a display control unit configured to reduce display luminance of the display unit in a case where a display image obtained by enlarging the input image is displayed on the display unit or in a case where a display image obtained by enhancing a contour of an object in the input image is displayed on the display unit) detect, based on bit depth information that indicates a bit depth of input data, a first luminance data of the input data (Iwata, see contour detection unit 301 in figure 20, paragraph [0184], where Iwata discloses that the decoding unit 201 decodes the encoded image input from the image acquisition unit 101. The decoding unit 201 outputs the decoded image data to the contour detection unit 301 and the enhancement processing unit 302, and outputs metadata information about the display luminance to the emission luminance control unit 108); wherein the input data includes the bit depth information, and the bit depth of the input data is one of 8 bits, 10 bits, 12 bits, or 16 bits (Iwata, see paragraph [0070], where Iwata discloses that the enlarged image 31 has gradation values of image luminance (hereinafter, referred to as image gradation values) in the range of 1 to 256 (equivalent to 8-bit gradations). Suppose that the enlarged image 31 includes a low
gradation region 303 (image gradation value=1), an intermediate gradation region 304 (image gradation value=64), and a high gradation region 305 (image gradation value=256). The broken lines in the enlarged image 31 represent the boundaries between the divided regions 210 to 215 of the backlight 112. Divided images 310 to 315 correspond to the divided regions 210 to 215, respectively. In the following description, assume that the divided images 310, 311, 314, and 315 have an average gradation value of 64, the divided image 312 an average gradation value of 250,
and the divided image 313 an image gradation value of 10); convert the detected first luminance data of the input data and output the converted first luminance data (Iwata, see paragraph [0050], where Iwata discloses that the information acquisition unit 102 converts the display mode instruction information into display mode control information, and outputs the display mode control information to the emission luminance control unit 108. Possible display modes include a normal display mode and an HDR display mode. The HDR display mode is one in which an image is displayed with a higher maximum emission luminance, a lower minimum emission luminance, or a higher contrast ratio than in the normal display mode. As employed herein, the emission luminance refers to that of the backlight 112. The emission luminance may be referred to as backlight emission luminance).
Iwata differs from the claimed subject matter in that Iwata does not explicitly disclose luminance range.
However in an analogous art, Oh discloses luminance range (Oh, see paragraph [0242], where Oh discloses that if the offset field is 0x06, this may indicate a transfer function type flag. The transfer function type flag may signal a transfer function type. In one embodiment of the present invention, since each transfer function is designated as a flag, all supported transfer functions are simultaneously signaled even when a plurality of transfer functions is supported. Here, the transfer function may include BT. 1886, SMPTE ST 2084, Traditional gamma-SDR Luminance Range, Traditional gammaHDR Luminance Range, etc. Here, the transfer function may include an electro optical transfer function (EOTF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Iwata with Oh. One would be motivated to modify Iwata by disclosing luminance range as taught by Oh, and thereby adaptively controlling the color and brightness of content according to display device (Oh, see paragraph [0011]).
As to Claim 2:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first luminance range is one of a limited range or a full range, and the CPU is further configured to perform conversion between data of the limited range and data of the full range (Iwata, see figure 7 relationship between emission luminance value and average gradation value and paragraph [0070], where Iwata discloses that the enlarged image 31 has gradation values of image luminance (hereinafter, referred to as image gradation values) in the range of 1 to 256 (equivalent to 8-bit gradations). Suppose that the enlarged image 31 includes a low gradation region 303 (image gradation value=1), an intermediate gradation region 304 (image gradation value=64), and a high gradation region 305 (image gradation value=256). The broken lines in the enlarged image 31 represent the boundaries between the divided regions 210 to 215 of the backlight 112. Divided images 310 to 315 correspond to the divided regions 210 to 215, respectively. In the following description, assume that the divided images 310, 311, 314, and 315 have an average gradation value of 64, the divided image 312 an average gradation value of 250, and the divided image 313 an image gradation value of 10).
As to Claim 3:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses that the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the limited range corresponds to a partial range of the full range, and the CPU is further configured to detect whether a luminance level of the input data is within the limited range (Iwata, see figure 7 relationship between emission luminance value and average gradation value and paragraph [0070], where Iwata discloses that the enlarged image 31 has gradation values of image luminance (hereinafter, referred to as image gradation values) in the range of 1 to 256 (equivalent to 8-bit gradations). Suppose that the enlarged image 31 includes a low gradation region 303 (image gradation value=1), an intermediate gradation region 304 (image gradation value=64), and a high gradation region 305 (image gradation value=256). The broken lines in the enlarged image 31 represent the boundaries between the divided regions 210 to 215 of the backlight 112. Divided images 310 to 315 correspond to the divided regions 210 to 215, respectively. In the following description, assume that the divided images 310, 311, 314, and 315 have an average gradation value of 64, the divided image 312 an average gradation value of 250, and the divided image 313 an image gradation value of 10).
.
As to Claim 8:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses that the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to change a luminance of the input data based on the conversion of the first luminance range of the input data (Iwata, see figure 14B, where the step function of luminance teaches or suggest that the luminance is gently changed and paragraphs [0105] and [0106], where Iwata discloses that FIGS. 14A, 14B, and 14C are diagrams illustrating examples of the LUT used as the HDR correction information. FIGS. 14A, 14B, and 14C illustrate examples of the LUT when a range of emission luminance of 200 cd/m2 to 300 cd/m2 is suitable for pixel enlargement. FIG. 14A illustrates an LUT for making the backlight 112 emit light with a center value of the range of emission luminance suitable for pixel enlargement regardless of the average gradation value. FIGS. 14B and 14C illustrate LUTs for adjusting the backlight emission luminance based on the average gradation value, within the range suitable for pixel enlargement. During pixel enlargement display, the HDR correction unit 107 outputs an LUT such as illustrated in FIG. 14A, 14B, or 14C to the emission luminance control unit 108. The emission luminance control unit 108 determines the backlight emission luminance based on the LUT. As a result, the display image is displayed within the range of emission luminance suitable for pixel enlargement. This can reduce the possibilities that the user has difficulty in performing a focus check due to glare and that the focus check efficiency decreases).
As to Claim 9:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses that the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to blend, based on the conversion of the first luminance range of the input data, data of the first luminance range before the conversion and data of the first luminance range after conversion (Iwata, see paragraph [0053], where Iwata discloses that the image processing unit 104 applies image processing to the image data input from the enlargement processing unit 103. Examples of the image processing include color conversion processing, gradation conversion processing, and frame rate conversion processing. The processing of the enlargement processing unit 103 and that of the image processing unit 104 may be performed in arbitrary order. For example, the image processing unit 104 may perform the image processing to the image data output from the image acquisition unit 101, and the enlargement processing unit 103 may enlarge the image data to which the image processing is applied by the image processing unit 104).
As to Claim 11:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses that the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the CPU is further configured to change, based on the conversion of the data of the limited range to the data of the full range, a luminance of the input data (Iwata, see figure 14B, where the step function of luminance teaches or suggest that the luminance is gently changed and paragraphs [0105] and [0106], where Iwata discloses that FIGS. 14A, 14B, and 14C are diagrams illustrating examples of the LUT used as the HDR correction information. FIGS. 14A, 14B, and 14C illustrate examples of the LUT when a range of emission luminance of 200 cd/m2 to 300 cd/m2 is suitable for pixel enlargement. FIG. 14A illustrates an LUT for making the backlight 112 emit light with a center value of the range of emission luminance suitable for pixel enlargement regardless of the average gradation value. FIGS. 14B and 14C illustrate LUTs for adjusting the backlight emission luminance based on the average gradation value, within the range suitable for pixel enlargement. During pixel enlargement display, the HDR correction unit 107 outputs an LUT such as illustrated in FIG. 14A, 14B, or 14C to the emission luminance control unit 108. The emission luminance control unit 108 determines the backlight emission luminance based on the LUT. As a result, the display image is displayed within the range of emission luminance suitable for pixel enlargement. This can reduce the possibilities that the user has difficulty in performing a focus check due to glare and that the focus check efficiency decreases).
As to Claim 14:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses that the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to; determine that the input data is video data that is compatible with a high dynamic range (HDR); and detect, based on the determination that the input data is the video data is compatible with the HDR, the first luminance range of the input data (Iwata, see paragraph [0041], where Iwata discloses that the dynamic range of an image sensor is getting wider and a technique for superimposing a plurality of images captured at different exposures improves in recent years, high dynamic range (HDR) image capturing is becoming common. With the sophistication of emission luminance control of a backlight of a display and image processing, a technique for providing display (hereinafter, referred to as HDR display) with a contrast ratio and emission luminance higher than those of a conventional display has been discussed. If an image display apparatus provides such HDR display, the brightness of an object can be more faithfully expressed. This enables display with higher presence than heretofore).
As to Claim 15:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the input data includes lnfoFrame that indicates a high dynamic range (HDR) that is associated with the input data, and the CPU is further configured to detect, based on the infoframe, the first luminance range of the input data (Oh, see paragraph [0081], where Oh discloses that the source device delivers final video obtained by adjustment to the sink device. At this time, color gamut or dynamic range related metadata of the final video may be delivered via an InfoFrame of the interface. The color gamut information may be delivered using color gamut information (e.g., BT. 709, BT. 2020, etc.) pre-defined in anAVI infoFrame of the interface. The dynamic range metadata related information may deliver maximum or minimum brightness information and may be delivered via a method of defining a new InfoFrame using the methods described in the embodiments or a method of extending an AVI Info Frame).
As to Claim 19:
Iwata in view of Oh discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is further configured to control, based on the converted first luminance range, display of an image (Iwata, see paragraph [0053] and [0054], where Iwata discloses that the image processing unit 104 applies image processing to the image data input from the enlargement processing unit 103. Examples of the image processing include color conversion processing, gradation conversion processing, and frame rate conversion processing. The processing of the enlargement processing unit 103 and that of the image processing unit 104 may be performed in arbitrary order. For
example, the image processing unit 104 may perform the image processing to the image data output from the image acquisition unit 101, and the enlargement processing unit 103 may enlarge the image data to which the image processing is applied by the image processing unit 104. The display control unit 105 will be described. The display control unit 105 reduces the display luminance of the
display unit 111 if the display unit 111 displays a display image obtained by enlarging an input image).
As to Claim 20:
Iwata et al. discloses an information processing method, comprising; in an information processing system (Iwata, see Abstract, where Iwata discloses that an image display apparatus includes an image acquisition unit configured to acquire an input image to be displayed on a display unit and a display control unit configured to reduce display luminance of the display unit in a case where a display image obtained by enlarging the input image is displayed on the display unit or in a case where a display image obtained by enhancing a contour of an object in the input image is displayed on the display unit): detecting, , based on bit depth information that indicates a bit depth of input data, a first luminance data of the input data (Iwata, see contour detection unit 301 in figure 20, paragraph [0184], where Iwata discloses that the decoding unit 201 decodes the encoded image input from the image acquisition unit 101. The decoding unit 201 outputs the decoded image data to the contour detection unit 301 and the enhancement processing unit 302, and outputs metadata information about the display luminance to the emission luminance control unit 108); wherein the input data includes the bit depth information, and the bit depth of the input data is one of 8 bits, 10 bits, 12 bits, or 16 bits (Iwata, see paragraph [0070], where Iwata discloses that the enlarged image 31 has gradation values of image luminance (hereinafter, referred to as image gradation values) in the range of 1 to 256 (equivalent to 8-bit gradations). Suppose that the enlarged image 31 includes a low
gradation region 303 (image gradation value=1), an intermediate gradation region 304 (image gradation value=64), and a high gradation region 305 (image gradation value=256). The broken lines in the enlarged image 31 represent the boundaries between the divided regions 210 to 215 of the backlight 112. Divided images 310 to 315 correspond to the divided regions 210 to 215, respectively. In the following description, assume that the divided images 310, 311, 314, and 315 have an average gradation value of 64, the divided image 312 an average gradation value of 250,
and the divided image 313 an image gradation value of 10); convert the detected first luminance data of the input data and output the converted first luminance data (Iwata, see paragraph [0050], where Iwata discloses that the information acquisition unit 102 converts the display mode instruction information into display mode control information, and outputs the display mode control information to the emission luminance control unit 108. Possible display modes include a normal display mode and an HDR display mode. The HDR display mode is one in which an image is displayed with a higher maximum emission luminance, a lower minimum emission luminance, or a higher contrast ratio than in the normal display mode. As employed herein, the emission luminance refers to that of the backlight 112. The emission luminance may be referred to as backlight emission luminance).
Iwata differs from the claimed subject matter in that Iwata does not explicitly disclose luminance range.
However in an analogous art, Oh discloses luminance range (Oh, see paragraph [0242], where Oh discloses that if the offset field is 0x06, this may indicate a transfer function type flag. The transfer function type flag may signal a transfer function type. In one embodiment of the present invention, since each transfer function is designated as a flag, all supported transfer functions are simultaneously signaled even when a plurality of transfer functions is supported. Here, the transfer function may include BT. 1886, SMPTE ST 2084, Traditional gamma-SDR Luminance Range, Traditional gammaHDR Luminance Range, etc. Here, the transfer function may include an electro optical transfer function (EOTF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Iwata with Oh. One would be motivated to modify Iwata by disclosing luminance range as taught by Oh, and thereby adaptively controlling the color and brightness of content according to display device (Oh, see paragraph [0011]).
As to Claim 21:
Iwata et al. discloses a central processing unit (CPU) configured (Iwata, see Abstract, where Iwata discloses that an image display apparatus includes an image acquisition unit configured to acquire an input image to be displayed on a display unit and a display control unit configured to reduce display luminance of the display unit in a case where a display image obtained by enlarging the input image is displayed on the display unit or in a case where a display image obtained by enhancing a contour of an object in the input image is displayed on the display unit)to: detect, based on bit depth information that indicates that a bit depth of input data is at least 10 bits (Iwata, see paragraph [0070], where Iwata discloses that the enlarged image 31 has gradation values of image luminance (hereinafter, referred to as image gradation values) in the range of 1 to 256 (equivalent to 8-bit gradations). Suppose that the enlarged image 31 includes a low gradation region 303 (image gradation value=1), an intermediate gradation region 304 (image gradation value=64), and a high gradation region 305 (image gradation value=256). The broken lines in the enlarged image 31 represent the boundaries between the divided regions 210 to 215 of the backlight 112. Divided images 310 to 315 correspond to the divided regions 210 to 215, respectively. In the following description, assume that the divided images 310, 311, 314, and 315 have an average gradation value of 64, the divided image 312 an average gradation value of 250, and the divided image 313 an image gradation value of 10), a luminance data of the input data, wherein the input data includes the bit depth information; convert the detected luminance data of the input data; and output the converted luminance data Iwata, see paragraph [0050], where Iwata discloses that the information acquisition unit 102 converts the display mode instruction information into display mode control information, and outputs the display mode control information to the emission luminance control unit 108. Possible display modes include a normal display mode and an HDR display mode. The HDR display mode is one in which an image is displayed with a higher maximum emission luminance, a lower minimum emission luminance, or a higher contrast ratio than in the normal display mode. As employed herein, the emission luminance refers to that of the backlight 112. The emission luminance may be referred to as backlight emission luminance).
Iwata differs from the claimed subject matter in that Iwata does not explicitly disclose luminance range.
However in an analogous art, Oh discloses luminance range (Oh, see paragraph [0242], where Oh discloses that if the offset field is 0x06, this may indicate a transfer function type flag. The transfer function type flag may signal a transfer function type. In one embodiment of the present invention, since each transfer function is designated as a flag, all supported transfer functions are simultaneously signaled even when a plurality of transfer functions is supported. Here, the transfer function may include BT. 1886, SMPTE ST 2084, Traditional gamma-SDR Luminance Range, Traditional gammaHDR Luminance Range, etc. Here, the transfer function may include an electro optical transfer function (EOTF).
It is further noted that Oh discloses a central processing unit (CPU) configured to: detect, based on bit depth information that indicates a bit depth of input data, a first luminance range of the input data, wherein the input data includes the bit depth information, and the bit depth of the input data is one of 8 bits, 10 bits, 12 bits, or 16 bits (Oh, see paragraphs [0161] through [0163], where Oh discloses that data byte 7 to data byte 16 refer to fields indicating arbitrary color gamut information. In this figure, arbitrary color gamut information include Red-x, Red-y, Green-x, Green-y, Blue-x, Blue-y, White-x and White-y. Here, Red-x indicates an x coordinate of the R color of a color gamut ( e.g., CIE 1931) using a value of 0 to 1 in the binary form. In the present embodiment, a total of 10 bits is used and higher 8 bits of data byte 9 and higher 2 bits of data byte 6 may be used. Similarly, Red-y indicates a y coordinate of the R color of the color gamut (e.g., CIE 1931) using a value of 0 to 1 in the binary form. In the present embodiment, a total of 10 bits is used and higher 8 bits of data byte 10 and lower 2 bits of data byte 6 may be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Iwata with Oh. One would be motivated to modify Iwata by disclosing luminance range as taught by Oh, and thereby adaptively controlling the color and brightness of content according to display device (Oh, see paragraph [0011]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al (US 20170293205 Al) in view Oh et al. (US 20160044277 Al) in further view of Chan (US 20220166952 Al).
As to Claim 7:
Iwata in view of Oh differ from the claimed subject matter in that Iwata in view of Oh does not explicitly disclose that the information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the bit depth information is included in a General Control Packet specified in high definition multimedia interface HDMI standards. However in an analogous art, Chan discloses that the information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the bit depth information is included in a General Control Packet specified in high definition multimedia interface HDMI standards (Chan, see paragraph [0025], where Chan discloses that the HDMI protocol specifies that the image frame F2 each must include a general control packet (GCP). The general control packet includes a general screen information, such as a Set_AVMUTE bit [OJ, color depth (CD) bits [lJ to [3J and a Clear_AVMUTE bit [4J. The HDMI protocol notifies the receiving terminal (i.e., the video processor 10) by using the Set_AVMUTE bit [OJ and the Clear_AVMUTE bit [4J that a subsequent image frame needs to be muted or unmuted. In addition, the HDMI protocol defines that with the Set_AVMUTE bit [OJ or the Clear_AVMUTE bit [ 4J, the general control packet must be transmitted in a pixel window Wpxl ( e.g., the pixel window with a length of a 384 pixel clock cycle) after a rising edge of a vertical synchronization signal Vsync and a horizontal synchronization signal Hsync of the image frame F2. In other words, the HDMI protocol notifies the receiving terminal (i.e. the video processor 10) that the subsequent frame needs to be muted or unmuted only at a specific location of the image frame F2, so that the HDMI protocol notifies the receiving terminal (i.e., the video processor 10) in units of one frame, a pixel window teaching or suggesting a luminance range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Iwata and Oh with Chan. One would be motivated to modify Iwata and Oh by disclosing the information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the bit depth information is included in a General Control Packet specified in high definition multimedia interface HDMI standards as taught by Chan, and thereby the video signal transmitted by the transmission terminal is converted into a resolvable video signal (Chan, see paragraph [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 6 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein in a case where the bit depth information indicates that a bit depth of the input data is 10 bits or more, the detection unit detects the luminance range of the input data”.
Referring to claim 10 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the CPU is further configured to blend, based on an elapsed time, data of the first luminance range before the conversion and data of the first luminance range after the conversion, and the elapsed time starts from a start of the conversion of the first luminance range of the input data”.
Referring to claim 12 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein CPU is further configured to: detect that the first luminance range of the input data is the full range; and convert, based on the detection that the first luminance range of the input data is the full range, the input data into the data of the limited range.”.
Referring to claim 13 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein in a case where §_Setting of a luminance range of output data corresponds to the limited range, and in a case where the first luminance range of the input data is the limited range, the CPU is further configured to output the input data without the conversion of converting the first luminance range of the input data.”.
Referring to claim 16 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the CPU is further configured to: determine that the input data is video data that is compatible with a high dynamic range (HDR); control, based on the determination that the input data is the video data that is compatible with the HOR, output of selection information; and detect the first luminance range of the input data based on the selection information).
Referring to claim 17 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the input data includes lnfoFrame that indicates a second luminance range of the input data, and the CPU is further configured to: compare the detected first luminance range of the input data with the second luminance range of the input data; determine, based on the comparison, that the detected first luminance range of the input data is different from the second luminance range of the input data; and output, based on the determination that the detected first luminance range of the input data is different from the second luminance range of the input data, notification information.
Referring to claim 18 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the input data includes lnfoFrame that indicates a second luminance range of the input data, and the CPU is further configured to: output the second luminance range of the input data indicated by the lnfoFrame convert, based on the second luminance range of the input data, the first luminance range of the input data; and output the converted first luminance range.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624