DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant’s amendments field May 15, 2026, amending claims 3-6, is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 are pending and under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The effective filing date of the claimed invention is April 13, 2021.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for two reasons.
First, the drawings were submitted in color, but there is no granted petition to accept color drawings. See 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) (“The Office will accept color drawings in utility patent applications only after granting a petition filed under this paragraph explaining why the color drawings are necessary”). Applicants must either provide that explanation via a petition and comply with all requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2)(i)-(iii) OR submit replacement sheets in black and white and include a clear instruction to replace the color drawings with the replacement sheets. The examiner takes no position on whether color drawings are necessary as the only practical medium by which to disclose the subject matter sought to be patented in this utility patent application.
Second, the lines, shadings, numbers and letters of FIGs 2 and 4-17 are not sufficient to provide satisfactory reproduction characteristics. 37 CFR 1.84(l) states that “all drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.” In the instant case, the text in the FIGs listed above is light grey, very small, poor resolution and/or otherwise not sufficiently dense and dark to permit satisfactory reproduction characteristics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7 and 11 recite “preferably” and then a species or range within a previously recited genus within the claim, which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-12 are also rejected for depending from claim 1 and not remedying the indefiniteness.
Claim 10 recites “Use or the RNA inhibitor… according to claim1 in preparation of a medicament for treatment of a hepatogenic disease…” While the claim provides for the "use” of the RNA inhibitor, the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, and thus it is unclear what method/process they are intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Note MPEP 2173.05(q), which states “' Use” claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101”, which is explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use/usage, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e. results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 USC 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd. App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. V. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - Morrissey
Claims 1-3, 5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morrissey (US 20030206887 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morrissey teaches an HBV-targeting siRNA (i.e., a RNA inhibitor of inhibiting gene expression of HBV) having a sense strand with SEQ ID NO 300, which is 19 nucleotides, and an antisense strand having SEQ ID NO 946, which is 19 nucleotides (Table II).
Regarding claim 2, the second and third limitations recite “may be replaced” and “may be thiolated”, and therefore are interpreted as being optional. Morrissey teaches the sequence of SEQ ID NOs 300 and 946, which are 100% complementary to each other (Table II).
Regarding claim 3, Morrissey’s siRNAs sense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 300, differs from the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 1 by one nucleotide as shown below with differences bolded. Morrissey’s siRNA antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 946 differs from the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 2 by three nucleotide as shown below with differences bolded.
Morrissey SEQ 300: GGGUUUUUCUUGUUGACAA SEQ 946: UUGUCAACAAGAAAAACCC
Claimed SEQ 1: GGGUUUUUCUCGUUGACAA SEQ 2: UUGUCAACGAGAAAAACCCUU
Regarding claim 5, Morrissey’s siRNAs sense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 300 is 100% identical to the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 3 as shown below. Morrissey’s siRNA antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 946 differs from the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 4 by two nucleotides as shown below with differences bolded.
Morrissey SEQ 300: GGGUUUUUCUUGUUGACAA SEQ 946: UUGUCAACAAGAAAAACCC
Claimed SEQ 3: GGGUUUUUCUUGUUGACAA SEQ 2: UUGUCAACAAGAAAAACCCUU
Regarding claim 10, Morrissey teaches using the HBV-targeting siRNAs for treating HBV infections (i.e., hepatitis) ([0047]).
Regarding claim 11, “the dosage form of which is an oral agent…” is interpreted as limiting the pharmaceutical auxiliary material only when a dosage form is required. Since the claim does not appear to require any specific form or dosage of the composition, any pharmaceutical composition comprising at least the siRNA and a pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary material, reads on the claimed composition. Morrissey teaches the siRNAs with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or diluent (i.e., a pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary material) ([0118]).
Regarding claim 12, Morrissey teaches combining the siRNA with another therapeutic drug ([0118]), which includes interferon and nucleoside analogs ([0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - Lu
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (CN 110846320 A, published February 28, 2020, English translation included for reference to point citations).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches an HBV-targeting siRNA (i.e., a RNA inhibitor of inhibiting gene expression of HBV) having a sense strand with SEQ ID NO 208, which is 19 nucleotides, and an antisense strand having SEQ ID NO 2 and an additional 3’ overhang comprising TT, UU or UA, which is 21 nucleotides ([0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 2, the second and third limitations recite “may be replaced” and “may be thiolated”, and therefore are interpreted as being optional. Lu teaches the sequence of SEQ ID NOs 208 and 2, which are 100% complementary to each other ([0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Lu’s siRNAs sense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 208, differs from the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 1 by one nucleotide as shown below with differences bolded. Lu’s siRNA antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 2 with the UU 3’ overhang differs from the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 2 by one nucleotide as shown below with differences bolded.
Lu SEQ 208: GGGUUUUUCUUGUUGACAA SEQ 2: UUGUCAACAAGAAAAACCCUU
Claimed SEQ 1: GGGUUUUUCUCGUUGACAA SEQ 2: UUGUCAACGAGAAAAACCCUU
Regarding claim 5, Morrissey’s siRNAs sense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 208 is 100% identical to the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 3 as shown below. Morrissey’s siRNA antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO 946 differs from the claimed sense strand with SEQ ID NO 4 by two nucleotides as shown below with differences bolded.
Lu SEQ 208: GGGUUUUUCUUGUUGACAA SEQ 2: UUGUCAACAAGAAAAACCCUU
Claimed SEQ 3: GGGUUUUUCUUGUUGACAA SEQ 2: UUGUCAACAAGAAAAACCCUU
Regarding claim 7, Lu teaches the HBV siRNAs of the invention further comprise the deliver chains consisting of a linking chain D, a linker B, a branched chain L and a liver targeting specific ligand X and are linked to the interfering nucleic acid through transition points R1/R2, with various examples of the delivery chains provided ([0011]-[0023] and [0043]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 10, Lu teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the siRNA of the invention for use in preparing a medicament for treating hepatitis ([0112]-[0113]).
Regarding claim 11, Lu teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the siRNA of the invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary material and its dosage form is preferably subcutaneous injections ([0115]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 10-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12509685. Claims 7 and 10-12 are rejected in view of Lu (CN 110846320 A, published February 28, 2020, English translation included for reference to point citations) and Morrissey (US 20030206887 A1).
Patented claim 1 recites A compound comprising an anti-hepatitis B virus interfering nucleic acid that is an anti-hepatitis B virus double stranded nucleic acid comprising a sense strand having the sequence of GGUUUUUCUUGUUGACAAA (SEQ ID NO: 3) and an antisense strand having the sequence of UUUGUCAACAAGAAAAACC (SEQ ID NO: 4); wherein each nucleotide of SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 is independently a 2′-methoxy modified nucleotide or 2′-fluoro modified nucleotide; wherein the anti-hepatitis B virus double stranded nucleic acid comprises one or more inter-nucleoside phosphorothioates; and wherein the compound comprises a liver targeting specific ligand. Patented claim 3 recites wherein the liver targeting specific ligand is galactose, galactosamine, or N-acetylgalactosamine. Patented claim 7 recites A pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary material. Therefore, patented claim 1 anticipates examined claims 1-3, 5 and 11.
The patented claims do not recite a use for using the patented composition or the type of linker used to conjugate the GalNAc targeting moiety to the siRNAs.
The teachings of Morrissey are recited above in paragraphs 17-23. The teachings of Lu are recited above in paragraphs 25-31.
Regarding claims 7, 10 and 12, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the patented siRNAs in a method for treating hepatitis by conjugated the patented GalNAc via the means recited in examined claims 7 and provided with a nucleotide analog. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted the patented siRNA-GalNAc conjugated could include various linkers and transition points because Lu teaches such linkers for attachment to siRNA. It also would have been obvious to include a nucleoside analog for use in a method to treat hepatitis because Morrissey suggests combining siRNAs and nucleoside analogs for HBV infection treatment and Lu teaches using GalNAc-conjugated siRNAs for treatment of HBV infections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6 and 8-9 recite allowable subject matter.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, the specific 2’-methyl and 2’-fluoro modification patterns appear to be free of the prior art. Although using modified 2’-modified nucleotides in siRNAs is routine in the art, the combination of the specific pattern of modifications of the sense and antisense strands recited in claims 4 and 6 are not taught and suggested in the prior art. Foster teaches optimizing the pattern of methyl and fluorine modifications in siRNAs (Foster et al., Molecular Therapy (2018), 26: 708-717). However, the claimed modification pattern is not tested or suggested in Foster or anywhere in the prior art. As such, it would not have been obvious to include the specific 2’-modification pattern in Lu’s or Morrissey’s HBV-targeting siRNA.
Regarding claims 8-9, the claimed combinations of targeting ligands and linkers is also free of the prior art. Although conjugated GalNAc moieties via branched linkers comprising amide-acyl linkers onto siRNAs is well known in the art (see e.g., US 20230355653 A1, priority to September 17, 2020), a thorough search of the prior art did not produce art comprising the claimed linkers in 3’MVIP09 or 3’MVIP17. As such, it would not have been obvious to include either as the targeting ligand on the 3’ end of sense or antisense strand of Lu’s or Morrissey’s HBV-targeting siRNA.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635