DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 regarding the 35 USC 103 rejections with respect to the amended limitations of claims 1-8, 10-18, and 19-20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 7-8 RE the amended limitations of “generate a third panoramic image based on fusing the first mesh with the second mesh using a model configured to join left and right portion of the third panoramic image, the model is configured to join the left and right portion of the third panoramic image using additional pixels.” that “The independent claims are amended to incorporate the subject matter of claim 9 which is indicated as including allowable subject matter. For the reasons described above, the cited art fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of claim 1. Accordingly, the cited art fails to render claim 1 obvious. Claims 10 and 19 are allowable for reasons similar to claim 1. Claims 2-7, 11-16, and 20 are allowable at least by virtue of their dependency from an allowable base claim.”. However the previous claims 9 and 18 recited “wherein the trained neural network uses circular padding at each convolutional layer, to join left and right edges of the third panoramic image.” It is clear from the amended claim 1 that it merely incorporates the circular padding as “using additional pixels”, and it does not incorporate all of features recited in the claim. In addition the amended feature “he model is configured to join the left and right portion of the third panoramic image using additional pixels.” is taught by cited reference Cheng, wherein Cheng teaches joining left and right portion of panoramic image, the model is configured to join the left and right portion of the third panoramic image using additional pixels as the cubic/circular padding utilizing a CNN model in Figs 1-4, abstract, page 1423 cols 1-2 to generate smooth boundary within the images. This can be equally applied in Lai and Varshney to effectively generate a distortion free third image from the desired viewpoint utilizing machine learning, as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Therefore all previous rejection and objection are maintained.
As an additional note, upon review of the Applicant’s newly submitted IDS on 03/04/2026, the examiner found that cited ref (SCHUBERT, et al., "Circular Convolutional Neural Networks for Panoramic Images and Laser Data", 2019 IEEE INTELLIGENT VEHICLES SYMPOSIUM (IV), IEEE, 9 June 2019 (2019-06-09) teaches the subject matter of the canceled claim 9 of “wherein the trained neural network uses circular padding at each convolutional layer, to join left and right edges of the third panoramic image” in Fig 1, abstract, pages 655 col 1-2 etc.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “depth predictor”, “mesh renderer”, and “fusion network” in claims 10-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al (Lai, Po Kong, et al. "Real-time panoramic depth maps from omni-directional stereo images for 6 dof videos in virtual reality." 2019 IEEE Conference on Virtual Reality and 3D User Interfaces (VR). IEEE, 2019.), and further in view of Varshney et al (US 20200219323 A1) and Cheng et al (Cheng, Hsien-Tzu, et al. "Cube padding for weakly-supervised saliency prediction in 360 videos." Proceedings of the IEEE conference on computer vision and pattern recognition. 2018.).
RE claim 1, Lai teaches A method comprising:
predicting a depth associated with a first panoramic image and a second panoramic image, the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image being captured with a time period between the capture of the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image (Abstract, Fig 2, wherein the ODS pair can be a first and second panoramic image being captured with a time period between the capture of the images, as an obvious matter of design choice eg., see page 406 col 1);
generating a first mesh representing a structure that is three-dimensional based on the first panoramic image and a depth corresponding to the first panoramic image; generating a second mesh representing a structure that is three-dimensional based on the second panoramic image and a depth corresponding to the second panoramic image (Figs 3-5, page 409 col 1- page 410 col 1); and
generating a third panoramic image (Figs 3-5, page 409 col 1- page 410 col 1, page 407 col 2).
Lai is silent RE: generating the third panoramic image based on fusing the first mesh with the second mesh using a model configured to join left and right portion of the third panoramic image, the model is configured to join the left and right portion of the third panoramic image using additional pixels. However Varshney teaches generating the third panoramic image based on fusing the first mesh with the second mesh using join left and right portion of the third panoramic image in Figs 6-9, [0067], [0072]-[0074], generating a seamless representation from 3D meshes. In addition Cheng teaches joining left and right portion of panoramic image, the model is configured to join the left and right portion of the third panoramic image using additional pixels as cubic/circular padding utilizing a CNN model in Figs 1-4, abstract, page 1423 cols 1-2 to generate smooth boundary within the images.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Lai a system and method of generating the third panoramic image based on fusing the first mesh with the second mesh using a model configured to join left and right portion of the third panoramic image, the model is configured to join the left and right portion of the third panoramic image using additional pixels combining the above teachings of by Varshney and Cheng, in order to generate a distortion free third image from the desired viewpoint and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 2, Lai teaches wherein the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image are 360-degree, wide-baseline equirectangular projection (ERP) panoramas (abstract, Fig 2, page 406 col 2).
RE claim 4, Lai teaches wherein the predicting of the depth estimates a low-resolution depth based on a first features map associated with the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image, and the predicting of the depth estimates a high-resolution depth based on the first features map and a second features map associated with the first panoramic image (Fig 1, page 406 col 2).
Claims 10-11 and 13 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 1-2 and 4 and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Lai teaches A system comprising: a depth predictor a first and a second differential mesh renderer and a fusion network (Abstract, Figs 1-2).
Claim 19 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 2 and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Lai teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon (Abstract, Figs 1-2).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng, and further in view of Won et al (Won, Changhee, Jongbin Ryu, and Jongwoo Lim. "Omnimvs: End-to-end learning for omnidirectional stereo matching." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision. 2019.).
RE claim 3, Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng is silent RE wherein the predicting of the depth estimates a depth of each of the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image using a spherical sweep cost volume based on the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image and at least one target position.
However Won teaches in Figs 1-2, page 8989 cols 1-2.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng a system and method wherein the predicting of the depth estimates a depth of each of the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image using a spherical sweep cost volume based on the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image and at least one target position, as suggested by Won, in order to further tune the depth estimation network and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claim 12 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 3 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng, and further in view of Won et al (US 20120299920 A1).
RE claim 5, Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng is silent RE wherein the generating of the first mesh is based on the first panoramic image and discontinuities determined based the depth corresponding to the first panoramic image, and the generating of the second mesh is based on the second panoramic image and discontinuities determined based on the depth corresponding to the second panoramic image.
However Coombe teaches in Fig 5, [0087]-[0088].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng a system and method wherein the generating of the first mesh is based on the first panoramic image and discontinuities determined based the depth corresponding to the first panoramic image, and the generating of the second mesh is based on the second panoramic image and discontinuities determined based on the depth corresponding to the second panoramic image, applying Coombe to generate the first and second meshes free from artifacts/missing data and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claim 14 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 5 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6-7, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng, and further in view of Chen et al (US 20180234669 A1).
RE claim 6, Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng is silent RE wherein the generating of the first mesh includes rendering the first mesh into a first 360-degree panorama based on a first target position, the generating of the second mesh includes rendering the second mesh into a first 360-degree panorama based on a second target position, and the first target position and the second target position are based on the time period between the capture of the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image.
However Chen teaches in Figs 5-6, abstract, [0049]-[0050], [0058]-[0060], [0073]-[0074] etc. wherein viewpoints are determined based on the interpolated/fixed camera positions of the images.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng a system and method wherein the generating of the first mesh includes rendering the first mesh into a first 360-degree panorama based on a first target position, the generating of the second mesh includes rendering the second mesh into a first 360-degree panorama based on a second target position, and the first target position and the second target position are based on the time period between the capture of the first panoramic image and the second panoramic image, applying Chen as set forth above, in order to generate the desired view image with smooth transition and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 7, Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng teaches wherein the generating of the third panoramic image includes fusing the first mesh together with the second mesh, and inpainting holes in the generated third panoramic image (Varshney and Cheng Fig 7D, col 7 lines 30-35, Col 14 lines 22-25).
Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng is silent RE resolving ambiguities between the first mesh and the second mesh,
However Chen teaches in Fig 4, [0077]-[0078], [0081] etc. to provide dense mesh free of artifacts, noise or outliers, resolving ambiguous overlapping regions.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Lai as modified by Varshney and Cheng a system and method of resolving ambiguities between the first mesh and the second mesh, applying Chen as set forth above, in order to provide dense mesh free of artifacts, noise or outliers resolving ambiguous overlapping regions and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claims 15-16 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 6-7 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 6 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: No single or combination of prior art was found to teach the following subject matter in combination with the limitations of the base claims.
Claim 8 and 17: wherein the generating of the third panoramic image includes generating a binary visibility mask to identify holes the first mesh based on negative regions in the depth corresponding to the first panoramic image and the second mesh based on negative regions in the depth corresponding to the second panoramic image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached 892).
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614