DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending. Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn. Claims 1-9, 12, and 13 are under consideration in this action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-9, 12, and 13) and the species, personal care (product type) in the reply filed on June 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 16, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: both claims recite “personal care personal care”. The second “personal care” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 5, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “[a] formulation consisting (essentially) of” in line 1. The parentheses renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation in the parentheses is required by the claim. The transitional phrase “consisting of” and “consisting essentially of” are not identical in scope regarding the inclusion of unrecited elements, and as it is unclear if “essentially” is a required term or not, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are.
Claims 4 and 8 contain parentheses which raises the question as to which term is required by the claim because the subject matter in the parentheses is not identical in scope. Essentially, the claims use both narrow and broad limitations. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Further regarding Claim 4, the term “preferably” at the end of line 4 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
With regards to Claim 5, the limitation “wherein the solvent is polysorbate 20” is indefinite because claim 1, which claim 5 depends from, recites “at least one solvent”. As currently written, it is unclear if “the solvent” as recited in claim 5 is referring to just one of the “at least one solvent” or the entirety of “at least one solvent”.
The preamble of Claim 12 recites “[f]ood, feed, pharma and personal care personal care products”. It is unclear whether the claim is intended to be directed to a product that meets all four recited intended uses, just a single one, or if it is attempting to claim multiple products in a single claim.
The preamble of Claim 13 recites “[p]ersonal care personal care products”. The pluralization of “products” renders the claim unclear as to whether the scope of the claim is directed to a single personal care product or if it is directed to multiple products, and if that’s the case, how the scope of multiple products are to be interpreted. Furthermore, the claim recites that the personal care products comprise “at least one formulation according to claim 1.” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the limitation as claim 1 is directed to a single formulation and does not encompass more than one formulation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer et al. (Shaffer) (US 20180243196 A1; of record) and Anderson et al. (Anderson) (US 2002/0006383 A1; of record).
With regards to Claims 1-6, Shaffer discloses stable, non-irritating retinoid containing formulations and delivery systems for topical application to the skin (abstract). The retinoid composition comprises 0.001-60% (w/w) retinol and 0.01-25% (w/w) polysorbate 20 (Shaffer claims 1 and 10; para.0021, 0032, 0042).
Polysorbate 20 reads on the compound of formula (I) as shown in claim 1, wherein R is a linear C11-alkyl moiety and w, x, y, and z each are integers which sum up to 20. The polysorbate 20 serves as a solubilizing agent and provides stability to the disclosed formulations and retinoid delivery systems (para.0042).
Shaffer further discloses the compositions may further comprise one or more antioxidants (para.0045).
With regards to Claims 12 and 13, Shaffer is directed to a formulation that provides effective topical treatment with a low incidence of irritation, supports the skin barrier, and increases cell turnover in the skin, thereby reducing the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, and age spots, as well as improving skin texture and tone and promoting a collagen-rich appearance (para.0009, 0010, 0038, 0039, 0040). Thus, Shaffer’s formulation reads on a personal care product.
Shaffer does not appear to explicitly disclose the inclusion of mixed tocopherol. Anderson is relied upon for this disclosure. The teachings of Anderson are set forth herein below.
Anderson discloses skin treatment compositions (abstract). The composition may contain an antioxidant. Among the suitable antioxidants include mixed tocopherol (a mixture of isomers of Vitamin E). Preferably, the antioxidant is present in an amount of about 0.01-5.0 wt.% of the total weight of the composition (para.0048).
With regards to the inclusion of mixed tocopherol as recited in Claims 1, 2, and 9, Shaffer and Anderson are both directed to topically applied skin treatment compositions. As discussed above, Shaffer discloses their composition comprises at least one antioxidant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Shaffer and Anderson and incorporate mixed tocopherol in an amount of 0.01-5.0 wt.% as the antioxidant component in Shaffer’s skin treatment composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Anderson discloses mixed tocopherol as an art recognized and conventional antioxidant for skin treatment compositions, and discloses that antioxidants are known to be incorporated into skin treatment compositions in amounts ranging from 0.01-5.0 wt.%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as Shaffer explicitly discloses the inclusion of at least one antioxidant in their skin treatment composition, and Anderson discloses mixed tocopherol as an antioxidant suitable for skin treatment compositions. Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to Claim 8, Shaffer at its broadest disclosure discloses their composition comprises one or more antioxidants, thus encompassing a formulation having just one antioxidant component. Thus, the skin treatment composition of the combined teachings of Shaffer and Anderson discussed above encompasses a formulation wherein the mixed tocopherol is the only antioxidant component in the formulation.
With regards to the transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” in Claim 2, for the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as equivalent to “comprising.” If an applicant contends that additional steps or materials in the prior art are excluded by the recitation of “consisting essentially of,” applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or components would materially change the characteristics of applicant's invention. PPG Industries Inc. V Guardian Industries Corp. 48 USPQ2d 1351 (Fed. Cir. 1998) and In re De Lajarte 337 F.2d 870, 143 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1964) See MPEP 2111.03.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, because the combined teachings of the prior art references is fairly suggestive of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer et al. (Shaffer) (US 20180243196 A1; of record) and Anderson et al. (Anderson) (US 2002/0006383 A1; of record) as applied to Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 set forth above, further in view of Udell et al. (Udell) (US 6,716,451 B1; published Apr. 6, 2004).
The teachings of Shaffer and Anderson and the motivation for their combination as they apply to Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 are set forth above and incorporated herein.
The combined teachings of Shaffer and Anderson do not appear to explicitly disclose the components of the mixed tocopherol as recited in Claim 7. Udell is relied upon for this disclosure. The teachings of Udell are set forth herein below.
Udell discloses a formulation of Vitamin E isomers for improved antioxidant capacity, bioavailability, dissolution, and efficacy. Udell discloses that the potent antioxidant capacity of the formulation affords protection against oxidative damage of cell membranes, heart disease, cancer, and eye and skin disease (abstract). The formulation may be in any delivery system that can provide beneficial antioxidant to living beings, whether human or other animals (col.5, ln.55-63).
Udell discloses the use of mixed tocopherols that comprise (based on the total weight of the mixed tocopherol) 9.6 wt.% α-tocopherol, 1.0 wt.% β-tocopherol, 42.0 wt.% γ-tocopherol, and 13.0 wt.% δ-tocopherol (col.7, ln.10-29).
With regards to Claim 7, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Shaffer and Anderson are directed to skin treatment formulations, wherein one of the components is mixed tocopherols as the antioxidant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention to further combine the teachings of Shaffer and Anderson with the teachings of Udell and use Udell’s mixed tocopherol comprising 9.6 wt.% α-tocopherol, 1.0 wt.% β-tocopherol, 42.0 wt.% γ-tocopherol, and 13.0 wt.% δ-tocopherol as the mixed tocopherol antioxidant in the skin treatment composition of the combined teachings of Shaffer and Anderson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as Anderson discloses that mixed tocopherol (a mixture of isomers of Vitamin E) is an art recognized and conventional antioxidant for skin treatment compositions, and Udell discloses that their particular mixed tocopherol (a mixture of isomers of Vitamin E) is known to be an antioxidant suitable for providing antioxidant capacity and providing protection against oxidative damage of cell membranes and skin disease. Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, because the combined teachings of the prior art references is fairly suggestive of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 12, and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
(i) claims 1-9, 12, and 13 of copending Application No. 18/555,104 (Copending 104),
(ii) claims 1-9, 12, and 13 of copending Application No. 18/555,154 (Copending 154),
(iii) claims 1-10, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/838,710 (Copending 710),
(iv) claims 1-10, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/838,904 (Copending 904),
(v) claims 1-10, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/838,971 (Copending 971),
each in view of Shaffer et al. (Shaffer) (US 20180243196 A1; of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the cited claims of the copending applications are all directed to substantially similar and overlapping formulations comprising 40-75 wt.%, based on the total weight of the formulation, of retinol, 20-55 wt.% based on the total weight of the formulation, of at least one solvent, and 0.1-5 wt.%, based on the total weight of the formulation, of mixed tocopherol. Each of the copending applications also are directed to personal care products incorporating the aforementioned formulation.
The primary difference between the instant claims the cited copending applications is the at least one solvent. The instant application claims wherein the at least one solvent is a compound of formula (I), such as polysorbate 20. However, this is a prima facie obvious modification in view of Shaffer. The teaching of Shaffer are set forth above and incorporated herein.
As discussed above, each of the Copending applications are directed to retinol-containing formulations, which may be used in personal care products. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Shaffer with the claims of Copending104/Copending 154/Copending 710/Copending 904/Copending 971 and add Shaffer’s polysorbate 20 in an amount of 0.01-25 wt.% to the formulation of Copending104/Copending 154/Copending 710/Copending 904/Copending 971. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Shaffer discloses that polysorbate 20 provides stability to retinoid (e.g., retinol) delivery systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as each of the copending applications are directed to retinol-containing formulations, which may be used in personal care products, and Shafer discloses that polysorbate 20 is known to be incorporated in amounts of 0.01-25 wt.% into skin treatment formulations containing retinol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9, 12, and 13 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/MONICA A SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616