Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomita (US 20040163579 A1) in view of Hara (US 20240174331 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 Tomita discloses a steering system having a steering angle correction function for a single-propeller twin-rudder ship, wherein: in a single-propeller twin-rudder ship comprising a propulsion propeller disposed at a stem of the ship, a pair of right and left high-lift rudders disposed behind the propulsion propeller, a pair of rotary vane steering gears for driving each of the high-lift rudders, respectively, a steering controller for controlling a direction of a hull motion by combining rudder angles of the two high-lift rudders (paragraph 10, 11. See Fig 1). Tomita does not expressly disclose a ship speed measuring device that measures a ship speed of an own ship, a position measuring device that measures a ship position of the own ship, and an azimuth measuring device that measures a heading of the own ship, the steering controller has an electronic marine chart display section that displays a navigational electronic marine chart on a display device, a rudder angle specifying section that applies a specified rudder angle to each of the rotary vane steering gears, a course line setting section that sets a planned route of the own ship on the navigational electronic marine chart, and a maneuvering support section that calculates an appropriate steering angle that is necessary for navigation on the planned route and outputs the appropriate steering angle that is calculated as a specified rudder angle to the rudder angle specifying section, and the maneuvering support section has a digital twin computation section, a simulation computation section, a resultant force of external forces computation section, and a specified rudder angle computation section, wherein: the digital twin computation section collects in real time a ship speed of the own ship measured by the ship speed measuring device, a ship position of the own ship measured by the position measuring device, and a heading of the own ship measured by the azimuth measuring device, and reproduces, on the navigational electronic marine chart, an actual hull motion of the own ship that is realized at a current steering angle; the simulation computation section displays, on the navigational electronic marine chart, an assumed hull motion of the own ship determined by computation assuming that a force acting on the hull is a driving force at the current steering angle; the resultant force of external forces computation section calculates an acting direction and a magnitude of a resultant force of external forces acting on the hull based on a ship speed difference, a ship position difference, and a heading difference between the actual hull motion and the assumed hull motion; and the specified rudder angle computation section calculates a corrective rudder angle for resisting the resultant force of external forces, and corrects the current steering angle with the corrective rudder angle to calculate an appropriate steering angle necessary for navigating the planned route resisting the external forces.
Hara discloses a ship speed measuring device that measures a ship speed of an own ship (paragraph 39), a position measuring device that measures a ship position of the own ship (paragraph 39), and an azimuth measuring device that measures a heading of the own ship (paragraph 68), the steering controller has an electronic marine chart display section that displays a navigational electronic marine chart on a display device (Element 11a), a rudder angle specifying section that applies a specified rudder angle to each of the rotary vane steering gears (paragraph 87), a course line setting section that sets a planned route of the own ship on the navigational electronic marine chart, (paragraph 40) and a maneuvering support section that calculates an appropriate steering angle that is necessary for navigation on the planned route and outputs the appropriate steering angle that is calculated as a specified rudder angle to the rudder angle specifying section (Element 51, 52 Fig. 6), and the maneuvering support section has a digital twin computation section, a simulation computation section, a resultant force of external forces computation section, and a specified rudder angle computation section, wherein: the digital twin computation section collects in real time a ship speed of the own ship measured by the ship speed measuring device, a ship position of the own ship measured by the position measuring device, and a heading of the own ship measured by the azimuth measuring device (Element 61, 63 Fig. 7), and reproduces, on the navigational electronic marine chart, an actual hull motion of the own ship that is realized at a current steering angle (paragraph 120, 121); the simulation computation section displays, on the navigational electronic marine chart, an assumed hull motion of the own ship determined by computation assuming that a force acting on the hull is a driving force at the current steering angle (paragraph 73); the resultant force of external forces computation section calculates an acting direction and a magnitude of a resultant force of external forces acting on the hull based on a ship speed difference, a ship position difference, and a heading difference between the actual hull motion and the assumed hull motion; and the specified rudder angle computation section calculates a corrective rudder angle for resisting the resultant force of external forces, and corrects the current steering angle with the corrective rudder angle to calculate an appropriate steering angle necessary for navigating the planned route resisting the external forces. (paragraph 86-88).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to add the steering control of Hara to the steering control of Tomita which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Tomita is to add an autopilot that can follow a preset course.
Regarding Claim 2 Tomita in view of Hara discloses the steering system having a steering angle correction function for a single-propeller twin-rudder ship according to claim 1, the steering controller having a course correcting section that eliminates a positional deviation of the own ship with respect to a course line (), wherein: the course correcting section determines, in a state in which the heading of the own ship reproduced on the navigational electronic marine chart by the digital twin computation section is in parallel with the course line, a shortest separation distance from the own ship to the course line as a positional deviation amount of the ship position of the own ship with respect to the course line, and if the shortest separation distance exceeds a set allowable range, the course correcting section outputs to the rudder angle specifying section a course correction rudder angle that is set for directing the heading to a course that intersects the course line. (Hara, Fig. 19)
Regarding Claim 3 Tomita in view of Hara discloses the steering system having a steering angle correction function for a single-propeller twin-rudder ship according to claim 1, wherein in stop maneuvering with respect to an object on the course line, the steering controller: while keeping the propulsion propeller always rotated forward, applies rudder angles to both of the high-lift rudders to make propulsion of a propeller slipstream an astern propulsion to cause the own ship to decelerate against an inertial force in a direction of forward movement of the own ship by the astern propulsion, and controls the rudder angles applied to both of the high-lift rudders within a range from a rudder angle that causes a propeller slipstream to act at a maximum as the astern propulsion to a rudder angle that eliminates forward propulsion of the propeller slipstream; and based on the resultant force of external forces that the resultant force of external forces computation section calculates, the specified rudder angle computation section calculates an appropriate steering angle for both of the high-lift rudders which is necessary for causing the own ship to decelerate to an appropriate ship speed so as to come to a stop within a distance from the own ship to the object. (Tomito, paragraphs 150-153)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomita (US 20040163579 A1) in view of Hara (US 20240174331 A1) and further in view of Hac (US 7016783 B2)
Regarding Claim 4 Tomita in view of Hara discloses the steering system having a steering angle correction function for a single-propeller twin-rudder ship according to claim 1, wherein in the crash stop maneuver controls the astern propulsion which increases or decreases according to the rudder angles and can be used to avoid collision (Tomito paragraph 152), the steering controller: while keeping the propulsion propeller always rotated forward, applies rudder angles to both of the high-lift rudders to make propulsion of a propeller slipstream an astern propulsion to cause the own ship to decelerate against an inertial force in a direction of forward movement of the own ship by the astern propulsion, controls the rudder angles applied to both of the high-lift rudders within a range from a rudder angle that causes a propeller slipstream to act at a maximum as the astern propulsion to a rudder angle that eliminates forward propulsion of the propeller slipstream (paragraph 150-153) but does not explicitly disclose collision-avoidance maneuvering for avoiding an other ship that crosses the course line and in accordance with a distance from the other ship that is an object, secures a time required for the other ship to cross and pass through the course of the own ship; and based on the resultant force of external forces that the resultant force of external forces computation section calculates, the specified rudder angle computation section calculates appropriate steering angles for both of the high-lift rudders which is necessary for causing the own ship to decelerate to an appropriate ship speed for avoiding the other ship within a distance from the own ship to the other ship.
Hac discloses distances and deceleration limits exist for collisions that can be avoided with deceleration only while maintain course. (C7, L1-67) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to use the collision avoidance of Tomita for collisions avoiding an other ship and calculation the necessary deceleration as in Hac such that collision-avoidance maneuvering for avoiding an other ship that crosses the course line and in accordance with a distance from the other ship that is an object, secures a time required for the other ship to cross and pass through the course of the own ship; and based on the resultant force of external forces that the resultant force of external forces computation section calculates, the specified rudder angle computation section calculates appropriate steering angles for both of the high-lift rudders which is necessary for causing the own ship to decelerate to an appropriate ship speed for avoiding the other ship within a distance from the own ship to the other ship which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Tomita is to add a feature to the autopilot that is typically done manually by slowing down.
Conclusion
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 24 Dec 2025