The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED NON-FINAL ACTION
This is the initial Office Action (OA), on the merits, based on the 18/555,099 application filed on September 12, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 1-17 are directed to an apparatus and claims 18-20 are drawn to a method.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/05/2024. Please refer to the signed copy of the PTO-1449 form attached herewith.
Claim Interpretation
In the patentability analysis below, the bolded portions represent structural aspects of the claim. For method claims 18-20, the italicized portions represent one or more portions of the manipulative steps, and for apparatus claims it represents functional limitations. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation necessarily performs a manipulative step, act, or the method claimed, then Examiner will consider the particular manipulative step or act to be disclosed by the prior art device. That is, when the prior art device is the same as a device described in Applicant’s specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. MPEP §2112.02.
Claims 1-16 are apparatus claims requiring only the positively recited structural components, although structured with physical features that can perform the stated functions or accomplish the intended uses. Functional limitations state either an intended use or operation, a manner of operating a device, apparatus or system, or what the apparatus/system does. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Of course, in the patentability analysis of these apparatus/system claims, functional features are considered/not ignored and Applicant can and should employ such language where appropriate and helpful. However, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, or if such apparatus can operate in the manner described, then it meets the claim limitation (MPEP §§ 2114, 2173.05(g)).
The recited water, water treatment material and citric acid, for example, are considered materials potentially contained within, transient or passing through, generated or produced, or otherwise worked upon by the apparatus rather than structural components of the apparatus.
According to the MPEP §2115 [R-2], a material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims: Expressions relating an apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of apparatus claims. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
In summary, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
In the patentability analysis, the Office applies the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification. However, specific limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §§2111, 2173.01 I. Unless otherwise specified, any citation to Applicant’s specification will generally refer to the original and any substitute or amended specification rather than a published application.
Examiner interprets limitations such as ‘configured,’ ‘configured to’ and/or ‘configured for’ as similar or equivalent to ‘set up to,’ ‘designed to,’ and ‘capable of,’ in the context of an appropriate reference.
Examiner interprets limitations such as ‘adapted,’ ‘adapted to’ and/or ‘adapted for’ as ‘designed for,’ ‘appropriate for,’ ‘suitable for,’ ‘workable with,’ ‘capable of working with,’ and such, with a suitable reference.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informality: Claim 5 recites: “. . . a second position in which the gate is in the open position and a second direction opposite the first direction about the rotation axis from the second positon to the first position. . .” The underlined is a typo and appears to be a misspelling of ‘position.’
Claim 18 states: “. . . a cartridge mount coupled the tank housing and formed to include a tank opening . . .” The preposition ‘to’ appears to be missing in the underlined portion.
Claims 6, 19 and 20 depend on claims 5 and 18
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minor et al. (US20200055753; Minor).
In the patentability analysis of the apparatus claims the italicized portions represent functional aspects, whereas the bolded portions represent structure. In the method claims, the bolded portions represent structural aspects of the claim whereas the italicized portions represent one or more portions of the manipulative steps. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation necessarily performs a manipulative step or the method claimed, then Examiner will consider the particular manipulative step to be disclosed by the prior art device.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Minor discloses a water treatment system for treating a water supply (Abstract, [0022]-[0025], Figs. 1-6), the water treatment system comprising:
a tank in fluid communication with the water supply to receive a flow of water from the water supply, the tank including a tank housing formed to define a storage reservoir 102 (Fig. 1) and
a cartridge mount 122 coupled the tank housing and formed to include a passageway arranged to open into the storage reservoir ([0034], [0042], [0043]; Fig 1, where the cartridge implies a cartridge mount member);
a dispenser configured to be coupled to the cartridge mount of the tank and configured to dispense a water treatment material into the storage reservoir of the tank ([0043]-[0044]); and
a control system 124 configured to produce a water treatment solution in the storage reservoir by combining the water and the water treatment material and configured to dose the water supply with the water treatment solution from the storage reservoir ([0046]-[0049], Fig. 1);
wherein the control system comprises a doser in fluid communication with the storage reservoir and the water supply and configured to dose the water supply with the water treatment solution and a controller coupled to the doser and configured to direct the doser to dose a predetermined amount of the water treatment solution into the water supply ([0095]-[0098]).
Additional Disclosure Included: Claim 2: The dispenser comprises: a cartridge configured to store the water treatment material, the cartridge including a body formed to include an interior storage region that stores the water treatment material and a neck coupled to the body and formed to include an opening arranged to open into the interior storage region, the neck configured to couple to the cartridge mount of the tank; and
a dispensing system configured to control the dispensing of the water treatment material through the opening in the neck of the cartridge ([0043]-[0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minor et al. (US20200055753).
Claim 11 is an independent apparatus claim but includes many of the same major elements recited in claim 1. As such, in the interest of convenience and brevity, Examiner may apply portions of the claim 33 analysis herein, without repeating the text in its entirety.
Regarding claim 11, Minor discloses a dispenser assembly adapted for use in a water treatment system to dispense a water treatment material into a reservoir of water (Abstract, [0007]-[0044]; Fig. 1), the dispenser assembly comprising:
a cartridge mount coupled to a tank included water treatment system (122; [0043]-[0045]); and
a dispenser configured to be selectively coupled to the cartridge mount (claim 1 analysis and implicit), the dispenser comprising:
a cartridge configured to store the water treatment material, the cartridge including a body formed to include an interior storage region that stores the water treatment material and a neck coupled to the body and formed to include an opening arranged to open into the interior storage region ([0043], where the neck is implied); and
a dispensing system coupled to the cartridge and configured to control the dispensing of the water treatment material through the opening in the neck of the cartridge ([0044]) and the water treatment material is citric acid (a material such as citric acid is a functional aspect not affecting the structure of the apparatus since such materials are merely worked upon by the apparatus).
Therefore, Minor discloses the claimed invention, except wherein the dispenser is configured to be inserted into the cartridge mount and rotated about a rotation axis in a first direction to cause the dispensing system to change from a closed orientation in which the dispensing system blocks the water treatment material from dispensing through the opening in the neck of the cartridge to an open orientation in which the dispensing system has moved to allow the water treatment material to move through the opening of the cartridge to dispense the water treatment material out of the interior storage region into the reservoir of water.
Alternate type connection elements including snap fit, clamps and threaded connections, are well known in the art, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to experiment with such alternatives and to employ a rotational type connection element in the dispenser as a matter of engineering choice.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washburn et al. (US20180346361; Washburn) (IDS of 1-05-2025) in view of Minor et al. (US20200055753).
Claim 18 is an independent method claim.
Regarding claims 18, Washburn discloses a method of treating a water supply with a water treatment solution (Abstract, [0005], [0006], [0017], Fig. 1-8), the method comprising:
providing a tank 418 in fluid communication with the water supply and a first dispenser, the tank including a tank housing formed to define a reservoir ([0097]-[0102]; Fig 8, where the reservoir is implicit) and
conducting a first flow of water into the reservoir of the tank (416, Fig. 8);
dispensing the water treatment material in the first dispenser through the tank opening into the water in the reservoir (430, Fig. 8);
detecting a second predetermined fill level of the liquid in the reservoir and mixing the water and the water treatment material in the reservoir when the second predetermined fill level is detected to produce the water treatment solution configured to react with hard minerals in the water supply to reduce hardness of the water supply ([0017], [0086]); and
dosing a predetermined amount of the water treatment solution into the water supply to reduce the hardness of the water supply (414; [0097]-[0102], Fig. 8).
Therefore, Washburn discloses the claimed invention, except
a cartridge mount coupled the tank housing and formed to include a tank opening arranged to open into the reservoir, and the first dispenser configured to be coupled to the cartridge mount of the tank and configured to be rotated about an axis to allow the water treatment material to be dispensed out of the first dispenser; and
detecting a first predetermined fill level of the liquid in the reservoir and stopping the conducting of the first flow of water into the reservoir when the first predetermined fill level is detected.
Minor discloses a system for treating and distributing drink water, where the system comprises a first container and an input conduit that supplies water (e.g., purified drink water, unpurified drink water, etc.) to the first container, and where the system also comprises a sensor that measures a characteristic of the water within the first container, and a treatment delivery system that delivers a mineral composition into the first container ([0004]).
Mounted cartridges for dosing additives are well known, as previously disclosed in Minor ([0007], [0043], [0091]). Washburn’s figs. 1-7 embodiments also disclose a cartridge system ([0007], [0012], [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a cartridge system mounted on a tank for storing and dispensing the treatment solution.
Additionally, Washburn discloses a float valve 496 that reacts to water level changes ([0099]).
When the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to experiment with alternate control systems and to substitute a traditional detection system for the float valve to actively and more effectively control the water level for enhance treatment efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure and optimize the detection system for any and all types of fill level, dosing and water flow scenarios.
Additional Disclosures Included: Claim 19: The method further comprises:
detecting a third predetermined fill level of the liquid in the reservoir that corresponds to the reservoir being empty;
conducting a second flow of water into the reservoir of the tank to flush out the reservoir after the third predetermined fill level is detected;
detecting a fourth predetermined fill level of the liquid in the reservoir and stopping the conducting of the second flow of water into the reservoir when the fourth predetermined fill level is detected;
dosing the water in the reservoir into the water supply so as to empty the reservoir for refiling with the water treatment solution; and detecting the third predetermined fill level in the reservoir and stopping the dosing of the water when the third predetermined fill level is detected (claim 18 analysis, where this is an optimization scenario); and Claim 20: The method further comprises the steps of:
repeating the steps of:
conducting the first flow of water into the reservoir of the tank;
detecting the first predetermined fill level of the liquid in the reservoir; and
stopping the conducting of the first flow of water into the reservoir when the first predetermined fill level is detected after the step of stopping the dosing of the water when the third predetermined fill level is detected;
removing the first dispenser coupled the cartridge mount of the tank that is empty and coupling a second dispenser that is full to the cartridge mount;
dispensing the water treatment material in the second dispenser through the tank opening into the water in the reservoir; and repeating the steps of:
detecting the second predetermined fill level of the liquid in the reservoir and mixing the water and the water treatment material in the reservoir when the second predetermined fill level is detected to produce the water treatment solution; and
dosing the predetermined amount of the water treatment solution into the water supply (claim 18 analysis, where this is another optimization scenario).
Claims 3-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minor et al. (US20200055753), as applied to claim 1 and 2, in view of Washburn et al. (US20180346361), as applied to claim 11.
Regarding claims 3-10, 12, 16 and 17, Minor and Washburn combined [see claim 11 combination] discloses or suggests the system of claim 2, except wherein the dispensing system comprises:
an upper valve coupled to the neck of the cartridge and arranged over the opening formed by the neck of the cartridge; and
a lower valve coupled to the upper valve opposite the cartridge at a pivot point and configured to rotate about a rotation axis at the pivot point;
wherein the upper valve is formed to include a plurality of upper openings spaced apart circumferentially about the rotation axis and the lower valve is formed to include a plurality of lower openings spaced apart circumferentially about the rotation axis; and
wherein the dispensing system is configured to change between a closed orientation in which the plurality of lower openings formed in the lower valve are offset from the plurality of upper openings formed in the upper valve so that the plurality of lower openings and the plurality of upper openings are covered to prevent the water treatment material from dispensing through the opening in the neck of the cartridge and an open orientation in which the plurality of lower openings formed in the lower valve are aligned with the plurality of upper openings formed in the upper valve to allow dispensing of the water treatment material through the opening in the neck of the cartridge.
Minor and Washburn each disclose a host of valves (a purified water shutoff valve, a bypass shutoff valve, a mix tank shutoff valve, a component housing shutoff valve, a shop tank shutoff valve, a transfer conduit shutoff valve, a water flow and/or a flowrate valve, a float valve etc.), sensors and control systems for monitoring and controlling water flow and mixing, and understanding the system characteristics (Minor, [0004], [0006], [0008], [0033], [0039], [0071], [0072], [0076], [0080]; Washburn, [0011], [0013], [0018], [0041], [0056], [0064], [0066], [0078]-[0083], [0099]).
It would have been an obvious matter of engineering choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attempt to optimize the system and to provide additional suitable valves, sensors, gears and gear rings to operate the gate between the open and closed position, and to add any desired traditional accessories to the system in the interest of improved effectiveness, efficiency and safety.
Additional Disclosure Included: Claim 4: The cartridge mount of the tank comprises: a cartridge-mount housing coupled to the tank housing and formed to define the passageway in fluid communication with the storage reservoir; a gate mounted in the passageway of the cartridge-mount housing and configured to change between a closed position in which the gate blocks as access to the storage reservoir through the passageway and an open position in which the gate allows access to the storage reservoir through the passageway; and a gate controller coupled to the gate and configured to control movement of the gate between the closed position and the open position (claim 1, 3, and 11 analyses); Claim 5: The gate controller of the cartridge mount comprises:
a shaft that extends through the cartridge-mount housing along a shaft axis and configured to rotate about the shaft axis;
a gear coupled to an end of the shaft for rotation therewith; and
a gear ring coupled to the cartridge-mount housing and configured to rotate relative to the cartridge-mount housing about the rotation axis, the gear ring configured to rotate in a first direction about the rotation axis from a first position in which the gate is in the closed position to a second position in which the gate is in the open position and a second direction opposite the first direction about the rotation axis from the second position to the first position; and
wherein the gear is formed to define teeth that mate with teeth formed on the gear ring so that rotation of the gear ring about the rotation axis from the first position to the second position causes the shaft to rotate about the shaft axis to change the gate from the closed position to the open position (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses); Claim 6: The control system further comprises:
a cartridge-mount lock coupled the cartridge mount and configured to change between a locked position in which the cartridge-mount lock engages of the gate controller to block rotation of the gate controller between the first position and the second position and an unlocked position in which the cartridge-mount lock is spaced apart from the gate controller to allow rotation of the gate controller between the first position and the second position; and
a cartridge sensor coupled to the cartridge mount of the tank and configured to detect if the dispenser is coupled to the cartridge mount;
wherein the controller is coupled to the cartridge-mount lock and the cartridge sensor and the controller is configured to direct the cartridge-mount lock to move from the locked position to the unlocked position if the cartridge sensor detects the dispenser is coupled to the cartridge mount of the tank (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses); Claim 7: The control system further comprises: an inlet valve in fluid communication with the water supply and configured to vary the flow of water from the water supply to the storage reservoir (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses); Claim 8: The system further comprises a tank inlet conduit in fluid communication with the water supply and the inlet valve;
a fill conduit in fluid communication with the inlet valve and the storage reservoir; and
a flush conduit in fluid communication with the inlet valve and the storage reservoir, the flush conduit including a nozzle coupled to an end of the flush conduit and configured to spray the flow of water from the water supply;
wherein the inlet valve is configured to change between a fully closed position in which the inlet valve blocks the flow of water through the fill conduit and the flush conduit to prevent water from being supplied to the storage reservoir, a fill position in which the inlet valve directs the flow of water through the fill conduit and blocks the flow of water through the fill conduit, and a flush position in which the inlet valve directs the flow of water through the flush conduit and blocks the flow of water through the fill conduit (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses); Claim 9: The control system further comprises: a level sensor located in the storage reservoir and coupled to the controller, the level sensor configured to measure a fill level of the water treatment solution in the storage reservoir; wherein the controller is configured to direct the inlet valve to change between the fully closed position, the fill position, and the flush position based on the fill level of the water treatment solution in the storage reservoir measured by the level sensor (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses); Claim 10: The system of claim 1,wherein the control system further comprises: a mixer located in the storage reservoir and configured to mix the water treatment solution in the storage reservoir to prevent the water treatment solution from settling in the storage reservoir (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses); Claim 12: The dispenser assembly, wherein the dispensing system comprises:
an upper valve coupled to the neck of the cartridge and arranged over the opening formed by the neck of the cartridge; and
a lower valve coupled to the upper valve opposite the cartridge at a pivot point and configured to rotate about a rotation axis at the pivot point;
wherein the upper valve is formed to include a plurality of upper openings spaced apart circumferentially about the rotation axis and the lower valve is formed to include a plurality of lower openings spaced apart circumferentially about the rotation axis; wherein the plurality of lower openings formed in the lower valve are offset from the plurality of upper openings formed in the upper valve when the dispensing system is in the closed orientation so that the plurality of lower openings and the plurality of upper openings are covered to prevent the water treatment material from dispensing through the opening in the neck of the cartridge; and
wherein the plurality of lower openings formed in the lower valve are aligned with the plurality of upper openings formed in the upper valve when the dispensing system is in the open orientation to allow dispensing of the water treatment material through the opening in the neck of the cartridge (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses); and Claim 16: (Original) The dispenser assembly of claim 15, wherein the gate controller of the cartridge mount comprises:
a shaft that extends through the cartridge-mount housing along a shaft axis and configured to rotate about the shaft axis;
a gear coupled to an end of the shaft for rotation therewith; and
a gear ring coupled to the cartridge-mount housing and configured to rotate relative to the cartridge-mount housing about the rotation axis, the gear ring configured to rotate in the first direction about the rotation axis from a first position in which the gate is in the closed position to a second position in which the gate is in the open position; and
wherein the gear is formed to define teeth that mate with teeth formed on the gear ring so that rotation of the gear ring about the rotation axis from the first position to the second position causes the shaft to rotate about the shaft axis to change the gate from the closed position to the open position (claims 1, 3, 11 and 15 analyses); and Claim 17: The dispenser cooperates with the gate controller of the cartridge mount to control dispensing of the water treatment material so that when the dispenser is rotated about the rotation axis in the first direction the dispenser engages the gear ring of the gate controller to cause the gate controller to rotate from the first position to the second position thereby moving the gate from the closed position to the open position (claims 1, 3, and 11 analyses).
Regarding claims 13-15, Minor and Washburn combined disclose or suggest the dispenser assembly of claim 12, except wherein the upper valve is formed to include:
a main body formed to define the plurality of upper openings; and
spring arms that each extend from the main body and each configured to deflect axially relative to the rotation axis from an locked position in which each spring arm engages the lower valve to block rotation of the lower valve while the lower valve is in the closed orientation to an unlocked position in which each spring arm has deflected to allow rotation of the lower valve from the closed orientation to the open orientation.
However, these are additional design features to help guide and align the dispenser assembly which feature would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention since guide elements and alignment pins are traditional in the art.
Additional Disclosures Included: Claim 14: The dispenser assembly, wherein the lower valve is formed to include:
a planar body formed to include the plurality of lower openings;
alignment pins that each extend axially from the planar body away from the upper valve relative to the rotation axis, the alignment pins each configured to engage with the cartridge mount to fix the lower valve relative to the cartridge mount when the dispenser is inserted into the cartridge mount; and
guide slots that each extend axially through the planar body relative to the rotation axis and circumferentially at least part way about the rotation axis, the guide slots each configured to receive a portion of one of the spring arms (claim 13 analysis); and Claim 15: The dispenser assembly, wherein the cartridge mount comprises:
a cartridge-mount housing formed to define a passageway in fluid communication with the reservoir of water included in the water treatment system;
a gate mounted in the passageway of the cartridge-mount housing and configured to change between a closed position in which the gate blocks as access through the passageway and an open position in which the gate allows access through the passageway; and
a gate controller coupled to the gate and configured to control movement of the gate between the closed position and the open position (claim 1, 3, 11 and 13 analyses).
Conclusion
Examiner recommends that Applicant carefully review each identified reference and all objections/rejections before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the pertinent objections/rejections and the prior art. With respect to the patentability analysis, Examiner has attempted to claim map to one or more of the most suitable structures or portions of a reference. However, with respect to all OAs, Examiner notes that citations to specific pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, figures or reference numerals, in any prior art or evidentiary reference, and any interpretation of such references, should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably disclosed and/or suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. The use of publications and patents as references is not limited to what one or more applicant/inventor/patentee describes as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain. MPEP §2123.
Examiner further recommends that for any substantive claim amendments made in response to this Office Action, or to otherwise advance prosecution, or for any remarks concerning support for added subject matter or claim priority, that Applicant include either a pinpoint citation to the original Specification (i.e. page and/or paragraph and/or line number and/or figure number) to indicate where Applicant is drawing support for such amendment or remarks, or a clear explanation indicating why the particular limitation is implicit or inherent to the original disclosure.
Electronic Inquiries
Alternatively, to contact the examiner, Applicant may send a communication, via e-mail or fax. Examiner’s direct fax number is: (571) 270-2065. Examiner's official e-mail address is: "Hayden.Brewster@uspto.gov." However, since e-mail communication may not be secure, Examiner will not respond to a substantive e-mail unless Applicant’s communication is in accordance with the provisions of MPEP §502.03 & related sections that discuss the required Authorization for Internet Communication (AIC). Nonetheless, all substantive communications will be made of record in Applicant’s file.
To facilitate the Internet communication authorization process, Applicant may file an appropriate letter, or may complete the USPTO SB439 fillable form available at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf, preferably in advance of any substantive e-mail communication. Since one may use an electronic signature with this particular form, Applicant is encouraged to file this form via the Office’s system for electronic filing of patent correspondence (i.e., the electronic filing system (Patent Center)). Otherwise, a handwritten signature is required. In addition to Patent Center, Applicant can submit their Internet authorization request via US Postal Service, USPTO Customer Service Window, or Central Fax. Examiner can also provide a one-time oral authorization, but this will only apply to video conferencing. It is improper to request Internet Authorization via e-mail.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and via video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) form available at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice, or Applicant may call Examiner, if preferable. Applicant can access a general list of patent application forms at either https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms-patent-applications-filed-or-after-september-16-2012 (applications filed on or after September 16, 2012) or https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms (applications filed before September 16, 2012). Note that the language in an AIR form is not a substitute for the requirements of an AIC, where appropriate. The mere filing of an Applicant Initiated Interview Request Form (PTOL-413A) or a Letter Requesting Interview with Examiner, in EFS-Web, may not apprise Examiner of such a request in a timely manner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner are unsuccessful, Applicant may reach Examiner’s supervisor, Bobby Ramdhanie at 571-270-3240. The central fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAYDEN BREWSTER/Examiner, AU 1779