Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 30 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. Claims 1 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claim 1 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 11, 30 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220014935 A1 (hereinafter Haija), in view of US 20220408277 A1 (hereinafter Yang) and US 20200228384 A1 (hereinafter Saito).
Regarding claim 1, Haija teaches A controller of a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for
wireless communication, comprising (Haija RIS 182 in Fig. 2. [0055] the system 100 enables multiple wireless or wired elements to communicate data and other content. [0056] the communication system 100 includes electronic devices (ED) 110a-110c, radio access networks (RANs) 120a-120b. [0068] Also shown in FIG. 2 is a RIS 182 located within the serving area of base station 170b.
[0078] FIG. 3C illustrates an example RIS device.
[0079] As shown in FIG. 3C, the RIS 182 includes a controller 285.):
one or more memories (Haija [0042] device disclosed herein that executes instructions may include or otherwise have access to a non-transitory computer/processor readable storage medium or media for storage of information, such as computer/processor readable instructions, data structures, program modules, and/or other data. A non-exhaustive list of examples of non-transitory computer/processor readable storage media includes ... random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM) ...); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (Haija [0079] As shown in FIG. 3C, the RIS 182 includes a controller 285 that includes at least one processing unit 280, an interface 290, and a set of configurable elements 275.):
Although Haija teaches receive first configuration information indicating that a first reference signal of a plurality of reference signals is associated with a first phase and indicating that a second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals is associated with a second phase different than the first phase (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase. The first phase is different than the second phase.);
receive a signal including the plurality of reference signals (Haija [0157] The base station 702 sends 720 the reference signals, which are redirected to the UE 706 by the RIS 704. While three separate transmissions are shown in the signal flow diagram of FIG. 7, it is to be understood that the reference signal transmissions may be simultaneous or at separate times.); and
configure a set of reflective elements of the RIS such that the first reference signal is reflected by applying the first phase to the first reference signal using a first beamformer and the second reference signal is reflected by applying the second phase to second reference signal using a second beamformer different than the first beamformer (Haija
[0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase. The first portion is different than the second portion. The first phase is different than the second phase. The first portion of RIS is the first beamformer, the second portion of RIS is the second beam former.), Haija does not explicitly teach reference signals are demodulation reference signals, a first time portion of a slot associated with a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a plurality of DMRSs of the slot, a second time portion of the slot associated with a second DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs.
Yang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052] As shown in FIG. 1, the network system includes a terminal 11, a first node 12, and a network device 13. The terminal 11 may be a user terminal (UE). The first node 12 may be a node or device capable of transmitting signals between a network device and a terminal, for example, a large intelligent surface (LIS) node. The network device 13 may be a 4G base station, a 5G base station, or a base station of a later version.
[0064] performing measurement on signals that are sent by the network device and forwarded by the beams of the first node. For example, a signal sent by the network device by using a beam n is transmitted to the terminal through a beam of the first node.
[0065] the signal may be a reference signal. The reference signals include but are not limited to … demodulation reference signal (DMRS).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haija with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is achieving coverage expansion and coverage hole filling (Yang [0003]).
Yang does not explicitly teach a first time portion of a slot associated with a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a plurality of DMRSs of the slot, a second time portion of the slot associated with a second DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs.
Saito in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first time portion of a slot associated with a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a plurality of DMRSs of the slot, a second time portion of the slot associated with a second DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs (Saito Fig. 3; [0036] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example (2) of an arrangement in which a control signal and a DMRS are arranged in a radio frame, according to the embodiment of the present invention.
[0038] In each of the slots shown in FIG. 3, the DMRS arranged at the front part is the Front-loaded DMRS, and the DMRS arranged at the rear part is the Additional DMRS. The Front-loaded DMRS is arranged at the third symbol or the fourth symbol from the start of the slot. The Additional DMRS is arranged at the eighth symbol, the tenth symbol, or the twelfth symbol from the start of the slot.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of receive first configuration information indicating that a first reference signal of a plurality of reference signals is associated with a first phase and indicating that a second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals is associated with a second phase different than the first phase; receive a signal including the plurality of reference signals; and configure a set of reflective elements of the RIS such that the first reference signal is reflected by applying the first phase to the first reference signal using a first beamformer and the second reference signal is reflected by applying the second phase to second reference signal using a second beamformer different than the first beamformer with
Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, and
Saito’s teachings of a first time portion of a slot associated with a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a plurality of DMRSs of the slot, a second time portion of the slot associated with a second DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs, the modification results in
receive first configuration information indicating that a first time portion of a slot associated with a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a plurality of DMRSs of the slot is associated with a first phase and indicating that a second time portion of the slot associated with a second DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs is associated with a second phase different than the first phase;
receive a signal including the plurality of DMRSs; and
configure a set of reflective elements of the RIS such that the first DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs is reflected by applying the first phase to the first DMRS using a first beamformer and the second DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs is reflected by applying the second phase to the second DMRS using a second beamformer different than the first beamformer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haija as modified by Yang with Saito’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing a processing time required for channel estimation (Saito [0034]).
Claim 30 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 3, Haija in view of Yang and Saito (hereinafter combination) teaches The
controller of claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein a remainder of the signal, other than the first reference signal and the
second reference signal, is reflected using the first beamformer (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: 3 reflected reference signals are shown in Fig. 7.
per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase.
The first portion is configured to reflect other reference signals of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase.
The first portion is different than the second portion. The first phase is different than the second phase. The first portion of RIS is the first beamformer, the second portion of RIS is the second beam former.).
Haija does not explicitly teach reference signals are demodulation reference signals.
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein a remainder of the signal, other than the first reference signal and the second reference signal, is reflected using the first beamformer with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in
wherein a remainder of the signal, other than the first DMRS and the second DMRS, is reflected using the first beamformer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haija as modified by Yang and Saito with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is achieving coverage expansion and coverage hole filling (Yang [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein the first reference signal occurs after the second reference signal in time
(Haija [0157] The base station 702 sends 720 the reference signals, which are redirected to the UE 706 by the RIS 704. While three separate transmissions are shown in the signal flow diagram of FIG. 7, it is to be understood that the reference signal transmissions may be at separate times.).
Haija does not explicitly teach reference signals are demodulation reference signals.
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein the first reference signal occurs after the second reference signal in time with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in wherein the first DMRS occurs after the second DMRS in time.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haija as modified by Yang and Saito with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is achieving coverage expansion and coverage hole filling (Yang [0003]).
Claims 33 and 34 recite similar limitations of claims 3 and 4 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein the first beamformer is associated with the first phase and the second
beamformer is associated with the second phase (Haija
[0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase. The first portion of RIS is the first beamformer, the second portion of RIS is the second beam former.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein two or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are
associated with the first phase (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect two or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase.).
Haija does not explicitly teach reference signals are demodulation reference signals.
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein two or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are associated with the first phase with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in wherein two or more DMRSs of the plurality of DMRSs are associated with the first phase.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haija as modified by Yang and Saito with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is achieving coverage expansion and coverage hole filling (Yang [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: continue to
configure the set of reflective elements in accordance with the first configuration information until other configuration information is received (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
[0015] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method involving receiving, by a RIS, first configuration information to configure the RIS to redirect different frequency components of a reference signal in different directions. The method further involves receiving a reference signal from a transmitter and redirecting the received reference signal based on the first configuration information to a receiver.
[0016] In some embodiments, the method further includes receiving, by the RIS, second configuration information to configure the RIS to redirect a data transmission in an appropriate direction when a data transmission interacts with the RIS.).
Claim(s) 2 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija in view of Yang and Saito as applied to claims 1 and 30 above, and further in view of US 20230318177 A1 (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Although the combination teaches the first beamformer (first portion of RIS) is configured to
reflect the first DMRS and the second beamformer (second portion of RIS) is configured to reflect the second DMRS (See rejection of claim 1 above). The combination does not explicitly teach the first portion of RIS uses the first reflective matrix and the second portion of RIS uses the second reflective matrix.
Zhou in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the first portion of RIS uses the first reflective matrix and the second portion of RIS uses the second reflective matrix (Zhou Fig. 3, [0101] The intelligent reflecting surface IRS may include M reflection units (where M is a natural number greater than 1). Under the control of a control circuit (not shown) of the IRS, these reflection units receive control information about reflection parameters from the BS, for example, via a control link shown in dashed line, and modify an amplitude and/or a phase of a signal sent by the BS based on M reflection parameters respectively, so as to transmit a reflection signal receivable by the UE.
[0102] In case of phase modulation only, e.sup.jω.sup.m represents a reflection parameter of an m.sup.th reflection unit (where m=1, 2, . . . M). Phase modulations performed by the M reflection units of the IRS on their respective reflected signals may be represented by an M×M diagonal matrix A shown in the following Equation (1) (where the diagonal matrix of reflection parameters is also referred to as “reflection matrix” when appropriate hereinafter).
Note: the first portion of RIS includes first portion of reflection units, the first reflective matrix includes reflection parameters of the first portion of reflection units. The second portion of RIS includes second portion of reflection units, the second reflective matrix includes reflection parameters of the second portion of reflection units.).
By modifying the combination’s teachings of the first beamformer (first portion of RIS) is configured to reflect the first DMRS and the second beamformer (second portion of RIS) is configured to reflect the second DMRS with Zhou’s teachings of the first portion of RIS uses the first reflective matrix and the second portion of RIS uses the second reflective matrix, the modification results in wherein the first beamformer uses a first reflective matrix and the second beamformer uses a second reflective matrix.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Zhou’s above teachings. The motivation is improving reliability of the communication system (Zhou [0002]).
Claim 32 recites similar limitations of claim 2, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija in view of Yang and Saito as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20230179277 A1 (hereinafter Yang2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches The controller of claim 5.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a difference between the first phase and the
second phase is pi radians.
Yang2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein a difference between the first phase and the second phase is pi radians (Yang2 [0117] The quantity of candidate beam phases of the intelligent surface is notified, or the quantity of beam phases and configuration parameters of the corresponding reference signal (same as above) is determined by using the capability of the intelligent surface (for example, the intelligent surface intelligently supports phase adjustment of 0 or π controlled by 1 bit, two phase states).
Note: the first phase is 0, the second phase is pi. The difference between the first phase and the second phase is pi – 0 = pi.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Yang2’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing frequency selective fading (Yang2 [0144]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija in view of Yang and Saito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20240089744 A1 (hereinafter Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Although the combination teaches the one or more processors (See rejection of claim 1 above),
the combination does not explicitly teach wherein, to receive the first configuration information, are configured to receive the first configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling or medium access signaling.
Fujishiro in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein, to receive the first configuration information, are configured to receive the first configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling or medium access signaling (Fujishiro Fig. 7 and 8, [0066] An RIS-UE 100B is an example of an RIS wireless terminal. The RIS-UE 100B controls the RIS device 500 in cooperation with the gNB 200 by establishing a wireless connection with the gNB 200 and performing wireless communication with the gNB 200.
[0067] The RIS-UE 100B may be configured integrally with the RIS device 500.
[0069] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the configurations of the RIS-UE 100B and the RIS device 500.
[0091] the gNB 200 (transmitter 210) transmits the downlink signaling including the RIS control configuration used to control the RIS device 500 to the RIS-UE 100B that has established a wireless connection with the gNB 200 (step S1). The gNB 200 (transmitter 210) may include the RIS control configuration in an RRC Reconfiguration message.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Fujishiro’s above teachings. The motivation is extending the coverage of the base station (Fujishiro [0004]).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija in view of Yang and Saito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20240171225 A1 (hereinafter Jian).
Regarding claim 31, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1. wherein, to configure
the set of reflective elements, the one or more processors (See rejection of claim 1 above).
The combination does not explicitly teach further configured to: change a surface reflection matrix for the RIS over the slot.
Jian in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further configured to: change a surface reflection matrix for the RIS over the slot (Jian [0031] In addition, a surface of an intelligent reflecting device may be configured to reflect signals with one or more variable reflection angles. A reflection angle is an angle at which a surface outputs a reflected signal. A reflection angle may be determined or measured relative to the surface of the intelligent reflecting device, or a line perpendicular to the surface. Additionally, a variable reflection angle is a reflection angle that has an amount or value that can vary over time. Accordingly, at any time, an intelligent reflecting device can change, or keep the same, the amount of the reflection angle.
[0032] Also, in various embodiments, an intelligent reflecting device may simultaneously reflect multiple signals, each with a respective one of multiple variable reflection signals. In various embodiments, a surface of an intelligent reflecting device may be separated or divided into multiple portions or regions. Each region may be configured to reflect an incident signal with an associated variable reflection angle. At any given time, different regions may reflect incident signals with associated variable reflection angles that are the same as or different from each other. The intelligent reflecting device may be configured to independently control or set the variable reflection angles of the different regions at various times.).
By modifying the combination’s teachings of wherein, to configure the set of reflective elements, the one or more processors with Jian’s teachings of further configured to: change a surface reflection matrix for the RIS over the slot, the modification results in wherein, to configure the set of reflective elements, the one or more processors are further configured to: change a surface reflection matrix for the RIS over the slot.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Jian’s above teachings. The motivation is improving wireless communication (Jian [0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418