Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
Group 1, claims 1-11 and 30, drawn to controller of reconfigurable intelligent surface.
Group 2, claims 12-20, drawn to apparatus at the user equipment.
Group 3, claims 21-29, drawn to apparatus at the base station.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Group 1 and 2 lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups
require the technical feature of “receive a signal including a plurality of demodulation reference signals (DMRSs); the first DMRS occurs after the second DMRS in time; receive the first configuration information indicates one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the first phase and one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the second phase; a difference between the first phase and the second phase is pi radians; two or more DMRSs of the plurality of DMRSs are associated with the first phase; receive the first configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling or medium access signaling”, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Haija, Yang, Yang2 and Fujishiro (See claim 1, 4, 6, 8-10 rejection below).
None of remaining features of Group 1 are the same as any of the remaining features of group 2. These remaining features cannot be considered to be corresponding technical feature as required by PCT rule 13.2.
Group 1 and 3 lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups
require the technical feature of “receive first configuration information indicating to configure the set of reflective elements of the RIS such that the first DMRS is reflected with the first phase and the second DMRS is reflected with the second phase; the first DMRS occurs after the second DMRS in time; receive the first configuration information indicates one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the first phase and one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the second phase; a difference between the first phase and the second phase is pi radians; two or more DMRSs of the plurality of DMRSs are associated with the first phase; receive the first configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling or medium access signaling”, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Haija, Yang, Yang2 and Fujishiro (See claim 4, 6, 7, 8-10 rejection below).
None of remaining features of Group 1 are the same as any of the remaining features of group 3. These remaining features cannot be considered to be corresponding technical feature as required by PCT rule 13.2.
Group 2 and 3 lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups
require the technical feature of “receive configuration information indicating that signals associated with DMRSs having different phases are associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS); the first DMRS occurs after the second DMRS in time; receive the configuration information indicates one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the first phase and one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the second phase; a difference between the first phase and the second phase is pi radians; two or more DMRSs of the plurality of DMRSs are associated with the first phase; receive the first configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling or medium access signaling”, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Haija, Yang, Yang2 and Fujishiro (Note: the technical feature common for group 2 and 3 cited here is similar to the technical feature common for group 1 and 3 cited above except “configuration information indicating reference signals are associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)”. For teaching of “configuration information indicating reference signals are associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)”, see Haija [0156] the configuration information may also include an identification that the RIS 704 is in the path of the communication channel. See claim 4, 6, 7, 8-10 rejection below for the rest of technical feature.).
None of remaining features of Group 2 are the same as any of the remaining features of group 3. These remaining features cannot be considered to be corresponding technical feature as required by PCT rule 13.2.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-11 and 30 in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is
acknowledged.
Claims 12-29 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn
to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/24/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2023 and 3/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements
are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220014935 A1 (hereinafter Haija), in view of US 20220408277 A1 (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Haija teaches A controller of a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for
wireless communication, comprising (Haija RIS 182 in Fig. 2. [0055] the system 100 enables multiple wireless or wired elements to communicate data and other content. [0056] the communication system 100 includes electronic devices (ED) 110a-110c, radio access networks (RANs) 120a-120b. [0068] Also shown in FIG. 2 is a RIS 182 located within the serving area of base station 170b.
[0078] FIG. 3C illustrates an example RIS device.
[0079] As shown in FIG. 3C, the RIS 182 includes a controller 285.):
one or more memories (Haija [0042] device disclosed herein that executes instructions may include or otherwise have access to a non-transitory computer/processor readable storage medium or media for storage of information, such as computer/processor readable instructions, data structures, program modules, and/or other data. A non-exhaustive list of examples of non-transitory computer/processor readable storage media includes ... random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM) ...); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (Haija [0079] As shown in FIG. 3C, the RIS 182 includes a controller 285 that includes at least one processing unit 280, an interface 290, and a set of configurable elements 275.):
Although Haija teaches receive a signal including a plurality of reference signals (Haija [0157] The base station 702 sends 720 the reference signals, which are redirected to the UE 706 by the RIS 704. While three separate transmissions are shown in the signal flow diagram of FIG. 7, it is to be understood that the reference signal transmissions may be simultaneous or at separate times.); and
configure a set of reflective elements of the RIS such that a first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals is reflected using a first beamformer and a second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals is reflected using a second beamformer different than the first beamformer (Haija
[0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase. The first portion is different than the second portion. The first phase is different than the second phase. The first portion of RIS is the first beamformer, the second portion of RIS is the second beam former.), Haija does not explicitly teach reference signals are demodulation reference signals.
Yang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052] As shown in FIG. 1, the network system includes a terminal 11, a first node 12, and a network device 13. The terminal 11 may be a user terminal (UE). The first node 12 may be a node or device capable of transmitting signals between a network device and a terminal, for example, a large intelligent surface (LIS) node. The network device 13 may be a 4G base station, a 5G base station, or a base station of a later version.
[0064] performing measurement on signals that are sent by the network device and forwarded by the beams of the first node. For example, a signal sent by the network device by using a beam n is transmitted to the terminal through a beam of the first node.
[0065] the signal may be a reference signal. The reference signals include but are not limited to … demodulation reference signal (DMRS).).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of receive a signal including a plurality of reference signals; and
configure a set of reflective elements of the RIS such that a first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals is reflected using a first beamformer and a second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals is reflected using a second beamformer different than the first beamformer with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in
receive a signal including a plurality of demodulation reference signals (DMRSs); and configure a set of reflective elements of the RIS such that a first DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs is reflected using a first beamformer and a second DMRS of the plurality of DMRSs is reflected using a second beamformer different than the first beamformer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haija with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is achieving coverage expansion and coverage hole filling (Yang [0003]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Yang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Haija prior art) based on design incentives (achieving coverage expansion and coverage hole filling) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 30 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 3, Haija in view of Yang (hereinafter combination) teaches The controller of
claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein a remainder of the signal, other than the first reference signal and the
second reference signal, is reflected using the first beamformer (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: 3 reflected reference signals are shown in Fig. 7.
per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase.
The first portion is configured to reflect other reference signals of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase.
The first portion is different than the second portion. The first phase is different than the second phase. The first portion of RIS is the first beamformer, the second portion of RIS is the second beam former.).
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein a remainder of the signal, other than the first reference signal and the second reference signal, is reflected using the first beamformer with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in
wherein a remainder of the signal, other than the first DMRS and the second DMRS, is reflected using the first beamformer.
The motivation for modification set forth above (Yang) regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein the first reference signal occurs after the second reference signal in time
(Haija [0157] The base station 702 sends 720 the reference signals, which are redirected to the UE 706 by the RIS 704. While three separate transmissions are shown in the signal flow diagram of FIG. 7, it is to be understood that the reference signal transmissions may be at separate times.).
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein the first reference signal occurs after the second reference signal in time with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in wherein the first DMRS occurs after the second DMRS in time.
The motivation for modification set forth above (Yang) regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Haija teaches wherein the first beamformer is associated with a first phase and the second
beamformer is associated with a second phase different than the first phase (Haija
[0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase. The first portion is different than the second portion. The first phase is different than the second phase. The first portion of RIS is the first beamformer, the second portion of RIS is the second beam former.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches The controller of claim 5.
Haija teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive first
configuration information indicating to configure the set of reflective elements of the RIS such that the first reference signal is reflected with the first phase and the second reference signal is reflected with the second phase (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect the first reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect the second reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase.).
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive first configuration information indicating to configure the set of reflective elements of the RIS such that the first reference signal is reflected with the first phase and the second reference signal is reflected with the second phase with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive first configuration information indicating to configure the set of reflective elements of the RIS such that the first DMRS is reflected with the first phase and the second DMRS is reflected with the second phase.
The motivation for modification set forth above (Yang) regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches The controller of claim 7.
Haija teaches wherein the first configuration information indicates one or more reference
signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are associated with the first phase and one or more reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are associated with the second phase (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect one or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase, the second portion of RIS is configured to reflect one more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals with the second phase.).
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein the first configuration information indicates one or more reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are associated with the first phase and one or more reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are associated with the second phase with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in wherein the first configuration information indicates one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the first phase and one or more DMRSs, of the plurality of DMRSs, that are associated with the second phase.
The motivation for modification set forth above (Yang) regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches The controller of claim 7.
Haija teaches wherein two or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are
associated with the first phase (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
Note: per [0101], [0154] and [0150] the first portion of RIS is configured to reflect two or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals with the first phase.).
Yang teaches reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Yang Fig. 1, [0052], [0064]
and [0065] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Haija’s teachings of wherein two or more reference signals of the plurality of reference signals are associated with the first phase with Yang’s teachings of reference signals are demodulation reference signals, the modification results in wherein two or more DMRSs of the plurality of DMRSs are associated with the first phase.
The motivation for modification set forth above (Yang) regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches The controller of claim 7.
Haija teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: continue to
configure the set of reflective elements in accordance with the first configuration information until other configuration information is received (Haija [0148] The base station 702 sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704. The configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 will redirect to the UE 706. The configuration information includes one or more of the following:
[0149] a) the carrier frequencies of the reference signals;
[0150] b) a difference of the phase shifts between adjacent planar array elements;...
[0153] e) the beam-width of the reflected signal; and
[0154] f) identification of which portions of the planar array are configured to reflect respective reference signals.
[0101] The RIS can be configured to be virtually divided into multiple portions such that each portion reflects, or redirects, signals of specific frequencies in different directions. In some embodiments the beams of the reflected signals are substantially non-overlapping.
[0015] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method involving receiving, by a RIS, first configuration information to configure the RIS to redirect different frequency components of a reference signal in different directions. The method further involves receiving a reference signal from a transmitter and redirecting the received reference signal based on the first configuration information to a receiver.
[0016] In some embodiments, the method further includes receiving, by the RIS, second configuration information to configure the RIS to redirect a data transmission in an appropriate direction when a data transmission interacts with the RIS.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230318177 A1 (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches The controller of claim 1.
Although the combination teaches the first beamformer (first portion of RIS) is configured to
reflect the first DMRS and the second beamformer (second portion of RIS) is configured to reflect the second DMRS (See rejection of claim 1 above). The combination does not explicitly teach the first portion of RIS uses the first reflective matrix and the second portion of RIS uses the second reflective matrix.
Zhou in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the first portion of RIS uses the first reflective matrix and the second portion of RIS uses the second reflective matrix (Zhou Fig. 3, [0101] The intelligent reflecting surface IRS may include M reflection units (where M is a natural number greater than 1). Under the control of a control circuit (not shown) of the IRS, these reflection units receive control information about reflection parameters from the BS, for example, via a control link shown in dashed line, and modify an amplitude and/or a phase of a signal sent by the BS based on M reflection parameters respectively, so as to transmit a reflection signal receivable by the UE.
[0102] In case of phase modulation only, e.sup.jω.sup.m represents a reflection parameter of an m.sup.th reflection unit (where m=1, 2, . . . M). Phase modulations performed by the M reflection units of the IRS on their respective reflected signals may be represented by an M×M diagonal matrix A shown in the following Equation (1) (where the diagonal matrix of reflection parameters is also referred to as “reflection matrix” when appropriate hereinafter).
Note: the first portion of RIS includes first portion of reflection units, the first reflective matrix includes reflection parameters of the first portion of reflection units. The second portion of RIS includes second portion of reflection units, the second reflective matrix includes reflection parameters of the second portion of reflection units.).
By modifying the combination’s teachings of the first beamformer (first portion of RIS) is configured to reflect the first DMRS and the second beamformer (second portion of RIS) is configured to reflect the second DMRS with Zhou’s teachings of the first portion of RIS uses the first reflective matrix and the second portion of RIS uses the second reflective matrix, the modification results in wherein the first beamformer uses a first reflective matrix and the second beamformer uses a second reflective matrix.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Zhou’s above teachings. The motivation is improving reliability of the communication system (Zhou [0002]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Zhou prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Haija and Yang prior art) based on design incentives (improving reliability of the communication system) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija in view of Yang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20230179277 A1 (hereinafter Yang2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches The controller of claim 5.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a difference between the first phase and the
second phase is pi radians.
Yang2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein a difference between the first phase and the second phase is pi radians (Yang2 [0117] The quantity of candidate beam phases of the intelligent surface is notified, or the quantity of beam phases and configuration parameters of the corresponding reference signal (same as above) is determined by using the capability of the intelligent surface (for example, the intelligent surface intelligently supports phase adjustment of 0 or π controlled by 1 bit, two phase states).
Note: the first phase is 0, the second phase is pi. The difference between the first phase and the second phase is pi – 0 = pi.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Yang2’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing frequency selective fading (Yang2 [0144]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Yang2 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Haija and Yang prior art) based on design incentives (reducing frequency selective fading) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija in view of Yang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 20240089744 A1 (hereinafter Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches The controller of claim 7.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to receive the
first configuration information, are configured to receive the first configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling or medium access signaling.
Fujishiro in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the first configuration information, are configured to receive the first configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling or medium access signaling (Fujishiro Fig. 7 and 8, [0066] An RIS-UE 100B is an example of an RIS wireless terminal. The RIS-UE 100B controls the RIS device 500 in cooperation with the gNB 200 by establishing a wireless connection with the gNB 200 and performing wireless communication with the gNB 200.
[0067] The RIS-UE 100B may be configured integrally with the RIS device 500.
[0069] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the configurations of the RIS-UE 100B and the RIS device 500.
[0091] the gNB 200 (transmitter 210) transmits the downlink signaling including the RIS control configuration used to control the RIS device 500 to the RIS-UE 100B that has established a wireless connection with the gNB 200 (step S1). The gNB 200 (transmitter 210) may include the RIS control configuration in an RRC Reconfiguration message.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Fujishiro’s above teachings. The motivation is extending the coverage of the base station (Fujishiro [0004]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Fujishiro prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Haija and Yang prior art) based on design incentives (extending the coverage of the base station) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418