DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/15/2026 in which claims 108 and 119 were amended has been entered. Claims 120 -125 have been canceled. Claims 126 – 128 have been added.
Claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 are under examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Previous rejection, withdrawn) Claim 125 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for inducing an immune response against SARS-CoV-2 and Influenza respiratory infection using an mRNA vaccine in some cases, does not reasonably provide enablement for 1) preventing an influenza infection nor a SARS-CoV-2 infection and 2) preventing all respiratory virus infections using an mRNA vaccine.
Applicant has amended the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claim(s) 108 – 115 and 118 – 119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oostvogels et al. (US20220211838A1, hereinafter, " Oostvogels "), in view of Nolan et al (US20020064798A1, hereinafter, “Nolan”), Troup et al (Open exploration, 2020, 10.37349/etat.2020.00018, hereinafter, “Troup”), Sivaramakrishnan et al (PNAS, 2011, 10.1073/pnas.1116066108, hereinafter, “Sivaramakrishnan”), and Nagamune et al (Nano Converg, 2017, 10.1186/s40580-017-0103-4, hereinafter, “Nagamune”), as evidenced by Daniels et al (Surveillance report, 2012, hereinafter, “Daniels”).
Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract).
Regarding claim 108, Oostvogels teaches a combination vaccine that encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein, which consists of the receptor binding domain (RBD), the N-terminal domain (NTD), and 2 subdomains (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with at least one uracil replaces by N1-methylpseudouridine (m1ψ) nucleotide (¶0411), stating a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine.
Regarding claim 109, Oostvogels teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein (Claim 1 – 3).
Regarding claim 110, Oostvogels teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 3 – 6, ¶0754).
Regarding claim 111, Oostvogels teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA encoding the HA protein from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8). Please note, Daniels evidences that B/Brisbane/60/2008 as a B/Victoria lineage virus (Summary).
Regarding claims 112 and 113 Oostvogels teaches the first and second mRNA can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in two separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19).
Regarding claim 114, Oostvogels teaches a LNP comprises 20-60% cationic lipid, 5-25% neutral lipid, 25-55% cholesterol, and 0.5-15% PEG-lipid (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 115, Oostvogels teaches a LNP comprises 40-50% cationic lipid (¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Regarding claims 118 and 119, Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21; see scope of enablement above).
Ootsvogels, regarding claim 108, does not teach a linker comprising the sequence GGGS.
However, Nolan teaches fusion proteins that can be used to screen drug agents for bio activity (Abstract). Nolan teaches linkers allow components of constructs to interact with potential targets unhindered (¶0079). Nolan teaches that glycine-serine polymers such as GGGS are flexible linkers that are relatively unstructured, serve as neutral tethers, and have been shown to be effective for fusing peptides together (¶0079).
It would have been a matter of routine experimentation using standard laboratory techniques available at the time of filing to determine the optimal linker for use in the method taught by Ootsvogels to maximize the biological activity of the fusion protein with a reasonable expectation of success.
Identifying the optimal linker for fusion proteins through trial and error is routine experimentation for engineering proteins. Troup teaches the design of PROTAC linkers and highlights “important limitations associated with the traditional “trial and error” approach around linker design and selection” (Abstract). Sivaramakrishnan teaches identifying ideal linkers to control inter-protein interaction of a fusion protein, stating protein activity “changing the specific linker sequence by trial and error” (Section: Engineering FRET Biosensors, ¶1). The routine optimization of linkers is ubiquitous in laboratories and has led to a push to computationally determine the optimal linker sequence as taught by Nagamune. Nagamune reviews the state of protein engineering, including the engineering of fusion proteins. Nagmune teaches that “[m]ost current approaches to linker selection and design processes for fusion proteins are still largely dependent on experience and intuition… To overcome this problem, the computational prediction of fusion protein conformation and linker structure can be considered a cost-effective alternative to experimental trial-and-error linker selection” (Section: 3.5.2.7 Rational algorithms and software for designing linker sequences and structures, ¶1).
Here, the instant claim encompasses selecting a linker sequence for the fusion protein and as such is readily obtained by routine optimization.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize fusion protein taught by Ootsvogel and the linker taught by Nolan in order to advantageously titrate biological activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in selecting a linker given that these methods are well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 116 – 117 and 120 – 125 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oostvogels as applied to claims 108 – 115 and 118 - 119 above, and further in view of Ciaramella et al. (US20190336595A1, hereinafter, “Ciaramella”).
Claims 120 – 125 have been cancelled.
Claims 116 and 117 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oostvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune as applied to claims 108 – 115 and 118 - 119 above, and further in view of Ciaramella et al. (PCT/US19/15412, hereinafter, “Ciaramella”).
As discussed above, claims 108 - 115 and 118 - 119 were rendered prima facie obvious by the teachings of Oostogogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune. The references fail to teach the exact ionizable amino lipid, a component of LNPs, of claims 116 and 117.
However, Ciaramella teaches an Influenza RNA vaccine that is comprised of a mRNA polynucleotide encoding an HA7 hemagglutinin antigen formulated within a cationic lipid nanoparticle (Claim 1). The structure of the ionizable amino lipid in Ciaramella has the exact structure of the ionizable amino lipid claimed in 116 and 117 of the instant application (Compound 25 of Ciaramella, reproduced below).
Oostvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune and Ciaramella are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they teach fusion proteins and methods of improving the biological activity of the fusion proteins. Oostvogels and Ciaramella teach that the efficacy of the vaccine can change depending on the LNP used in conjunction with the mRNA (Oostvogels ¶1287, ¶1289; Ciaramella ¶0507). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the art-recognized method to use the combination of mRNA polynucleotides of SARS-CoV-2 and Influenza as taught by Oostvogels with the specific LNP taught by Ciaramella because doing so would advantageously allow one to increase the effectiveness of the payload delivery and allow for a stronger vaccination against SARS-CoV-2 and Influenza. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in using a different LNP to protect mRNA from degradation, enhance endosomal escape, and/or promote cell uptake (Guimaraes et al. J Control Release, 2019; Abstract, Introduction ¶2) given that this method is well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
(New rejection, as necessitated by amendments) Claims 126 – 128 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oostvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune as applied to claims 108 - 115 and 118 - 119 above, and further in view of Joyce et al (US20230285539A1, hereinafter, “Joyce”).
As discussed above, claims 108 - 115 and 118 – 119 were rendered prima facie obvious by the teachings of Oostvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune. The references fail to teach the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 - 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
Oostvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune and Joyce are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they teach fusion proteins and methods of improving the biological activity of the fusion proteins. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a fusion protein composition comprised of NTD and RBD of a SARS-CoV-2 protein that is specifically lacking the SD1 and/or SD2 domain because it is a known configuration of the antigens that has been used to treat or lessen the risk of SARS-CoV-2 infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in engineering a fusion protein composition comprised of NTD and RBD of a SARS-CoV-2 protein that is specifically lacking the SD1 and/or SD2 domain given that it is well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
1.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 -119 and 126 -128 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 190 – 193 and 197 - 202 of copending Application No. 18555087 in view of Oostvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune.
Claim 190 of the conflicting application teaches a combination vaccine comprising of a mRNA encoding an influenza virus HA protein, a second mRNA comprising the RBD and NTD of a SARS-CoV-2 spike protein with a linker comprising GGGS, as well as an RSV protein, with the mRNA containing N1-methylpseudouridine, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine, and where first, second, and third mRNA polynucleotides is formulated in at least one LNP.
Claim 191 of the conflicting application teaches the use of three different influenza virus HA proteins, with claim 192 teaches the further encoding of three different virus NA proteins.
Claim 193 of the conflicting application teaches the three different influenza virus HA proteins are from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victories lineage virus.
Claim 197 of the conflicting application teaches the LNP composition comprises 20-60 mol% ionizable amino lipid, 5-25 mol% non-cationic lipid, 25-55 mol% sterol, and 0.5-15 mol% PEG-modified lipid.
Claim 198 of the conflicting application teaches the LNP composition comprises 40-50 mol% ionizable amino lipid, 20-40 mol% cholesterol, 5-15 mol% neutral lipid, and 0.5-3 mol% PEG-modified lipid.
Claim 199 of the conflicting application teaches the ionizable lipid structure (reproduced below) where:
R1 is selected from the group consisting of C5*30 alkyl, C5-20 alkenyl, and -R"M'R';
R2 and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of C1-14 alkyl and C2-14 alkenyl;
R4 is -(CH2)nQ, wherein Q is -OR, and n is selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5;
each R5 is H;
each R6 is H;
M and M' are independently selected from -C(O)O- and -OC(O)-;
R7 is H;
R is H;
R' is selected from the group consisting of C1-18 alkyl and C2-18 alkenyl;
R" is selected from the group consisting of C3-14 alkyl and C3-14 alkenyl; and m is selected from 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13.
Claim 200 of the conflicting application teaches the exact structure of the ionizable amino lipid (reproduced below).
Claim 201 of the conflicting application teaches the method of administering the combination vaccine of claim 190 to the subject.
Claim 202 of the conflicting application teaches the method of preventing a respiratory virus infection in a subject by administering the combination vaccine of claim 190 to the subject.
Claim 208 of the conflicting application teaches the combination vaccine of claim 108, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 domain.
Claim 209 of the conflicting application teaches the combination vaccine of claim 108, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD2 domain.
Claim 210 of the conflicting application teaches the combination vaccine of claim 108, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 domain and does not include an SD2 domain.
As discussed above, Ootsvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102) and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza and/or RSV fusion protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Ootsvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Ootsvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization.
Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
The first, second, and third mRNA taught by Ootsvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or where at least two mRNA are formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Ootsvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to treat a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
The scope of the claims of ‘087 and the instant application significantly overlap. These claims in view of Ootsvogels make claims 108 -119 and 126 -128 of the instant application obvious. The general idea of using an mRNA vaccine to prevent or treat an influenza, RSV, and/or SARS-CoV-2 using the same LNP composition and method of administration in the same manner is discussed in both sets of claims. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘087 to include the mRNA encoding for all three SARS-CoV-2, RSV, and influenza antigens because doing such can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 8 of U.S. Patent No. US12318443B2 in view of Ootsvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, and Joyce.
Claim 1 of the conflicting patent teaches a mRNA vaccine comprised of a polynucleotide encoding an influenza virus HA antigen and is formulated in a LNP with 100% of uracil nucleosides in the open reading frame are N1-methylpseudouridine. The LNP has a formula of:
R1 is selected from the group consisting of C5-30 alkyl, C5-20 alkenyl, and —R″M′R′;
R2 and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of C1-14 alkyl and C2-14 alkenyl;
R4 is —(CH2)nQ, where Q is —OR, and each n is independently selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5;
each R5 is H;
each R6 is H;
M and M′ are independently selected from —C(O)O—
and —OC(O)—;
R7 is H;
R is H;
R′ is H;
R″ is selected from the group consisting of C3-14 alkyl and C3-14 alkenyl; and
m is selected from 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13.
Claim 2 of the conflicting patent teaches an ionizable lipid (reproduced below).
Claim 3 of the conflicting patent teaches a mRNA vaccine of claim 1 where the LNP comprises 20-60 mol % cationic lipid, 5-25 mol % neutral lipid, 25-55 mol % sterol, and 0.5-15 mol % PEG-modified lipid, wherein the LNP comprises 0.5 mol % to 5 mol % PEG-modified lipid.
Claims 4 - 6 of the conflicting patent teaches a mRNA vaccine of claim 1 the HA antigen is an H10 HA antigen, including from the Influenza A H10N8.
Claims 7 – 8 of the conflicting patent teaches the use of the mRNA vaccine of claim 1 to elicit an immune response.
The conflicting claims do not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, as discussed above, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 – 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) above a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
The scope of the conflicting patent and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘443 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostvogels established that an mRNA encoding antigens from both influenza and coronaviruses and that these mRNA can be formulated with an LNP. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘443 to include the mRNA encoding for the HA antigen of influenza A with other HA influenza antigens and SARS-CoV-2 antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
3.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 166, 167, 175, and 176 of U.S. Application No. 17797784 in view of Ootsvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, Joyce, and Ciaramella as discussed above..
Claim 166 of the conflicting application teaches a mRNA vaccine comprising a polynucleotide encoding the RBD and NTD of SARS-CoV-2 spike protein.
Claim 167 of the conflicting application teaches a mRNA vaccine of claim 166 that is chemically modified to include N1-methylpseudouridine
Claim 175 of the conflicting application teaches a mRNA vaccine where the mRNA is formulated with an LNP that comprises a molar ratio of about 20-60 mol% ionizable cationic lipid, 5-25 mol% neutral lipid, 25-55 mol% sterol, and 0.5- 15 mol% PEG-modified lipid.
Claim 176 of the conflicting application teaches a mRNA vaccine the ionizable catonic lipid to comprises:
R1 is selected from the group consisting of C5-30 alkyl, C5-20 alkenyl, and —R″M′R′;
R2 and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of C1-14 alkyl and C2-14 alkenyl;
R4 is-(CH2)nQ, wherein Q is —OR, and n is selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5;
each R5 is H;
each R6 is H;
M and M′ are independently selected from —C(O)O— and —OC(O)—;
R7 is H;
R is H;
R′ is selected from the group consisting of C1-18 alkyl and C2-18 alkenyl;
R″ is selected from the group consisting of C3-14 alkyl and C3-14 alkenyl; and
m is selected from 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13.
The conflicting claims do not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, as discussed above, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 – 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
Ciaramella teaches an RSV RNA vaccine that comprises of a mRNA polynucleotide encoding the RSV F protein and an LNP. The structure of the ionizable amino lipid in Ciaramella has the exact structure of the ionizable amino lipid claimed in 199 and 200 of the instant application (Compound 1 of Ciaramella, reproduced below).
The scope of the conflicting application and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘784 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostovogels established that an mRNA encoding a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, including a full length or S1 subunit of the spike protein, can be included with mRNAs encoding antigens from influenza which are formulated with an LNP. Claim 176 of the conflicting application shares the same LNP composition as the LNP of the instant application which Compound 1 of the instant application falls under. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘784 to include an mRNA encoding for a full length or a portion of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein with the influenza antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
4.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 - 119 and 126 -128 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 5, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. US12329811B2 in view of Ootsvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, and Joyce..
Claim 1 of the conflicting patent teaches an mRNA vaccine comprising of mRNA encoding three HA proteins from two influenza A virus and one Influenza B virus, three NA proteins from three different influenza viruses (corresponding to the origin virus of the HA proteins) with the polynucleosides comprised of N1-methylpseudouridine, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. The mRNA is formulated with an LNP comprised of an ionizable amino lipid, a sterol, a neutral lipid, and a polyethylene glycol (PEG)-modified lipid. The ionizable amino lipid has the formula:
R1 is selected from the group consisting of C5-30 alkyl, C5-20 alkenyl, and —R″M′R′;
R2 and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of C1-14 alkyl and C2-14 alkenyl;
R4 is —(CH2)nQ, wherein Q is —OR, and n is selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5;
each R5 is H;
each R6 is H;
M and M′ are independently selected from —C(O)O— and —OC(O)—;
R7 is H;
R is H;
R′ is selected from the group consisting of C1-18 alkyl and C2-18 alkenyl;
R″ is selected from the group consisting of C3-14 alkyl and C3-14 alkenyl;
m is selected from 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13.
Claims 2 – 4 of the conflicting application teaches the HA and NA proteins being of H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B origin.
Claim 5 of the conflicting application teaches the LNP of the mRNA composition comprising of 40-55 mol % ionizable amino lipid, 30-45 mol % sterol, 5-15 mol % neutral lipid, and 1-5 mol % PEG-modified lipid.
Claim 10 of the conflicting application teaches the ionizable amino lipid of the mRNA composition as:
The conflicting claims do not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, as discussed above, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 – 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
The scope of the conflicting patent and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claims 108 – 119 and 126 -128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘811 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostvogels established that a mRNA encoding at least one influenza virus antigen can be included with mRNAs encoding antigens from coronaviruses which are formulated with an LNP. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘811 to include the mRNA encoding for the HA antigen of influenza A with other HA influenza antigens and SARS-CoV-2 antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
5.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 – 119 and 126 -128 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 8, 11 -12, 15, 24, and 25 -29 of U.S. Application No. 18569776 in view of Ootsvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, and Joyce.
Claims 1 – 8, 11 - 12, and 15 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA of a full-length coronavirus spike protein. These claims contain different variations of the spike protein but nonetheless encode for the spike protein.
Claim 24 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA comprising of a chemical modification that may be 1-methylpseudouridine.
Claims 25 - 28 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA formulated with a LNP that comprises of a combination of a PEG-modified lipid, a non-cationic lipid, a sterol, an ionizable amino lipid. The molar ratio of the LNP can be 0.5-15 mol % PEG-modified lipid; 5-25 mol % non-cationic lipid; 25-55 mol % sterol; and 20-60 mol % ionizable amino lipid, with claim 27 further specifying, the PEG-modified lipid is 1,2 dimyristoyl-sn-glycerol, methoxypolyethyleneglycol (PEG2000 DMG), the non-cationic lipid is 1,2 distearoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DSPC), the sterol is cholesterol, and the ionizable amino lipid has the structure of Compound 1:
Claim 29 of the conflicting application teaches the use of mRNA vaccine to elicit an immune response.
The conflicting claims do not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, as discussed above, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 – 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
The scope of the conflicting application and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claims 108 – 119 and 126 -128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘776 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostvogels established that a mRNA encoding a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, including a full length or S1 subunit of the spike protein, can be included with mRNAs encoding antigens from influenza which are formulated with an LNP. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘776 to include an mRNA encoding for a full length or a portion of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein with the influenza antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
6.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 – 119 and 126 -128 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, 4 -7, 13, 19, 25, 31, and 33 - 38 of U.S. Application No. 18028126 in view of Ootsvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, and Joyce.
Claims 1 – 3, 4 -7, 13, 19, 25, and 31 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA of a full-length coronavirus spike protein formulated with an LNP. These claims contain different variations of the spike protein but nonetheless encode for the spike protein.
Claims 33 and 34 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA comprising of a chemical modification that may be 1-methylpseudouridine.
Claims 35 - 37 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA formulated with a LNP that comprises of a combination of a PEG-modified lipid, a non-cationic lipid, a sterol, an ionizable amino lipid. The molar ratio of the LNP can be 0.5-15 mol % PEG-modified lipid; 5-25 mol % non-cationic lipid; 25-55 mol % sterol; and 20-60 mol % ionizable amino lipid, with claim 27 further specifying, the PEG-modified lipid is 1,2 dimyristoyl-sn-glycerol, methoxypolyethyleneglycol (PEG2000 DMG), the non-cationic lipid is 1,2 distearoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DSPC), the sterol is cholesterol, and the ionizable amino lipid has the structure of Compound 1:
Claim 38 of the conflicting application teaches the use of mRNA vaccine to elicit an immune response.
The conflicting claims do not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, as discussed above, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 – 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
The scope of the conflicting application and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘126 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostvogels established that a mRNA encoding a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, including a full length or S1 subunit of the spike protein, can be included with mRNAs encoding antigens from influenza which are formulated with an LNP. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘126 to include an mRNA encoding for a full length or a portion of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein with the influenza antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
7.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 – 119 and 126 -128 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 10 – 11, 60 – 62, and 64 -73 of U.S. Application No. 18272512 in view of Ootsvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, and Joyce.
Claim 1, 4, 10 – 11, and 60 - 62 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA comprised of the RBD and NTD domains of SARS-CoV-2 spike protein.
Claims 64 – 67 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA comprising of a chemical modification that may be 1-methylpseudouridine
Claim 68 - 72 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA formulated with a LNP that comprises of a combination of a PEG-modified lipid, a non-cationic lipid, a sterol, an ionizable amino lipid. The molar ratio of the LNP can be 40-55 mol % ionizable amino lipid, 30-45 mol % sterol, 5-15 mol % neutral lipid, and 1-5 mol % PEG-modified lipid, with claim 22 further limiting the molar ratio to 40-50 mol % ionizable amino lipid, 35-45 mol % sterol, 10-15 mol % neutral lipid, and 2-4 mol % PEG-modified lipid. Claim 24 and 25 further limit the sterol is cholesterol and the ionizable amino lipid has the structure of Compound 1:
Claim 73 of the conflicting application teaches the use of mRNA vaccine to elicit an immune response.
The conflicting claims do not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, as discussed above, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 – 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
The scope of the conflicting application and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claims 108 – 119 and 126 -128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘512 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostvogels established that a mRNA encoding a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, including a full length or S1 subunit of the spike protein, can be included with mRNAs encoding antigens from influenza and RSV which are formulated with an LNP. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘512 to include an mRNA encoding for a full length or a portion of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein with the influenza antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
8.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 55 – 70, and 73 of U.S. Application No. 18272496 in view of Ootsvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, Joyce, and Ciaramella as discussed above..
Claims 55 – 56 and 61 -64 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA of a at least one full length coronavirus spike protein.
Claims 57 - 60 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA comprising of a chemical modification that may be 1-methylpseudouridine.
Claims 65 - 70 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA formulated with a LNP that comprises of a combination of a PEG-modified lipid, a non-cationic lipid, a sterol, an ionizable amino lipid. The molar ratio of the LNP can be 40-55 mol % ionizable amino lipid, 30-45 mol % sterol, 5-15 mol % neutral lipid, and 1-5 mol % PEG-modified lipid. Claim 69 and 70 further limit the sterol is cholesterol and the ionizable amino lipid has the structure of Compound 1:
Claim 73 of the conflicting application teaches the use of mRNA vaccine to elicit an immune response.
The conflicting claims do not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein encoded by the second ORF does not include an SD1 and/or SD2 domain.
However, as discussed above, Joyce teaches vaccines and binding molecules for the use and treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Joyce teaches nanoparticles comprising of a fusion protein comprising a nanoparticle-forming peptide and at least one antigenic coronavirus peptide (Claim 1). Joyce teaches the antigen can be the RBD and/or NTD of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein (¶0014).
Regarding claim 126 – 128, Joyce teaches a fusion protein comprising of NTD and RBD and notably lacking the SD1 and SD2 domains (Figure 1E). Joyce teaches the mRNA of the fusion protein as well (¶0017).
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
The scope of the conflicting application and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘496 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostvogels established that a mRNA encoding a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, including a full length or S1 subunit of the spike protein, can be included with mRNAs encoding antigens from influenza which are formulated with an LNP. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘496 to include an mRNA encoding for a full length or a portion of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein with the influenza antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
9.
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendments) Claims 108 – 119 and 126 - 128 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 46 of U.S. Application No. 18282097 in view of Oostvogels, Nolan, Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, Nagamune, and Ciaramella as discussed above.
Claim 46 of the conflicting application teaches the mRNA comprised of the RBD and NTD domains of SARS-CoV-2 spike protein, where the mRNA comprising of a chemical modification that may be 1-methylpseudouridine and is formulated with an LNP.
As discussed above, Oostvogels teaches nucleic acid-based combination vaccines for Coronaviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, and Pneumoviridae that can be delivered in a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) to treat or prevent (see scope of enablement) a coronavirus infection along with other viral infections (Abstract). This combination vaccine encodes the mRNA of at least a portion the SARS-CoV2 spike protein, including the S1 protein (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0101, ¶0102), and at least one further component of an antigenic peptide or protein from at least one further virus such as influenza (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0071, ¶806 - ¶808) in at least one LNP (Claim 1) with a preference for all of the uracil nucleotides of the mRNA replaced by m1ψ nucleotide (¶0411), resulting in ORFs comprising of m1ψ, adenosine, guanosine, and cytidine. Oostvogels further teaches the combination vaccine comprising of mRNA polynucleotides encoding at least three different influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA) protein as well as also encoding at least three different influenza virus neuraminidase (NA) protein (Claim 1 – 6, ¶0754). These influenza proteins can be from an H1N1 virus, H3N2 virus, and an influenza B/Victoria lineage virus (¶0748, Table 10). Furthermore, Oostvogels teaches specific HA and NA proteins from well characterized and known H1N1, H3N2, and influenza B/Victoria lineage viruses (Table 8).
Nolan teaches a GGGS linker used in fusion proteins. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Joyce teaches a mRNA encoding a fusion protein lacking a SD1 and/or SD2 domain that encodes a NTD, a RBD, and a linker.
The first and second mRNA taught by Oostvogels can be formulated in a single LNP or can be formulated in separate LNPs (Claim 18 and 19) with the LNP comprising 40-50% cationic lipid (Claim 1, ¶1283 and ¶1284), 5-15% neutral lipid (which can be a non-cationic lipid (¶1309)), 20-40% cholesterol (¶1307), and 3% PEG-lipid (¶1299).
Oostvogels teaches administering the combination vaccine to elicit an immune response (Claim 21) and a method for administering the combination vaccine to prevent (see scope of enablement) a respiratory virus infection (Abstract, ¶1526).
Ciaramella teaches an Influenza RNA vaccine that is comprised of a mRNA polynucleotide encoding an HA7 hemagglutinin antigen formulated within a cationic lipid nanoparticle (Claim 1). The structure of the ionizable amino lipid in Ciaramella has the exact structure of the ionizable amino lipid claimed in 116, 117, 120, and 121 of the instant application (Compound 25 of Ciaramella, reproduced below).
The scope of the conflicting application and the instant application significantly overlaps. These claims make claim 108 – 119 and 126 -128 of the instant application obvious. While ‘097 does not teach a combination vaccine, the idea of administering vaccines at the same time is well known in the art. Oostvogels established that a mRNA encoding a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, including a full length or S1 subunit of the spike protein, can be included with mRNAs encoding antigens from influenza and RSV which are formulated with an LNP. Furthermore, the use of an mRNA encoding at least a portion of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein in conjunction with the LNP taught by the prior art. As discussed above, Ciaramella teaches the exact ionizable amino lipid of the instant application. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claims of ‘097 to include an mRNA encoding for a full length or a portion of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein with the influenza antigens because doing so can lower costs while still effectively treating and/or preventing influenza and SARS-CoV-2 infection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
1) Applicant states amendments made to claim 119 overcome the USC 112 - enablement
Applicant has amended claim 119. Examiner has withdrawn the rejection.
2) Applicant states that the amendments made to claim 108 and cancellation of claims 120 – 125 overcome the USC 103 rejection and obviousness-type double patenting rejection
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. While Ootsvogels does not teach a mRNA encoding a fusion protein comprising a linker comprising GGGS, as discussed above, Ootsvogels does teach the fusion protein can comprise a linker. Nolan does teach fusion proteins comprising a GGGS linker. Nolan also teaches the purpose of the linker is to decrease the possibility of steric hindrance and maintain or increase bioactivity. Troup, Sivaramakrishnan, and Nagamune teach the selection of a linker protein is a matter of routine optimization. Together, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the linker between NTD and RBD to increase the likelihood of proper antigen presentation.
Conclusion
NO CLAIMS ARE ALLOWED.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANYAL HASSAN ALAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672