DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-3, drawn to an iron-manganese-based positive electrode material, in the reply filed on August 7, 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-9 and Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, Groups II and III, drawn to a method and drawn to a lithium ion battery, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-18 are pending and Claims 1-3 are currently considered in this office action.
Priority
Applicant’s claim to foreign priority in application no. CN202110548471.6, filed May 19, 2021, and to application no. PCT/CN2022/093829, filed May 19, 2022, is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears that Claim 3 is listed twice in the most recently filed claim set of August 7, 2026. Please remove duplicate claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 2 recites the broad recitation 140-1000nm, and the claim also recites 140-500nm, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 recites that the intensity of the characteristic peaks within the range of 31-33° and/or 43-45° of the Li2MnO3 phase are less than one third of the maximum characteristic peak intensity of the iron-manganese-based positive electrode material; however, Claim 1 already specifies that the maximum intensity of a characteristic peak of the Li2MnO3 phase is less than one third the maximum characteristic peak of the iron-manganese-based positive electrode material. In order to meet the requirements of Claim 1, it appears that the requirements of Claim 3 would necessarily already be met. Therefore, Claim 3 fails to limit the subject matter of Claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haiqiang (“On the drastically improved performance of Fe doped LiMn2O4 nanoparticles prepared by a facile solution gelation route”).
Regarding Claim 1, Haiqiang discloses an iron-manganese positive electrode material (Abstract), comprising the compositions LiFe0.1Mn1.9O4 and LiFe0.2Mn1.8O4 (Abstract, x=0.1 and 0.2), which is equivalent to Li0.5Fe0.05Mn0.95O2 and Li0.5Fe0.1Mn0.9O2 and reads on the claimed composition LiaMnxFeyO2 wherein a is 0.1-0.5, 0<x<1.0 and 0<y<1.0.
Haiqiang further discloses wherein at least some Mn is tetravalent (pg. 140, Col. 2, para. 1-2), and wherein an XRD spectrum of the positive electrode material does not show any characteristic peaks of the Li2MnO3 phase (see Fig. 1, reproduced also below, which does not show any peaks of the Li2MnO3 phase in the range of 20-25°, 31-33°, 43-45° or 53-55°). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the designated (400) peak at ~44° is not a characteristic peak of the Li2MnO3 phase and is characteristic to the LiMn2O4 phase.
Fig. 1 of Haiqiang showing an absence of Li2MnO3 phase XRD peaks.
Regarding Claim 3, Haiqiang discloses wherein XRD spectrum of the positive electrode material is absent of characteristic peaks of the Li2MnO3 phase, and therefore the Li2MnO3 peaks comprise an intensity of 0 and reads on the claimed range of less than one third of the maximum characteristic peak intensity of the electrode material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haiqiang (“On the drastically improved performance of Fe doped LiMn2O4 nanoparticles prepared by a facile solution gelation route”), as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Li (US 20230299264 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Haiqiang discloses wherein the particle sizes are 290nm and 320nm, which reads on the claimed range of 150-500nm (Pg. 140, Col. 2, Para. 3).
Haiqiang fails to disclose the content of residual alkali.
Li teaches 1500ppm or less residual alkali in order to avoid gas production during battery cycles, thereby improving processing performance and safety performance (Abstract; para. [0003]; para. [0013]; para. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have comprised 1500ppm or less residual alkali, which overlaps the claimed range of 1400-1900ppm, as taught by Li, for the invention disclosed by Haiqiang, in order to avoid gas production during battery cycles and improve processing performance and safety performance (see teaching above).
Regarding residual alkali content, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Claim 1 and Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamura (cited by Applicant in IDS filed June 6, 2025, JP 2006089320 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Miyamura discloses an iron-manganese-based positive electrode material comprising the formula LixMyMezOa, wherein x is 0.2-0.6, y is 0.4-0.6, z is 0.4-0.6 and a is 1.9-2.3, wherein Me may be Fe, and including compositions such as Li0.30Mn0.5Fe0.43O2 (Abstract; Table 1, inventive example 5), which reads on the claimed composition LiaMnxFeyO2 wherein a is 0.1-0.5, 0<x<1.0 and 0<y<1.0.
Element
Claim 1
Miyamura (Abstract)
Miyamura (Table 1, ex. 5)
Li
0.1-0.5
0.2-0.6
0.3
Mn
>0 and <1.0
0.4-0.6
0.5
Fe
>0 and <1.0
0.4-0.6
0.43
O
2
1.9-2.3
2
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Miyamura discloses the electrode material has XRD peaks at 18.7, 33.6, 35.6, 44.3, 49.5, 54.1, 57.1, 57.5, 58.8 and 64.8 degrees (para. [0009]), and discloses the XRD pattern of the positive electrode material, which is either absent of Li2MnO3 diffraction peaks, or comprises intensities which are less than one third the maximum characteristic intensity of the electrode material (see Fig. 5). For example, see Image 1 below, which compares the XRD patterns of Miyamura in Fig. 5 to the comparison example of the instant invention comprising the Li2MnO3 peaks (instant specification, Fig. 3). Samples by Miyamura which are annealed at 300-500C do not show the Li2MnO3 characteristic peaks (the peaks at 44.3 and 54.1 degrees correspond to the electrode material not the Li2MnO3 phase), and samples annealed at 600-700C show a maximum characteristic peak intensity which is less than a third the maximum characteristic peak intensity of the electrode material (see intensity of peak 18.7° of electrode material vs that at 31° degrees of the Li2MnO3 phase).
Miyamura fails to disclose the valency of the Mn as tetravalent.
However, the composition and XRD pattern of Miyamura is the same as claimed, and one of ordinary skill in the art would therefore appreciate that Miyamura comprise at least some tetravalent manganese. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Image 1: annotated Fig. 5 of Miyamura and Fig. 3 (comparative) of instant invention demonstrating the peaks of Li2MnO3 phase seen, or absent, in examples of Miyamura.
Regarding Claim 3, Miyamura discloses wherein a characteristic peak intensity of the Li2MnO3 phase in the range of 31-33 degrees and/or 43-45 degrees is less than one third of the maximum characteristic peak intensity of the electrode material (see Image 1 above, samples annealed at 300-500C do not show the Li2MnO3 characteristic peaks (the intensity is 0); see samples annealed at 600-700C, intensity of peak 18.7° of electrode material vs that at 31° degrees of the Li2MnO3 phase). As noted in Claim 1 above, the peaks at 44.3 and 54.1 degrees correspond to the electrode material not the Li2MnO3 phase.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamura (cited by Applicant in IDS filed June 6, 2025, JP 2006089320 A), as applied above in Claim 1, in further view of Li (US 20230299264 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Miyamura discloses a particle size of 200nm or less, which reads on the claimed range of 140-500nm ().
Miyamura fails to disclose the content of residual alkali.
Li teaches 1500ppm or less residual alkali in order to avoid gas production during battery cycles, thereby improving processing performance and safety performance (Abstract; para. [0003]; para. [0013]; para. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have comprised 1500ppm or less residual alkali, which overlaps the claimed range of 1400-1900ppm, as taught by Li, for the invention disclosed by Miyamura, in order to avoid gas production during battery cycles and improve processing performance and safety performance (see teaching above).
Regarding particle size and residual alkali content, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Claim 1 and Claim 3 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamura (cited by Applicant in IDS filed June 6, 2025, JP 2006089320 A) in view of Hozumi (US 20180069243 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Miyamura discloses an iron-manganese-based positive electrode material comprising the formula LixMyMezOa, wherein x is 0.2-0.6, y is 0.4-0.6, z is 0.4-0.6 and a is 1.9-2.3, wherein Me may be Fe, and including compositions such as Li0.30Mn0.5Fe0.43O2 (Abstract; Table 1, inventive example 5), which reads on the claimed composition LiaMnxFeyO2 wherein a is 0.1-0.5, 0<x<1.0 and 0<y<1.0.
Element
Claim 1
Miyamura (Abstract)
Table 1, ex. 5
Li
0.1-0.5
0.2-0.6
0.3
Mn
>0 and <1.0
0.4-0.6
0.5
Fe
>0 and <1.0
0.4-0.6
0.43
O
2
1.9-2.3
2
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Miyamura discloses the electrode material has XRD peaks at 18.7, 33.6, 35.6, 44.3, 49.5, 54.1, 57.1, 57.5, 58.8 and 64.8 degrees (para. [0009]), and discloses the XRD pattern of the positive electrode material, which is either absent of Li2MnO3 diffraction peaks, or comprises intensities which are less than one third the maximum characteristic intensity of the electrode material (see Fig. 5). For example, see Image 1 above, which compares the XRD patterns of Miyamura in Fig. 5 to the comparison example of the instant invention comprising the Li2MnO3 peaks (instant specification, Fig. 3). Samples by Miyamura which are annealed at 300-500C do not show the Li2MnO3 characteristic peaks (the peak at 44.3 degrees corresponds to the electrode material not the Li2MnO3 phase), and samples annealed at 600-700C show a maximum characteristic peak intensity which is less than a third the maximum characteristic peak intensity of the electrode material (see intensity of peak 18.7° of electrode material vs that at 31° degrees of the Li2MnO3 phase).
Miyamura fails to disclose the valency of the Mn as tetravalent.
However, the composition and XRD pattern of Miyamura is the same as claimed, and one of ordinary skill in the art would therefore appreciate that Miyamura comprise at least some tetravalent manganese. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Further, Hozumi teaches an equivalent composition wherein at least some Mn is tetravalent in order to reduce reaction resistance (Abstract; para. [0039]-[0040], LiFeMnO4 is chemically equivalent to Li0.5Fe0.5Mn0.5O2; para. [0026]-[0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have comprised at least some tetravalent Mn, as taught by Hozumi, for the invention disclosed by Miyamura, in order to reduce reaction resistance (see teaching above).
Claim 2 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamura (cited by Applicant in IDS filed June 6, 2025, JP 2006089320 A) in view of Hozumi (US 20180069243 A1), as applied above in Claim 1, in further view of Li (US 20230299264 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Miyamura discloses an aggregate particle size of 200nm or less, which reads on the claimed range of 140-500nm (para. [0008]).
Miyamura fails to disclose the content of residual alkali.
Li teaches 1500ppm or less residual alkali in order to avoid gas production during battery cycles, thereby improving processing performance and safety performance (Abstract; para. [0003]; para. [0013]; para. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have comprised 1500ppm or less residual alkali, which overlaps the claimed range of 1400-1900ppm, as taught by Li, for the invention disclosed by Miyamura, in order to avoid gas production during battery cycles and improve processing performance and safety performance (see teaching above).
Regarding particle size and residual alkali content, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Conclusion
CATHERINE P. SMITH
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/CATHERINE P SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735