Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
All remarks are considered yet not found persuasive give the new grounds of rejection of record of Maruyama in view of Pfeilschifter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (US 2020/0091830) in view of Patel (US 2013/0286692).
Regarding claim 1, Maruyama teaches a method for performing a pre-charging process of an onboard electrical system of a vehicle and for a charging process of a vehicle battery (see 30) of the vehicle immediately following the pre-charging process, wherein the vehicle battery (see 30) is galvanically connected to a first onboard electrical sub-system of the onboard electrical system by a first switch element and a changeover switch (see 35 and 80), the changeover switch being physically separated from the first switch element (see 35 and 80) and galvanically separated (see separation provided by 80 and 51c) from a charging path of the onboard electrical system by (see path from 2) a second switch element that is physically separated from the first switch element (see 80) and from the changeover switch, and wherein the first onboard electrical sub-system is galvanically separated from the charging path by the changeover switch (see 80),
wherein at least one capacitor of the first onboard electrical sub-system is pre-charged to a second voltage value by the vehicle battery (see C2),wherein depending on a respective state of charge of the at least one line capacitance of the charging path and of the at least one capacitor of the first onboard electrical sub-system, the vehicle battery of the vehicle is charged by the power source (see C2 ), wherein for pre-charging the at least one capacitor of the first onboard electrical sub-system, a switch element (see DC/DC converter), and wherein for supplying the first onboard electrical sub-system with a charging voltage, the switch element of the semiconductor fuse is closed (see change of 80 from state).
However, Maruyama does not disclose wherein at least one line capacitance of the charging path of the onboard electrical system is pre-charged to a first voltage value by a power source electrically connected to the charging path and a semiconductor fuse.
Yet, Patel in the same field of power conversion systems teaches wherein at least one line capacitance of the charging path of the onboard electrical system is pre-charged to a first voltage value by a power source electrically connected to the charging path (see para 0024 the controller 60 switches the main circuit breaker 12 into the “open” condition and closes the precharge contactor 16, to allow current to flow from the AC source 4 through the precharge resistors 18 to the precharge output terminals 13. This effectively inserts the precharge resistors 18 into the multiphase power circuitry during the “precharge” mode to control excessive current spikes to charge the capacitance of a DC bus in the DC link circuit 40 at the output of the rectifier 30 and/or at the input of the inverter 50 (e.g., capacitors C1 and C2 in the example of FIG. 5 below) and a semiconductor fuse, of which is interconnected to at least one potential line between the first onboard electrical sub-system and the changeover switch, is opened (see 14 para 0024, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maruyama with the teachings of Patel having wherein at least one line capacitance of the charging path of the onboard electrical system is pre-charged to a first voltage value by a power source electrically connected to the charging path and a semiconductor fuse in order to prevents destructive inrush currents, false tripping, and component damage.
Regarding claim 9, Maruyama in view of Patel teach an onboard electrical system for a vehicle with a first onboard electrical sub-system for electric components of the vehicle different from an electric drive unit (see 4; Maruyama), a second onboard electrical sub-system for the electric drive unit of the vehicle (see 60; Maruyama), a third onboard electrical sub-system for a vehicle battery of the vehicle (see 52, Fig. 2; Maruyama ), and a charging terminal for connecting the onboard electrical system to a power source external to vehicle (see 10 and 20, Fig. 2; Maruyama), wherein the onboard electrical system is formed for performing a method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Maruyama in view of Patel teach wherein if the at least one line capacitance of the charging path is charged to the first voltage value and the at least one capacitor of the first onboard electrical sub-system is charged to the second voltage value, the vehicle battery is galvanically connected to the charging path by the second switch element and galvanically separated from the first onboard electrical sub-system by the first switch element and the changeover switch, whereby the vehicle battery is charged by the power source (see charring from 2 to charge 30, Fig. 1; Maruyama).
Regarding claim 3, Maruyama in view of Patel teach wherein the first onboard electrical sub-system is additionally galvanically connected to the charging path by the changeover switch, whereby the first onboard electrical sub-system is supplied by the power source, in particular at least one electric drive of the onboard electrical system is discharged immediately after the pre-charging process (discharging of 51A; Maruyama).
Regarding claim 4, Maruyama in view of Patel teach wherein a current flow from the changeover switch to the first onboard electrical sub-system is inhibited by the semiconductor fuse upon a short circuit within the onboard electrical system (see 80, Maruyama).
Regarding claim 5, Maruyama in view of Patel teach wherein the at least one capacitor (see C1) of the first onboard electrical sub-system is pre-charged to the second voltage value by converting a battery voltage of the vehicle battery by means of a DC voltage converter of the first onboard electrical sub-system (see power from 20 to C1 via 51a).
Regarding claim 6, Maruyama in view of Patel teach wherein the at least one line capacitance of the charging path and the at least one capacitor of the first onboard electrical sub-system are charged at the same time (see C1 and C2).
Regarding claim 8, Maruyama in view of Patel teach wherein the first voltage value and/or the second voltage value are adjusted depending on a battery voltage of the vehicle battery, in particular a voltage value of 800 V is provided by the battery voltage (see battery 30, para 0023; Maruyama).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama and Pfeilschifter in view of Gustafsson (US 2019/0001821).
Regarding claim 7, Maruyama in view of Patel teach the method according to claim 1.
Yet does not disclose wherein during the pre-charging process of the onboard electrical system, an insulation resistance of the onboard electrical system and/or of the power source is monitored by an insulation monitoring unit of power source or by an insulation monitoring unit of the onboard electrical system.
However, Gustafsson in the same filed teaches during the pre-charging process of the onboard electrical system, an insulation resistance of the onboard electrical system and/or of the power source is monitored by an insulation monitoring unit of power source or by an insulation monitoring unit of the onboard electrical system (see para 0010-0018 and 0040-0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maruyama and Patel with the teachings of Gustafsson having the pre-charging process of the onboard electrical system, an insulation resistance of the onboard electrical system and/or of the power source is monitored by an insulation monitoring unit of power source or by an insulation monitoring unit of the onboard electrical system in order to prevent damages and excess heating to critical devices within the distribution systems.
/ELIM ORTIZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836