DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawal of Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, on page 9, “V. Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C § 112(b)” rejection of the claims 17 has been withdrawn. Applicant has provided compliance with the requirements.
Applicant arguments on page 9, “ IV. Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. § 101” the rejection has been withdrawn and therefore applicant’s arguments are no longer in consideration and are moot.
Response to Arguments
Response to Applicant Arguments: Section III: “Claim Rejections-35 U.S.C. 102:
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., integrated viable cell density) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Webster et al., fails to disclose multiple limitations that include determining VCD based on a measured residual amount of nutrients because Webster et al., measures viable cell concentrations directly using Raman spectroscopy and offline analysis.
Response: Webster et al., discloses measuring nutrient concentrations and viable cell concentrations using Raman spectroscopy and predicative modeling (paragraphs 0094-0097; 01015). Residual nutrient concentration and VCD are related parameters that can change throughout the culture process. Webster et al. captures these measurements through its nutrient-concentration monitoring and also discloses predictive models to determine and predict culture parameters and adjusting nutrient feeding in response to changing culture conditions. Further, Webster et al., disclose in claim 3: predictive model that extrapolates a future concentration of cell-culture parameters based on previously determined concentration and claim 4: viable cell concentration as one of the parameters subject to monitoring and control. Further, Webster et al., disclose predictive modelling over time [0013-0014] and [0094-0097). Webster et al. is therefore not limited to determining instant concentration(s) but expressly contemplates VCC based on previously cell culture data. Applicant’s dependence regarding differences between Webster’s predictive modeling methods and nuanced mathematical descriptions in amended instant application does not establish patentable distinction.
Applicant argues that Webster et al., fails to disclose calculating a cellular growth rate between the current culture day and a previous day based on determined viable cell density.
Response: Webster et al., discloses collecting cell-culture measurements over successive periods, including days, and consecutive interval within a day, and using these measurements in predictive models (paragraphs 0084-0085; 0094-0097). Webster et al, claims 14-17, expressly considers culture processes extending days and/or hours and successive evaluation, as also depicted in multiple figures, including Figure 6 which demonstrates predicted viable cells/ml in comparison to culturing time (hours). Accordingly, Webster et al., discloses time-dependent cell concentration and/or nutrients monitoring over successive culture periods.
Applicant argues that Webster et al., does not disclose predicting VCD for the next day based on calculated cellular growth rate and instead predicts future concentrations using partial least squares regression.
Response: Webster et al. may use partial least squares regression, but this method does not exclude growth-rate-based predictions; as Webster et al., expressly disclosed predicative modeling of future cell-culture parameters, including viable cell concentrations (paragraphs 0090; 0094-0097). Please, also note corresponding answers which address the same points above.
Applicant argues that Webster et al., does not disclose predicting an integrated viable cell density that is represented by VCD over several successive culture days over or calculating a nutrient target based on the predicted integrated VCD.
Response:
Webster et al., in claim 3 discloses extrapolating a future concentration and adjusting the flow of a parameter influencing a parameter based on the calculated future concentration. Similarly claim 23 discloses predictive control of nutrient feeding based on future parameter concentrations. Additionally, as cited above Figure 6 illustrates successive culture days (hours) relative to viable cell concentration. Therefore, Webster et al teaches prospective nutrient adjustment based on predicted culture conditions, and not merely present concentrations of nutrients and/or cells.
As previously discussed, Webster et al., discloses monitoring viable cell concentrations over successive periods of time and utilizing models to accommodate nutrients. Webster et al., discloses monitoring cell culture parameters, including viable cell concentrations, nutrient concentrations and growth-related parameters, as previously discussed. Additionally, Webster et al., discloses employing predicative models for future concentrations of the monitored parameters to then regulate nutrient feeding through a programmable controller (paragraphs 0096-0097). Further, Webster et al discloses the use of viable cell concentration predictive models for nutrient-feed control (paragraph 0109) and describes nutrient feeding tied to variable cell concentration (Figure 6 and paragraph 0112). Therefore, Webster et al., discloses collecting viable cell concentration measurements over successive culture periods, predicting culture-conditions, and regulating nutrient feed according to changes in viable cell concentration. Also, it is noted that the claims do not require a particular mathematical integration for determining cumulative integrated VCD. Therefore, the absence of a specified formulation by Webster et al., does not distinguish the claimed invention. As such the functional definition of integrated viable cell density as a cumulative value and representing accumulation of viable cell density over successive days of the cell culture process is obtainable through the methods disclosed by Webster et al.
Claim Status
Claims 1-21 remain pending and under review on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Webster, T. et al., (US20190137338A1, published 2019-05-09).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 14 and 21, Webster et al., discloses a method for an automated sampling and monitoring system for cell culture, with a bioreactor, measuring residual nutrients inline (non-invasive) using Raman spectroscopy monitoring/analysis system coupled to a controller to determine concentration of the parameters and providing nutrients to cells in the bioreactor, based on measurements collected for minutes, hours and days (paragraphs 0084-0085) and batch processing of cells from 2 days to 28 days (page 2, paragraph 0013). Nutrients and bi-product measurements include: glucose, lactate, and/or glutamate (claims 13 and 14) concentrations while the controller of the system adjusts nutrient feed to the bioreactor based on said measurements (page 6, 0087). Webster et al., further discloses culture conditions, over time, and modifying nutrients based on statistical analysis or preprocessing prior to determining parameter concentrations, these measurements are then used for predicative modelling ( page 6, paragraphs 0089-0090). Predictive models are programmed into the controller to predict future concentrations to said parameters (page 7, 0094) and designed based on experiments with desired parameters (including integrated VCD from compiled predictions of VCD (page 2, paragraphs 0013-0013)) that include current day(s) and successive days (page 8, paragraphs 0105-0106) using Raman spectral/imaging data and/or offline data collection from additional methods/instruments, (page 7, paragraph 0094-0095).
Regarding claim 2, Webster et al., disclose determining a VCD on a current day, predicting VCD for a next day, or calculating a nutrient target based on complied predications of VCD (page 2, paragraphs 0013-0014).
Regarding claims 3, 6, 9, and 12, Webster, et al., teaches cell density was measured using offline and inline instrumentation that includes non-transitory storage medium to further recall and assess VCD from multiple time points (claim 3) which includes: integrated VCD for a current day (claim 6), integrated VCD from a previous day (claim 9) and empirically determined nutrients (claim 12) --(page 8, paragraphs 0105-0106).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, and 11, Webster et al., previously discloses collecting inline measurements using a programmable controller that is able to simultaneously collect multiple parameters, some of which includes VCD, total cell concentration, nutrients, and waste for time periods of minutes, hours, and days. Additionally, Webster et al., further discloses using these measurements with statistical analysis methods to build predictive models that were integrated into the controller system, resulting in adjustments to said parameters based on the predictive inputs. The upstream analyses of the predictive models include assessing multiple cell lines, nutrients, and cell products other than the cell line(s) and parameters used for calibration, followed by comparisons of the predictive model statistics with offline data collection from multiple other instruments, for predictive model validation and further for scalability.
Webster et al., discloses the following regarding the claims with predictive models:
Claim 4: VCD for next day predicted based on calculated cell growth rate and VCD on current day (page 7, paragraph 0096);
Claim 5: predicted viable cell density based on current day data, including integrated viable cell density data collected for a current day (page 7, paragraphs 0094-0095);
Claim 7: Predicted nutrient consumption rate relative to consumption over previous day(s)/current day(s), calculations of nutrient targets (page 7, paragraph 0096);
Claim 8: The nutrient consumption rate relative to cellular growth rate and based on periods of current and integrated VCD from a previous day (page 7, paragraph 0094 and 0101);
Claim 10: Predicted models of nutrient consumption based on specified daily consumption and viable cell density parameters for a current day (page 7, 0096-0097);
Claim 11: A nutrient calculated based on a predicted amount of nutrient and an empirically determined nutrient to maintain value (page 8, paragraph 0109; claim 3).
Regarding claims 15-20, Webster et al., teaches methods of collecting inline (page 8, paragraph 0106) and offline (page 8, paragraph 0105) measurements (claim 16) of viable cell (VCC) and total cell (TCC) concentrations of CHO-K1SV (GS-KO™) cells (page 8, paragraph 0103), a mammalian CHO cell line (claims 19 and 20), along with measurements of residual amounts of specified nutrients (glucose, lactate, and ammonium) from a 5L bioreactor (page 8, paragraph 0109), (claims 15 and 18). Measurements are taken from cells and nutrients, using a Novak Bioprofile (an offline nutrient analyzer) and Raman probes with spectra analysis (spectroscopy device) (page 8, paragraph 0105) (claim 17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/ENUSHA KARUNASENA/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643