DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A (Figs. 1a-5b) in the reply filed on September 27, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed inventions share the fundamental technical feature of an osteosynthesis device with novel features. This is not found persuasive because (a) the alleged novel features are the reason for a lack of unity of invention as noted on pg. 4 of the Restriction Requirement, (b) claim 1 is not generic as seemingly alleged by Applicant, and (c) Applicant has not addressed the technical features as identified on pg. 4 of the aforementioned Restriction Requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species (only nonelected Species C includes a fixing element 30 with a fixing pin 431 or 432), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 27, 2025.
Claims 16-21 have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites “an osteosynthesis device for the treatment of the spine, consisting of or having…” (lines 1-2). “Consisting of” excludes any element not specified in the claim (see MPEP § 2111.03(II)) whereas “having” is to be interpreted in light of the specification (see MPEP § 2111.03(IV)). It is noted that the specification does not provide clear guidance as to the meaning of the word “having.” However, it is also noted that dependent claims 20 and 21 recite an additional element in the form of a thrust piece. Such is in contradiction to the use of “consisting of” in claim 16. Thus, the Examiner is interpreting claim 16 as reciting “an osteosynthesis device for the treatment of the spine,
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the head region of the bone anchor" (line 13). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the bone anchor has not been previously recited as including a head region. Claims 17-21 are rejected because they depend from claim 16.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites the limitation "the radially inwardly directed contact region of the fixing element" (lines 2-3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the fixing element has not been previously recited as including a radially inwardly directed contact region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanders (US 2007/0270810 A1).
Claim 16. Sanders discloses an osteosynthesis device, for the treatment of the spine, consisting of or having a fork head (body 10) which is U-shaped in a side view (see Fig. 1) and has a through opening (see Fig. 3A inset), and the fork head has two fork legs (bridge 28 is one leg; brackets 30 in combination is another leg) in the proximal direction with an inner-lying thread (thread of bore 40 – see para. 0015), and a connecting rod (rod 32) can be received therein, and a ball head receiving region (region of body 10 that receives head 22 of screw 18) is provided in the fork head in the distal direction in the through opening, and a bone anchor (screw 18) is pivotably mounted therein, wherein the centre of the inner-lying thread (see Fig. 3A inset) and the centre of the ball head receiving region (see Fig. 3A inset) define a central axis (see Fig. 3A inset; note that the claim does not require that the central axis extend through the aforementioned centres; the central axis extends centrally, or midway, between the centres) and at least one leg provides an axial opening (bore 40), arranged parallel to the central axis, for a positioning element (setscrew 42), wherein a transverse opening (see Fig. 3A inset) is provided in the fork head, which communicates with the axial opening and with the through opening of the fork head, and a fixing element (wedge 48) is movably guided in this transverse opening along an axis (see Fig. 3A inset), and the fixing element clamps the head region of the bone anchor in an angularly stable manner in the fork head with introduction of a compression force along the transverse opening axis (see para. 0017) (Figs. 1-3A; paras. 0012-0018).
Claim 17. Sanders discloses wherein the transverse opening in the fork head is provided transversely to the axial opening and the central axis (see Fig. 3A), and wherein the compression force introduced along the transverse opening axis is generated by the positioning element (see para. 0017) (Figs. 1-3A; paras. 0012-0018).
[AltContent: textbox (Through Opening)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (Axis)][AltContent: connector]
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hammill et al. (US 2011/0040336 A1).
Claim 16. Hammill discloses an osteosynthesis device, for the treatment of the spine, consisting of or having a fork head (upper connector member 31 and lower connector member 33 in combination) which is U-shaped in a side view (see Fig. 6) and has a through opening (see Fig. 6 inset), and the fork head has two fork legs (see Fig. 6 inset) in the proximal direction with an inner-lying thread (thread 54), and a connecting rod (see Fig. 1) can be received therein, and a ball head receiving region (region in upper connector member 31 and lower connector member 33 that receives connector 18 of bone screw 12 as shown in Fig. 5) is provided in the fork head in the distal direction in the through opening, and a bone anchor (bone screw 12) is pivotably mounted therein, wherein the centre of the inner-lying thread (see Fig. 5 inset) and the centre of the ball head receiving region (see Fig. 5 inset) define a central axis (see Figs. 5 and 6 inset) and at least one leg provides an axial opening (see Fig. 6 inset; note that the opening extends parallel to the central axis and can thus be considered an axial opening), arranged parallel to the central axis, for a positioning element (see Fig. 6 inset), wherein a transverse opening (see Fig. 6 inset; note that the opening extends in a direction transverse to the central axis, in addition to parallel to the central axis, and can thus be considered a transverse opening) is provided in the fork head, which communicates with the axial opening and with the through opening of the fork head, and a fixing element (see Fig. 6 inset) is movably guided in this transverse opening along an axis (axis parallel to the central axis), and the fixing element clamps the head region of the bone anchor in an angularly stable manner in the fork head with introduction of a compression force along the transverse opening axis (Figs. 1-13; paras. 0075-0084).
Claim 20. Hammill discloses wherein the fork head has a thrust piece (retaining ring 42) and the thrust piece has a through opening (see Fig. 6 inset), a distally directed contact region (surface 56) towards the bone anchor head region, a proximally directed stave bearing (surface 53), and, in the region of the bone anchor head region, a lateral opening or partial cutout (see Fig. 6 inset; see also Fig. 8A), in which the fixing element is arranged such that it can move freely (Figs. 4-13; paras. 0075-0084).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
[AltContent: textbox (Central Axis)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claims 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biedermann et al. (US 2008/0147129 A1).
Claim 16. Biedermann discloses an osteosynthesis device, for the treatment of the spine, consisting of or having a fork head (receiving part 1) which is U-shaped in a side view (see Fig. 3) and has a through opening (see Fig. 3 inset), and the fork head has two fork legs (see Fig. 3 inset) in the proximal direction with an inner-lying thread (internal thread 11), and a connecting rod (rod 12) can be received therein, and a ball head receiving region (region of receiving part 1 that receives head 15 as shown in Fig. 3) is provided in the fork head in the distal direction in the through opening, and a bone anchor (bone anchoring element 13) is pivotably mounted therein, wherein the centre of the inner-lying thread (see Fig. 3 inset) and the centre of the ball head receiving region (see Fig. 3 inset) define a central axis (see Fig. 3 inset, extending into the page; note that the claim does not require that the central axis extend through the aforementioned centres; the central axis extends centrally, or midway, between the centres) and at least one leg provides an axial opening (see Fig. 8 inset), arranged parallel to the central axis, for a positioning element (see Fig. 8 inset), wherein a transverse opening (see Fig. 8 inset; note that the opening extends in a direction transverse to the central axis, in addition to parallel to the central axis, and can thus be considered a transverse opening) is provided in the fork head, which communicates with the axial opening and with the through opening of the fork head, and a fixing element (see Fig. 8 inset) is movably guided in this transverse opening along an axis (see arrow in Fig. 8), and the fixing element clamps the head region of the bone anchor in an angularly stable manner in the fork head with introduction of a compression force along the transverse opening axis (Figs. 1-6 and 8; paras. 0025-0036).
Claim 21. Biedermann discloses wherein the fork head provides a thrust piece (pressure element 20) and, when the bone anchor head region is clamped solely by the fixing element, the thrust piece is unloaded (see Fig. 3) (Figs. 1-6 and 8; paras. 0025-0036).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Transverse Opening)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Axial Opening)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Positioning Element)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Fixing Element)]
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heuer et al. (DE 10 2018 102 173 B3).
Claim 16. Heuer discloses an osteosynthesis device, for the treatment of the spine, consisting of or having a fork head (head 10) which is U-shaped in a side view (see Fig. 1e) and has a through opening (see Fig. 1e inset), and the fork head has two fork legs (legs 12) in the proximal direction with an inner-lying thread (thread 60), and a connecting rod (see para. 0024) can be received therein, and a ball head receiving region (see region that receives head 8 as shown in Fig. 1e) is provided in the fork head in the distal direction in the through opening, and a bone anchor (anchor 4) is pivotably mounted therein, wherein the centre of the inner-lying thread (see Fig. 1e inset) and the centre of the ball head receiving region (see Fig. 1e inset) define a central axis (see Fig. 1e inset) and at least one leg provides an axial opening (opening 51), arranged parallel to the central axis, for a positioning element (adjusting means 50), wherein a transverse opening (recess 30) is provided in the fork head, which communicates with the axial opening and with the through opening of the fork head, and a fixing element (pressure piece 18) is movably guided in this transverse opening along an axis (axis extending parallel to the central axis), and the fixing element clamps the head region of the bone anchor in an angularly stable manner in the fork head with introduction of a compression force along the transverse opening axis (Figs. 1a-2e; paras. 0024-0031).
[AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heuer et al. (DE 10 2018 102 173 B3) in view of Chao (US 2008/0015580 A1).
Claim 18. Heuer discloses wherein the fixing element includes a radially inwardly directed contact region (surface of pressure piece 18 that contacts head 8 as shown in Fig. 1e) (Figs. 1a-2e; paras. 0024-0031).
Heuer fails to disclose wherein the radially inwardly directed contact region has an increased roughness, notches or teeth (claim 18).
Chao teaches an osteosynthesis device comprising a fixing element (insert 20), wherein the fixing element includes a radially inwardly directed contact region (inner surface 26) for contacting a head (head 42) of a bone anchor (shank 40), wherein the radially inwardly directed contact region has an increased roughness, notches or teeth (para. 0029 states that inner surface 26 includes knurling, blasting, or ridges to provide texture) for better gripping of the head of the bone anchor (see para. 0029) (Figs. 1A-2D; para. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the osteosynthesis device of Heuer such that the radially inwardly directed contact region has an increased roughness, notches or teeth (claim 18), as suggested by Chao, to enable better gripping of the head of the bone anchor by the fixing element.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biedermann et al. (US 2008/0147129 A1) in view of Heuer et al. (DE 10 2018 102 173 B3).
Biedermann fails to disclose wherein the transverse opening for the fixing element has an inner thread at least in sections (claim 19).
Heuer teaches a fixing element (adjusting means 50) received in an opening (recess 48 and opening 74 in combination), wherein the opening has threaded sections (thread 53 and thread 76), and wherein the fixing element has corresponding threaded sections (threads 52 and 78) separated by an unthreaded section (Figs. 3a-3e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the osteosynthesis device of Biedermann such that the transverse opening for the fixing element has an inner thread at least in sections (claim 19) and the fixing element has corresponding threaded sections separated by an unthreaded section, as suggested by Heuer, as such a configuration would ensure that the fixing element does not separate from the fork head after completion of the surgical procedure.
Conclusion
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773