DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on October 12, 2023
Claims 1-15 is under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (US 2021/0099211A1).
As per Claim 1 Rahman teaches a method of a User Equipment device (“UE”) for generating a CSI report, wherein the report consists of information corresponding to one or more layers, the method comprising: receiving, from a Radio Access Network (“RAN”), a codebook configuration corresponding to a port-selection codebook(Paragraph 0038, 0045 0202, 0206 the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, for CSI reporting 5G communication systems, based on radio access networks (RANs), transmission and reception, where v is the rank value reported via RI, the pre-coder (cf. equation 5 and equation 5A) includes the codebook components (indicated via PMI) summarized in Table 4. The parameters L.sub.l and M.sub.l are either fixed or configured (e.g., via RRC)):
receiving a set of Channel State Information (“CSI”) reference signals: identifying a set of ports based on the set of CSI reference signals (Paragraph 0219, 0223 example, the first subset (S1) of codebook components is derived (e.g., by the gNB) based on the UL channel estimated using SRS transmission from the UE, and the derived first subset (S1) is configured to the UE. The first and second subsets may be disjoint, i.e., they do not have any common codebook components. Alternatively, they may have at least one common codebook component. CSI part 1 comprising CQI, RI, and K.sub.NZ=Σ.sub.l=0.sup.v−1K.sub.NZ,l are multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 1, where K.sub.NZ indicates the total number of NZ coefficients across v layers, and K.sub.NZ,l indicates a number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients for layer l); generating a set of coefficient indicators corresponding to the identified set of ports, wherein a subset of the coefficient indicators is assigned a non-zero amplitude value, wherein the port-selection codebook comprises a first bitmap that identifies the subset of the coefficient indicators having the non-zero amplitude value (Paragraph 0206 0223 See Table 4 and 5, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter codebookType set to ‘typeII-PortSelection-r17’ for CSI reporting based on a new (Rel. 17) Type II port selection codebook in which the port selection (which is in SD) in Rel. 15/16 Type II port selection codebook is extended to FD in addition to SDCSI part 1 comprising CQI, RI, and K.sub.NZ=Σ.sub.l=0.sup.v−1K.sub.NZ,l are multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 1, where K.sub.NZ indicates the total number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients across v layers, and K.sub.NZ,l indicates a number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients for layer l; TABLE-US-00005 TABLE 4 Codebook components Index Components Description 0 {a.sub.l, i}.sub.i = 0.sup.L.sup.l.sup.−1 set of selected SD beams/ports comprising columns of A.sub.l 2 {x.sub.l, i, m} bitmap indicating the indices of the non-zero (NZ) coefficients 3 SCI.sub.l an indicator indicating an index of the strongest coefficient for layer l 4 p.sub.l, r.sup.(1) reference amplitude 5 {p.sub.l, i, m} amplitudes of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap 6 {ϕ.sub.l, i, m} phases of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap):
generating a CSI report based the set of CSI reference signals, wherein the CSI report comprises codebook parameters for one or more layers and further containing an indication of a size of the subset of the coefficient indicators, wherein the first bitmap is selectively included in the CSI report based on a size of the subset of the coefficient indicators having the non-zero amplitude value(Paragraph 0224 See Table 4 and 5; CSI part 2 comprising the PMI indicating the second subset (S2) of codebook components is multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 2. CSI reporting based on a new (Rel. 17) Type II port selection codebook in which the port selection (which is in SD) in Rel. 15/16 Type II port selection codebook is extended to FD in addition to SDCSI part 1 comprising CQI, RI, and K.sub.NZ=Σ.sub.l=0.sup.v−1K.sub.NZ,l are multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 1, where K.sub.NZ indicates the total number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients across v layers, and K.sub.NZ,l indicates a number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients for layer l; TABLE-US-00005 TABLE 4 Codebook components Index Components Description 0 {a.sub.l, i}.sub.i = 0.sup.L.sup.l.sup.−1 set of selected SD beams/ports comprising columns of A.sub.l 2 {x.sub.l, i, m} bitmap indicating the indices of the non-zero (NZ) coefficients 3 SCI.sub.l an indicator indicating an index of the strongest coefficient for layer l 4 p.sub.l, r.sup.(1) reference amplitude 5 {p.sub.l, i, m} amplitudes of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap 6 {ϕ.sub.l, i, m} phases of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap. ); and
transmitting the CSI report to the RAN (Paragraph 222, FIG. 14, CSI reporting communication systems, based on radio access networks (RANs), the UE is further configured to use a two-part UCI to multiplex and report a CSI report).
As per Claim 2 Rahman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first bitmap is not included in the CSI report when all coefficients corresponding to a maximum number of configured coefficients have non-zero amplitude value (Paragraph 0108, 0122 the CSI reporting payload (bits) for part 2 is determined. In particular, the components of the second PMI i.sub.2 are reported only for the coefficients whose corresponding reported WB amplitudes are non-zero. a strongest coefficient (indicated using indicators i.sub.1,3,1 and i.sub.1,3,2); and [0109] a WB amplitude coefficient p.sub.l,i.sup.(1) (indicated using indicators i.sub.1,4,1 and i.sub.1,4,2).).
As per Claim 3 Rahman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first bitmap is not included in the CSI report when a configured fraction of non-zero coefficients is greater than or equal to a configured threshold value (Paragraph 0122, 0222 See Table 3 and 4 the CSI reporting payload (bits) for part 2 is determined. In particular, the components of the second PMI i.sub.2 are reported only for the coefficients whose corresponding reported WB amplitudes are non-zero. bitmap indicating the indices of the non-zero (NZ) coefficients 3 SCI.sub.l an indicator indicating an index (i*, m*) of the strongest coefficient for layer l 4 p.sub.l, r.sup.(1) reference amplitude 5 {p.sub.l, i, m} amplitudes of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap 6 {ϕ.sub.l, i, m} phases of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap ).
As per Claim 4 Rahman teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the configured threshold value is equal to one (Paragraph 0287 When part 2 CSI is transmitted on PUSCH with no transport block, lower priority bits are omitted until Part 2 CSI code rate is below a threshold code rate).
As per Claim 5 Rahman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first bitmap corresponds to coefficients associated with a selected set of frequency domain (“FD”) basis indices (Paragraph 0070, 0071 the input bits to produce a sequence of frequency-domain modulation symbols. Serial-to-parallel block 410 converts (i.e., de-multiplexes) the serial modulated symbols to parallel data to produce N parallel symbol streams where N is the IFFT/FFT size used in BS 102 and UE 116. Parallel-to-serial block 475 converts the parallel frequency-domain signals to a sequence of modulated data symbols. Channel decoding and demodulation block 480 demodulates and then decodes the modulated symbols to recover the original input data stream. ).
As per Claim 6 Rahman teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first bitmap is not included in the CSI report when a configured number of selected FD basis indices is less than a threshold amount (Paragraph 0287 When part 2 CSI is transmitted on PUSCH with no transport block, lower priority bits are omitted until Part 2 CSI code rate is below a threshold code rate).
As per Claim 7 Rahman teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the configured number of selected FD basis indices is equal to one (Paragraph 0035, 0070, 0071 the input bits to produce a sequence of frequency-domain (FD) modulation symbols. Serial-to-parallel block 410 converts (i.e., de-multiplexes) the serial modulated symbols to parallel data to produce N parallel symbol streams where N is the IFFT/FFT size used in BS 102 and UE 116. assume orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA), the present disclosure can be extended to other OFDM-based transmission waveforms or multiple access schemes such as filtered OFDM (F-OFDM). Parallel-to-serial block 475 converts the parallel frequency-domain signals to a sequence of modulated data symbols. Channel decoding and demodulation block 480 demodulates and then decodes the modulated symbols to recover the original input data stream. ).
As per Claim 8 Rahman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the CSI report contains separate bitmaps that indicate indices of non-zero coefficients reported for each layer corresponding to the one or more layers (Paragraph 0148, 0222 See Table 1, 3 and 4 The strongest coefficient is reported out of the K.sub.NZ non-zero (NZ) coefficients that is reported using a bitmap, where K.sub.NZ ≤K.sub.0=┌β×2LM┐<2LM and β is higher layer configured. The remaining 2LM−K.sub.NZ coefficients that are not reported by the UE are assumed to be zero. The following quantization scheme is used to quantize/report the K.sub.NZ NZ coefficients. set of FD/TD beams comprising columns of B.sub.l 4 {x.sub.l, i, m} bitmap indicating the indices of the non-zero (NZ) coefficients 5 SCI.sub.l Strongest coefficient indicator for layer l 6 {p.sub.l, i, m} amplitudes of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap 7 {ϕ.sub.l, i, m} phases of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap).
As per Claim 9 Rahman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a size of the first bitmap is equal to a number of the identified set of ports (Paragraph 0178, In one example, when the SD basis W.sub.1 is a port selection, then the candidate values for L or L.sub.1 include 1, and the candidate values for the number of CSI-RS ports N.sub.CSI-RS include 2. the SD ports are selected (hence reported), where this selection is according to at least one of Alt A-1 through Alt A-5. ).
As per Claim 10 Rahman teaches the method of claim 9, wherein a configured number of selected frequency domain (“FD”) basis indices is equal to two(Paragraph 0298, 0309 a set of frequency domain (FD) port selection vectors {b.sub.f}, where a port selection vector has one entry equal to 1 and remaining entries equal to 0, C2: indices of non-zero (NZ) coefficients, C3: an index of a strongest coefficient, C4: a reference amplitude, C5: amplitudes of NZ coefficients, and C6: phases of the NZ coefficients. ).
As per Claim 11 Rahman teaches the method of claim 10, wherein, for each bit in the first bitmap, a zero value of the bit corresponds to the non-zero coefficient corresponding to the first FD basis index being non-zero, and a one value of the bit corresponds to the non-zero coefficient corresponding to the second FD basis index being non-zero (Paragraph 0190, 0309 the FD/TD basis selection to similar to Alt A-1, i.e., the M.sub.l FD/TD units ports or column vectors of B.sub.l are selected by the index indices of non-zero (NZ) coefficients, C3: an index of a strongest coefficient, C4: a reference amplitude, C5: amplitudes of NZ coefficients, and C6: phases of the NZ coefficients.).
As per Claim 12 Rahman teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising identifying, for each layer corresponding to the one or more layers, a second bitmap of size equal to the configured number of selected FD basis indices, wherein the CSI report includes the second bitmap (Paragraph 0125, 0264, 0274 the bitmap(s) are partitioned into two parts, 1st part and 2nd part, that may or may not be equal in length (size), and the 1st part of the bitmap(s) is included in G1 and the 2nd part of the bitmap(s) is included in G2. the bitmap(s) are partitioned into two parts, 1.sup.st part and 2.sup.nd part, that may or may not be equal in length (size), and the 1.sup.st part of the bitmap(s) is included in G0 and the 2.sup.nd part of the bitmap(s) is included in G1.).
As per Claim 13 Rahman teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the second bitmap identifies whether coefficients corresponding to a selected FD basis index are assigned a zero amplitude value (Paragraph 0115, 0157 see table 2 and 3 each polarization, differential amplitudes p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) of the coefficients calculated relative to the associated polarization-specific reference amplitude and quantized to 3 bits SB amplitude coefficient p.sub.l,i.sup.(2) (which can be turned ON or OFF by RRC signaling via subbandAmplitude) indicated using indicators ).
As per Claim 14 Rahman teaches a User Equipment (“UE”) apparatus comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor and the transceiver configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a Radio Access Network (“RAN”), a codebook configuration for a port-selection codebook: receive a set of Channel State Information (“CSI”) reference signals(Paragraph 0038, 0045 0202, 0206 the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, for CSI reporting 5G communication systems, based on radio access networks (RANs), transmission and reception, where v is the rank value reported via RI, the pre-coder (cf. equation 5 and equation 5A) includes the codebook components (indicated via PMI) summarized in Table 4. The parameters L.sub.l and M.sub.l are either fixed or configured (e.g., via RRC)): identify a set of ports based on the set of CSI reference signals(Paragraph 0219, 0223 example, the first subset (S1) of codebook components is derived (e.g., by the gNB) based on the UL channel estimated using SRS transmission from the UE, and the derived first subset (S1) is configured to the UE. The first and second subsets may be disjoint, i.e., they do not have any common codebook components. Alternatively, they may have at least one common codebook component. CSI part 1 comprising CQI, RI, and K.sub.NZ=Σ.sub.l=0.sup.v−1K.sub.NZ,l are multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 1, where K.sub.NZ indicates the total number of NZ coefficients across v layers, and K.sub.NZ,l indicates a number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients for layer l); generate a set of coefficient indicators corresponding to the port-selection codebook, wherein a subset of the coefficient indicators is assigned a non-zero amplitude value, wherein the port-selection codebook comprises a first bitmap that identifies the subset of the coefficient indicators having the non-zero amplitude value (Paragraph 0206 0223 See Table 4 and 5, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter codebookType set to ‘typeII-PortSelection-r17’ for CSI reporting based on a new (Rel. 17) Type II port selection codebook in which the port selection (which is in SD) in Rel. 15/16 Type II port selection codebook is extended to FD in addition to SDCSI part 1 comprising CQI, RI, and K.sub.NZ=Σ.sub.l=0.sup.v−1K.sub.NZ,l are multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 1, where K.sub.NZ indicates the total number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients across v layers, and K.sub.NZ,l indicates a number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients for layer l; TABLE-US-00005 TABLE 4 Codebook components Index Components Description 0 {a.sub.l, i}.sub.i = 0.sup.L.sup.l.sup.−1 set of selected SD beams/ports comprising columns of A.sub.l 2 {x.sub.l, i, m} bitmap indicating the indices of the non-zero (NZ) coefficients 3 SCI.sub.l an indicator indicating an index of the strongest coefficient for layer l 4 p.sub.l, r.sup.(1) reference amplitude 5 {p.sub.l, i, m} amplitudes of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap 6 {ϕ.sub.l, i, m} phases of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap): generate a CSI report based the set of CSI reference signals, wherein the CSI report comprises codebook parameters for one or more layers and further containing an indication of a size of the subset of the coefficient indicators, wherein the first bitmap is selectively included in the CSI report based on a size of the subset of the coefficient indicators having the non-zero amplitude value(Paragraph 0224 See Table 4 and 5; CSI part 2 comprising the PMI indicating the second subset (S2) of codebook components is multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 2. CSI reporting based on a new (Rel. 17) Type II port selection codebook in which the port selection (which is in SD) in Rel. 15/16 Type II port selection codebook is extended to FD in addition to SDCSI part 1 comprising CQI, RI, and K.sub.NZ=Σ.sub.l=0.sup.v−1K.sub.NZ,l are multiplexed and encoded together in UCI part 1, where K.sub.NZ indicates the total number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients across v layers, and K.sub.NZ,l indicates a number of non-zero (NZ) coefficients for layer l; TABLE-US-00005 TABLE 4 Codebook components Index Components Description 0 {a.sub.l, i}.sub.i = 0.sup.L.sup.l.sup.−1 set of selected SD beams/ports comprising columns of A.sub.l 2 {x.sub.l, i, m} bitmap indicating the indices of the non-zero (NZ) coefficients 3 SCI.sub.l an indicator indicating an index of the strongest coefficient for layer l 4 p.sub.l, r.sup.(1) reference amplitude 5 {p.sub.l, i, m} amplitudes of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap 6 {ϕ.sub.l, i, m} phases of NZ coefficients indicated via the bitmap. ); and transmit the CSI report to the RAN (Paragraph 222, FIG. 14, CSI reporting communication systems, based on radio access networks (RANs), the UE is further configured to use a two-part UCI to multiplex and report a CSI report).
As per Claim 15 Rahman teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first bitmap is not included in the CSI report when all coefficients corresponding to a maximum number of configured coefficients have non-zero amplitude value (Paragraph 0108, 0122 the CSI reporting payload (bits) for part 2 is determined. In particular, the components of the second PMI i.sub.2 are reported only for the coefficients whose corresponding reported WB amplitudes are non-zero. a strongest coefficient (indicated using indicators i.sub.1,3,1 and i.sub.1,3,2); and [0109] a WB amplitude coefficient p.sub.l,i.sup.(1) (indicated using indicators i.sub.1,4,1 and i.sub.1,4,2).).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463