Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument: On page 8 of Remarks, Applicant argues Seo does not teach the additional amended limitations of claim 1 because the step of the terminal determining based on a second rule a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs is clearly performed after the steps of determining based on the first rule a bit cascading order of multiple UCIs. Further, the second rule mapping order of the multiple UCIs states the mapping order for mapping onto physical resources after encoding is completed.
Also, Applicant explained the processing flow of UCI as 1) UCI bit cascading, 2) Cascading 3) Channel coding (RM coding), 4) rate matching, 5) scrambling, modulation, 6) Resource mapping. Further, Applicant argues Seo merely relates to RM coding because it does not teach mapping order for mapping onto physical resources (See Seo [0159]). Additionally, Seo and associate text still related to RM coding (See Seo [0164]).
Finally, Applicant argues Seo relates a payload generation process because it related to the “bit position allocation before encoding,” rather than mapping order for mapping onto physical resource after encoding is complete.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In a light of broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with specification, the broad language of claim 1 does not recite the timing order of rule 1 and rule 2 as to explain that the second rule of bit mapping occurs after the first rule. This is consistent with the specification that refers to the second rule as the optional embodiment (See Spec [0065] and [0094]).
Additionally, the mere teaching of RM coding does not mean Seo lack the teaching of the bitmapping order. The main point of citing [0159] is to show multiple UCIs (ACK.NACK, SR, CSI) which is further supported in Fig. 22 which shows two resources of UCIs (See Seo [0222]). The bitmapping is further explained when the present invention’s purpose is to arrange UCI bits(Ack, NACK, CSI) form the MSB side to the LSB (See Seo [0164]). The purpose of invention is to overcome the difficulties of not having the arrangement of the bits using the basis sequence of RM techniques (Seo [0163]). The RM coding is one of the technique used to arrange UCIs bits from MSB to LSB. The broad language of claim 1 is silent about the specific step when the bitmapping occurs.
Further, Seo teaches the mapping of the bits to the time- frequency resources (See Seo [0141]). Although the mapping to the frequency resources occurs on a channel coded bits, these are the bits that are used by channel coding techniques. In the light of the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 , the mapping of the channel coded bits can be the same as “the bits of the UCIs”.
Furthermore, although Seo exemplifies to use of RM coding as channel coding for convenience of explanation, it is not limited thereto. Seo may also apply to a case where UCI is transmitted through PUSCH (Seo [0156]).
Finally, Seo teaches payload bits as a technique to indicate a UCI combination (See Seo [0256]). The use of this techniques does not mean that Seo does not teach the second rule of the claim 1. Also, in the light of broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1, the language of claim 1 does not explain the timing steps of the bitmapping. For instance, the broad language of claim 1 does not recite the second rule is performed “before or after” encoding.
In conclusion, Seo alone does not teach the amended limitation of claim 1, Yang in view of Kundu in further view of Seo, in combination, must be considered to determine the teaching of the claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5-6,8, 10-11, 13,15,21,23, 25,31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2018/0220413 A1)(hereafter “Yang”) in view of Kundu et al. (US 2019/0261391 A1) (thereafter “Kundu”) in further view of Seo et al. (US 2014/0226608 A1)(“Seo”).
Regarding claim 1, A method for determining cascading of uplink control information (UCI), comprising: determining based on a first rule, by a terminal, a bit cascading order of multiple UCIs with different priorities that are to be jointly encoded on a first uplink channel;
Yang [0037]; The UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded to obtain a UCI coding sequence.
Yang [0475]; The apparatus/function module/function unit in the above-mentioned embodiment may be implemented by using a general computation apparatus. They may be centralized on a single computation apparatus (determined by a terminal) or may be distributed on a network composed of multiple computation apparatuses. (Note: It is also inherent that the method below is determined by the terminal to cascade and send the multiple UCIs)
Yang [0211]; The UCI is cascaded according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI. For example, the UCI may be cascaded according to the priorities of the UCI and then according to the SC index corresponding to the UCI; For example, if UCI required to be sent by an SC1 is HARQ-ACK1, UCI required to be sent by an SC2 is high-priority CSI1, UCI required to be sent by an SC3 is high-priority CSI2, UCI required to be sent by an SC4 is low-priority CSI3, UCI required to be sent by an SC5 is high-priority HARQ-ACK2, and UCI required to be sent by an SC6 is high-priority CSI4, the UCI HARQ-ACK1 and the UCI HARQ-ACK2 of which the type is HARQ-ACK may be cascaded, and then the UCI CSI1, the UCI CSI2, the UCI CSI3 and the UCI CSI4 of which the type is CSI are cascaded, wherein HARQ-ACK1 and HARQ-ACK2 may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes, CSI1, CSI2, CSI3 and CSI4 may be cascaded in a descending order of priorities (bit cascading order of different priorities), that is, high-priority CSIs (CSI1, CSI2, CSI4) are cascaded, and then a low-priority CSI (CSI3) is cascaded, where the high-priority CSIs may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes.
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel).
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (multiple UCI with different priorities) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
wherein the first rule comprises: determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on a priority order;
Yang [0211] The UCI is cascaded according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI (first rule). wherein HARQ-ACK1 and HARQ-ACK2 may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes, CSI1, CSI2, CSI3 and CSI4 may be cascaded in a descending order of priorities (bit cascading order based on priority order), that is, high-priority CSIs (CSI1, CSI2, CSI4) are cascaded, and then a low-priority CSI (CSI3) is cascaded, where the high-priority CSIs may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes.
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI (bit cascading) information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (multiple UCI with different priorities) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
or, determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on UCI types
wherein a bit cascading order of multiple UCIs;
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (bit cascading order of multiple UCIs).
and transmitting, by the terminal, on the first uplink channel, the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order;
Yang [0338] In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel. Note: it is inherent that terminal sends PUCCH to the base station).
Yang [0339] UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
wherein the multiple UCIs at least comprise Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest- ACKnowledge (HARQ-ACK).
Yang [0339] HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
Yang does not explicitly teach a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order;
Kundu teaches a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order;
Kundu [0101]; Alternatively, UE would drop one of PUCCH format 0 or 2 in case of partial overlapping. This may depend on the priority of UCI type carried by PUCCH format 0 or 2. For instance, HARQ-ACK may have higher priority than SR and CSI report. In yet another option, UE may transmit the short PUCCH with earlier starting symbol and drop the latter one. This may apply for the case of same PUCCH format or same UCI type carried by two short PUCCHs.
In view of Kundu, Yang is modified such that the bit cascading order of multiple UCI is performed on a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order.
Yang and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on priority of the bits.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the same type UCI based on priority order to ensure alignment of transmitting UCIs between UE and the base station (Kundu [0030]).
Yang in view of Kundu does not teach determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs; wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI;
Seo teaches determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs; wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI.
Seo teaches determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs;
Seo [0011]; According to an aspect of the present invention, a method of transmitting uplink control information (UCI), performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, is provided.
Seo [0159]; For example, when an importance is high in order of ACK/NACK, SR, and CSI among UCIs, an input bit of RM coding is arranged in a concatenated manner in order of ACK/NACK, SR, and CSI.
[0222] FIG. 22 shows an example of a UCI configuration in a 1.sup.st resource and a 2.sup.nd resource (Multiple UCIs).
Seo [0164] In order to avoid this, as shown in FIG. 15(b), the present invention proposes to arrange UCI having a high importance (e.g., ACK/NACK bits) to a left side (i.e., an MSB side) of each of the segment 1 and the segment 2 in a distributed manner, and to arrange UCI having a low importance (e.g., CSI bits) of each segment subsequently in a distributed manner (this is called distributed segmentation or distributed mapping( second rule).
wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI.
Seo [0227]; An ACK/NACK bit may be mapped to a bit order predetermined according to a condition of an ACK/NACK target as described in the above example. For example, an ACK/NACK bit for the `PDSCH scheduled with the PDCCH` is mapped from an MSB side of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`,( second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI) and if an ACK/NACK bit for the `PDSCH scheduled without the PDCCH` is included, is mapped to an LSB side of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`. In addition, in an SR subframe, if an SR bit field is included in the `ACK/NACK combination 1`, it may be mapped to an LSB of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`.
In view of Seo, Yang is modified such that the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI.
Yang and Seo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on the priority level.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the mapping order pf mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI to maximize efficiency of resources to be transmitted (Seo [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, The method according to claim 1, wherein priorities of the multiple UCIs comprise: a high priority and a low priority;
Yang [0141]; write the high-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into fixed columns of a matrix, and write the low-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into the matrix by row and then column.
wherein determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order comprises: determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order as follows: bits of UCI with low priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with high priority,
Yang [0344]; Because the priority of HARQ-ACK information is higher than that of CSI information, the HARQ-ACK information is first-priority UCI, and the CSI information is second-priority UCI. The first-priority UCI may be coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the first-priority UCI, and the second-priority UCI is coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the second-priority UCI.
or, bits of UCI with high priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with low priority.
Regarding claim 5, The method according to claim 1, wherein the first uplink channel comprises at least one of the following: a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel).
Regarding claim 6, A method for determining cascading of uplink control information (UCI), comprising:
receiving on a first uplink channel, by a network side device, multiple UCIs with different priorities that
are jointly encoded;
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel) (Note: It is inherent that the UCI is sent by the terminal and received by the network.)
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (multiple UCI with different priorities) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
and determining based on a first rule, by the network side device, a bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs with different priorities;
Yang [0475]; The apparatus/function module/function unit in the above-mentioned embodiment may be implemented by using a general computation apparatus. They may be centralized on a single computation apparatus or may be distributed on a network (determined by network device) composed of multiple computation apparatuses.
Yang [0211]; The UCI is cascaded according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI. For example, the UCI may be cascaded according to the priorities of the UCI and then according to the SC index corresponding to the UCI; For example, if UCI required to be sent by an SC1 is HARQ-ACK1, UCI required to be sent by an SC2 is high-priority CSI1, UCI required to be sent by an SC3 is high-priority CSI2, UCI required to be sent by an SC4 is low-priority CSI3, UCI required to be sent by an SC5 is high-priority HARQ-ACK2, and UCI required to be sent by an SC6 is high-priority CSI4, the UCI HARQ-ACK1 and the UCI HARQ-ACK2 of which the type is HARQ-ACK may be cascaded, and then the UCI CSI1, the UCI CSI2, the UCI CSI3 and the UCI CSI4 of which the type is CSI are cascaded, wherein HARQ-ACK1 and HARQ-ACK2 may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes, CSI1, CSI2, CSI3 and CSI4 may be cascaded in a descending order of priorities (bit cascading order of different priorities), that is, high-priority CSIs (CSI1, CSI2, CSI4) are cascaded, and then a low-priority CSI (CSI3) is cascaded, where the high-priority CSIs may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes.
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel).
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence (bit cascading), CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (multiple UCI with different priorities) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
wherein the first rule comprises: determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on a priority order preferentially;
Yang [0211] The UCI is cascaded according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI (first rule). wherein HARQ-ACK1 and HARQ-ACK2 may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes, CSI1, CSI2, CSI3 and CSI4 may be cascaded in a descending order of priorities (bit cascading order based on priority order), that is, high-priority CSIs (CSI1, CSI2, CSI4) are cascaded, and then a low-priority CSI (CSI3) is cascaded, where the high-priority CSIs may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes.
or, determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on UCI types preferentially,
wherein a bit cascading order of multiple UCIs;
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (bit cascading order of multiple UCIs).
and transmitting, by the terminal, on the first uplink channel, the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order;
Yang [0338] In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel. Note: it is inherent that terminal sends PUCCH to the base station).
Yang [0339] UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
wherein the multiple UCIs at least comprise Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest- ACKnowledge (HARQ-ACK).
Yang [0339] HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
Yang does not explicitly teach a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order;
Kundu teaches a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order;
Kundu [0101]; Alternatively, UE would drop one of PUCCH format 0 or 2 in case of partial overlapping. This may depend on the priority of UCI type carried by PUCCH format 0 or 2. For instance, HARQ-ACK may have higher priority than SR and CSI report. In yet another option, UE may transmit the short PUCCH with earlier starting symbol and drop the latter one. This may apply for the case of same PUCCH format or same UCI type carried by two short PUCCHs.
In view of Kundu, Yang is modified such that the bit cascading order of multiple UCI is performed on a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order.
Yang and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on priority of the bits.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the same type UCI based on priority order to ensure alignment of transmitting UCIs between UE and the base station (Kundu [0030]).
Yang in view of Kundu does not teach determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs; wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI;
Seo teaches determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs; wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI.
Seo teaches determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs;
Seo [0011]; According to an aspect of the present invention, a method of transmitting uplink control information (UCI), performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, is provided.
[0013] In addition, a PUCCH format in which the ACK/NACK is transmitted may be predetermined to one of a plurality of PUCCH formats by a higher layer signal.
Seo [0159]; For example, when an importance is high in order of ACK/NACK, SR, and CSI among UCIs, an input bit of RM coding is arranged in a concatenated manner in order of ACK/NACK, SR, and CSI.
Seo [0222] FIG. 22 shows an example of a UCI configuration in a 1.sup.st resource and a 2.sup.nd resource (Multiple UCIs).
Seo [0164] In order to avoid this, as shown in FIG. 15(b), the present invention proposes to arrange UCI having a high importance (e.g., ACK/NACK bits) to a left side (i.e., an MSB side) of each of the segment 1 and the segment 2 in a distributed manner, and to arrange UCI having a low importance (e.g., CSI bits) of each segment subsequently in a distributed manner (this is called distributed segmentation or distributed mapping( second rule).
wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI.
Seo [0227]; An ACK/NACK bit may be mapped to a bit order predetermined according to a condition of an ACK/NACK target as described in the above example. For example, an ACK/NACK bit for the `PDSCH scheduled with the PDCCH` is mapped from an MSB side of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`,( second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI) and if an ACK/NACK bit for the `PDSCH scheduled without the PDCCH` is included, is mapped to an LSB side of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`. In addition, in an SR subframe, if an SR bit field is included in the `ACK/NACK combination 1`, it may be mapped to an LSB of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`.
In view of Seo, Yang is modified such that the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI.
Yang and Seo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on the priority level.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the mapping order pf mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI to maximize efficiency of resources to be transmitted (Seo [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, The method according to claim 6, wherein priorities of the multiple UCIs comprise: a high priority and a low priority;
Yang [0141]; write the high-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into fixed columns of a matrix, and write the low-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into the matrix by row and then column.
wherein determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order comprises: determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order as follows: bits of UCI with low priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with high priority,
Yang [0344]; Because the priority of HARQ-ACK information is higher than that of CSI information, the HARQ-ACK information is first-priority UCI, and the CSI information is second-priority UCI. The first-priority UCI may be coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the first-priority UCI, and the second-priority UCI is coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the second-priority UCI.
or, bits of UCI with high priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with low priority.
Regarding claim 10, The method according to claim 6, wherein the first uplink channel comprises at least one of the following: a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel).
Regarding claim 11, A terminal, perform following operations: Yang teaches determining based on a first rule, a bit cascading order of multiple UCIs with different priorities that are to be jointly encoded on a first uplink channel;
Yang [0037]; The UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded to obtain a UCI coding sequence.
Yang [0211]; The UCI is cascaded according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI. For example, the UCI may be cascaded according to the priorities of the UCI and then according to the SC index corresponding to the UCI; For example, if UCI required to be sent by an SC1 is HARQ-ACK1, UCI required to be sent by an SC2 is high-priority CSI1, UCI required to be sent by an SC3 is high-priority CSI2, UCI required to be sent by an SC4 is low-priority CSI3, UCI required to be sent by an SC5 is high-priority HARQ-ACK2, and UCI required to be sent by an SC6 is high-priority CSI4, the UCI HARQ-ACK1 and the UCI HARQ-ACK2 of which the type is HARQ-ACK may be cascaded, and then the UCI CSI1, the UCI CSI2, the UCI CSI3 and the UCI CSI4 of which the type is CSI are cascaded, wherein HARQ-ACK1 and HARQ-ACK2 may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes, CSI1, CSI2, CSI3 and CSI4 may be cascaded in a descending order of priorities (bit cascading order of different priorities), that is, high-priority CSIs (CSI1, CSI2, CSI4) are cascaded, and then a low-priority CSI (CSI3) is cascaded, where the high-priority CSIs may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes.
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel).
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (multiple UCI with different priorities) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
wherein the first rule comprises: determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on a priority order;
Yang [0211] The UCI is cascaded according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI (first rule). wherein HARQ-ACK1 and HARQ-ACK2 may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes, CSI1, CSI2, CSI3 and CSI4 may be cascaded in a descending order of priorities (bit cascading order based on priority order), that is, high-priority CSIs (CSI1, CSI2, CSI4) are cascaded, and then a low-priority CSI (CSI3) is cascaded, where the high-priority CSIs may be cascaded in an ascending order of SC indexes.
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI (bit cascading) information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (multiple UCI with different priorities) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
or, determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on UCI types
wherein a bit cascading order of multiple UCIs;
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence (bit cascading order of multiple UCIs).
and transmitting, by the terminal, on the first uplink channel, the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order;
Yang [0338] In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel. Note: it is inherent that terminal sends PUCCH to the base station).
Yang [0339] UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
wherein the multiple UCIs at least comprise Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest- ACKnowledge (HARQ-ACK).
Yang [0339] HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
Yang does not explicitly teach A terminal, comprising a memory , a transceiver and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory, a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order;
Kundu teaches A terminal (Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1400), comprising a memory (Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1404G), a transceiver(Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1406), and a processor (Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1404E);
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program,
(Kundu, [0138]; The processors may be coupled with or may include memory/storage and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the device 1400.)
the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory,
(Kundu, [0142]; RF circuitry 1406 may include a receive signal path which may include circuitry to down-convert RF signals received from the FEM circuitry 1408 and provide baseband signals to the baseband circuitry 1404. RF circuitry 1406 may also include a transmit signal path)
A same UCI type is determined based on a priority order;
Kundu [0101]; Alternatively, UE would drop one of PUCCH format 0 or 2 in case of partial overlapping. This may depend on the priority of UCI type carried by PUCCH format 0 or 2. For instance, HARQ-ACK may have higher priority than SR and CSI report. In yet another option, UE may transmit the short PUCCH with earlier starting symbol and drop the latter one. This may apply for the case of same PUCCH format or same UCI type carried by two short PUCCHs.
In view of Kundu, Yang is modified such that the bit cascading order of multiple UCI is performed on a same UCI type is determined based on a priority order.
Yang and Kundu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on priority of the bits.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the same type UCI based on priority order to ensure alignment of transmitting UCIs between UE and the base station (Kundu [0030]).
Yang in view of Kundu does not teach determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs; wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI;
Seo teaches determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs; wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI.
Seo teaches determining based a second rule, by the terminal, a bit mapping order of the multiple UCIs;
Seo [0011]; According to an aspect of the present invention, a method of transmitting uplink control information (UCI), performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, is provided.
Seo [0159]; For example, when an importance is high in order of ACK/NACK, SR, and CSI among UCIs, an input bit of RM coding is arranged in a concatenated manner in order of ACK/NACK, SR, and CSI.
[0222] FIG. 22 shows an example of a UCI configuration in a 1.sup.st resource and a 2.sup.nd resource (Multiple UCIs).
Seo [0164] In order to avoid this, as shown in FIG. 15(b), the present invention proposes to arrange UCI having a high importance (e.g., ACK/NACK bits) to a left side (i.e., an MSB side) of each of the segment 1 and the segment 2 in a distributed manner, and to arrange UCI having a low importance (e.g., CSI bits) of each segment subsequently in a distributed manner (this is called distributed segmentation or distributed mapping( second rule).
wherein the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI; or, mapping a less significant bit of UCI before mapping a more significant bit of the UCI.
Seo [0227]; An ACK/NACK bit may be mapped to a bit order predetermined according to a condition of an ACK/NACK target as described in the above example. For example, an ACK/NACK bit for the `PDSCH scheduled with the PDCCH` is mapped from an MSB side of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`,( second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI) and if an ACK/NACK bit for the `PDSCH scheduled without the PDCCH` is included, is mapped to an LSB side of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`. In addition, in an SR subframe, if an SR bit field is included in the `ACK/NACK combination 1`, it may be mapped to an LSB of the `ACK/NACK combination 1`.
In view of Seo, Yang is modified such that the second rule comprises: mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI.
Yang and Seo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on the priority level.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the mapping order pf mapping a more significant bit of UCI before mapping a less significant bit of the UCI to maximize efficiency of resources to be transmitted (Seo [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, The terminal according to claim 11, wherein priorities of the multiple UCIs comprise: a high priority and a low priority;
Yang [0141]; write the high-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into fixed columns of a matrix, and write the low-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into the matrix by row and then column.
wherein determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order comprises: determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order as follows: bits of UCI with low priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with high priority,
Yang [0344]; Because the priority of HARQ-ACK information is higher than that of CSI information, the HARQ-ACK information is first-priority UCI, and the CSI information is second-priority UCI. The first-priority UCI may be coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the first-priority UCI, and the second-priority UCI is coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the second-priority UCI.
or, bits of UCI with high priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with low priority.
Regarding claim 15, The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the first uplink channel comprises at least one of the following: a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel).
Regarding claim 21, Yang in view of Kundu teaches all limitation of claim 6. Kundu further teaches A network side device (Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1400), comprising a memory (Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1404G), a transceiver(Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1406), and a processor(Kundu, Fig. 14, Ref. 1404E); wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform the method according to claim 6.
Kundu, [0138]; The components of the illustrated device 1400 may be included in a UE or a RAN node.
Kundu, [0138]; The processors may be coupled with or may include memory/storage and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the device 1400.)
Regarding claim 23, The network side device according to claim 21, wherein priorities of the multiple UCIs comprise: a high priority and a low priority;
Yang [0475]; The apparatus/function module/function unit in the above-mentioned embodiment may be implemented by using a general computation apparatus. They may be centralized on a single computation apparatus or may be distributed on a network composed (the network side device)of multiple computation apparatuses.
Yang [0141]; write the high-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into fixed columns of a matrix, and write the low-priority UCI coding modulation sequences into the matrix by row and then column.
wherein determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order comprises: determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order as follows: bits of UCI with low priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with high priority,
Yang [0344]; Because the priority of HARQ-ACK information is higher than that of CSI information, the HARQ-ACK information is first-priority UCI, and the CSI information is second-priority UCI. The first-priority UCI may be coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the first-priority UCI, and the second-priority UCI is coded to obtain a coding sequence corresponding to the second-priority UCI.
or, bits of UCI with high priority are cascaded after bits of UCI with low priority.
Regarding claim 25, The network side device according to claim 21, wherein the first uplink channel comprises at least one of the following: a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Yang [0475]; The apparatus/function module/function unit in the above-mentioned embodiment may be implemented by using a general computation apparatus. They may be centralized on a single computation apparatus or may be distributed on a network composed (the network side device)of multiple computation apparatuses.
Yang [0338]; In alternative embodiment 2.2.1, UCI is jointly coded, interlaced in a first interlacing mode and sent over a PUCCH (first uplink channel).
Regarding claim 31, Yang in view of Kundu teaches all limitation of claim 1 as shown above. Kundu further teaches A non-transitory processor readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory processor readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is used to cause a processor to perform the method according to claim 1.
Kundu, claim 20, One or more non-transitory machine readable media having instructions thereon that when executed by an apparatus of a user equipment (UE).
Kundu [0138]; The processors may be coupled with or may include memory/storage and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the device 1400.
Claims 2,7, 12,22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kundu in further view of Seo in further view of El Hamss et al. (US 2024/0430900) (hereafter “Hamss).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Kundu teaches all limitation of claim 1. Yang further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first rule comprises determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order
Yang [0428]; the UCI is cascaded according to the type of the UCI, according to the priorities of the UCI (first rule), and according to the SC index corresponding to the UCI finally.
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
the first rule further comprises: a bit cascading order is determined based on UCI types.
Yang [0428]; Herein, the operation of cascading the UCI may include: acquiring priorities of the UCI, and cascading the UCI according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI.
Yang does not teach Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss teaches Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss [0192]; WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) the UCI and/or the data associated to the same priority level, for example in the same resource. In another example, a WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) SR/HARQ-ACK of a same priority level into a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH.
In view of Hamss, Yang is modified such that the bit cascading order of multiple UCI is performed on the UCIs with the priority order based on the type of UCIs.
Yang and Hamss are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on the priority level.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the same priority based on the type of UCI to demonstrate that the system supports different types of services with different type of requirements.
Regarding claim 7, Yang further teaches The method according to claim 6, wherein in a case that the first rule comprises determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order
Yang [0428]; the UCI is cascaded according to the type of the UCI, according to the priorities of the UCI (first rule), and according to the SC index corresponding to the UCI finally.
[0339] UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
the first rule further comprises: a bit cascading order is determined based on UCI types.
Yang [0428]; Herein, the operation of cascading the UCI may include: acquiring priorities of the UCI, and cascading the UCI according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI.
Yang does not teach Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss teaches Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss [0192]; WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) the UCI and/or the data associated to the same priority level, for example in the same resource. In another example, a WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) SR/HARQ-ACK of a same priority level into a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH.
In view of Hamss, Yang is modified such that the bit cascading order of multiple UCI is performed on the UCIs with the priority order based on the type of UCIs.
Yang and Hamss are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on the priority level.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the same priority based on the type of UCI to demonstrate that the system supports different types of services with different type of requirements.
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Kundu teaches all limitation of claim 11. Yang further teaches The terminal according to claim 11, wherein in a case that the first rule comprises determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order
Yang [0428]; the UCI is cascaded according to the type of the UCI, according to the priorities of the UCI (first rule), and according to the SC index corresponding to the UCI finally.
Yang [0339]; UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
the first rule further comprises: a bit cascading order is determined based on UCI types.
Yang [0428]; Herein, the operation of cascading the UCI may include: acquiring priorities of the UCI, and cascading the UCI according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI.
Yang does not teach Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss teaches Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss [0192]; WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) the UCI and/or the data associated to the same priority level, for example in the same resource. In another example, a WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) SR/HARQ-ACK of a same priority level into a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH.
In view of Hamss, Yang is modified such that the bit cascading order of multiple UCI is performed on the UCIs with the priority order based on the type of UCIs.
Yang and Hamss are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on the priority level.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the same priority based on the type of UCI to demonstrate that the system supports different types of services with different type of requirements.
Regarding claim 22, Yang teaches The network side device according to claim 21, wherein in a case that the first rule comprises determining the bit cascading order of the multiple UCIs based on the priority order
Yang [0475]; The apparatus/function module/function unit in the above-mentioned embodiment may be implemented by using a general computation apparatus. They may be centralized on a single computation apparatus or may be distributed on a network composed (the network side device)of multiple computation apparatuses.
Yang [0428]; the UCI is cascaded according to the type of the UCI, according to the priorities of the UCI (first rule), and according to the SC index corresponding to the UCI finally.
[0339] UCI required to be sent is cascaded and coded, HARQ-ACK information and CSI information are cascaded in sequence, CRC is added ahead of cascading, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit. HARQ-ACK information, a first class of CSI corresponding to first-priority UCI and a second class of CSI corresponding to second-priority UCI are cascaded in sequence ( the multiple UCIs cascaded based on the bit cascading order ) CRC is added to the HARQ-ACK information, the first-priority UCI and the second-priority UCI respectively, and alternatively, CRC is 8 bit.
the first rule further comprises: a bit cascading order is determined based on UCI types.
Yang [0428]; Herein, the operation of cascading the UCI may include: acquiring priorities of the UCI, and cascading the UCI according to an SC index corresponding to the UCI, and/or the type of the UCI, and/or the priorities of the UCI.
Yang does not teach Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss teaches Multiple UCIs with a same priority.
Hamss [0192]; WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) the UCI and/or the data associated to the same priority level, for example in the same resource. In another example, a WTRU 102 may multiplex (e.g., only multiplex) SR/HARQ-ACK of a same priority level into a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH.
In view of Hamss, Yang is modified such that the bit cascading order of multiple UCI is performed on the UCIs with the priority order based on the type of UCIs.
Yang and Hamss are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting UCI based on the priority level.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang in the manner described above to cascade multiple UCIs with the same priority based on the type of UCI to demonstrate that the system supports different types of services with different type of requirements.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478