DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-10, The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
As to claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “at least one first supply conduit”; however, claim 1 already introduces the limitation “supply conduits”, therefore it is unclear as to if the limitation intends to refer to one the previously recites supply conduits or to a new and separate limitation.
Further as to claim 2, the claim recites the limitation "the respective substack". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further as to claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “at least one second supply conduit”; however, claim 1 already introduces the limitation “supply conduits”, therefore it is unclear as to if the limitation intends to refer to one the previously recites supply conduits or to a new and separate limitation.
As to claim 3, the claim recites the limitations “the supply conduit”, “the respective insulating section”, “the respective end” and "the respective substack". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
As to claim 4, the claim recites the limitations “the respective insulating section”, “the respective end” and "the respective substack". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
As to claim 7, the claim recites the limitations “the respective ends”, “the substacks” and “the respective insulating sections”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/206568 A1 to Eckert et al. (Eckert).
As to claims 1, 8 and 9, Eckert teaches a plurality of electrolysis cells (2) that are electrically connected in series and arranged successively in a stack (3) in a stack direction, the electrolysis cells (2) connected to an electrical energy source (monopolar power source), a cell supply unit (4) for supplying the electrolysis cell with an operating material and a plurality of supply conduits (6/7a/7b/8a/8b/9) connected to the cell supply unit (4) and to opposite ends of the successively arranged electrolysis cells (Paragraphs 0033-0037; Figure 1 and 3). The cell supply unit (4) is capable of being electrically coupled to a negative electric potential of the electrical energy source thus meeting the functional limitation of “a negative electric potential of the electrical energy source is electrically couplable to an electric reference potential of the cell supply unit” (MPEP 2114). Furthermore, Eckert specifically teaches that the cell supply unit is indirectly coupled to negative electric potential of the voltage source (ground/earthing) of the electrical energy source (12) via a control electrode (10) in the form of a pipe section (Paragraphs 0033-0037; Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert as applied to claim 1 above, and as further discussed below.
As to claims 2, 7 and 10, Eckert teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Eckert fails to further teach that the plurality of cells are provided in at least two substacks. However, the duplication of parts is not patentably significant (MPEP 2144.04 VI B) rendering obvious the provision of two substacks. Eckert teaches that the fluid flow to each cell of the individual cells of the stack is provided with parallel fluid flow; thus, it would have been obvious to maintain the parallel fluidic connection, rendering obvious two substacks connected in parallel to the cell supply unit and the control electrode pipe section.
Eckert further teaches that the cells, and thus the substacks, are connected via a plurality of supply lines, each supply line formed of an insulating sections (non-conductive plastic) and each supply line at least indirectly electrically coupled to the negative electrode potential of the power supply through the control electrode pipe sections (10) between the substacks the and cell supply unit (4) (Paragraphs 0020, 0033-0037; Figure 1 and 3). The insulating pipe sections thus insulating the ends of the cells of one substack from the cells of another substack.
Claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 2003/0192613 A1 to Wang (Wang).
As to claims 3, 4, 5 and 6, Eckert teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Eckert teaches that the insulating supply pipes extend to the stack, and thus the substack as rendered obvious. However, Eckert teaches that the insulating supply pipes are insulating by nature of being formed as plastic non-conductive pipes (Paragraph 0020) and fails to teach insulation layers arranged on the insides of the supply pipes.
However, Wang also discussion pipes where corrosion prevention is desired and teaches that by forming the pipe of a material such as iron coated with an aluminum oxide inner lining the resulting pipe can have both the high strength of iron and high corrosion resistance, aluminum oxide also being an insulating material (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the pipes of Eckert with a higher strength metal material, such as iron, coating with aluminum oxide, an insulating material comprising a corrosion-resistant-metal-containing substance, in order to allow for the insulating and corrosion resistant properties as desired with the added benefit of a strong pipe as taught by Wang.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8 , 9 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 10, 11 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/292,364 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the same limitations are claimed albeit with additional limitations and wording changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/552,686 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the same limitations are claimed albeit with additional limitations and wording changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794