Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by "Zero-touch network and Service Management (ZSM); Cross-domain E2E service lifecycle management" ,ETSI DRAFT SPECIFICATION; ZSM 008 V0.6.5(2021-4), EUROPEAN TELECOMMUNICATIONS STANDARDS INSTITUTE (ETSI), 650, ROUTE
DES LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS ; FRANCE ( cited in IDS).
1.-34. (Canceled).
Regarding claims 35 and 51: Zero-touch network discloses 35. (New) An apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (inherent); and
at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory (inherent)and the computer code configured to, with the at least one processor (inherent), cause the apparatus at least to:
51. (New) A method comprising:
request, by a service management domain of a communication network, management domain analytics from a plurality of management domains of the communication network (see in particular clause 5.4.2.2.2 and Figure 5.4.2.2.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD "requests" analytics from the different management domains by configuring the measurements to be performed therein);
receive management domain analytics results from the plurality of management domains (see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains: for example, step 2 : The E2E service management domain configures in the management domains the collection of streaming measurements related consumed domain services/associated resources, using the "Performance measurements streaming service; step 3: The E2E service management domain configures the collection of batch measurements related to consumed domain services/associated resources, using the " Performance measurements collection service"; step 4 : The E2E service management domain configures the monitoring of the performance and creation of Performance events (threshold crossings) related to consumed domain services/associated resources. using the " Performance events service");
analyse the management domain analytics results in combination with service data and/or service analytics of the service management domain (see in particular page 37 ;step 8.The performance information is analyzed using the "Performance analysis service", and 9. The performance information is analyzed by the "Condition detection service" in clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1 ); and
cause reconfiguration of the communication network based on the analysis of the management domain analytics results in combination with the service data and/or the service analytics of the service management domain (see in particular page 37, steps 10. to 13. in clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1; wherein If a performance issue is detected, the following steps are executed:10. Local processing in the E2E service management domain makes decisions regarding how the performance issue can be mitigated.11. For the affected management domains, the execution of orchestration workflows or the modification of the configuration of domain services is triggered using the "Domain orchestration service" to attempt resolving the performance issue.
12. If necessary, the management domain modifies the configuration of resources using the " Resource configuration management service".
13. If necessary, the management domain manages the resource lifecyele (such as scaling, instantiating or terminating resources) using services derived from the "Generic Resource lifecycle management service").
Regarding claim 36: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 35.
Zero-touch network further discloses request the management domain analytics from at least one of the plurality of management domains based on a predetermined schedule and/or in response to detecting expiry of a timer. (Page 25, 5.3.7 :5.3.7.1 : Description: the E2E service management domain is aware of internal events, it needs to receive notification messages from the management domains to he informed about external events. When an event occurs, the E2E service management domain discovers the related changes and reconciles these in its inventory. This way, the consolidated inventory of the E2E service management domain provides it with a view of the underlying management domains, and its own services, which it can for instance use in closed loops or as part of
feasibility checks. Internal events that can be assumed to indicate an inventory or topology change include but are not limited to:
the E2E service management domain has requested orchestration actions from a management domain which
have likely affected topology and/or inventory
the E2E service management domain intends to instantiate a service and therefore needs to check whether the
required component services are available in the underlying management domains a timer for a time-based regular update check has expired.
Regarding claim 37: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 35.
Zero-touch network further discloses request the management domain analytics from at least one of the plurality of management domains in response to detecting a triggering condition indicative of at least one communication performance issue at the communication network (see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains: for example, step 2 : The E2E service management domain configures in the management domains the collection of streaming measurements related consumed domain services/associated resources, using the "Performance measurements streaming service; step 3: The E2E service management domain configures the collection of batch measurements related to consumed domain services/associated resources, using the " Performance measurements collection service"; step 4 : The E2E service management domain configures the monitoring of the pcrformancc and creation of Performance events (threshold crossings) related to consumed domain services/associated resources. using the " Performance events service", and (see in particular page 37, steps 10. to 13. in clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1; wherein If a performance issue is detected, the following steps are executed:10. Local processing in the E2E service management domain makes decisions regarding how the performance issue can be mitigated.11. For the affected management domains, the execution of orchestration workflows or the modification of theconfiguration of domain services is triggered using the "Domain orchestration service" to attempt resolving the perforrnance issue.
12. If necessary, the management domain modifies the configuration of resources using the " Resource configuration management service".
13. If necessary, the management domain manages the resource lifecyele (such as scaling, instantiating orterminating resources) using services derived from the "Generic Resource lifecyele management service").
Regarding claim 38: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 37.
Zero-touch network further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: determine the management domain analytics based on a type of the at least one communication performance issue(see in particular page 37 ;step 8.The performance information is analyzed using the "Performance analysis service", and 9. The performance information is analyzed by the "Condition detection service" in clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1 ); and (see in particular page 37, steps 10. to 13. in clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1; wherein If a performance issue is detected, the following steps are executed:10. Local processing in the E2E service management domain makes decisions regarding how the performance issue can be mitigated.11. For the affected management domains, the execution of orchestration workflows or the modification of the configuration of domain services is triggered using the "Domain orchestration service" to attempt resolving the performance issue. 12. If necessary, the management domain modifies the configuration of resources using the " Resource configuration management service".
13. If necessary, the management domain manages the resource lifecyele (such as scaling, instantiating orterminating resources) using services derived from the "Generic Resource lifecyele management service").
Regarding claim 39: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 36.
Zero-touch network further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: send a configuration of the management domain analytics to the at least one of the plurality of management domains(see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains: for example, step 2 : The E2E service management domain configures in the management domains the collection of streaming measurements related consumed domain services/associated resources, using the "Performance measurements streaming service; step 3: The E2E service management domain configures the collection of batch measurements related to consumed domain services/associated resources, using the " Performance measurements collection service"; step 4 : The E2E service management domain configures the monitoring of the pcrfoTI11ancc and creation of Performance events (threshold crossings) related to consumed domain services/associated resources. using the " Performance events service"). Regarding claim 40: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 36.
Zero-touch network further discloses send a request for the management domain analytics to the at least one of the plurality of management domains(see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains: for example, step 2 : The E2E service management domain configures in the management domains the collection of streaming measurements related consumed domain services/associated resources, using the "Performance measurements streaming service; step 3: The E2E service management domain configures the collection of batch measurements related to consumed domain services/associated resources, using the " Performance measurements collection service"; step 4 : The E2E service management domain configures the monitoring of the pcrfoTI11ancc and creation of Performance events (threshold crossings) related to consumed domain services/associated resources. using the " Performance events service").
Regarding claim 41; Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 36.
Zero-touch network further discloses discover the management domain analytics via at least one integration fabric associated with the plurality of management domains. (see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains via integration fabric: for example, 1. The "Performance events service" in the management domains provides notifications on performance events (such as threshold crossings) to the integration fabric.
2. The integration fabric forwards the notifications on performance events to the management functions in the
E2E service management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
3. The "Performance measurements streaming service" in the management domains provides streaming
measurements to the integration fabric.
4. The integration fabric forwards the streaming measurements to the management functions in the E2E service
management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
5. The "Performance measurements collection service" in the management domains provides notifications related
to the availability of batches of performance measurements to the integration fabric.
6. The integration fabric forwards the notifications related to the availability of batches of perforn1ance
measurements to the management functions in the E2E service management domain that have subscribed to
the related channels.
7. The E2E service management domain obtains the collected batch of measurements from the management
domain using the "Performance measurements collection service").
Regarding claim 42: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 41.
Zero-touch network further discloses send a request for the management domain analytics to the at least one integration fabric. (see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains: for example, step 2 : The E2E service management domain configures in the management domains the collection of streaming measurements related consumed domain services/associated resources, using the "Performance measurements streaming service; step 3: The E2E service management domain configures the collection of batch measurements related to consumed domain services/associated resources, using the " Performance measurements collection service"; step 4 : The E2E service management domain configures the monitoring of the pcrfoTI11ancc and creation of Performance events (threshold crossings) related to consumed domain services/associated resources. using the " Performance events service") via integration fabric
Regarding claim 43: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 41.
Zero-touch network further discloses collect, from the at least one of the plurality of management domains, management domain data associated with the at least one communication performance issue; and cause the reconfiguration of the communication network further based on the management domain data(see in particular page 37, steps 10. to 13. in clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1; wherein If a performance issue is detected, the following steps are executed:10. Local processing in the E2E service management domain makes decisions regarding how the performance issue can be mitigated.11. For the affected management domains, the execution of orchestration workflows or the modification of the configuration of domain services is triggered using the "Domain orchestration service" to attempt resolving the performance issue.
12. If necessary, the management domain modifies the configuration of resources using the " Resource configuration management service".
13. If necessary, the management domain manages the resource lifecyele (such as scaling, instantiating orterminating resources) using services derived from the "Generic Resource lifecyele management service").
Regarding claim 44: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
Zero-touch network further discloses discover, via the at least one integration fabric associated with the plurality of management domains, at least one data collection service for the collection of the management domain data(see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains via integration fabric: for example, 1. The "Performance events service" in the management domains provides notifications on performance events(such as threshold crossings) to the integration fabric.
2. The integration fabric forwards the notifications on performance events to the management functions in the
E2E service management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
3. The "Performance measurements streaming service" in the management domains provides streaming
measurements to the integration fabric.
4. The integration fabric forwards the streaming measurements to the management functions in the E2E service
management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
5. The "Performance measurements collection service" in the management domains provides notifications related
to the availability of batches of performance measurements to the integration fabric.
6. The integration fabric forwards the notifications related to the availability of batches of perforn1ance
measurements to the management functions in the E2E service management domain that have subscribed to
the related channels.
7. The E2E service management domain obtains the collected batch of measurements from the management
domain using the "Performance measurements collection service").
Regarding claim 45: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 44.
Zero-touch network further discloses send a configuration of the at least one data collection service to the at least one of the plurality of management domain(see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains: for example, step 2 : The E2E service management domain configures in the management domains the collection of streaming measurements related consumed domain services/associated resources, using the "Performance measurements streaming service; step 3: The E2E service management domain configures the collection of batch measurements related to consumed domain services/associated resources, using the " Performance measurements collection service"; step 4 : The E2E service management domain configures the monitoring of the pcrfoTI11ancc and creation of Performance events (threshold crossings) related to consumed domain services/associated resources. using the " Performance events service") via integration fabric.
Regarding claim 46: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
Zero-touch network further discloses receive the management domain data from the at least one integration fabric via the at least one data channel(see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains via integration fabric: for example, 1. The "Performance events service" in the management domains provides notifications on performance events(such as threshold crossings) to the integration fabric.
2. The integration fabric forwards the notifications on performance events to the management functions in the
E2E service management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
3. The "Performance measurements streaming service" in the management domains provides streaming
measurements to the integration fabric.
4. The integration fabric forwards the streaming measurements to the management functions in the E2E service
management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
5. The "Performance measurements collection service" in the management domains provides notifications related
to the availability of batches of performance measurements to the integration fabric.
6. The integration fabric forwards the notifications related to the availability of batches of perforn1ance
measurements to the management functions in the E2E service management domain that have subscribed to
the related channels.
Regarding claim 46: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
Zero-touch network further discloses request the management domain data from the at least one of the plurality of management domains(see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains: for example, step 2 : The E2E service management domain configures in the management domains the collection of streaming measurements related consumed domain services/associated resources, using the "Performance measurements streaming service; step 3: The E2E service management domain configures the collection of batch measurements related to consumed domain services/associated resources, using the " Performance measurements collection service"; step 4 : The E2E service management domain configures the monitoring of the pcrfoTI11ancc and creation of Performance events (threshold crossings) related to consumed domain services/associated resources. using the " Performance events service") via integration fabric; and
receive the management domain data from the at least one of the plurality of management domains (see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains via integration fabric: for example, 1. The "Performance events service" in the management domains provides notifications on performance events(such as threshold crossings) to the integration fabric.
2. The integration fabric forwards the notifications on performance events to the management functions in the
E2E service management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
3. The "Performance measurements streaming service" in the management domains provides streaming
measurements to the integration fabric.
4. The integration fabric forwards the streaming measurements to the management functions in the E2E service
management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
5. The "Performance measurements collection service" in the management domains provides notifications related
to the availability of batches of performance measurements to the integration fabric.
6. The integration fabric forwards the notifications related to the availability of batches of perforn1ance
measurements to the management functions in the E2E service management domain that have subscribed to
the related channels.
7. The E2E service management domain obtains the collected batch of measurements from the management
domain using the "Performance measurements collection service").
Regarding claim 48: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 43.
Zero-touch network further discloses
wherein the management domain data comprises updated management domain data, wherein at least one performance indicator of the updated management domain data is different from previously collected management domain data, and/or wherein a granularity of the at least one performance indicator of the updated management domain data is different from the previously collected management domain data (see in particular page 37, steps 10. to 13. in clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1; wherein If a performance issue is detected, the following steps are executed:10. Local processing in the E2E service management domain makes decisions regarding how the performance issue can be mitigated.11. For the affected management domains, the execution of orchestration workflows or the modification of the configuration of domain services is triggered using the "Domain orchestration service" to attempt resolving the performance issue.
12. If necessary, the management domain modifies the configuration of resources using the " Resource configuration management service".
13. If necessary, the management domain manages the resource lifecyele (such as scaling, instantiating orterminating resources) using services derived from the "Generic Resource lifecyele management service").
Regarding claim 49: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 41.
Zero-touch network further discloses wherein the at least one integration fabric comprises a cross-domain integration fabric associated with the plurality of management domains (see in particular clause 5.4.3.2 and Figure 5.4.3.2-1, where it is described that the E2E SMD collects the measurements from the different management domains via integration fabric: for example, 1. The "Performance events service" in the management domains provides notifications on performance events(such as threshold crossings) to the integration fabric.
2. The integration fabric forwards the notifications on performance events to the management functions in the
E2E service management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
3. The "Performance measurements streaming service" in the management domains provides streaming
measurements to the integration fabric.
4. The integration fabric forwards the streaming measurements to the management functions in the E2E service
management domain that have subscribed to the related channels.
5. The "Performance measurements collection service" in the management domains provides notifications related
to the availability of batches of performance measurements to the integration fabric.
6. The integration fabric forwards the notifications related to the availability of batches of perforn1ance
measurements to the management functions in the E2E service management domain that have subscribed to
the related channels); or
a plurality of integration fabrics associated with respective management domains.
Regarding claim 50: Zero-touch network discloses all features with respect to claim 35.
Zero-touch network further discloses wherein the plurality of management domains comprises at least one of: a radio access network management domain, a fixed access management domain, a transport management domain, a core network management domain, or a cloud management domain(pages47-50: 6 Management domain support for cross-domain E2E service lifecycle management such as 6.2 RAN domain; 6.3 Fixed access domain; 6.4 Core domain; or 6.6 Cloud domain).
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478