DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 is missing a period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 12, 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benanti et al. 10,876,506.
In regard to claim 1, Benanti et al. discloses (fig. 3) an inline accumulator (“for moderating pressure in a slurry flow conduit system” is considered an intended use limitation that carries little patentable weight in an apparatus claim. The accumulator of Benanti et al. is capable of moderating pressure in a slurry flow conduit system as is therefore deemed to anticipate the intended use limitation of the claim), the accumulator comprising:
a body (24) defining an elongated chamber;
a resiliently deformable diaphragm (8) dividing the chamber into an upper sub-cavity (10) configured to be precharged with an inert gas and a lower sub-cavity (12) configured to convey slurry;
the lower sub-cavity (12) defining a geometric longitudinal cavity centerline;
a slurry inlet (4a) formed at a first end of the lower sub-cavity and a slurry outlet (6a) formed at an opposite second end of the lower sub-chamber, the slurry inlet and slurry outlet being coaxially aligned with each other and defining a longitudinal flow axis extending therebetween;
the longitudinal flow axis defined by the slurry inlet and slurry outlet being vertically offset from the longitudinal cavity centerline of lower sub-cavity (see fig. 3);
wherein the diaphragm (8) deforms due to increases or decreases in pressure of the slurry to maintain a constant pressure in the slurry flow conduit system.
In regard to claim 2, wherein the slurry is flowable through the lower sub-cavity from the slurry inlet to the slurry outlet in a linear flow path (path from 4a to 6a would allow for slurry to flow through the sub-cavity).
In regard to claim 3, wherein the lower sub-cavity comprises a longitudinally elongated trough (formed between 4 and 6 in fig. 3) formed at a bottom of the body in the lower sub-cavity configured to collect and move sediment entrained in the slurry through the lower sub-cavity as the slurry is flowing.
In regard to claim 4, wherein the trough (formed between 4 and 6 in fig. 3) extends along a length of the body completely between the slurry inlet (4a) and the slurry outlet (6a).
In regard to claim 5, wherein the trough (formed between 4 and 6 in fig. 3) is co-axially aligned with the slurry inlet (4a) and outlet (6a).
In regard to claim 6, wherein the trough has a semi-circular transverse cross-sectional shape (where 4a opens at 4 or where 6 transitions to 6a, the transverse cross-sectional shape would be semi-circular).
In regard to claim 7, wherein the trough has a different transverse cross-sectional shape than the lower sub-cavity (the shape of the trough below where 4 and 6 is pointing would have a different cross-section shape that the sub-cavity 12 above 4a and 6a).
In regard to claim 9, wherein the lower sub-cavity is formed by sloping and converging arcuately curved concave sidewalls of the body of the accumulator which intersect the trough (see the curved surfaces below where 4 and 6 are pointing in fig. 3).
In regard to claim 10, wherein the slurry inlet (4a) and slurry outlet (6a) are located at a the bottom of the lower sub-cavity (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 12, wherein the slurry inlet and the slurry outlet each have the same cross-sectional area (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 15, wherein the diaphragm (8) is sandwiched and trapped between first (21) and second (22) half-sections of the body which are detachably coupled together.
In regard to claim 17, wherein the slurry is an agricultural slurry (claim is only drawn to the accumulator and not the accumulator in combination with the slurry).
In regard to claim 18, wherein the agricultural slurry is a soil slurry (claim is only drawn to the accumulator and not the accumulator in combination with the slurry).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10, 12 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobellis 4,163,461.
In regard to claim 1, Jacobellis discloses (fig. 2) an inline accumulator (“for moderating pressure in a slurry flow conduit system” is considered an intended use limitation that carries little patentable weight in an apparatus claim. The accumulator of Jacobellis is capable of moderating pressure in a slurry flow conduit system as is therefore deemed to anticipate the intended use limitation of the claim), the accumulator comprising:
a body (10) defining an elongated chamber;
a resiliently deformable diaphragm (21) dividing the chamber into an upper sub-cavity (C-2) configured to be precharged with an inert gas and a lower sub-cavity (C-1) configured to convey slurry;
the lower sub-cavity (C-1) defining a geometric longitudinal cavity centerline;
a slurry inlet (13) formed at a first end of the lower sub-cavity and a slurry outlet (14) formed at an opposite second end of the lower sub-chamber, the slurry inlet and slurry outlet being coaxially aligned with each other and defining a longitudinal flow (hole 19 allows for longitudinal flow) axis extending therebetween;
the longitudinal flow axis defined by the slurry inlet and slurry outlet being vertically offset from the longitudinal cavity centerline of lower sub-cavity (see fig. 2);
wherein the diaphragm (21) deforms due to increases or decreases in pressure of the slurry to maintain a constant pressure in the slurry flow conduit system.
In regard to claim 2, wherein the slurry is flowable through the lower sub-cavity from the slurry inlet to the slurry outlet in a linear flow path.
In regard to claim 3, wherein the lower sub-cavity comprises a longitudinally elongated trough (12) formed at a bottom of the body in the lower sub-cavity configured to collect and move sediment entrained in the slurry through the lower sub-cavity as the slurry is flowing.
In regard to claim 5, wherein the trough (12) is co-axially aligned with the slurry inlet (13) and outlet (14).
In regard to claim 6, wherein the trough has a semi-circular transverse cross-sectional shape (see fig. 3 where wall 15 creates a semi-circular transverse cross-sectional shape).
In regard to claim 10, wherein the slurry inlet (13) and slurry outlet (14) are located at a the bottom of the lower sub-cavity (C-1).
In regard to claim 12, wherein the slurry inlet and the slurry outlet each have the same cross-sectional area (see fig. 2).
In regard to claim 15, wherein the diaphragm (21) is sandwiched and trapped between first (27) and second (11) half-sections of the body which are detachably coupled together.
In regard to claim 16, wherein the accumulator includes a pressurized gas port (33) arranged to precharge the upper sub-cavity (C-2) with the inert gas.
In regard to claim 17, wherein the slurry is an agricultural slurry (claim is only drawn to the accumulator and not the accumulator in combination with the slurry).
In regard to claim 18, wherein the agricultural slurry is a soil slurry (claim is only drawn to the accumulator and not the accumulator in combination with the slurry).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benanti et al. 10,876,506.
In regard to claim 11, Benanti et al. discloses a flow path with a transverse flow path
cross-sectional area, but it is unclear if the transverse flow path cross sectional area exceeds 30 times a transverse minimum cross sectional area of the slurry inlet or outlet. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the lower sub-cavity of Benanti et al. with a transverse flow path cross-sectional area that does not exceed 30 times that of the slurry inlet or outlet because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961), and
A change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobellis 4,163,461.
In regard to claim 11, Jacobellis discloses a flow path with a transverse flow path
cross-sectional area, but it is unclear if the transverse flow path cross sectional area exceeds 30 times a transverse minimum cross sectional area of the slurry inlet or outlet. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the lower sub-cavity of Jacobellis with a transverse flow path cross-sectional area that does not exceed 30 times that of the slurry inlet or outlet because the optimization of proportions in a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Reese, 290 F.2d 839, 129 USPQ 402 (CCPA 1961), and
A change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 13-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Selwyn, Orser, Loliger, Ichiryu, Camey and Barcare disclose similar accumulators that are common and well known in the art.
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679