DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, Figure 2 in the reply filed on 08/05/26 is acknowledged.
As the Applicant elected Species B, the Applicant indicated that claims 1-6, 8, and 9 read upon the elected species (accordingly claims 7 and 10 are non-elected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “parts of the freshly brewed coffee beverage are drained away….”, it is unclear
which “parts” are being referenced. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites “parts of the freshly brewed coffee beverage are drained away…in a targeted
manner.”, it is unclear what is meant and/or what structure is being referneced by the term “targeted manner” as recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites “the device as claimed in claim 4”, the claim depending upon itself is improper.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites “activate briefly a hot water flow”; however, the term “briefly” is unclear as no frame of reference regarding what constitutes a brief time is provided by the claim and/or the written description. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites “the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein for carrying out the pre-heating operation….”, it is submitted that claim the claim is directed toward an apparatus, however the aforementioned limitation renders the claim indefinite as the claim recites both a product and process in the same claim (see MPEP 2173.05(p)(II): II. PRODUCT AND PROCESS IN THE SAME CLAIM
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 3195768).
With regard to claim 1, Huber teaches a device for preparing a coffee beverage (“FIG. 1 schematically shows a section of a hot beverage preparation device 10, for example, a coffee machine”), the device comprising: a brewing unit (1), to which hot water from a hot water heater is suppliable under pressure (“A hot beverage preparation device usually comprises a fluid transport system in which a fluid, usually water, is pumped through a heating system and heated.”; “the fluid transport system has a pressure piston system with a pressure piston, which is set up to use a pressure present in the fluid transport system as a drive pressure for moving the pressure piston and to control the suction unit (3) with the aid of the movement of the pressure piston.”); a beverage outlet (2a/2b) connected to the brewing unit via an outlet line (4) and via which a freshly brewed coffee beverage (via brewing unit 1) is dispensable into a drinking vessel (inherent that drinking vessel be placed under beverage dispensing unit 2 via an outlet 2a/2b) to be placed thereunder; a return pump (3) connected on an intake side in a fluid-conducting manner to the outlet line (4) and which opens on a delivery side into a drain (8) or a collecting container in order to suction coffee beverage out of the outlet line (4) before, during or after a brewing operation and to conduct the coffee beverage into the drain (8) or collecting container (“The hot beverage preparation device 10 further comprises a suction unit 3, which is connected via a branch line 5 to the beverage discharge line 4 and serves to suck after operation of the hot beverage preparation device 10 possibly remaining in the beverage discharge line 4 remaining residual fluid, such as a residue of the hot drink or steam , In this way, when the hot beverage preparation device 10 is operated again, no residual fluid is unintentionally dispensed via the beverage dispensing unit 2 or mixed with the hot beverage within the beverage dispensing line 4.”, “a residual fluid outlet 8 is arranged on the side wall of the cylinder 7 through which sucked into the cylinder chamber of the cylinder 7 residual fluid can flow.”; the claimed “controller” is inherently present within the cited prior art citation: “In addition, an actuation or control of the suction piston, for example by means of an actuator unit, is very easy to implement.”).
With regard to the limitation of a controller for activating the return pump, the controller is configured to allow hot water to be introduced into the outlet line or into the brewing unit and outlet line during a pre-heating operation and to activate the return pump during the pre-heating operation, it is submitted that the citation teaches the structural limitations as claimed as detailed above; however, the citation does not specifically teach “a pre-heating operation”. However, as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
With regard to claim 2, Huber teaches the controller is further configured to activate the return pump (3) such that residues of the coffee beverage remaining in the outlet line (4) are suctioned away following a brewing operation (“The hot beverage preparation device 10 further comprises a suction unit 3, which is connected via a branch line 5 to the beverage discharge line 4 and serves to suck after operation of the hot beverage preparation device 10 possibly remaining in the beverage discharge line 4 remaining residual fluid, such as a residue of the hot drink or steam , In this way, when the hot beverage preparation device 10 is operated again, no residual fluid is unintentionally dispensed via the beverage dispensing unit 2 or mixed with the hot beverage within the beverage dispensing line 4.”, “a residual fluid outlet 8 is arranged on the side wall of the cylinder 7 through which sucked into the cylinder chamber of the cylinder 7 residual fluid can flow.”; the claimed “controller” is inherently present within the cited prior art citation: “In addition, an actuation or control of the suction piston, for example by means of an actuator unit, is very easy to implement.”).
With regard to claim 3, Huber teaches the controller is further configured to activate the return pump (3) such that, during the brewing operation of a coffee beverage, parts of the freshly brewed coffee beverage are drained away in a time-controlled and targeted manner (“The hot beverage preparation device 10 further comprises a suction unit 3, which is connected via a branch line 5 to the beverage discharge line 4 and serves to suck after operation of the hot beverage preparation device 10 possibly remaining in the beverage discharge line 4 remaining residual fluid, such as a residue of the hot drink or steam , In this way, when the hot beverage preparation device 10 is operated again, no residual fluid is unintentionally dispensed via the beverage dispensing unit 2 or mixed with the hot beverage within the beverage dispensing line 4.”, “a residual fluid outlet 8 is arranged on the side wall of the cylinder 7 through which sucked into the cylinder chamber of the cylinder 7 residual fluid can flow.”; the claimed “controller” providing a time-controlled and targeted manner is inherently present within the cited prior art citation as the operation is taught by the prior art as occurring after the time of a brewing operation: “In addition, an actuation or control of the suction piston, for example by means of an actuator unit, is very easy to implement.”). Notwithstanding the foregoing, it is submitted that the limitation of “a time-controlled and targeted manner” refers to functional limitations, and as such, It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the combined teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 3195768) in view of Coway (WO 2015084005).
With regard to claim 5, Huber teaches a device for preparing a coffee beverage (“FIG. 1 schematically shows a section of a hot beverage preparation device 10, for example, a coffee machine”), the device comprising: a brewing unit (1), to which hot water from a hot water heater is suppliable under pressure (“A hot beverage preparation device usually comprises a fluid transport system in which a fluid, usually water, is pumped through a heating system and heated.”; “the fluid transport system has a pressure piston system with a pressure piston, which is set up to use a pressure present in the fluid transport system as a drive pressure for moving the pressure piston and to control the suction unit (3) with the aid of the movement of the pressure piston.”); a beverage outlet (2a/2b) connected to the brewing unit via an outlet line (4) and via which a freshly brewed coffee beverage (via brewing unit 1) is dispensable into a drinking vessel (inherent that drinking vessel be placed under beverage dispensing unit 2 via an outlet 2a/2b) to be placed thereunder; a return pump (3) connected on an intake side in a fluid-conducting manner to the outlet line (4) and which opens on a delivery side into a drain (8) or a collecting container in order to suction coffee beverage out of the outlet line (4) before, during or after a brewing operation and to conduct the coffee beverage into the drain (8) or collecting container (“The hot beverage preparation device 10 further comprises a suction unit 3, which is connected via a branch line 5 to the beverage discharge line 4 and serves to suck after operation of the hot beverage preparation device 10 possibly remaining in the beverage discharge line 4 remaining residual fluid, such as a residue of the hot drink or steam , In this way, when the hot beverage preparation device 10 is operated again, no residual fluid is unintentionally dispensed via the beverage dispensing unit 2 or mixed with the hot beverage within the beverage dispensing line 4.”, “a residual fluid outlet 8 is arranged on the side wall of the cylinder 7 through which sucked into the cylinder chamber of the cylinder 7 residual fluid can flow.”; the claimed “controller” is inherently present within the cited prior art citation: “In addition, an actuation or control of the suction piston, for example by means of an actuator unit, is very easy to implement.”).
With regard to the limitation of a controller for activating the return pump, the controller is configured to allow hot water to be introduced into the outlet line or into the brewing unit and outlet line during a pre-heating operation and to activate the return pump during the pre-heating operation, it is submitted that the citation teaches the structural limitations as claimed as detailed above; however, the citation does not specifically teach “a pre-heating operation”. However, as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Huber does not teach further comprising a brewing valve which is arranged upstream of the brewing unit in a hot water supply line and which is opened for starting the brewing operation and which is closed after the brewing operation has been terminated, and the controller is further configured to activate the return pump before, together with or after the closure of the brewing valve. However, Coway from the same field of endeavor directed toward a coffee extraction device teaches the aforementioned limitation: brewing valve – “first vent valve”: “A first vent valve is provided between the heater and the coffee extraction unit, which is closed at the time of coffee extraction and is opened after coffee extraction, and is closed between the heater and the discharge member at the time of coffee extraction and opened after coffee extraction. 2 vent valve may be provided.”; return pump – “pressure pump 700”: “in order to discharge the remaining coffee more effectively, the pressure pump 700 or The suction pump 700 ′ may be connected to the discharge line LE. The coffee remaining by the operation of the pressure pump 700 may be discharged to the outside through the discharge member 500 via the discharge line (LE). In addition, the coffee remaining by the operation of the suction pump 700 'may be discharged to the outside through a separate discharge means (not shown) via the discharge line (LE).”, FIG. 9)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Huber reference, to include a brewing valve which is arranged upstream of the brewing unit in a hot water supply line and which is opened for starting the brewing operation and which is closed after the brewing operation has been terminated, and the controller is further configured to activate the return pump before, together with or after the closure of the brewing valve, as suggested and taught by Coway, for the purpose of providing a predetermined amount of water to achieve a desired brewed volume of a hot beverage via a brewing operation.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 3195768) in view of Lussi (US 2007/0031558)
With regard to claim 6, Huber teaches a device for preparing a coffee beverage (“FIG. 1 schematically shows a section of a hot beverage preparation device 10, for example, a coffee machine”), the device comprising: a brewing unit (1), to which hot water from a hot water heater is suppliable under pressure (“A hot beverage preparation device usually comprises a fluid transport system in which a fluid, usually water, is pumped through a heating system and heated.”; “the fluid transport system has a pressure piston system with a pressure piston, which is set up to use a pressure present in the fluid transport system as a drive pressure for moving the pressure piston and to control the suction unit (3) with the aid of the movement of the pressure piston.”); a beverage outlet (2a/2b) connected to the brewing unit via an outlet line (4) and via which a freshly brewed coffee beverage (via brewing unit 1) is dispensable into a drinking vessel (inherent that drinking vessel be placed under beverage dispensing unit 2 via an outlet 2a/2b) to be placed thereunder; a return pump (3) connected on an intake side in a fluid-conducting manner to the outlet line (4) and which opens on a delivery side into a drain (8) or a collecting container in order to suction coffee beverage out of the outlet line (4) before, during or after a brewing operation and to conduct the coffee beverage into the drain (8) or collecting container (“The hot beverage preparation device 10 further comprises a suction unit 3, which is connected via a branch line 5 to the beverage discharge line 4 and serves to suck after operation of the hot beverage preparation device 10 possibly remaining in the beverage discharge line 4 remaining residual fluid, such as a residue of the hot drink or steam , In this way, when the hot beverage preparation device 10 is operated again, no residual fluid is unintentionally dispensed via the beverage dispensing unit 2 or mixed with the hot beverage within the beverage dispensing line 4.”, “a residual fluid outlet 8 is arranged on the side wall of the cylinder 7 through which sucked into the cylinder chamber of the cylinder 7 residual fluid can flow.”; the claimed “controller” is inherently present within the cited prior art citation: “In addition, an actuation or control of the suction piston, for example by means of an actuator unit, is very easy to implement.”).
With regard to the limitation of a controller for activating the return pump, the controller is configured to allow hot water to be introduced into the outlet line or into the brewing unit and outlet line during a pre-heating operation and to activate the return pump during the pre-heating operation, it is submitted that the citation teaches the structural limitations as claimed as detailed above; however, the citation does not specifically teach “a pre-heating operation”. However, as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Huber does not teach a back-pressure valve arranged between the brewing unit and the beverage outlet in the outlet line, and the suction line of the return pump branches off from the outlet line downstream of the back-pressure valve. However, Lussi from the same field of endeavor directed toward a device for dispensing milk and/or milk froth teaches the aforementioned limitation: “Used for actuation of the piston cylinder unit 11 is water under pressure by means of which the piston is able to be impinged, this being controllable via a valve 13, while the return water is collected in a reservoir 14.”, para. [0030].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Huber reference, to include a back-pressure valve, as suggested and taught by Lussi, for the purpose of providing a predetermined amount of fluid having a specific pressurization value.
With regard to claim 8, although Huber teaches the return pump as claimed, the ciation does not teach that the return pump comprises a peristaltic pump. However, Lussi teaches a peristaltic pump: “Afterwards the container can be filled with rinse water, which can likewise be conveyed by the peristaltic pump through the system of lines of the device. This cleaning procedure is efficient and easy to carry out.”, para. [0014].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Huber reference, such that the return pump is a peristaltic pump, as suggested and taught by Lussi, for the purpose of providing an efficient cleaning operation.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761