DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to Applicant's amendment filed on September 16, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 10, 13 and 17 have been amended. Claims 3 and 18-25 have been cancelled. New claims 26-31 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-17 and 26-31 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4-17 and 26-31 are examined herein.
Response to Amendments
The Amendments to the Claims filed 09/16/2026 have been entered. The minor informalities have been addressed by amendments and objections to claims 1, 6, 13 and 17 thereto are withdrawn accordingly. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejections of claims 1-17 are withdrawn in view of the Applicant's amendments and arguments. However, since claim 3 has been cancelled, the previous rejections to claim 3 are considered moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Remarks/Arguments and Amendments to the Claims both filed 09/16/2026 have been fully considered.
It is noted that clam 1, an independent claim from which all of the claims ultimately depend, has been amended to recite that “a pressurized air inlet configured for injecting air; and a pressurized water inlet configured for injecting water, the pressurized water inlet and the pressurized air inlet collectively configured to combine the air and water in the lower cavity to produce an aerated water stream to clean the filter screen” in the context of a slurry filter unit as claimed.
Applicant argues that claim 1 and its dependent claims are not anticipated nor prima facie obvious over cited prior art(s), Eckman (US 2015/0151223 A1) and/or Holzmann et al. (US 10,688,430 B2), since the cited reference(s), alone or in a combination, does not teach the amended features of, in the context of a slurry filter unit “a pressurized air inlet configured for injecting air; and a pressurized water inlet configured for injecting water, the pressurized water inlet and the pressurized air inlet collectively configured to combine the air and water in the lower cavity to produce an aerated water stream to clean the filter screen” as claimed. Applicants argue that: A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to arrive at the invention of amended claim 1 by modifying Eckman in view of Holzmann. As discussed in greater detail below, neither Eckman nor Holzmann teach or suggest the invention of amened claim 1, either alone or in any permissible combination. Eckman does not teach or suggest a system that includes a pressurized air inlet that is collectively configured with the pressurized water inlet to produce an aerated water stream. Holzmann does not cure Eckman's deficiency. Holzmann discloses a method of cleaning an air filter element using "pressurized cleaning fluid comprising air, water, detergent, degreaser, or a combination thereof." See Holzmann, Col. 9, ll. However, Holzmann merely describes using a single pressurized fluid supply 1808 that provides a pressurized cleaning fluid to an air filter element. See Holzmann, Col. 8, ll. 26-34. The list "air, water, detergent, degreaser, or a combination thereof'' enumerates alternative cleaning fluids that may be supplied by that single pressurized fluid supply 1808. Holzmann does not disclose a pressurized air inlet and a separate pressurized water inlet, as recited in amended claim 1. See Remarks, pages 7-9.
In response, the applicants’ argument directs a newly amended claim limitation which is a new issue. Therefore, the arguments are considered moot.
However, upon further consideration and searches, the amended limitation recited in claim 1 is considered prima facie obvious over the cited references, Eckman (US 2015/0151223 A1) and/or Holzmann et al. (US 10,688,430 B2), as presented in the instant Office action.
Applicants’ amendments and addition of new claims 26-31 necessitated the modified/new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Upon further consideration and search, a modified/new ground of rejections/objections to claims 1-2, 4-17 and 26-31 are presented, in view of the previously presented prior art(s), Eckman (US 2015/0151223 A1) and/or Holzmann et al. (US 10,688,430 B2), as presented in the instant Office action.
MODIFIED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckman (US 2015/0151223 A1), in view of Holzmann et al. (US 10,688,430 B2, hereinafter “Holzmann”).
In regard to claim 1, Eckman discloses a slurry filter unit comprising (Fig. 2, it is noted that Fig. 2 share same numerals for the subcomponents functioning similarly; paragraphs [0092]-[0104]):
(i) a Y-shaped body (influx pipe 20, and the collector 90 form a Y-shaped body) having an interior defining an upper cavity (a space between water influx pipe 20 and hangers 94, Fig. 2) and a lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90 and encompassing the nozzle 160);
(ii) a filter screen (80, Fig. 2) arranged between the upper and lower cavities;
(iii) an unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) fluidly coupled to the upper cavity;
(iv) a waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) fluidly coupled to the upper cavity opposite the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) which defines a slurry inlet flow path in the upper cavity; and
(v) a filtered slurry outlet (flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100) fluidly coupled to the lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90);
wherein the slurry filter unit is configured to pass slurry through the filter screen from the first to second cavities in a direction transverse to the slurry inlet flow path (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0092]-[0097]).
Eckman discloses a nozzle (160, Fig. 2), which is located in the lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90 and encompassing the nozzle 160), for creating a spray of water effluent which impinges on the external side of the screen (85) of the half-pipe filter with sufficient force to remove waste material (a nozzle for cleaning the filter screen (80, Fig. 2) thereby removing oversize particles (paragraphs [0080]; [0108]-[0110]).
But Eckman does not explicitly disclose the feature of “a pressurized air inlet configured for injecting air; and a pressurized water inlet configured for injecting water, the pressurized water inlet and the pressurized air inlet collectively configured to combine the air and water in the lower cavity to produce an aerated water stream to clean the filter screen” as claimed.
However, Holzmann discloses cleanable filters and methods of cleaning filters (Abstract). Holzmann discloses an embodiment of air filtration systems and cleanable filter elements for air filtration systems (Figs. 1-5 shows single embodiment of the filtration system and its operating mechanism).
Regarding the filter cleaning mechanism, Holzmann discloses, in Fig. 13 and Fig. 19, the cleaning system of filter (1300, Fig. 13) includes at least one pressurized air inlet (1312, Fig. 13) which supplies cleaning air (1314, Fig. 13) to the air filter media (1304, Fig. 13) (Figs. 13 and 19; col. 7, lines 14-16).
In addition, Holzmann discloses: After receiving the cleaning command, the controller may instruct a pressurized fluid source to provide a pressurized cleaning fluid to the filter element of the air filter (1904, Fig. 19). The pressurized cleaning fluid may be air, water, detergent, degreaser, or a combination thereof (col. 9, lines 13-17).
The teachings of Holzmann “the pressurized cleaning fluid that encompasses a combination of pressurized air and water” inherently directs a mixing of a pressurized air and a pressurized water, thereby forming a pressurized air and water mixture.
Since the at least one pressurized air inlet (1312, Fig. 13) which supplies cleaning air (1314, Fig. 13) to the air filter media (1304, Fig. 13) (Figs. 13 and 19; col. 7, lines 14-16) is explicitly disclosed, the presence of “a pressurized water inlet configured for injecting water” is considered obvious over the teachings of Holzmann. Moreover, since the combination of pressurized air and water is also taught/suggested by Holzmann, one skilled in the art would have reasonably expected the disclosure of Holzmann encompasses the feature of “the pressurized water inlet and the pressurized air inlet collectively configured to combine the air and water to produce an aerated water stream to clean the filter screen” as recited.
It is noted that both the Eckman and Holzmann references direct a filter unit to be cleaned using cleaning fluid such as water and/or air.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the slurry filter unit of Eckman, in view of Holzmann, to provide the feature of “a pressurized air inlet configured for injecting air; and a pressurized water inlet configured for injecting water, the pressurized water inlet and the pressurized air inlet collectively configured to combine the air and water in the lower cavity to produce an aerated water stream to clean the filter screen” as claimed, this is because pressurized cleaning fluid comprising air, water, detergent, degreaser, or a combination thereof is used for cleaning filters as taught by Holzmann (col. 9, lines 13-17), and the presence of a separate pressurized air inlet and a pressurized water inlet, thereby forming an aerated water stream to clean the filter screen is suggested by Holzmann (Figs. 13 and 19; col. 7, lines 14-16; col. 9, lines 13-17).
In regard to claim 2, Eckman discloses the slurry inlet flow path is linear such that the slurry flows parallel to a length of the filter screen (Fig. 2, the linear path along the influx pipe 20 traversing the filter screen 80).
In regard to claims 4-6, Eckman discloses the nozzle (160, Fig. 2) is sprayed such a way that water flow upwards through the filter screen from the lower cavity to the upper cavity (Fig. 2). As set forth above, Eckman, in view of Holzmann, addresses the feature of “presence of pressurized air inlet and air and water collectively forming a bubbler for clearing oversize particles from the filter screen”. Therefore, the recitations of claims 4-6 is considered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Eckman, in view of Holzmann.
In regard to claim 7, Eckman discloses the filter screen (85, Fig. 2) is arcuately curved from side to side in configuration defining a concave side facing the upper cavity and a convex side facing the lower cavity (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 8, Eckman discloses the upper cavity (a space between water influx pipe 20 and hangers 94, Fig. 2) is angled downwards relative and obliquely to a horizontal reference plane (a horizontal reference x-axis) such that the slurry travels across the filter screen in a same obliquely angled flow path (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 9, Eckman discloses the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) is disposed at one end of the upper cavity and a waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) is disposed at an opposite end thereof (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 10, Eckman discloses the upper cavity is configured so that oversized particles entrained in the slurry mixture which are too large to pass through the screen openings in the filter screen flow in a linear path across the concave upper surface of screen to the waste outlet (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0092]-[0097]).
In regard to claim 12, Eckman discloses the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) and the filtered slurry outlet (flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100) each define a respective centerline which is parallel to each other (a portion of water influx pipe 20 and the flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100 are parallel as shown in Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 13, Eckman discloses the slurry filter unit is oriented such that the upper cavity is positioned above the lower cavity when the filter unit is in use and the filter screen extends horizontally between the upper and lower cavities (Fig. 2).
In regard to claims 14 and 15, Eckman discloses the source of grey water (i.e., slurry) are obtained from residential or industrial site which is reasonably expected to comprise water and soil material. Consequently, the slurry filter unit taught by Eckman is reasonably expected to applicable to filtering agricultural sample comprising water and soil.
It is noted that claim 1 is about an apparatus of slurry filter unit. It has long been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.”); In re Michlin, 256 F.2d 317, 320 (CCPA 1958) (“It is well settled that patentability of apparatus claims must depend upon structural limitations and not upon statements of function.”).
In regard to claim 16, Eckman discloses the lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90) has an oblique frustoconical shape such that the lower cavity narrows moving downwards in direction from an upper portion adjacent the filter screen towards the filtered slurry outlet located at a bottom of the lower cavity.
In regard to claim 17, Eckman discloses a nozzle (160, Fig. 2) is used for cleaning the filter screen (80, Fig. 2) thereby removing oversize particles (paragraphs [0108]-[0110]). It would be obvious to the skilled person who wants to observe the filtering process in the apparatus of Eckman to choose a transparent material for influx pipe 20. The use of transparent water pipe depending on desired purpose is a well-known practice in the art as evidenced by Dahan et al. (US 11,772,952, please refer to col. 6, line 62 thru col. 7, line 3; col. 24, lines 1-14).
In regard to claim 26, as set forth above, Eckman, in view of Holzmann, renders the recitation “a pressurized air inlet configured for injecting air; and a pressurized water inlet configured for injecting water, the pressurized water inlet and the pressurized air inlet collectively configured to combine the air and water in the lower cavity to produce an aerated water stream to clean the filter screen” prima facie obvious.
Eckman discloses a nozzle (160, Fig. 2), which is located in the lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90 and encompassing the nozzle 160), for creating a spray of water effluent which impinges on the external side of the screen (85) of the half-pipe filter with sufficient force to remove waste material (a nozzle for cleaning the filter screen (80, Fig. 2) thereby removing oversize particles (paragraphs [0080]; [0108]-[0110]).
The recitation “the pressurized air inlet and the pressurized water inlet being configured to flow the aerated water stream upwardly through the filter screen from the lower cavity into the upper cavity countercurrent to the slurry passing through the filter screen” is considered a routine optimization that can be practiced by one skilled in the art depending on the flow direction of the slurry flowing through the filter screen.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckman, in view of Holzmann, as applied to claim 1 above, and further evidenced by Ball (US 2008/0196.161 A1).
In regard to claim 11, Eckman discloses the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) can be made from two or more sections which may be connected with a flexible coupling (26, Fig. 2). Examples of a flexible coupling include rubber grommets, rubber bands or sleeves, and other flexible couplings for plumbing as are known in the art (paragraph [0079]). The feature of flexible tubing coupling comprising a plurality of radially deformable elongated fingers with longitudinal slits circumferentially separating the fingers in plumbing is well-known as evidenced by Ball.
Claims 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckman (US 2015/0151223 A1).
In regard to claim 27, Eckman discloses a slurry filter unit comprising (Fig. 2, it is noted that Fig. 2 share same numerals for the subcomponents functioning similarly; paragraphs [0092]-[0104]):
(i) a Y-shaped body (influx pipe 20, and the collector 90 form a Y-shaped body) having an interior defining an upper cavity (a space between water influx pipe 20 and hangers 94, Fig. 2) and a lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90 and encompassing the nozzle 160);
(ii) a filter screen (80, Fig. 2) arranged between the upper and lower cavities;
(iii) an unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) fluidly coupled to the upper cavity;
(iv) a waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) fluidly coupled to the upper cavity opposite the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) which defines a slurry inlet flow path in the upper cavity; and
(v) a filtered slurry outlet (flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100) fluidly coupled to the lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90);
wherein the slurry filter unit is configured to pass slurry through the filter screen from the first to second cavities in a direction transverse to the slurry inlet flow path (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0092]-[0097]).
Regarding the recitation “the unfiltered slurry inlet extending along an unfiltered slurry inlet centerline that intersects the filter screen”, Eckman discloses various embodiments of locating the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; paragraphs [0080]-[0081]) as:
(i) A section of the influx pipe (20) can include components of a self-clearing filter (80). The self-clearing filter (80) may include a screen (85), as well as a nozzle (160) (paragraph [0080]);
(ii) In some variations, the influx pipe (20) is integrated with the top of the sealable tank (10);
(iii) The influx pipe (20) may optionally be disposed outside the sealable tank (10), having the self-clearing filter (80) fluidly connected to the sealable tank (10), or the sealable top (15) of the sealable tank (10); and
(iv) In certain variations, the influx pipe (20) may be integrated with the sealable top (15) of the sealable tank (10).
In Fig. 2, Eckman discloses an embodiment of a portion of the unfiltered slurry inlet (a portion of the water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 2 connected to a first end (30) to a grey water source (paragraph [0077])) is located almost perpendicular to the filter screen (85, Fig. 2) (i.e., the unfiltered slurry inlet intersects the filter screen). In light of teachings from Eckman, set forth above, the recitation “the unfiltered slurry inlet extending along an unfiltered slurry inlet centerline that intersects the filter screen” is considered prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 28, Eckman discloses, in the embodiment of Fig. 2, the filtered slurry outlet (flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100) defines a filtered slurry outlet centerline which is parallel to the unfiltered slurry inlet centerline (a portion of the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 2) is located almost perpendicular to the filter screen (85, Fig. 2)).
Eckman discloses, in the embodiment of Fig. 2, the waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) defines a waste outlet centerline which is transverse to the unfiltered slurry inlet centerline (a portion of influx pipe parallel to the filter screen 80) and the filtered slurry outlet centerline (the waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) centerline is perpendicular to the unfiltered slurry inlet centerline (a portion of the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 2) that is located almost perpendicular to the filter screen (85, Fig. 2) and the filtered slurry outlet (flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100) centerline).
In regard to claim 29, Eckman discloses a slurry filter unit comprising (Fig. 2, it is noted that Fig. 2 share same numerals for the subcomponents functioning similarly; paragraphs [0092]-[0104]):
(i) a Y-shaped body (influx pipe 20, and the collector 90 form a Y-shaped body) having an interior defining an upper cavity (a space between water influx pipe 20 and hangers 94, Fig. 2) and a lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90 and encompassing the nozzle 160);
(ii) a filter screen (80, Fig. 2) arranged between the upper and lower cavities;
(iii) an unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) fluidly coupled to the upper cavity (a space between water influx pipe 20 and hangers 94, Fig. 2), the unfiltered slurry inlet configured to flow slurry into the upper cavity so that the slurry flow contacts the filter screen (80, Fig. 2);
(iv) a waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) fluidly coupled to the upper cavity opposite the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 at the right side of hangers 94) which defines a slurry inlet flow path in the upper cavity; and
(v) a filtered slurry outlet (flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100) fluidly coupled to the lower cavity (a space inside the collector 90).
Regarding the recitation “the unfiltered slurry inlet configured to flow slurry into the upper cavity so that the slurry flow contacts the filter screen while having a flow vector component that is transverse to an upper surface of the filter screen”, Eckman discloses various embodiments of locating the unfiltered slurry inlet (water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; paragraphs [0080]-[0081]) as:
(i) A section of the influx pipe (20) can include components of a self-clearing filter (80). The self-clearing filter (80) may include a screen (85), as well as a nozzle (160) (paragraph [0080]);
(ii) In some variations, the influx pipe (20) is integrated with the top of the sealable tank (10);
(iii) The influx pipe (20) may optionally be disposed outside the sealable tank (10), having the self-clearing filter (80) fluidly connected to the sealable tank (10), or the sealable top (15) of the sealable tank (10); and
(iv) In certain variations, the influx pipe (20) may be integrated with the sealable top (15) of the sealable tank (10).
In Fig. 2, Eckman discloses an embodiment of a portion of the unfiltered slurry inlet (a portion of the water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 2 connected to a first end (30) to a grey water source (paragraph [0077])) is located almost perpendicular to the filter screen (85, Fig. 2) (i.e., a flow vector component transverses to an upper surface of the filter screen). In light of teachings from Eckman, set forth above, the recitation “the unfiltered slurry inlet configured to flow slurry into the upper cavity so that the slurry flow contacts the filter screen while having a flow vector component that is transverse to an upper surface of the filter screen” is considered prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 30, Eckman discloses, in the embodiment of Fig. 2, the waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) extends along a waste outlet centerline and the flow vector component of the unfiltered slurry flow (a flow in a portion of the water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 2 connected to a first end (30) to a grey water source (paragraph [0077])) is transverse (i.e., close to a perpendicular relationship) to the waste outlet (water influx pipe 20 at the left side of hangers 94) centerline.
In regard to claim 31, Eckman discloses, in the embodiment of Fig. 2, the filtered slurry outlet (flow tube to be held by UV carrier 100) defines a filtered slurry outlet centerline which is parallel to the flow vector component of the slurry flow (a portion of the water influx pipe 20 in Fig. 2 connected to a first end (30) to a grey water source (paragraph [0077])) which renders the recitation of claim 31 prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772