DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding the previous 35 USC 103 rejection, Applicant’s argument regarding Huang disclosing lane references (whether previously mapped or detected) may not be reliable for determining instructions for controlling motion of the vehicle (see at least [0001], [0036]: variety of objects (e.g. a blocking vehicle 126, toolbox 128, and fallen traffic cone 130) cumulatively block all three lanes of the depicted roadway, which may cause another planner to stop the vehicle and/or call teleoperations because no one lane has sufficient room for the autonomous vehicle) has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the previous 35 USC 103 rejection has been withdrawn.
Prior art reference Zhang, as similarly described in the previous office action, discloses a lane graph (see at least [0282]: LaneEl can be analyzed as a graph) and, as similarly described in the International Search Report, discloses a route from a first location to a second location represented on the lane graph (see at least [0079]: receive as input a route from a source to a destination via one or more third-party maps and may be configured to generate a high precision (e.g., within a specified degree of precision, such as within 30 cm) route represented as a connected graph of navigable lanes along the input routes based on HD maps, Fig. 17A-17C, 18A).
Therefore, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20200393261 (Zhang) and US 20220404823 (Sham).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220404823 (Sham).
As per claim(s) 1, 9, 17, Sham discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining, with at least one processor at a vehicle, a lane graph comprising a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges (see at least [0025]: representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths (e.g., 135) and buildings, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node),
wherein a route from a first location to a second location is represented on the lane graph (see at least [0019], [0025]: representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node);
obtaining, with the at least one processor, at least one node corresponding to a lane segment comprising a lane closure along the route (see at least [0091], [0092]: panel B, a new lane obstruction 430, for example, one newly indicated by a user interacting with user interface presentation data, is present in the user interface presentation data and occludes lane path 410a, rendering it unpassable, [0093]);
pruning, with the at least one processor, the lane graph at the vehicle based on the at least one node (see at least [0091]-[0092], [0093]: delete node 420b as it is no longer reachable because of the obstruction 430, [0094]: lane path modification system can update the lane path descriptor associated with the lane path 410b, removing the node 420b);
determining, with the at least one processor, an updated route from a current location to the second location using the pruned lane graph (see at least [0074]: update a planned trajectory for the vehicle 280, [0094]: autonomous vehicle evaluating the potential use of lane path 410a can then determine from the lane path descriptor that the lane path is incomplete and exclude the lane path 410a from consideration); and
causing, with the at least one processor, the vehicle to navigate along the updated route avoiding the lane closure (see at least [0074]: planning system 279 can generate a fully-autonomous plan to navigate the vehicle 280 around an obstruction, [0094]: autonomous vehicle).
As per claim(s) 2, 10, 18, Sham discloses wherein the plurality of nodes each correspond to a lane segment, and the plurality of edges each correspond to a connection between two lane segments (see at least claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node).
As per claim(s) 3, 11, 19, Sham discloses wherein determining the updated route comprises: determining a sequence of edges from the plurality of edges connecting a sequence of nodes from the plurality of nodes from the first location to the second location (see at least Fig. 4, [0094], claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node); and determining the updated route based on the sequence of edges (see at least [0094], claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node, Fig. 4).
As per claim(s) 4, 12, 20, Sham discloses wherein the updated route comprises a lane change from a first node of the pruned lane graph to a second node of the pruned lane graph along an edge of the pruned lane graph connecting the first node and the second node, and wherein the first node corresponds to a first lane segment in a first lane and the second node corresponds to a second lane segment in a second lane (see at least [0094], [0095]: causing lane path 410a to merge into lane 410b. This merge allows a vehicle that starts at node 420a to safely traverse the environment, ending at node 420d, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node, Fig. 4).
As per claim(s) 5, 13, Sham discloses wherein pruning the lane graph comprises removing the at least one node from the lane graph (see at least [0091]-[0092], [0093]: delete node 420b as it is no longer reachable because of the obstruction 430, [0094]: lane path modification system can update the lane path descriptor associated with the lane path 410b, removing the node 420b).
As per claim(s) 6, 14, Sham discloses transmitting sensor data to a remote system to cause the remote system to determine a lane segment corresponding to the lane closure along the route (see at least [0046]: interface creation engine 210 can integrate sensor data acquired from the sensor measurement data engine 207).
As per claim(s) 7, 15, Sham discloses wherein obtaining the lane graph comprises identifying a map of a geographic region, the map comprising information identifying at least one lane on which vehicles can travel in the geographic region (see at least [0046]: map data, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node).
As per claim(s) 8, 16, Sham discloses wherein the route comprises an initial lane and a travel direction of the vehicle (see at least [0025]: top-down presentation of the user interface presentation data that represents sensor data gathered from a scene in an environment. The representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths (e.g., 135) and buildings, [0057]: vehicle can include the type of vehicle (e.g., car, bus, truck, motorcycle, etc.), motion curvature of the vehicle's current trajectory, history of positions along the vehicle's current trajectory, vehicle heading, history of heading, vehicle speed, history of speed, and vehicle acceleration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220404823 (Sham) in view of US 20200393261 (Zhang).
As per claim(s) 1, 9, 17, Sham discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining, with at least one processor at a vehicle, a lane graph comprising a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges (see at least [0025]: representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths (e.g., 135) and buildings, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node),
wherein a route from a first location to a second location is represented on the lane graph (see at least [0019], [0025]: representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node);
obtaining, with the at least one processor, at least one node corresponding to a lane segment comprising a lane closure along the route (see at least [0091], [0092]: panel B, a new lane obstruction 430, for example, one newly indicated by a user interacting with user interface presentation data, is present in the user interface presentation data and occludes lane path 410a, rendering it unpassable, [0093]);
pruning, with the at least one processor, the lane graph at the vehicle based on the at least one node (see at least [0091]-[0092], [0093]: delete node 420b as it is no longer reachable because of the obstruction 430, [0094]: lane path modification system can update the lane path descriptor associated with the lane path 410b, removing the node 420b);
determining, with the at least one processor, an updated route from a current location to the second location using the pruned lane graph (see at least [0074]: update a planned trajectory for the vehicle 280, [0094]: autonomous vehicle evaluating the potential use of lane path 410a can then determine from the lane path descriptor that the lane path is incomplete and exclude the lane path 410a from consideration); and
causing, with the at least one processor, the vehicle to navigate along the updated route avoiding the lane closure (see at least [0074]: planning system 279 can generate a fully-autonomous plan to navigate the vehicle 280 around an obstruction, [0094]: autonomous vehicle).
Should it be found that Sham does not explicitly disclose performing the steps with the processor at the vehicle,
Zhang discloses with at least one processor at the vehicle (see at least [0046], [0048], [0119]: a change detection system can be included at the vehicle computing system 120 or at the online HD map system 110);
obtaining, with at least one processor at a vehicle, a lane graph comprising a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges (see at least [0029], [0079]: receive as input a route from a source to a destination via one or more third-party maps and may be configured to generate a high precision (e.g., within a specified degree of precision, such as within 30 cm) route represented as a connected graph of navigable lanes along the input routes based on HD maps, [0119]: change detection system can be included at the vehicle computing system 120 or at the online HD map system 110…any raw data (e.g., from vehicle sensors 105) or processed data (e.g., from a module or API) may be transmitted to the online HD map system 110 for processing to identify changes that may be made to the HD maps, [0120], [0282]: change detection system 1620 can be configured (e.g., via the change detection module 1660) to consider each LaneEl a graph node and its relationship with neighbor LaneELs as edges);
obtaining, with the at least one processor, at least one node corresponding to a lane segment comprising a lane closure along the route (see at least [0282]: LaneEl can be analyzed as a graph. The change detection system 1620 can be configured (e.g., via the change detection module 1660) to consider each LaneEl a graph node and its relationship with neighbor LaneELs as edges, [0283], [0287]);
pruning, with the at least one processor, the lane graph at the vehicle based on the at least one node (see at least [0269], [0281]: While searching, all of the “closing” nodes are placed into a “disjoint” set and marked as visited until the DFS for this node is done, [0282], [0283]: remaining lane openings from score counting are reported as lane openings);
determining, with the at least one processor, an updated route from a current location to the second location using the pruned lane graph (see at least [0117]: after a HD map is created and used by one or more vehicles 150, the physical world associated with an HD map may undergo at least one change that may modify a route and the corresponding driving behavior vehicle 150 can be configured to perform change candidate generation for candidates for changes to the HD map based on changes to the physical world [0258]-[0261], [0269]-[0270]: change management module 1625 can analyze the plurality of change candidates. A final change candidate can be generated 1814 based on the change, which can be by the change management module 1625. The final change candidate can be provided 1816 for updating a high definition map of the route having the lane element, [0287]); and
causing, with the at least one processor, the vehicle to navigate along the updated route avoiding the lane closure (see at least [0064]: vehicle computing system 120 may provide control signals to the vehicle controls 130 on a regular and/or continuous basis and may cause the vehicle 150 to drive along a selected route, [0074], [0083], [0085], [0115], [0117]: after a HD map is created and used by one or more vehicles 150, the physical world associated with an HD map may undergo at least one change that may modify a route and the corresponding driving behavior vehicle 150 can be configured to perform change candidate generation for candidates for changes to the HD map based on changes to the physical world, [0287]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Sham by incorporating the teachings of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved efficiency by efficiently processing data and uploading change candidates. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 2, 10, 18, Sham discloses wherein the plurality of nodes each correspond to a lane segment, and the plurality of edges each correspond to a connection between two lane segments (see at least claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node).
As per claim(s) 3, 11, 19, Sham discloses wherein determining the updated route comprises: determining a sequence of edges from the plurality of edges connecting a sequence of nodes from the plurality of nodes from the first location to the second location (see at least Fig. 4, [0094], claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node); and determining the updated route based on the sequence of edges (see at least [0094], claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node, Fig. 4).
As per claim(s) 4, 12, 20, Sham discloses wherein the updated route comprises a lane change from a first node of the pruned lane graph to a second node of the pruned lane graph along an edge of the pruned lane graph connecting the first node and the second node, and wherein the first node corresponds to a first lane segment in a first lane and the second node corresponds to a second lane segment in a second lane (see at least [0094], [0095]: causing lane path 410a to merge into lane 410b. This merge allows a vehicle that starts at node 420a to safely traverse the environment, ending at node 420d, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node, Fig. 4).
As per claim(s) 5, 13, Sham discloses wherein pruning the lane graph comprises removing the at least one node from the lane graph (see at least [0091]-[0092], [0093]: delete node 420b as it is no longer reachable because of the obstruction 430, [0094]: lane path modification system can update the lane path descriptor associated with the lane path 410b, removing the node 420b).
As per claim(s) 6, 14, Sham discloses transmitting sensor data to a remote system to cause the remote system to determine a lane segment corresponding to the lane closure along the route (see at least [0046]: interface creation engine 210 can integrate sensor data acquired from the sensor measurement data engine 207, lane path descriptors acquired from the lane path data engine 205, and (optionally) other data available to the lane path management engine 201 such as map data, and use the integrated data to generate user interface presentation data, [0077]: interconnection between two nodes in a lane path representation can represent a segment connecting the coordinates represented by the two nodes).
As per claim(s) 7, 15, Sham discloses wherein obtaining the lane graph comprises identifying a map of a geographic region, the map comprising information identifying at least one lane on which vehicles can travel in the geographic region (see at least [0046]: interface creation engine 210 can integrate sensor data acquired from the sensor measurement data engine 207, lane path descriptors acquired from the lane path data engine 205, and (optionally) other data available to the lane path management engine 201 such as map data, [0091]-[0092]: lane path 410a with two nodes 420a and 420b, and lane path 410B also with two nodes, 420c and 420d).
As per claim(s) 8, 16, Sham discloses wherein the route comprises an initial lane and a travel direction of the vehicle (see at least [0025]: top-down presentation of the user interface presentation data that represents sensor data gathered from a scene in an environment. The representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths (e.g., 135) and buildings, [0057]: vehicle can include the type of vehicle (e.g., car, bus, truck, motorcycle, etc.), motion curvature of the vehicle's current trajectory, history of positions along the vehicle's current trajectory, vehicle heading, history of heading, vehicle speed, history of speed, and vehicle acceleration, [0091]-[0092]: lane path 410a with two nodes 420a and 420b, and lane path 410B also with two nodes, 420c and 420d).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200393261 (Zhang) in view of US 20220404823 (Sham).
As per claim(s) 1, 9, 17, Zhang discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining, with at least one processor at a vehicle, a lane graph comprising a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges (see at least [0029], [0079]: receive as input a route from a source to a destination via one or more third-party maps and may be configured to generate a high precision (e.g., within a specified degree of precision, such as within 30 cm) route represented as a connected graph of navigable lanes along the input routes based on HD maps, [0119]: change detection system can be included at the vehicle computing system 120 or at the online HD map system 110…any raw data (e.g., from vehicle sensors 105) or processed data (e.g., from a module or API) may be transmitted to the online HD map system 110 for processing to identify changes that may be made to the HD maps, [0120], [0282]: change detection system 1620 can be configured (e.g., via the change detection module 1660) to consider each LaneEl a graph node and its relationship with neighbor LaneELs as edges),
wherein a route from a first location to a second location is represented on the lane graph (see at least [0079]: receive as input a route from a source to a destination via one or more third-party maps and may be configured to generate a high precision (e.g., within a specified degree of precision, such as within 30 cm) route represented as a connected graph of navigable lanes along the input routes based on HD maps, [0115]: HD map system 100 can be configured to determine a route from a source location to a destination location as a sequence of connected lane elements that can be traversed to reach from the source location to the destination location, Fig. 17A-17C, Fig. 18A);
obtaining, with the at least one processor, at least one node corresponding to a lane segment comprising a lane closure along the route (see at least [0282]: LaneEl can be analyzed as a graph. The change detection system 1620 can be configured (e.g., via the change detection module 1660) to consider each LaneEl a graph node and its relationship with neighbor LaneELs as edges, [0283], [0287]);
pruning, with the at least one processor, the lane graph at the vehicle based on the at least one node (see at least [0269], [0281]: While searching, all of the “closing” nodes are placed into a “disjoint” set and marked as visited until the DFS for this node is done, [0282], [0283]: remaining lane openings from score counting are reported as lane openings);
determining, with the at least one processor, an updated route from a current location to the second location using the pruned lane graph (see at least [0117]: after a HD map is created and used by one or more vehicles 150, the physical world associated with an HD map may undergo at least one change that may modify a route and the corresponding driving behavior vehicle 150 can be configured to perform change candidate generation for candidates for changes to the HD map based on changes to the physical world, [0258]-[0261], [0269]-[0270]: change management module 1625 can analyze the plurality of change candidates. A final change candidate can be generated 1814 based on the change, which can be by the change management module 1625. The final change candidate can be provided 1816 for updating a high definition map of the route having the lane element, [0287]); and
causing, with the at least one processor, the vehicle to navigate along the updated route avoiding the lane closure (see at least [0064]: vehicle computing system 120 may provide control signals to the vehicle controls 130 on a regular and/or continuous basis and may cause the vehicle 150 to drive along a selected route, [0074], [0083], [0085], [0115], [0117]: after a HD map is created and used by one or more vehicles 150, the physical world associated with an HD map may undergo at least one change that may modify a route and the corresponding driving behavior vehicle 150 can be configured to perform change candidate generation for candidates for changes to the HD map based on changes to the physical world, [0287]).
Should it be found that Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein a route from a first location to a second location is represented on the lane graph, determining, with the at least one processor, an updated route from a current location to the second location using the pruned lane graph; and causing, with the at least one processor, the vehicle to navigate along the updated route avoiding the lane closure.
However, Sham teaches wherein a route from a first location to a second location is represented on the lane graph (see at least [0019], [0025]: representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node);
determining, with at least one processor, an updated route from a current location to the second location using the pruned lane graph (see at least [0074]: update a planned trajectory for the vehicle 280, [0094]: autonomous vehicle evaluating the potential use of lane path 410a can then determine from the lane path descriptor that the lane path is incomplete and exclude the lane path 410a from consideration); and
causing, with the at least one processor, the vehicle to navigate along the updated route avoiding the lane closure (see at least [0074]: planning system 279 can generate a fully-autonomous plan to navigate the vehicle 280 around an obstruction, [0094]: autonomous vehicle).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Zhang by incorporating the teachings of Sham with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the ability of the control system to navigate the vehicle to take trajectories that avoid road obstructions and regions of the roadway that are inaccessible.
As per claim(s) 2, 10, 18, Zhang discloses wherein the plurality of nodes each correspond to a lane segment, and the plurality of edges each correspond to a connection between two lane segments (see at least [0119]-[0120], [0282]: LaneEl can be analyzed as a graph. The change detection system 1620 can be configured (e.g., via the change detection module 1660) to consider each LaneEl a graph node and its relationship with neighbor LaneELs as edges).
As per claim(s) 3, 11, 19, Zhang discloses wherein determining the updated route comprises: determining a sequence of edges from the plurality of edges connecting a sequence of nodes from the plurality of nodes from the first location to the second location; and determining the updated route based on the sequence of edges (see at least [0115], [0117]: after a HD map is created and used by one or more vehicles 150, the physical world associated with an HD map may undergo at least one change that may modify a route and the corresponding driving behavior, [0282]: LaneEl can be analyzed as a graph. The change detection system 1620 can be configured (e.g., via the change detection module 1660) to consider each LaneEl a graph node and its relationship with neighbor LaneELs as edges, [0283], [0287]).
Should it be found that Zhang does not explicitly recite wherein determining the updated route comprises: determining a sequence of edges from the plurality of edges connecting a sequence of nodes from the plurality of nodes from the first location to the second location; and determining the updated route based on the sequence of edges,
Sham teaches wherein determining the updated route comprises: determining a sequence of edges from the plurality of edges connecting a sequence of nodes from the plurality of nodes from the first location to the second location; and determining the updated route based on the sequence of edges (see at least [0074]: update a planned trajectory for the vehicle 280, [0094]: autonomous vehicle evaluating the potential use of lane path 410a can then determine from the lane path descriptor that the lane path is incomplete and exclude the lane path 410a from consideration, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Zhang by incorporating the teachings of Sham with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the ability of the control system to navigate the vehicle to take trajectories that avoid road obstructions and regions of the roadway that are inaccessible.
As per claim(s) 4, 12, 20, Zhang discloses wherein the updated route comprises a lane change from a first node of the pruned lane graph to a second node of the pruned lane graph along an edge of the pruned lane graph connecting the first node and the second node, and wherein the first node corresponds to a first lane segment in a first lane and the second node corresponds to a second lane segment in a second lane (see at least [0115], [0282]-[0283], [0287]).
Should it be found that Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the updated route comprises a lane change from a first node of the pruned lane graph to a second node of the pruned lane graph along an edge of the pruned lane graph connecting the first node and the second node, and wherein the first node corresponds to a first lane segment in a first lane and the second node corresponds to a second lane segment in a second lane,
Sham discloses wherein the updated route comprises a lane change from a first node of the pruned lane graph to a second node of the pruned lane graph along an edge of the pruned lane graph connecting the first node and the second node, and wherein the first node corresponds to a first lane segment in a first lane and the second node corresponds to a second lane segment in a second lane (see at least [0094], [0095]: causing lane path 410a to merge into lane 410b. This merge allows a vehicle that starts at node 420a to safely traverse the environment, ending at node 420d, claim 3: each of the lane paths is defined by a lane path descriptor that specifies: a plurality of nodes comprising a start node and an end node; the start node represents the beginning of the lane path and the end node represents the end of the lane path; and one or more directed edges connecting the start node to the end node, Fig. 4).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Zhang by incorporating the teachings of Sham with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the ability of the control system to navigate the vehicle to take trajectories that avoid road obstructions and regions of the roadway that are inaccessible.
As per claim(s) 5, 13, Zhang discloses wherein pruning the lane graph comprises removing the at least one node from the lane graph (see at least [0234]: FIG. 17B shows the vehicle 150 a now entering into the LaneEL 1710e and vehicle 150 b is approaching the LaneEL 1710b, [0248]: closed lane element database 1690 can keep a listing of the known closed lanes).
Should it be found that Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein pruning the lane graph comprises removing the at least one node from the lane graph,
Sham teaches wherein pruning the lane graph comprises removing the at least one node from the lane graph (see at least [0091]-[0092], [0093]: delete node 420b as it is no longer reachable because of the obstruction 430, [0094]: lane path modification system can update the lane path descriptor associated with the lane path 410b, removing the node 420b).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Zhang by incorporating the teachings of Sham with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the ability of the control system to navigate the vehicle to take trajectories that avoid road obstructions and regions of the roadway that are inaccessible.
As per claim(s) 6, 14, Zhang discloses transmitting sensor data to a remote system to cause the remote system to determine a lane segment corresponding to the lane closure along the route (see at least [0118]: vehicle 150 can be configured to compare the sensor data with the HD map that includes the location that the vehicle 150 is traveling within, [0121]: Additionally or alternatively, the sensor data can be provided to a 3rd party perception module 1635, which can process the sensor data to obtain modified perception data as modified perception output that can be provided to the perception integration module 1615, [0269]: sensor data can be analyzed 1804 to determine a presence or absence of at least one lane closure object (e.g., traffic cone 1706 a-c) located on at least one lane element (e.g., 1710 b) associated with the route. This analysis can be performed by the perception module 1610 or the 3rd party perception module 1635).
As per claim(s) 7, 15, Zhang discloses wherein obtaining the lane graph comprises identifying a map of a geographic region, the map comprising information identifying at least one lane on which vehicles can travel in the geographic region (see at least [0052]: online HD map system 110 may be configured to store map information for various geographical regions in the HD map store 165, [0235]: lane opening change candidate…the third vehicle 150 c turns left onto the LaneEL 1710 e because the LaneEl 1710 c has not yet been updated to an opened lane).
As per claim(s) 8, 16, Zhang discloses wherein the route comprises an initial lane and a travel direction of the vehicle (see at least [0045]: HD maps may provide the current location of the autonomous vehicle relative to one or more lanes of roads precisely enough to allow the autonomous vehicle to drive safely in and to maneuver safety between one or more lanes of the roads, [0046]: direction of travel for a lane, [0073]: path that may be taken by the corresponding vehicle 150 to go from point A to point B may depend on the current speed and direction of the corresponding vehicle 150 as well as the location of point B with respect to point A).
Should it be found Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the route comprises an initial lane and a travel direction of the vehicle,
Sham discloses wherein the route comprises an initial lane and a travel direction of the vehicle (see at least [0025]: top-down presentation of the user interface presentation data that represents sensor data gathered from a scene in an environment. The representation includes depictions of multiple elements of the scene, including representations of lane paths (e.g., 135) and buildings, [0057]: vehicle can include the type of vehicle (e.g., car, bus, truck, motorcycle, etc.), motion curvature of the vehicle's current trajectory, history of positions along the vehicle's current trajectory, vehicle heading, history of heading, vehicle speed, history of speed, and vehicle acceleration, [0091]-[0092]: lane path 410a with two nodes 420a and 420b, and lane path 410B also with two nodes, 420c and 420d).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Zhang by incorporating the teachings of Sham with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the ability of the control system to navigate the vehicle to take trajectories that avoid road obstructions and regions of the roadway that are inaccessible.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220307856 (see at least [0100]: receive road closure data indicating that an AV cannot traverse at least one of the graph of connected lanes; remove at least one lane from the selected lanes along which an AV can stop based on the road closure data; and generate a revised coverage area based on the selected lanes with the at least one lane removed).
US 20220207995 (see at least [0071]: If lane 1 (a dedicated left-turn lane) of link L1 is the lane to be analyzed, it is obvious that on the transformed graph (the lanes edge is removed to illustrate lane closure) that the downstream links to lane 1 are links L6 & L4 and L2 is upstream.).
Angelina Shudy
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/Angelina M Shudy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668