DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 240 (see FIG. 6), 12B (see FIG. 11), 421 and 423 (see FIG. 14), 155B (see FIG. 13). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 300A, 305A (see [0093] in several places), 260B (see [00117], [00122], in several places), 300B, 305B (see [00123] in several places). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because:
In FIGs 8, 9, and 19, boxes or simple shapes are labeled only with reference numbers, without descriptive legends. The Examiner directs the applicant to 37 C.F.R. 1.84(n) and 1.84(o) which state, “Graphical drawing symbols may be used for conventional elements when appropriate” while “[o]ther symbols which are not universally recognized may be used, subject to approval by the Office” and that “[s]uitable descriptive legends may be used subject to approval by the Office, or may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing”. Since the boxes or simple shapes in FIGs 8, 9, and 19 are not universally recognized for the elements they represent, the Examiner may require descriptive legends for better understanding of the drawings. See MPEP 608.02.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0077], “the ignition system 216, the vehicle console 220” should be --the ignition system 190, the vehicle console 200-- to be consistent with the drawings and the references number used elsewhere in the specification.
In [0083], “the battery housing 115A” (in several places) should be --the battery housing 105A-- to be consistent with the drawings and the references number used elsewhere in the specification.
In [0093], “the battery cells 170” should be --the battery cells 140-- to be consistent with the drawings and the references number used elsewhere in the specification.
In [00100], “the indicator panel 220” is sharing the same reference number 220 with “battery system 220.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 39, line 2, “battery monitoring unity” should be --battery monitoring unit-- to correct a typo.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 27 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 14 of copending Application No. 18900089 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims teach substantially the features of the current claims at issue. Any differences are obvious variations or well-known in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 27 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 18900170 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim teaches substantially the features of the current claims at issue. Any differences are obvious variations or well-known in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 37, it recites “a first terminal strap electrically coupling the first battery cell to the second battery cell” in line 2.
According to the linking claim 36, a third battery cell has the second post (from the first battery cell) and the third post (from the second battery cell) associated with the third battery cell. Based on the disclosure (e.g., [0084] and FIG. 8), it is interpreted that the third battery cell is a cell between the first battery cell and the second battery cell in a series connection, such that the third battery is connected to both a terminal of the first battery cell and a terminal of the second battery cell, in a series of [cell 1] - [cell 3] - [cell 2].
On the other hand, a terminal strap is interpreted to provide an electrical conduction for the electrically coupled cell, in light of the specification as understood by the Examiner.
Therefore, it is unclear what “a first terminal strap electrically coupling the first battery cell to the second battery cell” means because the first cell and the second cell are separated by the third cell, and should not be electrically coupled directly.
For examination purpose, --a first terminal strap electrically coupling the first battery cell to the third battery cell-- is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 14, 27-29, 34-39, 44, 63, and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (US 20140225620 A1; hereinafter “Campbell”) in view of FUHR et al. ( WO 2019071184 A1; hereinafter “FUHR”).
Regarding claim 27, Campbell teaches a lead-acid battery system (i.e., “battery 11… lead acid battery”; see [0020]) comprising:
a cells compartment (i.e., “a battery housing 13”; see [0022]);
a battery monitoring system (BMS) compartment (i.e., “the battery monitoring system 12 may be located remote from the battery 11 (e.g., within a separate housing)”; see [0022]);
a lead-acid battery comprising a plurality of cells and an acid solution disposed in the cells compartment (i.e., “an array 14 of battery cells 16”; see [0022]; “lead acid battery”; see [0020]);
a first parameter sensor disposed in the BMS compartment (i.e., “one or more self-contained measurement devices 24 may be included within the battery monitoring unit 18”; see [0025]) and associated with a first one or more cells of the plurality of cells but less than all of the plurality of cells (i.e., “each self-contained measurement device 24 includes one or more sensors configured to monitor an operational parameter of the battery cell 24”; see [0024]);
a second parameter sensor disposed in the BMS compartment (i.e., “one or more self-contained measurement devices 24 may be included within the battery monitoring unit 18”; see [0025]) and associated with a second one or more cells of the plurality of cells but less than all of the plurality of cells, the second one or more cells being different from the first one or more cells (i.e., “each self-contained measurement device 24 includes one or more sensors configured to monitor an operational parameter of the battery cell 24”; see [0024]); and
a battery monitoring unit disposed in the BMS compartment and coupled to the first parameter sensor and the second parameter sensor (i.e., “the battery 11 includes an array 14 of battery cells 16 connected in series to a battery monitoring unit 18”; see [0022]), the battery monitoring unit being configured to
sense a first parameter associated with the first parameter sensor (i.e., “each self-contained measurement device 24 includes one or more sensors configured to monitor an operational parameter of the battery cell 24, and a transmitter configured to output a signal indicative of the operational parameter to the battery monitoring unit 18”; see [0024]),
sense a second parameter associated with the second parameter sensor (i.e., “each self-contained measurement device 24 includes one or more sensors configured to monitor an operational parameter of the battery cell 24, and a transmitter configured to output a signal indicative of the operational parameter to the battery monitoring unit 18”; see [0024]), and
determine a state of the lead-acid battery based on the first parameter and the second parameter (i.e., “The battery monitoring system 12 monitors battery parameters (e.g., voltage, current, and temperature) for the battery 11 using the diagnostic system and/or stores additional parameters (e.g., battery size, battery shape, etc.) (block 78). In some embodiments, the battery monitoring system 12 determines an end of life of the battery 11 using measured battery parameters”; see [0044]).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
a wall positioned between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment.
But FUHR teaches:
a wall (i.e., “carrier 136” and “bus bars 121”) positioned between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment (i.e., “The flex circuit 120, IC chip 134, bus bars 121 , and bi-metallic bridges 122 are all held together on a carrier 136”; see [0065] and FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Campbell in view of FUHR, by incorporating a wall positioned between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment, as claimed. The rationale would be to facilitate the design of separate housings for both the battery cells and the monitoring unit taught by Campbell above.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the first parameter is a first cell voltage and the second parameter is a second cell voltage (i.e., “the voltage of each cell may be measured”; see [0019]; “measure the voltage of a cell 16”; see [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the state is a health of the lead-acid battery and wherein the determining the state includes determining a health of the lead-acid battery based on the first cell voltage and the second cell voltage (i.e., “The battery monitoring system 12 monitors battery parameters (e.g., voltage, current, and temperature) for the battery 11 using the diagnostic system and/or stores additional parameters (e.g., battery size, battery shape, etc.) (block 78). In some embodiments, the battery monitoring system 12 determines an end of life of the battery 11 using measured battery parameters”; see [0044]), or
wherein the state is a function of the lead-acid battery and wherein the determining the function includes determining the function of the lead-acid battery based on the first cell voltage and the second cell voltage, or
wherein the state is a charge of the lead-acid battery and wherein the determining the charge includes determining a function of the lead-acid battery based on the first cell voltage and the second cell voltage.
Regarding claim 9, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the battery monitoring unit is further configured to sense a third voltage of the lead-acid battery, the third voltage being a battery voltage of the lead-acid battery (i.e., “measure the voltage of the array 14 of batteries”; see [0025]), and wherein the determining the state of the lead-acid battery is further based on the third voltage (i.e., “The battery monitoring system 12 monitors battery parameters (e.g., voltage, current, and temperature) for the battery 11 using the diagnostic system and/or stores additional parameters (e.g., battery size, battery shape, etc.) (block 78). In some embodiments, the battery monitoring system 12 determines an end of life of the battery 11 using measured battery parameters”; see [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the sensing the first parameter includes sensing a first voltage of a first number of cells of the plurality of cells, the first number being greater than one and less than the plurality of cells (i.e., “measure the voltage of the array 14 of batteries, a cell 16, or a group of cells 16.”; see [0025]),
wherein the sensing the second parameter includes sensing a second voltage of a second number of cells of the plurality of cells, the second number being greater than one and less than the plurality of cells (i.e., “measure the voltage of the array 14 of batteries, a cell 16, or a group of cells 16.”; see [0025]), and
wherein the determining the state of the lead-acid battery includes determining the state of the lead-acid battery based on the first voltage and the second voltage (i.e., “The battery monitoring system 12 monitors battery parameters (e.g., voltage, current, and temperature) for the battery 11 using the diagnostic system and/or stores additional parameters (e.g., battery size, battery shape, etc.) (block 78). In some embodiments, the battery monitoring system 12 determines an end of life of the battery 11 using measured battery parameters”; see [0044]).
Regarding claim 14, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the first parameter is a first cell temperature and the second parameter is second cell temperature (i.e., “monitor one or more operational parameters (e.g., voltage, temperature, etc.) of the battery cell”; see [0020]).
Regarding claim 28, Campbell further teaches:
wherein a first cell of the plurality of cells has a cathode, an anode, and a separator, and wherein at least one of the cathodes and the anode comprises lead (i.e., “an anode sheet, a cathode sheet, and a separator disposed between the anode sheet and the cathode sheet”; see [0028]; note that the anode and/or the cathode necessarily, or obviously, contain lead in a lead-acid battery cell).
Regarding claim 29, as a result of modification applied to claim 27 above, Campbell in view of FUHR further teaches:
a first post (i.e., see terminal 21 in Campbell, FIG. 2; see terminal 58a in FUHR, [0061]) extending through the wall (i.e., 136) between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment (i.e., “bus bars 121 configured to electrically and physically couple to the terminals 58a, 58b of the battery cells 54”; see FUHR, [0061] and FIGs. 9-10), the first post associated with the first one or more cells of the plurality of cells, the first parameter sensor coupled to the first post (see Campbell, FIGs. 2-3); and
a second post extending through the wall between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment, the second post associated with the second one or more cells of the plurality of cells, the second parameter sensor coupled to the second post (see above regarding another cell).
Regarding claim 34, as a result of modification applied to claim 27 above, Campbell in view of FUHR further teaches:
wherein the first parameter sensor is a first cell voltage sensor and the second parameter sensor is a second cell voltage sensor, wherein the first parameter is a first cell voltage and the second parameter is a second cell voltage (i.e., “the sensor (e.g., voltmeter) may be coupled to the first and second leads 28 and 30, and configured to measure a parameter of the power signal (e.g., voltage)”; see Campbell, [0025]), and wherein the lead-acid battery system further comprises:
a housing (i.e., “battery housing 13”; see Campbell, [0022]) defining at least in part the cells compartment and at least in part the BMS compartment, and including the wall disposed between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment (see discussion of claim 27 above);
the plurality of cells including a first battery cell and a second battery cell (i.e., cells 16; see Campbell, FIG. 2), the first battery cell having a first post and a second post associated with the first battery cell (i.e., see terminals 21 and 22 in Campbell, FIG. 2; see terminals 58a and 58b in FUHR, [0061]), the first post and the second post protruding through the wall (i.e., 136) between the cells compartment to the BMS compartment (i.e., “bus bars 121 configured to electrically and physically couple to the terminals 58a, 58b of the battery cells 54”; see FUHR, [0061] and FIGs. 9-10); and
a battery monitor system housed by the BMS compartment (i.e., “battery monitoring system 12 within the battery housing 13”; see Campbell, [0022]; see discussion of claim 27 about the partition of the battery housing into compartments), the battery monitor system including the battery monitoring unit (i.e., “battery monitoring unit 18”) and the first cell voltage sensor (i.e., measurement device 24) electrically coupled to the first post and the second post (see Campbell, [0025] and FIGs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 35, as a result of modification applied to claim 27 above, Campbell in view of FUHR further teaches:
wherein the second battery cell has a third post and a fourth post associated with the second battery cell (i.e., see terminals 21 and 22 in Campbell, FIG. 2; see terminals 58a and 58b in FUHR, [0061]), the third post and the fourth post protruding through the wall (i.e., 136) between the cells compartment to the BMS compartment (i.e., “bus bars 121 configured to electrically and physically couple to the terminals 58a, 58b of the battery cells 54”; see FUHR, [0061] and FIGs. 9-10), and
wherein the battery monitor system further includes the battery monitoring unit (i.e., “battery monitoring unit 18”) and the second cell voltage sensor (i.e., measurement device 24) electrically coupled to the third post and the fourth post (see Campbell, [0025] and FIGs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 36, the claim recite a third cell similar to the first and the second cells, but having the second post and the third post instead. This different feature is taught by the middle cell 16 as shown in FIG. 2 of Campbell.
Regarding claim 37, as a result of modification applied to claim 27 above, Campbell in view of FUHR further teaches:
a first terminal strap electrically coupling the first battery cell to the [third] battery cell (see the connection between the left cell 16 and middle cell 16 in FIG. 2 of Campbell; see busbar 121 in [0061] and FIGs. 9-10 of FUHR for the strap);
a second terminal strap electrically coupling the second battery cell to the third battery cell (see the connection between the right cell 16 and the middle cell 16 in FIG. 2 of Campbell; see busbar 121 in [0061] and FIGs. 9-10 of FUHR for the strap); and
wherein the first terminal strap includes the second post (i.e., terminal 22 of the left cell 16 in FIG. 2 of Campbell), and the second terminal strap includes the third post (see terminal 21 of the right cell 16 in FIG. 2 of Campbell).
Regarding claim 38, as a result of modification applied to claim 27 above, Campbell in view of FUHR further teaches:
wherein the housing further includes a cell base (i.e., the bottom of housing 13 in Campbell), a cell cover (i.e., the insulator 36 of Campbell), a BMS base, and a BMS cover (i.e., the separate housing for the battery monitoring system 12 in Campbell; see [0022]), and
wherein the cell cover and the BMS base includes the wall between the cells compartment the BMS compartment (see discussion of claim 27 above regarding the wall; see, also, FUHR [0065] and FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 39, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the battery monitor system further includes the battery monitoring unity (i.e., “battery monitoring unit 18”) and one or more of a battery voltage sensor to sense a battery voltage, a battery current sensor to sense a battery current, and a temperature sensor to sense a temperature (i.e., “measurement device 24 includes a voltmeter 42 and a temperature sensor 46… an ammeter configured to determine current being provided by the cell”; see [0033]).
Regarding claim 44, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the battery monitoring unit comprises a processor and memory disposed and in communication with the first parameter sensor and the second parameter sensor (i.e., “a central processor in the battery monitoring unit 18”), the memory including instructions executable by the processor to cause the battery monitoring unit to sense the first parameter, sense the second parameter (i.e., “with raw data being sent from respective sensors (e.g., voltmeter 42) to a central processor in the battery monitoring unit 18”; see [0037]; note that the memory and instructions are implied, or obvious, to facilitate the monitoring of parameters and determination of the state), and determine the state of the lead-acid battery (i.e., “a processor for determining an end of life of the battery based on the monitored parameters”; see [0020]; “The microprocessor 58 may output the operational parameter to a display, compute the battery cell state of charge, estimate an end of life”; see [0041]).
Regarding claim 63, as a result of modification applied to claim 27 above, Campbell in view of FUHR further teaches:
a post (i.e., see terminal 21 in Campbell, FIG. 2; see terminal 58a in FUHR, [0061]) extending through the wall (i.e., 136) between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment (i.e., “bus bars 121 configured to electrically and physically couple to the terminals 58a, 58b of the battery cells 54”; see FUHR, [0061] and FIGs. 9-10) and the first parameter sensor (i.e., measurement device 24) coupled to the post (see Campbell, [0025] and FIGs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 68, Campbell further teaches:
wherein the post includes a pin (i.e., “first and second leads 28 and 30”; see [0025] and FIGs. 2-3).
Claims 30, 32, 64, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of FUHR and Berg et al. (US 20170054182 A1; hereinafter “Berg”).
Regarding claims 30 and 32, the prior art applied to the preceding linking claim(s) teaches the features of the linking claim(s).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
(claim 30) a seal around the first post.
(claim 32) wherein the seal includes a bushing.
But Berg teaches:
a seal around a post, wherein the seal includes a bushing (i.e., “A battery connection of the battery cell according to the invention which is associated with the second electrode side of the battery roll of the battery cell comprises a sealing and insulating part, a terminal and a feedthrough bushing”; see [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Campbell in view of FUHR, further in view of Berg, by incorporating a seal around the first post, wherein the seal includes a bushing ,as claimed. The rationale would be to help protect the battery cell.
Regarding claims 64 and 67, the prior art applied to the preceding linking claim(s) teaches the features of the linking claim(s).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
(claim 64) a seal around the post.
(claim 67) wherein the wall includes a bushing.
But Berg teaches:
a seal around a post, wherein the seal includes a bushing (i.e., “A battery connection of the battery cell according to the invention which is associated with the second electrode side of the battery roll of the battery cell comprises a sealing and insulating part, a terminal and a feedthrough bushing”; see [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Campbell in view of FUHR, further in view of Berg, by incorporating a seal around the post, wherein the wall includes a bushing, as claimed. The rationale would be to help protect the battery cell.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of FUHR, Berg, and CHEN (US 20210359365 A1).
Regarding claim 31, the prior art applied to the preceding linking claim(s) teaches the features of the linking claim(s).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the seal includes an O-ring.
But CHEN teaches:
using an O-ring for sealing a post (i.e., “wherein the sealing piece is arranged between the terminal main body and the hole wall of the first hole segment, and the terminal main body and the hole wall of the first hole segment jointly squeeze the sealing piece to seal the installation hole. When the above structure is adopted, the sealing ring is effectively fixed”; see [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Campbell in view of FUHR and Berg, further in view of CHEN, such that the seal includes an O-ring, as claimed. The rationale would be to facilitate the sealing of the post.
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of FUHR and Wruck et al. (US 20020031700 A1; hereinafter “Wruck”).
Regarding claim 69, as a result of modification applied to claim 27 above, Campbell in view of FUHR further teaches:
a terminal (i.e., see terminal 21 in Campbell, FIG. 2; see terminal 58a in FUHR, [0061]) extending through the wall (i.e., 136) between the cells compartment and the BMS compartment (i.e., “bus bars 121 configured to electrically and physically couple to the terminals 58a, 58b of the battery cells 54”; see FUHR, [0061] and FIGs. 9-10),
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the terminal includes lead.
But Wruck teaches:
wherein the terminal includes lead (i.e., “a lead or lead alloy cell post 24”; see [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Campbell in view of FUHR, further in view of Wruck, such that the terminal includes lead, as claimed. The rationale would be to use a known working material for the terminal.
Claims 70-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of FUHR and Tyler et al. (US 20150072209 A1; hereinafter “Tyler”).
Regarding claims 70 and 71, the prior art applied to the preceding linking claim(s) teaches the features of the linking claim(s).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
(claim 70) wherein the post incudes a first cylindrical wall having a first diameter and a second cylindrical wall having a second diameter, the second diameter being different from the first diameter.
(claim 71) wherein the post further includes a tapered wall between the first cylindrical wall and the second cylindrical wall.
But Tyler teaches:
wherein the post (i.e., 230, 232) includes a first cylindrical wall (i.e., the annotated cylindrical wall on the upper portion 54 holding 230 or 232 in FIG. 39, copied below) having a first diameter and a second cylindrical wall (i.e., 273) having a second diameter, the second diameter being different from the first diameter (see FIG. 39).
wherein the post further includes a tapered wall (i.e., “the collars 273 may be tapered”; see [0188]) between the first cylindrical wall and the second cylindrical wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Campbell in view of FUHR, further in view of Tyler, such that the post incudes a first cylindrical wall having a first diameter and a second cylindrical wall having a second diameter, the second diameter being different from the first diameter; and the post further includes a tapered wall between the first cylindrical wall and the second cylindrical wall, as claimed. The rationale would be to use a known arrangement for coupling the post to the busbar.
Regarding claim 72, the prior art applied to the preceding linking claim(s) teaches the features of the linking claim(s).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second cylindrical wall receives a connector of the first parameter sensor.
But the 2nd wall (i.e., 273 in Tyler) is a contact point between the busbar (i.e., 121 in FUHR) and post (i.e., terminals 21 or 22 in Campbell). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Campbell in view of FUHR and Tyler, such that the second cylindrical wall receives a connector of the first parameter sensor, as claimed. The rationale would be to facilitate the sensing of parameters (e.g., terminal voltage).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bertness et al. (US 20030124417 A1) teaches a storage battery includes a battery housing and a plurality of electrochemical cells in the battery housing electrically connected to terminals of the battery. A battery test module is mounted to the battery housing and electrically coupled to the terminals through Kelvin connections. Battery post extensions couple the battery test module to terminals of the battery.
SON (US 20100019773 A1) teaches a battery monitoring device includes a probe for insertion into a valve of a lead acid battery. The battery monitoring device may include a body made of plastic, or other suitable corrosion-resistant material, which can be disposed on one or more batteries to which the device is connected in order to monitor the battery.
Peluso et al. (US 20190393473 A1) teaches a battery comprising a number of straps which connect a number of battery cells in series.
Conclusion
/JOHN C KUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857