DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teo (US 2020/0276586) in view of Liu (WO 2019233303).
Regarding claim 1, Teo teaches a microfluidic device comprising a cartridge housing (200); a central chamber (212) embedded in the cartridge housing; at least one aperture (216) fluidly connected to the central chamber (212); and a plurality of evenly spaced micropillars (208) arranged in a substantially circular shape within the central chamber (212) such that the central chamber is partitioned into at least a first inner region (206) and a first outer region (204).
Teo fails to teach wherein the first inner region comprises endothelial cells configured to mimic a venous sinus and the first outer region comprises endothelial cells and mesenchymal stromal cells configured to mimic a medullary cavity.
Liu teaches a microfluidic device with micropillars comprising circulating endothelial cells (blood samples) and mesenchymal stromal cells (bone marrow samples). Liu teaches “ (1) circulating tumor cells in peripheral blood samples; (2) tumor cells in pleural effusion, ascites fluid, lymph fluid, urine or bone marrow samples; (3) nucleated red blood cells in peripheral blood or umbilical cord blood samples; (4) circulating endothelial cells in peripheral blood samples; (5) Leukocytes, T cells, B cells, lymphocytes, monocytes, granulocytes, natural killer cells, dendrites in peripheral blood, umbilical cord blood, pleural effusion, ascites fluid, urine, cerebrospinal fluid or bone marrow samples Cells, macrophages or hematopoietic stem cells; (6) red blood cells or platelets in peripheral blood, umbilical cord blood, pleural effusion, ascites fluid, urine or bone marrow samples; (7) bacteria or viruses in peripheral blood, pleural effusion, ascites fluid, urine, saliva, plasma, serum, cerebrospinal fluid, semen, prostate fluid or vaginal secretion samples; (8) Isolate the sperm in the semen sample.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Teo with wherein the first inner region comprises endothelial cells configured to mimic a venous sinus and the first outer region comprises endothelial cells and mesenchymal stromal cells configured to mimic a medullary cavity as disclosed in Liu in order to analyze bone marrow and therefore increase the versatility of the device.
Regarding claim 2, the first inner region and the first outer region are concentric. Figure 2B, Teo)
Regarding claim 3, the central chamber (212) comprises an additional second outer region (fig. 2B, Teo) adjacent and concentric to the first outer region, the second outer region being defined by a plurality of evenly spaced micropillars (208) arranged in a substantially circular shape and comprising osteoblasts configured to mimic an endosteal region. (Figure 2B, Teo)
Regarding claim 4, the plurality of micropillars (208) have a cross- sectional shape selected from the group consisting of: circular, ovoid, square, rectangular, triangular, trapezoidal, and polygonal. (Figure 2B, Teo)
Regarding claim 5, the plurality of micropillars (208) are evenly spaced by a distance between about 50 µm and 200 µm. (Figure 2B, Teo)
Regarding claim 6, one or more sensors comprising capture molecules or probes positioned within the central chamber. Teo teaches “the lymphatic fluid subsequently travels through a number of smaller sinuses: the subcapsular sinus (SCS), the trabecular sinus, the medullary sinus through which it gets cleaned and finally leaves the lymph node at the hilus through the efferent lymphatic vessel. FRCs are situated close to the SCS where they can capture and transport antigens from the lymph fluid to the nearby-lying APCs. Particularly, the lymph nodes usually have one efferent vessel and multiple afferent ones. This allows the lymph node to act as a “settling tank” providing sufficient time for lymphocytes to recognize antigens and interact with APCs.”
Regarding claim 7, the capture molecule or probe is selected from the group consisting of: antibodies, antibody fragments, antigens, proteins, nucleic acids, oligonucleotides, peptides, lipids, lectins, inhibitors, activators, ligands, hormones, cytokines, sugars, amino acids, fatty acids, phenols, and alkaloids. ([0002 and [0064], Teo])
Regarding claim 8, the one or more sensors are positioned between each of the micropillars. ([0064, Teo])
Regarding claim 9, the one or more sensors are localized surface plasmon resonance nanoplasmonic biosensors. ([0005])
Regarding claim 10, the device is configured to replicate or mimic a bone marrow disease or disorder state selected from the group consisting of: leukemia, myeloma, anemia, infection, poisoning, and physical injury. (lymph nodes, Teo)
Regarding claim 11, a device replicating or mimicking a leukemia disease state comprises B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia (B-ALL) cells in the first outer region. ([0002, Teo])
Regarding claim 12, providing the device of claim 11; administering a leukemia treatment to the central chamber; and determining leukemia treatment responsiveness based on a measured change in the central chamber. ([0066, Teo])
Regarding claim 13, the leukemia treatment is a chemotherapeutic selected from the group consisting of: nilotinib, prednisone, vincristine, daunorubicin, doxorubicin, cytarabine, L-asparaginase, 6-mercaptopurine, methotrexate, cyclophosphamide, dexamethasone, and nelarabine. ([0098, Teo])
Regarding claim 14, the measured change is a quantity of live and dead B-ALL cells after 1-3 days treatment or more. ([0098, Teo])
Regarding claim 15, the leukemia treatment is chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell therapy, and wherein the central chamber further comprises CAR T-cells in the first inner region. ([0098, Teo])
Regarding claim 16, each of the cells in the central chamber are autologous cells. ([0002])
Regarding claim 17, the measured change is a percent of leukemia cells relative to total cell population in the central chamber that is 5% or less, indicating responsiveness to CAR T-cell therapy. ([0010])
Regarding claim 18, the measured change is a percent of leukemia cells relative to total cell population in the central chamber that is 25% or more, indicating non-responsiveness to CAR T-cell therapy. ([0002])
Regarding claim 19, the measured change is a decrease in CD19 expression in B-ALL cells, indicating non-responsiveness to CAR T-cell therapy. ([0002])
Regarding claim 20, the measured change is an increase in suppressor immune cells, indicating non-responsiveness to CAR T-cell therapy. ([0002])
Regarding claim 21, the measured change is an increase in cytokine levels selected from the group consisting of: IFN-γ, TNF-α, IL-2, and GZMB; indicating responsiveness to CAR T-cell therapy. ([0003])
Regarding claim 22, the measured change is an increase in cytokine levels selected from the group consisting of: TGF-ß, IL-10, M-CSF, and CCL2; indicating non-responsiveness to CAR T-cell therapy. ([0003])
Regarding claim 23, the measured change is an increase in surface markers selected from the group consisting of: CD154, CD69, and CD107a; indicating responsiveness to CAR T-cell therapy. ([0003])
Conclusion
/JYOTI Mutreja/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798