DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination, filed May 18, 2026.
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 3, 4, 9, 18 and 19 had previously been cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10-17, and 20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 15, the last limitation recites “transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure”, without precedent for stored information. Appropriate correction is required, either to omit “the” (i.e., “availability of [[the]] stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure …”), or replace “the” with “a” (i.e., “a”).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210099926 A1 (hereinafter Chen), in view of Wang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240306048 (hereinafter Wang), and in view of Xie et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240224153 A1 (hereinafter Xie).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (e.g., ¶ [0008], UE includes one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing computer-executable instructions embodied therein and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media) and configured to cause the UE to:
detect a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008], receive, from a master node, a conditional reconfiguration [trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0064])] for changing from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in an SCG portion of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the conditional reconfiguration including a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition; evaluate the execution condition; apply the configuration of the target PSCell and synchronizing to the target PSCell after determining that the execution condition is satisfied; e.g., ¶ [0079], If a conditional reconfiguration command includes an execution condition [triggering condition (e.g.,, ¶ [0064])] defined by a measurement ID and the measurement ID is associated with a report configuration of an A3 event with the PSCell as the target, the conditional reconfiguration command may be considered as a CPA or CPC [conditional PSCell change]… If a conditional reconfiguration command includes an execution condition defined by a measurement ID and the measurement ID is associated with a report configuration of an A5 event with the PSCell as the target, the conditional reconfiguration command may be considered as CPA or CPC).
Chen discloses completing a PSCell change, applying (storing) the change configuration (e.g., ¶ [0008], apply the configuration of the target PSCell; e.g., ¶ [0105] [0119] [0127], stored configuration for change [procedure])), or store information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0072] The UE 102 may maintain connection with the source BS 104 after receiving CHO configuration. In action 134, the UE 102 may start evaluating the CHO execution conditions for the candidate cell(s). If at least one CHO candidate cell (e.g., a candidate cell of the target BS #1 106) satisfies the corresponding CHO execution condition, the UE may detach from the source BS, apply the stored corresponding configuration for the selected candidate cell, and synchronize to that candidate cell [i.e., storing information relating to the PSCell change procedure would have been obvious in Chen, as the UE considers the configured trigger conditions and stores the information relating to the PSCell change procedure]).
Chen discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008] receive, from a master node, a conditional reconfiguration [trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0064])] for changing from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in an SCG portion of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the conditional reconfiguration including a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition).
Chen discloses informing a network device of the application of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0128] In action 224, the UE 202 may send a response message (e.g., an Execution Notification message) to inform the MN 204 that the conditional reconfiguration command is executed/applied. For example, the UE 202 may send the Execution Notification message to inform the MN 204 that the conditional reconfiguration command is executed after the inter-SN CPC procedure is completed).
Chen does not expressly disclose in response to detecting the presence of the trigger condition, store information relating to the PSCell change procedure, wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG), a source secondary cell group (SCG), and a target SCG, and/or information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG and one or more of: a random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell; interruption time for the PSCell change procedure; a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell; transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell; and location information of the UE; and transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses a UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition with regard to PSCell change procedure and in response to detecting the presence of the trigger condition, store information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0043] [0110] the terminal device 110 may be configured with SPCR (successful PSCell change report) configuration for MN-initiated PSCell change or SPCR for SN-initiated PSCell change. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may determine whether a condition for triggering the storing of the information is satisfied. If determining that the condition is satisfied, the terminal device 110 may store or collect contents corresponding to the condition as the information [Examiner interprets a successful completion of the change in ¶ [0043] as a procedure and storing the change procedure]), and also discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0043] [0110] the terminal device 110 may be configured with SPCR (successful PSCell change report) configuration for MN-initiated PSCell change or SPCR for SN-initiated PSCell change).
Wang discloses transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122 [i.e., notification of the stored successful completion information and detected beam failure (a detection procedure) may be considered as notification of the stored procedures]).
Wang discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises… information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG1, a source secondary cell group (SCG1, and a target SCG (e.g., ¶ [0043] [0110] determine whether a condition for triggering the storing of the information is satisfied; e.g., ¶ [0044] [0112] the condition may comprise a radio link problem of a source PSCell, e.g., a beam failure; e.g., ¶ [0045] [0112] the terminal device may store radio link problem related parameters of the source PSCell; e.g., ¶ [0117] the terminal device may transmit the stored information to the network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE processing trigger conditions as part of a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of storing and applying particular change information as part of PSCell change procedure, and transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Chen in view of Wang does not expressly disclose the additional limitations for the comprised information relating to the PSCell change procedure [in the alternative]: and one or more of: random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell; interruption time for the PSCell change procedure; a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell; transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell; and location information of the UE.
Xie discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises… location information of the UE (e.g., ¶ [0010] The related information of the CHO or CPAC includes one or more of: … ¶ [0022] position information of the terminal corresponding to the related information of the CHO or CPAC [i.e., position information related to Conditional PSCell Addition or Change]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of in response to UE detecting the presence of a trigger condition, storing information relating to a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wang, with the disclosure of information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprising location information of the UE, as disclosed by Xie. The motivation to combine would have been to optimize handover configuration and/or random access configuration (Xie: e.g., ¶ [0006]).
(Examiner’s Note: while the disclosure of the above limitation in view of Xie is sufficient for disclosing all the required elements of the claim, Examiner may have instead chosen to use a different grounds of rejection, utilizing Kim et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220338077 A1 to disclose a different alternative limitation, “wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises… total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell” (e.g., ¶ [0253] A UE may fail in a random access procedure to establish connection with a base station. A UE may store connection establishment failure information. The connection establishment failure information may comprise at least one of: … location information of the UE comprising coordinates of the location and/or the horizontal velocity of the UE; … a number of preambles sent indicating the number of preambles sent by MAC for the failed random access procedure;…or maximum transmission power reached indicating whether or not the maximum power level was used for the last transmitted preamble. The UE may send a report comprising the connection establishment failure information (e.g., a connection establishment failure report) to a base station)).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 4.
Chen discloses completing a PSCell change procedure (e.g., FIG. 4, ¶ [0142], In some implementations, the source SN 406 (or the current serving SN) may configure the UE 402 with measurement procedures (e.g., configuring a measurement configuration) and the UE 402 may provide measurement reports according to the measurement configuration. Based on the measurement reports received from the UE 402, the source SN 406 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN Change) [i.e., the measurement reports from UE as used for change procedure/reconfiguration]).
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a first message from a network device for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a first message from a network device for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0052] Upon receipt of the availability, the network device 120 may transmit a request for obtaining the information to the terminal device 110. In response to receiving the request, the terminal device 110 may transmit the requested information to the network device 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 5.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a second message to the network device, wherein the second message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a second message to the network device, wherein the second message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Chen discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a RRC reconfiguration message from a master node (MN) (e.g., FIG. 2, ¶ [0124] In action 216, the MN 204 may send to the UE 202 an RRC Reconfiguration message that includes one or more conditional reconfiguration command(s)).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses a master node (MN) (e.g., FIGS. 2, 5, ¶ [0008], master node (MN); FIG. 9, node 900 (as a base station (e.g., ¶ [0191]))) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (e.g., FIG. 9, transceiver 920, a processor 928, a memory 934) and configured to cause the MN to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for triggering a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008], receive, from a master node, a conditional reconfiguration [trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0064])] for changing from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in an SCG portion of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the conditional reconfiguration including a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition); and receive, from the UE, an indication for information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008], UE evaluates the execution condition; apply the configuration of the target PSCell and synchronizing to the target PSCell after determining that the execution condition is satisfied; and transmit, to the master node, a response message after determining that the conditional reconfiguration is applied).
The remaining limitations of claim 15 are directed to the master node transmitting and receiving particular information in communication with a UE that is functionally similar to the information that is received and transmitted by the UE in claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 8.
Chen discloses completing a PSCell change procedure (e.g., FIG. 4, ¶ [0142], In some implementations, the source SN 406 (or the current serving SN) may configure the UE 402 with measurement procedures (e.g., configuring a measurement configuration) and the UE 402 may provide measurement reports according to the measurement configuration. Based on the measurement reports received from the UE 402, the source SN 406 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN Change) [i.e., the measurement reports from UE as used for change procedure/reconfiguration]).
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0052] Upon receipt of the availability, the network device 120 may transmit a request for obtaining the information to the terminal device 110. In response to receiving the request, the terminal device 110 may transmit the requested information to the network device 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 8.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 11.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit a third message to at least one of a source secondary node (SN), a target SN, an access and mobility management function (AMF), and a mobility management entity (MME), wherein the third message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit a third message to at least one of a source secondary node (SN), a target SN, an access and mobility management function (AMF), and a mobility management entity (MME), wherein the third message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0066] the terminal device 110 reports availability of the SPCR information to the target SN (in this example, the SN 121) by SRB3 and transmits the SPCR information to the target SN by SRB3 upon receipt of a request for the SPCR information from the SN 121; e.g., ¶ [0068] as shown in FIG. 4, the terminal device 110 may transmit 410 availability of SPCR information to the SN 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 12.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises one or more of: a Xn application protocol (XnAP) identifier (ID) of the UE allocated at the source SN;a X2 application protocol (X2AP) ID of the UE allocated at the source SN;a XnAP ID of the UE allocated at the target SN;a X2AP ID of the UE allocated at the target SN;a XnAP ID of the UE allocated at the MN; a X2AP ID of the UE allocated at the MN; PSCell change information; a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of a source PSCell of the UE; a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the source PSCell together with frequency information; a cell global identifier (CGI) of the source PSCell; and a context of the UE.
Wang discloses wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises: PSCell change information (e.g., ¶ [0068] as shown in FIG. 4, the terminal device 110 may transmit 410 availability of SPCR information to the SN 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 8.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises: PSCell change information.
Wang discloses wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises: PSCell change information (e.g., ¶ [0068] as shown in FIG. 4, the terminal device 110 may transmit 410 availability of SPCR information to the SN 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen discloses a source secondary node (SN) (e.g., FIGS. 2, 5, secondary node (SN); FIG. 9, node 900 (as a base station (e.g., ¶ [0191]))) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (e.g., FIG. 9, transceiver 920, a processor 928, a memory 934) and configured to cause the source SN to: initiate a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure in relation to a user equipment (UE) (e.g., ¶ [0107], for an SN-initiated SN change procedure, the source SN may provide the associated execution condition(s) for a conditional reconfiguration command; e.g., FIG. 5, ¶ [0145], FIG. 5 illustrates an SN-initiated inter-SN CPC procedure 500.... In action 510, the source SN 506 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN change). In some implementations, the source SN 506 (or the current serving SN) may configure the UE 502 with measurement procedures and the UE 502 may provide measurement reports according to the configured measurement procedures. Based on the measurement reports received from the UE 502, the source SN 506 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN Change)).
Chen discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008] receive, from a master node, a conditional reconfiguration [trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0064])] for changing from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in an SCG portion of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the conditional reconfiguration including a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition).
Chen does not expressly disclose the SN receiving a first message, wherein the first message includes information relating to the PSCell change procedure, wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell changes procedure, information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG), a source secondary cell group (SCG), and a target SCG, and/or information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG, and one or more of random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell; interruption time for the PSCell change procedure; a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell; transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell; and location information of the UE; and transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122 [i.e., notification of the stored successful completion information and detected beam failure (a detection procedure) may be considered as notification of the stored procedures]).
Wang discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises… information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG1, a source secondary cell group (SCG1, and a target SCG (e.g., ¶ [0043] [0110] determine whether a condition for triggering the storing of the information is satisfied; e.g., ¶ [0044] [0112] the condition may comprise a radio link problem of a source PSCell, e.g., a beam failure; e.g., ¶ [0045] [0112] the terminal device may store radio link problem related parameters of the source PSCell; e.g., ¶ [0117] the terminal device may transmit the stored information to the network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE processing trigger conditions as part of a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of storing and applying particular change information as part of PSCell change procedure, and transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Chen in view of Wang does not expressly disclose the additional limitations for the comprised information relating to the PSCell change procedure [in the alternative]: and one or more of: random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell; interruption time for the PSCell change procedure; a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell; transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell; and location information of the UE.
Xie discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises… location information of the UE (e.g., ¶ [0010] The related information of the CHO or CPAC includes one or more of: … ¶ [0022] position information of the terminal corresponding to the related information of the CHO or CPAC [i.e., position information related to Conditional PSCell Addition or Change]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of in response to UE detecting the presence of a trigger condition, storing information relating to a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wang, with the disclosure of information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprising location information of the UE, as disclosed by Xie. The motivation to combine would have been to optimize handover configuration and/or random access configuration (Xie: e.g., ¶ [0006]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Chen: e.g., FIG. 9, node 900 (as a UE (e.g., ¶ [0191])), with transceiver 920, a processor 928, a memory 934) and configured to cause the processor to perform operations that are functionally similar to the method of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 16.
Regarding Claim 20, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the processor of claim 16.
The functional limitations of Claim 20 are similar to claim 5. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 5 shall be applied to claim 20.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie, in further view of Deenoo et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200154326 A1 (hereinafter Deenoo).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Chen discloses that conditional reconfiguration command for PSCell addition/change may be optionally applied based on the channel quality of MN (e.g., ¶ [0101]), based on A3 measurement event (i.e., measuring if the quality of a neighbor cell is higher than the quality of Pcell/PScell by an offset amount) and/or A5 measurement event (i.e., measuring if the quality of Pcell/PScell is lower than an absolute first threshold and the quality of a neighbor cell is higher than a second absolute threshold) (e.g., ¶ [0104]), and/or B1 measurement event (i.e., measuring if the quality of an inter-RAT neighboring cell is higher than a threshold) (e.g., ¶ [0108]).
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the trigger condition comprises:
successfully completing the RACH procedure to the target PSCell;
a radio problem in the source SCG is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure;
a radio problem in the source MCG is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure;
a radio problem in the target SCG is detected after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a beam failure is detected in at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG, before or during the PSCell change procedure or shortly after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a RACH delay towards the target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure is higher than a delay threshold;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure is higher than an interruption threshold;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell during the RACH procedure is higher than a number threshold;
a link quality of the target PSCell is lower than a first quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a link quality of the source PSCell is higher than a second quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
one or more radio link control (RLC) retransmission counters for the source MCG exceed a first counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the source SCG exceed a second counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the target SCG exceed a third counter threshold;
or a combination thereof.
Deenoo discloses wherein the trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0100], The examples given herein may utilize a carrier reconfiguration for an intra-eNB, secondary cell (SCell), or a conditional SCell reconfiguration. A WTRU may determine the timing of SCell addition or change based on a trigger condition. In addition, multi-connectivity inter-secondary eNB (inter-SeNB), primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) addition or change may be utilized) comprises:
successfully completing the RACH procedure to the target PSCell (e.g., ¶ [0165], a WTRU may perform a random access procedure in the target cell at the first available opportunity after a reconfiguration; e.g., ¶ [0103], A reconfiguration or configuration element may be associated with a serving cell, one or more parameters associated with a serving cell, or to a specific target. A target may be a beam, Scell, PScell, Pcell, an inter-RAT cell, a frequency, an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN), or the like);
a radio problem in the source SCG is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0140], In a configuration the timer associated with the conditional reconfiguration, such as timer TC310, started when a certain number of consecutive out-of-sync indications are above a threshold, may be lower than or equal to the timer associated with radio link failure such as timer T310… A WTRU may also be configured with trigger conditions based on problem detection at different layers. For example, the problem detection may include triggers based on RLM status, such as in-sync or out-of-sync indications), random access failures, or maximum retransmissions at RLC layer);
a radio problem in a source master cell group (MCG) is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure;
a radio problem in a target SCG is detected after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a beam failure is detected in at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG, before or during the PSCell change procedure or shortly after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a RACH delay towards the target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure is higher than a delay threshold (e.g., ¶ [0137], A WTRU may also be configured to perform conditional reconfiguration when the latency of an ongoing random access procedure is above a certain or preconfigured threshold);
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure is higher than an interruption threshold;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell during the RACH procedure is higher than a number threshold;
a link quality of the target PSCell is lower than a first quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a link quality of the source PSCell is higher than a second quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
one or more radio link control (RLC) retransmission counters for the source MCG exceed a first counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the source SCG exceed a second counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the target SCG exceed a third counter threshold;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE processing trigger conditions as part of a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Wang and view of Xie, with the disclosure of particular trigger conditions as part of PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Deenoo. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient detection of communication impairment events and performance of corrective actions (Deenoo: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen in view of Wang and in view of Xie discloses all the limitations of the processor of claim 16.
The functional limitations of Claim 17 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471