DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to Applicant’s Supplemental Amended Response filed February 25, 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 3, 4, 9, 18 and 19 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10-17, and 20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner thanks Applicant’s representative for Interview on February 24, 2026. Examiner had considered the possibility that prior art reference, “Wang” (US 20240306048 A1), used in the most recent office action filed January 6, 2026, to reject the limitation of a user equipment storing and notifying a network device of information “relating to the PSCell change procedure”, had disclosed the completed result of the PScell change, not information related to the procedure itself. Examiner had considered that there may be a distinction in the completed result and the procedure, and reciting as such may constitute overcoming Wang disclosure. However, upon further review, Examiner believes that the amended claims are not yet in condition for allowance.
First, Examiner believes that Applicant’s claims’ recitation of the PSCell change procedure information may be interpreted as the successful completion of the change procedure.
For example, amended claim 1 recites:
“…configured to cause the UE to: detect a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
in response to detecting the presence of the trigger condition, store information relating to the PSCell change procedure, wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure and one or more of:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG1, a source secondary cell group (SCG1, and a target SCG;
information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG; information relating to the PSCell change procedure;
a random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell;
transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell;
and location information of the UE;
and transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.”
Therefore, upon further review, Examiner believes that the Wang, as part of the existing grounds of rejection, discloses or reasonably suggests that the UE, storing and sharing the successful completion of the PSCell procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122), stores and transmits information relating to the PSCell change procedure, wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure. Even if Examiner misinterprets the claim to recite the information relating to the PSCell change procedure possibly being successful completion of the PSCell change procedure, storing successful completion information for the change, as seen in Wang, may be interpreted as storing the change procedure (i.e., the successful change action is a procedure), and thus notification of the stored successful completion information may be considered as notification of the stored procedure.
Further, Examiner believes that Wang also discloses or fairly suggests that information relating to the PSCell change procedure may also comprise information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG), a source secondary cell group (SCG), and a target SCG. The terminal device of Wang may determine whether a condition for triggering the storing of the information is satisfied (e.g., ¶ [0043]), the condition may comprise a radio link problem of a source PSCell, e.g., a beam failure (e.g., ¶ [0044] [0112]), the terminal device may store radio link problem related parameters of the source PSCell (e.g., ¶ [0045] [0112]), and the terminal device may transmit the stored information to the network device (e.g., ¶ [0117]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210099926 A1 (hereinafter Chen), in view of Deenoo et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200154326 A1 (hereinafter Deenoo), and in view of Wang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240306048 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (e.g., ¶ [0008], UE includes one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing computer-executable instructions embodied therein and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media) and configured to cause the UE to:
detect a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008], receive, from a master node, a conditional reconfiguration [trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0064])] for changing from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in an SCG portion of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the conditional reconfiguration including a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition; evaluate the execution condition; apply the configuration of the target PSCell and synchronizing to the target PSCell after determining that the execution condition is satisfied; e.g., ¶ [0079], If a conditional reconfiguration command includes an execution condition [triggering condition (e.g.,, ¶ [0064])] defined by a measurement ID and the measurement ID is associated with a report configuration of an A3 event with the PSCell as the target, the conditional reconfiguration command may be considered as a CPA or CPC [conditional PSCell change]… If a conditional reconfiguration command includes an execution condition defined by a measurement ID and the measurement ID is associated with a report configuration of an A5 event with the PSCell as the target, the conditional reconfiguration command may be considered as CPA or CPC).
Chen discloses completing a PSCell change, applying (storing) the change configuration (e.g., ¶ [0008], apply the configuration of the target PSCell; e.g., ¶ [0105] [0119] [0127], stored configuration for change [procedure])).
Chen does not expressly disclose in response to detecting the presence of the trigger condition, store information relating to the PSCell change procedure, wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure and one or more of:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG1, a source secondary cell group (SCG1, and a target SCG;
information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG; information relating to the PSCell change procedure;
a random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell;
transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell;
and location information of the UE;
and transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Deenoo discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0100], The examples given herein may utilize a carrier reconfiguration for an intra-eNB, secondary cell (SCell), or a conditional SCell reconfiguration. A WTRU may determine the timing of SCell addition or change based on a trigger condition. In addition, multi-connectivity inter-secondary eNB (inter-SeNB), primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) addition or change may be utilized) comprises:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG), a source secondary cell group (SCG), and a target SCG (e.g., ¶ [0140], problem detection may include triggers based on RLM status, such as in-sync or out-of-sync indications [i.e., as noted, change procedures may be for primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) (e.g., ¶ [0100]) and reconfiguration or configuration element may be associated with a serving cell, one or more parameters associated with a serving cell, or to a specific target. A target may be a beam, Scell, PScell, Pcell, an inter-RAT cell (e.g.., ¶ [0103])]. Examiner interprets Deenoo disclosure of target for monitoring in this case as being a target SCG).
(The other limitations, in the alternative, below, for the change information are not being addressed in this step:
information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG; information relating to the PSCell change procedure;
a random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell;
transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell;
and location information of the UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE processing trigger conditions as part of a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of storing and applying particular change information as part of PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Deenoo. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient detection of communication impairment events and performance of corrective actions (Deenoo: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Chen in view of Deenoo does not expressly disclose transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses in response to detecting the presence of the trigger condition, store information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0043] [0110] the terminal device 110 may be configured with SPCR (successful PSCell change report) configuration for MN-initiated PSCell change or SPCR for SN-initiated PSCell change. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may determine whether a condition for triggering the storing of the information is satisfied. If determining that the condition is satisfied, the terminal device 110 may store or collect contents corresponding to the condition as the information), wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0043] store successful PSCell change report (SCPR) information [Examiner interprets a successful completion of the change as a procedure, and thus interprets storing the information of the change as storing the change procedure (i.e., the successful change action is a procedure)]) and one or more of:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG1, a source secondary cell group (SCG1, and a target SCG (e.g., ¶ [0043] [0110] determine whether a condition for triggering the storing of the information is satisfied; e.g., ¶ [0044] [0112] the condition may comprise a radio link problem of a source PSCell, e.g., a beam failure; e.g., ¶ [0045] [0112] the terminal device may store radio link problem related parameters of the source PSCell; e.g., ¶ [0117] the terminal device may transmit the stored information to the network device); and transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122 [i.e., notification of the stored successful completion information and detected beam failure (a detection procedure) may be considered as notification of the stored procedures]).
(The other limitations, in the alternative, below, for the stored change information are not being addressed in this step:
information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG; information relating to the PSCell change procedure;
a random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell;
transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell;
and location information of the UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Chen discloses that conditional reconfiguration command for PSCell addition/change may be optionally applied based on the channel quality of MN (e.g., ¶ [0101]), based on A3 measurement event (i.e., measuring if the quality of a neighbor cell is higher than the quality of Pcell/PScell by an offset amount) and/or A5 measurement event (i.e., measuring if the quality of Pcell/PScell is lower than an absolute first threshold and the quality of a neighbor cell is higher than a second absolute threshold) (e.g., ¶ [0104]), and/or B1 measurement event (i.e., measuring if the quality of an inter-RAT neighboring cell is higher than a threshold) (e.g., ¶ [0108]).
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the trigger condition comprises:
successfully completing the RACH procedure to the target PSCell;
a radio problem in the source SCG is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure;
a radio problem in the source MCG is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure;
a radio problem in the target SCG is detected after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a beam failure is detected in at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG, before or during the PSCell change procedure or shortly after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a RACH delay towards the target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure is higher than a delay threshold;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure is higher than an interruption threshold;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell during the RACH procedure is higher than a number threshold;
a link quality of the target PSCell is lower than a first quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a link quality of the source PSCell is higher than a second quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
one or more radio link control (RLC) retransmission counters for the source MCG exceed a first counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the source SCG exceed a second counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the target SCG exceed a third counter threshold;
or a combination thereof.
Deenoo discloses wherein the trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0100], The examples given herein may utilize a carrier reconfiguration for an intra-eNB, secondary cell (SCell), or a conditional SCell reconfiguration. A WTRU may determine the timing of SCell addition or change based on a trigger condition. In addition, multi-connectivity inter-secondary eNB (inter-SeNB), primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) addition or change may be utilized) comprises:
successfully completing the RACH procedure to the target PSCell (e.g., ¶ [0165], a WTRU may perform a random access procedure in the target cell at the first available opportunity after a reconfiguration; e.g., ¶ [0103], A reconfiguration or configuration element may be associated with a serving cell, one or more parameters associated with a serving cell, or to a specific target. A target may be a beam, Scell, PScell, Pcell, an inter-RAT cell, a frequency, an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN), or the like);
a radio problem in the source SCG is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0140], In a configuration the timer associated with the conditional reconfiguration, such as timer TC310, started when a certain number of consecutive out-of-sync indications are above a threshold, may be lower than or equal to the timer associated with radio link failure such as timer T310… A WTRU may also be configured with trigger conditions based on problem detection at different layers. For example, the problem detection may include triggers based on RLM status, such as in-sync or out-of-sync indications), random access failures, or maximum retransmissions at RLC layer);
a radio problem in a source master cell group (MCG) is detected before or during the PSCell change procedure;
a radio problem in a target SCG is detected after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a beam failure is detected in at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG, before or during the PSCell change procedure or shortly after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a RACH delay towards the target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure is higher than a delay threshold (e.g., ¶ [0137], A WTRU may also be configured to perform conditional reconfiguration when the latency of an ongoing random access procedure is above a certain or preconfigured threshold);
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure is higher than an interruption threshold;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell during the RACH procedure is higher than a number threshold;
a link quality of the target PSCell is lower than a first quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
a link quality of the source PSCell is higher than a second quality threshold upon successfully completing the PSCell change procedure;
one or more radio link control (RLC) retransmission counters for the source MCG exceed a first counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the source SCG exceed a second counter threshold;
one or more RLC retransmission counters for the target SCG exceed a third counter threshold;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE processing trigger conditions as part of a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of particular trigger conditions as part of PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Deenoo. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient detection of communication impairment events and performance of corrective actions (Deenoo: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 4.
Chen discloses completing a PSCell change procedure (e.g., FIG. 4, ¶ [0142], In some implementations, the source SN 406 (or the current serving SN) may configure the UE 402 with measurement procedures (e.g., configuring a measurement configuration) and the UE 402 may provide measurement reports according to the measurement configuration. Based on the measurement reports received from the UE 402, the source SN 406 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN Change) [i.e., the measurement reports from UE as used for change procedure/reconfiguration]).
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a first message from a network device for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a first message from a network device for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0052] Upon receipt of the availability, the network device 120 may transmit a request for obtaining the information to the terminal device 110. In response to receiving the request, the terminal device 110 may transmit the requested information to the network device 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 5.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a second message to the network device, wherein the second message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a second message to the network device, wherein the second message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Chen discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a RRC reconfiguration message from a master node (MN) (e.g., FIG. 2, ¶ [0124] In action 216, the MN 204 may send to the UE 202 an RRC Reconfiguration message that includes one or more conditional reconfiguration command(s)).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses a master node (MN) (e.g., FIGS. 2, 5, ¶ [0008], master node (MN); FIG. 9, node 900 (as a base station (e.g., ¶ [0191]))) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (e.g., FIG. 9, transceiver 920, a processor 928, a memory 934) and configured to cause the MN to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for triggering a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008], receive, from a master node, a conditional reconfiguration [trigger condition (e.g., ¶ [0064])] for changing from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in an SCG portion of a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the conditional reconfiguration including a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition); and receive, from the UE, an indication for information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0008], UE evaluates the execution condition; apply the configuration of the target PSCell and synchronizing to the target PSCell after determining that the execution condition is satisfied; and transmit, to the master node, a response message after determining that the conditional reconfiguration is applied).
Chen does not expressly disclose receiving, from the UE, an indication of an availability of stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure and one or more of:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG1, a source secondary cell group (SCG1, and a target SCG;
information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG; information relating to the PSCell change procedure;
a random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell;
transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell;
and location information of the UE.
Deenoo discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0100], The examples given herein may utilize a carrier reconfiguration for an intra-eNB, secondary cell (SCell), or a conditional SCell reconfiguration. A WTRU may determine the timing of SCell addition or change based on a trigger condition. In addition, multi-connectivity inter-secondary eNB (inter-SeNB), primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) addition or change may be utilized) comprises:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG), a source secondary cell group (SCG), and a target SCG (e.g., ¶ [0140], problem detection may include triggers based on RLM status, such as in-sync or out-of-sync indications [i.e., as noted, change procedures may be for primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) (e.g., ¶ [0100]) and reconfiguration or configuration element may be associated with a serving cell, one or more parameters associated with a serving cell, or to a specific target. A target may be a beam, Scell, PScell, Pcell, an inter-RAT cell (e.g.., ¶ [0103])]. Examiner interprets Deenoo disclosure of target for monitoring in this case as being a target SCG).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE processing trigger conditions as part of a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of particular trigger conditions as part of PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Deenoo. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient detection of communication impairment events and performance of corrective actions (Deenoo: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Chen in view of Deenoo does not expressly disclose receiving, from the UE, an indication of an availability of stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses receive, from the UE, indication of an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122 [i.e., notification of the stored successful completion information and detected beam failure (a detection procedure) may be considered as notification of the stored procedures]), wherein in response to the UE detecting a trigger condition before, during or after the PSCell change procedure, the UE stores the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0043] [0110] the terminal device 110 may be configured with SPCR (successful PSCell change report) configuration for MN-initiated PSCell change or SPCR for SN-initiated PSCell change. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may determine whether a condition for triggering the storing of the information is satisfied. If determining that the condition is satisfied, the terminal device 110 may store or collect contents corresponding to the condition as the information) and transmits the indication of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122 [i.e., notification of the stored successful completion information and detected beam failure (a detection procedure) may be considered as notification of the stored procedures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 8.
Chen discloses completing a PSCell change procedure (e.g., FIG. 4, ¶ [0142], In some implementations, the source SN 406 (or the current serving SN) may configure the UE 402 with measurement procedures (e.g., configuring a measurement configuration) and the UE 402 may provide measurement reports according to the measurement configuration. Based on the measurement reports received from the UE 402, the source SN 406 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN Change) [i.e., the measurement reports from UE as used for change procedure/reconfiguration]).
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0052] Upon receipt of the availability, the network device 120 may transmit a request for obtaining the information to the terminal device 110. In response to receiving the request, the terminal device 110 may transmit the requested information to the network device 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 8.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit, to the UE, a first message for requesting the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the terminal device 110 may transmit 310 availability of SPCR information to the MN 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 11.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit a third message to at least one of a source secondary node (SN), a target SN, an access and mobility management function (AMF), and a mobility management entity (MME), wherein the third message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the MN to transmit a third message to at least one of a source secondary node (SN), a target SN, an access and mobility management function (AMF), and a mobility management entity (MME), wherein the third message includes the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0066] the terminal device 110 reports availability of the SPCR information to the target SN (in this example, the SN 121) by SRB3 and transmits the SPCR information to the target SN by SRB3 upon receipt of a request for the SPCR information from the SN 121; e.g., ¶ [0068] as shown in FIG. 4, the terminal device 110 may transmit 410 availability of SPCR information to the SN 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 12.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises one or more of: a Xn application protocol (XnAP) identifier (ID) of the UE allocated at the source SN;a X2 application protocol (X2AP) ID of the UE allocated at the source SN;a XnAP ID of the UE allocated at the target SN;a X2AP ID of the UE allocated at the target SN;a XnAP ID of the UE allocated at the MN; a X2AP ID of the UE allocated at the MN; PSCell change information; a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of a source PSCell of the UE; a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the source PSCell together with frequency information; a cell global identifier (CGI) of the source PSCell; and a context of the UE.
Wang discloses wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises: PSCell change information (e.g., ¶ [0068] as shown in FIG. 4, the terminal device 110 may transmit 410 availability of SPCR information to the SN 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the MN of claim 8.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises: PSCell change information.
Wang discloses wherein in response to transmitting the third message to the source SN, the third message comprises: PSCell change information (e.g., ¶ [0068] as shown in FIG. 4, the terminal device 110 may transmit 410 availability of SPCR information to the SN 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses a source secondary node (SN) (e.g., FIGS. 2, 5, secondary node (SN); FIG. 9, node 900 (as a base station (e.g., ¶ [0191]))) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (e.g., FIG. 9, transceiver 920, a processor 928, a memory 934) and configured to cause the source SN to: initiate a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure in relation to a user equipment (UE) (e.g., ¶ [0107], for an SN-initiated SN change procedure, the source SN may provide the associated execution condition(s) for a conditional reconfiguration command; e.g., FIG. 5, ¶ [0145], FIG. 5 illustrates an SN-initiated inter-SN CPC procedure 500.... In action 510, the source SN 506 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN change). In some implementations, the source SN 506 (or the current serving SN) may configure the UE 502 with measurement procedures and the UE 502 may provide measurement reports according to the configured measurement procedures. Based on the measurement reports received from the UE 502, the source SN 506 may decide to use conditional reconfiguration for inter-SN PSCell change (or SN Change)).
Chen does not expressly disclose the SN receiving a first message, wherein the first message includes information relating to the PSCell change procedure, wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure comprises information relating to the PSCell change procedure and one or more of:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG1, a source secondary cell group (SCG1, and a target SCG;
information relating to one or more beam failure detection (BFD) procedures for at least one of the source MCG, the source SCG, and the target SCG; information relating to the PSCell change procedure;
a random access channel (RACH) delay towards the target PSCell;
interruption time for the PSCell change procedure;
a total number of preambles transmitted towards the target PSCell;
transmission power of the UE for a RACH procedure towards the target PSCell;
and location information of the UE;
and transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Deenoo discloses wherein the information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0100], The examples given herein may utilize a carrier reconfiguration for an intra-eNB, secondary cell (SCell), or a conditional SCell reconfiguration. A WTRU may determine the timing of SCell addition or change based on a trigger condition. In addition, multi-connectivity inter-secondary eNB (inter-SeNB), primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) addition or change may be utilized) comprises:
information relating to one or more radio link monitoring (RLM) procedures for at least one of a source master cell group (MCG), a source secondary cell group (SCG), and a target SCG (e.g., ¶ [0140], problem detection may include triggers based on RLM status, such as in-sync or out-of-sync indications [i.e., as noted, change procedures may be for primary SCell (PSCell), or a conditional secondary cell group (SCG) (e.g., ¶ [0100]) and reconfiguration or configuration element may be associated with a serving cell, one or more parameters associated with a serving cell, or to a specific target. A target may be a beam, Scell, PScell, Pcell, an inter-RAT cell (e.g.., ¶ [0103])]. Examiner interprets Deenoo disclosure of target for monitoring in this case as being a target SCG).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE processing trigger conditions as part of a PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen, with the disclosure of particular trigger conditions as part of PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Deenoo. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient detection of communication impairment events and performance of corrective actions (Deenoo: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Chen in view of Deenoo does not expressly disclose the SN receiving information relating to the PSCell change procedure, and transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure.
Wang discloses the SN configured to receive a first message, wherein the first message includes information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0071] the terminal device 110 may transmit, to the SN 121, the availability of SPCR information), and transmit an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure (e.g., ¶ [0072] upon receipt of the availability of SPCR information… the SN 121 may forward 420 the availability of SPCR information… to the MN 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE detecting a presence of a trigger condition before or during a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change procedure from a source PSCell to a target PSCell in relation to the UE or after successfully completing the PSCell change procedure, and particular information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Chen in view of Deenoo, with the disclosure of transmitting an indication to a network device to indicate an availability of the stored information relating to the PSCell change procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support efficient reporting of a successful change of a primary cell of a secondary node (Wang: e.g., ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Chen: e.g., FIG. 9, node 900 (as a UE (e.g., ¶ [0191])), with transceiver 920, a processor 928, a memory 934) and configured to cause the processor to perform operations that are functionally similar to the method of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the processor of claim 16.
The functional limitations of Claim 17 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 17.
Regarding Claim 20, Chen in view of Deenoo and in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the processor of claim 16.
The functional limitations of Claim 20 are similar to claim 5. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 5 shall be applied to claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471