DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (KR 20190026572 A) in view of Lin (CN 108675231 A).
Re claims 1 & 2, Suzuki et al. show a structure (Fig. 1) comprising a bubble generation device for geoengineering, wherein said structure is characterized by being:
(A) a structure (1) having an effective relative velocity difference with respect to an atmosphere so that a desired area of the structure which contacts the atmosphere can generate turbulence which breaks down bubbles; or
(B) a structure (1) that can maintain an effective relative velocity difference with respect to seawater so that wake waves which break down foam that has dropped onto a water surface from a bubble discharge port can be generated,
wherein the structure includes a turbulence generation device (11/12, or a wave maker (11/12 & 2/3) for breaking down released bubbles, and
wherein at least one foaming device (Fig. 9, 50) is installed on one of the above structures.
Suzuki et al. does not teach a rotary vane that serves as a turbulence generation device and a foam cutter is attached near the bubble discharge port.
However, Lin shows at least one foaming device (7/8), to which a rotary vane (803) that serves as a turbulence generation device and a foam cutter is attached near the bubble discharge port.
The substitution of one known element (foaming device in Suzuki) for another (foaming device as shown in Lin) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the foaming device shown in Lin would have yielded predictable results, namely, a foaming device in Suzuki et al. to provide fire extinguishing (Suzuki – abstract; Lin – paragraph 0015).
Re claim 4, Suzuki et al. as modified by Lin show the structure is a ship (Suzuki – 1) equipped with the bubble generation device, wherein a tower (Suzuki – 7) is installed onto a deck of the ship, the tower extending up into a strong wind region having the effective relative velocity difference with respect to the atmosphere so as to generate the turbulence which breaks down the bubbles at the desired area which contacts the atmosphere, wherein a blade (Suzuki - 58) projecting to the left and right is attached to an upper part of the tower, and wherein foaming devices (Suzuki – 50/Lin – 7/8) are attached to the blade separated by a distance from each other such that bubbles which are released do not interfere with each other, and the discharge ports (Lin – 7) are oriented opposite a traveling direction of the ship.
Re claim 7, Suzuki et al. as modified by Lin show the bubble generation device (Lin – 7/8) generates the bubbles to be discharged which have a lower specific gravity than the atmosphere so that the bubbles obtain buoyancy from the atmosphere after separating from the bubble discharge port (Lin – 7) and accelerate on their own to continue to rise and separate from subsequent bubbles and diffuse as the distance from the subsequent bubbles increases.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Suzuki does not teach a structure for geoengineering, as this is merely the recited intended use and Suzuki (in view of Lin) discloses all of the claimed structure, the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. Applicant states that “Suzuki does not expose foam to sunlight or external air” however, Suzuki explicitly discloses “that the air in the hold 5 is pushed out and discharged or the outside air is pushed into the hold 5” readily found in paragraph 2 of page 3 of the included translation and that the air supplied to blower 50 is also “outside air” as disclosed in paragraph 4 on page 6 of the included translation. Thus, contrary to applicant’s assertion, the foam is in fact exposed to external air.
Regarding applicant’s argument of combination with the Lin reference, the central aspect of which appears to rest on the idea that Lin creates smaller bubbles than Suzuki, however this does not appear to diminish the function of either device in any way. If anything, they appear to be accomplishing the exact same function in a different way which in no way destroys the Suzuki reference and if anything enhances the basis of the modification.
In response to applicant's argument that “the bearings and seals of small microbubble machine often rely on water for lubrication and cooling with water,” the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Both Suzuki and Lin teach foaming devices that require water and air. Both references utilize components to mechanically bring outside air into the system to mix with the water to create foam. The exact form that the foam takes isn’t the function of either device, the function is what is accomplished by the foam once it’s released, and in this instance both reference utilize foam for the exact same function.
Lastly, applicant argues that Lin “is not configured for the claimed geoengineering” however, again, as this is merely the intended use of the claimed invention, with all of the claimed structure present and no further claimed details required, such as further structure required to perform this function, that would differentiate the claimed invention from the prior art combination, there appears to be no reason that the prior art cannot be considered capable of performing this intended use.
In light of these remarks, all prior art rejections shall be maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752