DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fixed member comprises a second insertion slot, the second insertion slot configured to receive a first portion of a second flexible element; the rotating member comprises a second guide that is offset from the axis of rotation, the second guide configured to enable a second portion of the second flexible element to pass through the rotating member; and the rotation mechanism is configured to rotate the rotating member in the first direction around the axis of rotation to coil both the second portion of the first flexible element and the second portion of the second flexible element around the shaft” as set forth in Claim 11; the “electric motor; spring; or hand crank” as set forth in Claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (U.S. Patent No. 6,971,605) in view of Scherer (U.S. Patent No. 4,589,601).
With respect to Claim 1, Martin, Figures 1-2, teaches an apparatus comprising:
a fixed member 112 comprising an insertion slot 138, the insertion slot 138 configured to secure a first portion of a flexible element;
a shaft 102 having first and second ends, the first end positioned proximate to the fixed member;
a rotating member 114 positioned proximate to the second end of the shaft and configured to rotatably move about an axis of rotation, the rotating member 114 comprising a guide 116 offset from the axis of rotation, the guide 116 configured to enable a second portion of the flexible element to pass through the rotating member; and
a rotation mechanism 110 configured to rotate the rotating member in a first direction around the axis of rotation to coil the second portion of the flexible element around the shaft, wherein:
the shaft 102 is configured to be relatively stationary compared to the rotating member.
Martin teaches all the elements of the apparatus except for
the shaft comprising at least one tapered section such that the shaft has a first cross-sectional area proximate to the rotating member and a second cross-sectional area proximate to the fixed member, the first cross-sectional area being larger than the second cross-sectional area.
However, Scherer, Figures 1-2, teaches
a shaft 6 comprising at least one tapered section such that the shaft has a first cross-sectional area proximate to the rotating member and a second cross-sectional area proximate to the fixed member, the first cross-sectional area being larger than the second cross-sectional area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Martin with a tapered surface, as taught by Scherer, because this permits the turns of material to be nested into each other and permits a longer length of material to be wound on the spool.
With respect to Claim 2, Martin further teaches wherein the fixed member 112 and the shaft 102 are configured to be substantially stationary while the rotating member rotates in the first direction.
With respect to Claim 3, Martin further teaches wherein the insertion slot 138 of the fixed member is configured to hold the first portion of the flexible element at a fixed position while the second portion of the flexible element coils around the shaft.
With respect to Claim 4, Martin further teaches wherein the guide 116 of the rotating member 114 is configured to position the second portion of the flexible element along another axis that is approximately parallel to the axis of rotation and perpendicular to a direction of rotation.
With respect to Claim 5, Martin further teaches wherein: a length of the shaft is positioned along the axis of rotation; a planar surface of the rotating member is approximately perpendicular to the axis of rotation; and a planar surface of the fixed member is approximately perpendicular to the axis of rotation.
With respect to Claim 7, Martin further teaches wherein the rotation mechanism is configured to rotate the rotating member in a second direction around the axis of rotation to uncoil the second portion of the flexible element, the second direction being opposite the first direction.
With respect to Claim 9, Martin further teaches wherein the at least one tapered section of the shaft is configured to cause the second portion of the flexible element to form a first coil proximate to the fixed member.
With respect to Claim 15, Martin, Figures 1-2, teaches an apparatus comprising:
a shaft 102;
fixed means 112 for securing a first portion of a flexible element; and
rotating means 114 for coiling a second portion of the flexible element around the shaft as the shaft and the fixed means remain relatively stationary compared to the rotating means.
Martin teaches all the elements of the apparatus except for
wherein the shaft comprises at least one tapered section such that the shaft has a first cross-sectional area that is proximate to the rotating means and a second cross- sectional area that is proximate to the fixed means, the first cross-sectional area being larger than the second cross-sectional area.
However, Scherer, Figures 1-2, teaches
a shaft 6 comprising at least one tapered section such that the shaft has a first cross-sectional area that is proximate to the rotating means and a second cross- sectional area that is proximate to the fixed means, the first cross-sectional area being larger than the second cross-sectional area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Martin with a tapered surface, as taught by Scherer, because this permits the turns of material to be nested into each other and permits a longer length of material to be wound on the spool.
With respect to Claim 16, Martin further teaches a means for storing 116 a device attached to the second portion of the flexible element.
With respect to Claim 17, Martin further at least one flexible element 200; and
a coiler of comprising the fixed member, the shaft, the rotating member, and the rotation mechanism.
With respect to Claim 18, Martin further teaches wherein the at least one flexible element 200 comprises at least one of the following: an electrical cord; a water hose; flexible tubing; rope; cable; or chain.
With respect to Claim 19, Martin further teaches wherein a cross section of the at least one flexible element 200 has a round shape or a rectangular shape.
With respect to Claim 20, Martin, Figures 1-2, teaches a method performed by a coiler comprising a fixed member 112, a rotating member 114, and a shaft 102, the method comprising:
securing a first portion of the flexible element to the fixed member of the coiler;
rotating the rotating member of the coiler in a first direction around an axis of rotation as the fixed member and the shaft of the coiler remain relatively stationary, the shaft positioned between the fixed member and the rotating member;
passing a second portion of the flexible element through the rotating member; and
coiling the second portion of the flexible element around the shaft.
Martin teaches all the elements of the apparatus except for
a shaft having at least one tapered section such that the shaft has a first cross-sectional area proximate to the rotating member and a second cross-sectional area proximate to the fixed member, the first cross-sectional area being larger than the second cross-sectional area.
However, Scherer, Figures 1-2, teaches
a shaft 6 having at least one tapered section such that the shaft has a first cross-sectional area proximate to the rotating member and a second cross-sectional area proximate to the fixed member, the first cross-sectional area being larger than the second cross-sectional area.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Scherer as applied to Claims 1-5, 7, 9, and 15-20 above, and further in view of Clarke (U.S. Patent No. 5,090,647).
With respect to Claim 6, Martin in view of Scherer are advanced above.
Martin in view of Scherer teach all the elements of the apparatus except for
wherein the guide of the rotating member comprises at least one roller configured to freely rotate to enable the flexible element to pass through the rotating member.
However, Clarke, Figures 1-2 teaches
a guide of the rotating member comprises at least one roller 20 configured to freely rotate to enable the flexible element to pass through the rotating member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Martin in view of Scherer with rollers, as taught by Clarke, for the purpose of minimizing the friction of the material going through the guide.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Scherer as applied to Claims 1-5, 7, 9, and 15-20 above, and further in view of Henshaw (U.S. Patent No. 1,179,309).
With respect to Claim 8, Martin in view of Scherer are advanced above.
Martin in view of Scherer teach all the elements of the apparatus except for further teaches wherein:
the at least one tapered section comprises multiple tapered sections; and
slopes of the multiple tapered sections form angles relative to a planar surface of the fixed member that decrease as the tapered sections are positioned closer to the rotating member.
However, Henshaw, Figure 1, teaches at least one tapered section comprises multiple tapered sections; and
slopes of the multiple tapered sections form angles relative to a planar surface of the fixed member that decrease as the tapered sections are positioned closer to the rotating member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple tapered sections, as taught by Henshaw, for the purpose of controlling the accumulation of material on the shaft surface.
With respect to Claim 10, Martin in view of Scherer are advanced above.
Scherer teach all the elements of the apparatus teaches the optimum angle of the tapered section being 45 degrees.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, to dimension the tapered surface of Scherer as specified in Claim 10, line 3, because one of ordinary skill would have been expected to have routinely experimented to determine the optimum dimensions for a particular use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 11-14 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the apparatus set forth including wherein: the fixed member comprises a second insertion slot, the second insertion slot configured to receive a first portion of a second flexible element; the rotating member comprises a second guide that is offset from the axis of rotation, the second guide configured to enable a second portion of the second flexible element to pass through the rotating member; and the rotation mechanism is configured to rotate the rotating member in the first direction around the axis of rotation to coil both the second portion of the first flexible element and the second portion of the second flexible element around the shaft.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein: the fixed member comprises a second insertion slot, the second insertion slot configured to receive a first portion of a second flexible element; the rotating member comprises a second guide that is offset from the axis of rotation, the second guide configured to enable a second portion of the second flexible element to pass through the rotating member; and the rotation mechanism is configured to rotate the rotating member in the first direction around the axis of rotation to coil both the second portion of the first flexible element and the second portion of the second flexible element around the shaft.as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the (preamble of the claim) in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654