DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US PGPUB 2011/0106119 – in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a device (e.g. 100) for performing photochemical tissue bonding on a biological structure (e.g. ¶ 31 describes an anastomosis procedure. While this isn’t a photochemical tissue bonding procedure, this is an apparatus claim and the device of Lin would be capable of performing the photochemical tissue bonding procedure), the device comprising: a first channel (e.g. Fig. 1, ring body 1) sized to receive a first portion of the biological structure (e.g. Fig. 2A, ring body 1 receives vessel 5); a second channel (e.g. Fig. 1, ring body 2)sized to receive a second portion of the biological structure (e.g. Fig. 2A, ring body 2 receives vessel 6); and an open window (e.g. Fig. 1, between ring body 1 and ring body 2) positioned between the first channel and the second channel (e.g. Fig. 1), wherein a third portion of the biological structure is exposed within the open window when the first channel receives the first portion and the second channel receives the second portion so that photochemical tissue bonding may be applied to the third portion (e.g. Fig. 1 and 2A).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses a first panel and a second panel (e.g. Fig. 1, there are two structures 4 which read on two panels).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 15, and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0158342 – in IDS) in view of Lin et al.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Chan discloses a kit and a method for using the kit (e.g. ¶ 164) for performing photochemical tissue bonding on a biological structure (e.g. ¶ 165; for use in photochemical tissue bonding), the kit comprising: a device (e.g. ¶ 165; accessory tools for tissue approximation); and a photoactive dye (e.g. ¶ 125 and 164; a photosensitizer agent). Chan does not explicitly disclose a first channel sized to receive a first portion of the biological structure, a second channel sized to receive a second portion of the biological structure, and an open window positioned between the first channel and the second channel, wherein a third portion of the biological structure is exposed within the open window when the first channel receives the first portion and the second channel receives the second portion wherein the open window is configured for photochemical tissue bonding to be applied to the third portion.
Lin teaches the claimed device as described above. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the kit as taught by Chan with the anastomosis device as taught by Lin, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of facilitating approximation of two vessels for tissue bonding.
Regarding claim 10, modified Chan discloses the kit of claim 9, and Chan further discloses a light source (e.g. ¶ 143).
Regarding claims 18 – 20, Chan discloses the photoactive dye as claimed (e.g. ¶ 125 and 164).
Claim(s) 12, 13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. in view of Lin et al. as applied to claims 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Zheng (US PGPUB 2017/0224344 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 17, Chan in view of Lin discloses the kit and method as previously described, but does not explicitly disclose a wrap configured to wrap around the third portion of the biological structure in the window.
Zheng is in the field of sutureless repair of soft tissue defects ( ¶ 1) and teaches a kit (e.g. claim 12), further comprising a wrap (e.g. ¶ 111, 112; collagen-containing patch) configured to wrap around the third portion of the biological structure in the window (e.g. ¶ 112; the collagen-containing patch substantially envelops the tissue defect site). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the kit and method as taught by Chan in view of Lin with the collagen-containing patch as taught by Zheng, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of facilitating the formation of new tissue, thereby facilitating tissue repair (e.g. Zheng ¶ 112-113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 8, 11, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the first panel and the second panel are coupled together and rotatable relative to each other via a hinge as required by claim 3 along with the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Claims 4 – 8 depend upon claim 3. Claim 14 contains the limitation comprising a stand configured to hold the light source, wherein the device includes attachment sites configured to engage the stand to position the light source over the window which is not found in the prior art along with the other limitations of the claims. Claim 16 contains limitations about the panels similar to claim 3.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796