DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26, regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 based on Uebel (US 2020/0285129), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues filling elements 307 cannot anticipate the claimed “piezo device,” since the same fails to have a variable length which impacts the volume of the fluid. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Filling element 307 comprise a plurality of separate blocks that are added to the cavity 304, and utilizing different numbers of blocks results in the variable length of the device. That is, the use of a single block results in the device having a length L while the use of two blocks results in a device having a length 2L. Accordingly, the device has a variable length, where a change of length results in a change in volume of fluid in the cavity.
Applicant also argues the term “piezo device” would have been understood by one of ordinary skill as a piezoelectric actuator, as the specification provides numerous examples of piezo devices which allow for dynamic control of device to alter its length. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a piezo device comprising a piezoelectric actuator) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Specification fails to specifically define the term “piezo device” as a piezoelectric actuator, and therefore a “piezo device” is broadly considered any device which exerts a pressure on its surrounding environment, including filling element blocks 307.
For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, and the rejection is maintained. This Action is FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uebel et al. (US 2020/0285129 A1).
Re. Claim 1, Uebel et al. discloses a fiber arrangement for providing broadband light ([0077]), comprising:
a hollow core optical fiber 301 (Fig. 9; [0076]), and
at least one housing 302 having a chamber 304 in which a piezo device 307 is arranged, the piezo device 307 having a variable length and the chamber 304 being in fluid communication with a hollow core of the fiber 301 such that a change of length of the piezo device 307 causes a change of the size of a volume which is provided by the hollow core and the chamber for a fluid, the fluid being a gas or a mixture of gases (Fig. 9; [0074].
It is noted the claimed element “piezo device” is sufficiently broad so as to encompass filling elements 307 taught by Uebel et al.
Re. Claim 2, Uebel et al. discloses the housing 302 comprises a through-hole having an opening 303a at a first axial end of the housing and an opening 303b at a second axial end of the housing 302, and wherein the fiber 301 is inserted in the through hole (Fig. 9; [0068], [0074]).
Re. Claim 3, Uebel et al. discloses the housing 302 is a ferrule which is attached to the fiber 301, and wherein the ferrule 302 comprises a tube-like body which provides the through-hole in which the fiber 301 is inserted (Fig. 9; [0067], [0073]-[0074]).
Re. Claim 4, Uebel et al. discloses the housing 302 is a ferrule, and wherein the ferrule is attached to an end of the fiber (e.g., housing 302 attached to each end of the fiber 301 in Fig. 9); or (ii) wherein at least two housings are provided, the at least two housings being ferrules, with one housing of the at least two housings being attached to one end of the fiber and the other housing of the at least two housings being attached to the other end of the fiber (Figs. 8(b)-8(c); [0071]-[0072]).
Re. Claim 5, Uebel et al. discloses an optical window 303a closes the opening of the through-hole on the first axial end of the respective housing 302 and a fiber end is inserted in the second axial end of the through-hole of the housing 302 (Fig. 9; [0068], [0074]).
Re. Claim 6, Uebel et al. discloses the chamber 304 has an annular form and is arranged in a circumferential direction around a through-hole of the housing 302 (Fig. 9; [0074]-[0075]).
Re. Claim 7, Uebel et al. discloses the chamber 304 comprises a center axis which is arranged in parallel or at an angle to a center axis of a through-hole of the housing 302 (Fig. 9).
Re. Claim 8, Uebel et al. discloses the ferrule is a fiber optic ferrule configured to hold and align the fiber (e.g., ferrule 302 aligns the fiber with a pump source to form a broadband light source; [0077]), and wherein the piezo device 307 is arranged in the ferrule such that the volume of the fiber is controlled via the piezo device 307 and via the fiber optic ferrule 302 (Fig. 9; [0074]).
Re. Claim 10, Uebel et al. discloses in a maximally extended position, the piezo device 307 extends over the complete length of the chamber 304 in which the piezo device 307 is arranged (Fig. 9).
Re. Claim 13, Uebel et al. discloses the fiber arrangement is gas-tight ([0072]).
Re. Claim 14, Uebel et al. discloses the fiber 301 is an anti-resonant hollow core fiber or a hollow core photonic bandgap fiber ([0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uebel et al. (US 2020/0285129 A1).
Re. Claim 15, Uebel et al. discloses an optical system for providing broadband light, the optical system comprising: a fiber arrangement as discussed above; and a pulsed laser source for providing laser pulses to the fiber arrangement (Fig. 9; [0074]).
In Uebel et al., piezo elements 307 are manually added to the housing 302, and therefore Uebel et al. fails to disclose at least one piezo driver for driving the piezo device arranged in at least one housing of the fiber arrangement.
Drivers for automating motion are well known in the art, and the claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Re. Claims 17 and 18, Uebel et al. renders obvious the optical system as discussed above. In addition, the fiber arrangement comprises at least two housings, the at least two housings being ferrules (Figs. 8(a)-8(b)), arranged at a distance from each other along the fiber, wherein the at least one piezo driver is configured to drive the piezo devices of the at least two housings to generate a desired pressure distribution in the hollow core of the fiber, to either generate a homogeneous pressure distribution or a pressure gradient in the hollow core of the fiber ([0072]). In Uebel et al., the fiber arrangement comprises at least one housing, the at least one housing being a ferrule, at each fiber end (Figs. 8(a)-8(b)). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed arrangement for the reasons discussed above.
The same reasoning applied in the rejection of apparatus claims 15, mutatis mutandis, applies to the subject-matter of method claims 19, given the apparatus is considered inseparable from the method of (making/using) the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11-12, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re. Claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest a fiber arrangement comprising a filling, the filling comprising at least one of a gas tight filling and a filling of a deformable material, is arranged between an outer surface of the piezo device and an inner surface of the chamber, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Re. Claims 11-12, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest a fiber arrangement comprising one or more fluid channels extend in a radial direction through the housing to fluidly connect the chamber with the a through-hole provided in the housing, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Re. Claim 16, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest an optical system wherein at least one of: (i) the at least one piezo driver is configured to drive the piezo device in dependence on a pulse repetition rate of the laser pulses, and/or and (ii) wherein by changing the length of the at least one piezo device the change in density or pressure of the fluid is more than 50%, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
The most applicable prior art, Uebel et al., discussed above, fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed limitations, specifically those portions highlighted above in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 2/12/26