DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to the Amendment filed on 04/13/2026.
In the Instant amendment, claims 2-3, 10, 13-16 and 20-21 were canceled; Claims 24-29 have been added; Claims 1, 4, 11-12, 17 and 22-23 have been amended; 1 and 11-12 are independent claims; Claims 1, 4-9, 11-12, 17-19 and 22-29 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/13/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 11-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue: “Horiuchi and Huang fail to disclose or suggest at least ‘during the playing or the first video media content, in response to detecting a screen capturing operation at the first time, performing the following operations: acquiring a played screenshot corresponding to the first time, displaying a first interface’.” (emphasis added).
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner respectfully submits that Horiuchi does disclose ‘during the playing or the first video media content, in response to detecting a screen capturing operation at the first time, performing the following operations: acquiring a played screenshot corresponding to the first time, displaying a first interface’ (Horiuchi: pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Figs. 10, steps S1002: video content controller 230 plays back a video content; steps S1003-S1004: when the acceptor 220 receives a command from the user, the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing when the command was received from the user, to generate a screenshot of the video content; the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table). As described in pars. [0076]-[0080] and [0112]-[0115], and illustrated on Figure 10, at step S1002, the content controller 230 plays back a video content [i.e., during playing back a video content], when the acceptor 220 receives a screenshot command from the user, the system of Horiuchi performs steps S1003-S1004, in which the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing to generate a screenshot of the video content; then the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table. It’s clear that Horiuchi does disclose all the limitations set forth in the arguments above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitations “wherein the video content acquiring control comprises prompt information, which prompts a start point and an ending point of the video media content with the first duration,” recited in amended claims 1 and 11-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 11-12, 17-19 and 22-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi (US 2019/0082215), published on Mar. 14, 2019, in view of Huang (US 2020/0042148), published on Feb. 6, 2020, and further in view of Bokowski et al., (“Bokowski,” US 2021/0016151), published on Jan. 21, 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Horiuchi discloses an interaction method (pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Figs. 1-3, 9-10 and 14-15), comprising:
playing first video media content (pars. 0075-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1002: video content controller 230 plays back a video content); and
during the playing of the first video media content (pars. 0075-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1002: video content controller 230 plays back a video content), response to detecting a screen capturing operation at a first time, performing the following operations (pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1003-S1004; when the acceptor 220 receives a command from the user, the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing when the command was received from the user, to generate a screenshot of the video content):
acquiring a played screenshot corresponding to the first time (pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1003-S1004; the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing when the command was received from the user, to generate a screenshot of the video content; the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table);
Horiuchi discloses displays a first interface comprising the played screenshot (Horiuchi: pars. 0040-0045; Figs. 3B-3C; window 23A/22) and a control for sharing the played screenshot (Horiuchi: pars. 0040-0045; Figs. 3B-3C; “Share”/“Do Not Share” buttons), but does not explicitly disclose displaying a first interface comprising a video content acquiring control.
However, Huang discloses a method for capturing and sharing screenshots including the steps of displaying a first interface comprising the played screenshot, a control for sharing the played screenshot, and a video content acquiring control (Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Fig. 7; dialog box asking user for a confirmation to perform screenshot operation; “Add a video on a current interface to a screenshot?” “Yes/No;” Fig. 11: “Delete/Edit/Share” buttons enable user to delete/edit/share captured screenshot): and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Huang with the system/method of Horiuchi. One would have been motivated to enable users to capture, edit and share screenshots when watching a video (Huang: pars. 0128-0129).
The combination of Horiuchi and Huang further discloses: in response to detecting a trigger operation on the video content acquiring control, acquiring second video media content corresponding to the first time, wherein the second video media content is a part of the first video media content and comprises video media content with a first duration captured from the first video media content with reference to the first time (Horiuchi: pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1003-S1004; the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing when the command was received from the user, to generate a screenshot of the video content; the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table; see also pars. 0040-0045; Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Figs. 7-8 and 11-13).
wherein the video content acquiring control comprises prompt information, which prompts that the second video media content is acquirable after the trigger operation being performed on the video content acquiring control (Horiuchi: pars. 0040-0045; Figs. 3A-3C; Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Fig. 7; dialog box asking user for a confirmation to perform screenshot operation; “Add a video on a current interface to a screenshot?” “Yes/No;” Fig. 11: “Delete/Edit/Share” buttons enable user to delete/edit/share captured screenshot).
Horiuchi and Huang disclose all limitations as recited above, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the video content acquiring control comprises prompt information, which prompts a start point and an ending point of the video media content with the first duration.
However, Bokowski discloses a system for presenting game-related information including a user interface displaying prompt information, which prompts a start point and an ending point of the video media content with the first duration (Bokowski: par. 0146; Fig. 21; user can also make a highlight clip from the video being viewed; the user may click on a button 10170 (e.g., “Make Clip”), which may bring up a dialog box with fields to enter the start time of the desired clip within the current video, a field to name the clip, and a field to enter an optional description of the clip; after entering this information, the user may click another button to complete the process, and a clip beginning at the user-specified time, and with an either user-defined or pre-defined duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Bokowski with the system/method of Horiuchi and Huang. One would have been motivated to enable users to select starting time, duration and/or ending time when capturing a video being viewed (Bokowski: par. 0146).
The combination of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski further discloses wherein the video media content with the first duration is captured from the first video media content with reference to the start point and the ending point, and the start point and the ending point are determined with reference to the first time (Horiuchi: pars. 0040-0045; Figs. 3A-3C; Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Fig. 7; dialog box asking user for a confirmation to perform screenshot operation; Bokowski: par. 0146; the user may click on a button 10170 (e.g., “Make Clip”), which may bring up a dialog box with fields to enter the start time of the desired clip within the current video, a field to name the clip, and a field to enter an optional description of the clip; after entering this information, the user may click another button to complete the process, and a clip beginning at the user-specified time, and with an either user-defined or pre-defined duration).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski discloses the interaction method according to claim 1.
The combination of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski further discloses wherein the second video media content corresponding to the first time comprises:
the video media content having the ending point earlier than the first time; the video media content taking the first time as the ending point; the video media content having the start point later than the first time; the video media content taking the first time as the start point; or, the video media content having the start point earlier than the first time and the ending point later than the first time (Horiuchi: pars. 0078-0083; if the generation time of the screenshot is 18:05:10 on Mar. 28, 2016, and the playback start time of the video content is 18:00 on Mar. 18, 2016, the SNS processor 240 identifies the position of the generated screen shot corresponding to the video content being played back as the position at 5 minutes and 10 seconds from the start of the playback; Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Figs. 7-11).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski discloses the interaction method according to claim 1, wherein the second video media content comprises silent video media content (Horiuchi: pars. 0194-0200; Fig. 17B; Huang: par. 0111; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski discloses the interaction method according to claim 1.
The combination of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski further discloses wherein after acquiring the second video media content corresponding to the first time, the method further comprises at least one of:
storing the second video media content in a preset storage location (Horiuchi: pars. 0075-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table; Huang: pars. 0100-0102); or
playing the second video media content (Horiuchi: pars. 0079-0080 and 0112-0115; Huang: pars. 0100-0102).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 4. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 5. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 6. Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 4. Claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 5. Claim 23 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 6. Claim 24 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7, 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi (US 2019/0082215), published on Mar. 14, 2019, in view of Huang (US 2020/0042148), published on Feb. 6, 2020, and Bokowski et al., (“Bokowski,” US 2021/0016151), published on Jan. 21, 2021, and further in view of Miura et al. (“Miura,” US 2019/0270020), published on Sept. 5, 2019.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski discloses the interaction method according to claim 1.
Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski do not explicitly disclose wherein after acquiring the second video media content corresponding to the first time, the method further comprises at least one of: generating third video media content by combining the played screenshot and the second video media content.
However, Miura discloses a video image processing method/apparatus, wherein after the acquiring second video media content corresponding to the first time, the method further comprises:
generating third video media content by combining the played screenshot and the second video media content (Miura: pars. 0171-0172; Fig. 18; share menu-trimming is used to trim/edit, create and share a plurality of screenshots of gameplay video).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Miura with the system/method of Horiuchi, Huang and Bokowski. One would have been motivated to enable users to trim, edit, create and share a plurality of screenshots of gameplay video (Miura: pars. 0171-0172).
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 7. Claim 25 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 7. Claim 28 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 8-9, 26-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi (US 2019/0082215), published on Mar. 14, 2019, in view of Huang (US 2020/0042148), published on Feb. 6, 2020, Bokowski et al., (“Bokowski,” US 2021/0016151), published on Jan. 21, 2021, and Miura et al. (“Miura,” US 2019/0270020), published on Sept. 5, 2019, and further in view of Luo (US 2020/0252553), published on Aug. 6, 2020.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Horiuchi, Huang, Bokowski and Miura disclose the interaction method according to claim 7.
Horiuchi, Huang, Bokowski and Miura do not explicitly disclose applying first special effects to the played screenshot to generate the third video media content, or applying second special effects to the second video media content to generate the third video media content.
However, Luo discloses a video image processing method/apparatus comprising applying first special effects to the played screenshot to generate the third video media content, or applying second special effects to the second video media content to generate the third video media content (Luo: pars. 0024, 0034, 0048 and 0053-0054; Figs. 2-6; by adding drawn special effect elements to video images in a form of a sticker, in dynamic video images correspondingly captured in a scenario such as self-photographing or a video call, an effect that the drawn special effect elements move along with a face in the dynamic video images can be produced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Luo with the system/method of Horiuchi, Huang, Bokowski and Miura. One would have been motivated to enable users to add special effect to captured video wherein special effect element can be flexibly changed by different doodle operation of the user (Luo: par. 0024).
Regarding claim 9, Horiuchi, Huang, Bokowski, Miura and Luo disclose the interaction method according to claim 8.
The combination of Horiuchi, Huang, Bokowski, Miura and Luo further discloses wherein after generating the third video media content, the method further comprises at least one of:
storing the third video media content in a preset storage location (Horiuchi: pars. 0075-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 5; screenshots are stored in the storage device; Miura: pars. 0081 and 0118); or
playing the third video media content (Horiuchi: pars. 0079-0080 and 0112-0115; share and playback screenshots; Luo: pars. 0053-0054; Miura: pars. 0171-0172; Fig. 18; preview/playback screenshots).
The motivation is the same that of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 8. Claim 26 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 8. Claim 27 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 8. Claim 26 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174