DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to the RCE filed on 12/03/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
As per instant Amendment, claims 2, 10, 13-15 and 20 were canceled; Claims 1, 11 and 12 are independent claims. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 16-19 and 21-23 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 12/03/2025 and 11/04/2025, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. New reference, Huang (US 2020/0042148), published on Feb. 6, 2020, is recited for the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 11-12, 16-19 and 21-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi (US 2019/0082215), published on Mar. 14, 2019, in view of Huang (US 2020/0042148), published on Feb. 6, 2020.
Regarding claim 1, Horiuchi discloses an interaction method (Horiuchi: pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Figs. 1-3, 9-10 and 14-15), comprising:
playing first video media content (Horiuchi: pars. 0075-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1002: video content controller 230 plays back a video content); and
response to detecting a screen capturing operation at a first time, performing the following operations (Horiuchi: pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1003-S1004; when the acceptor 220 receives a command from the user, the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing when the command was received from the user, to generate a screenshot of the video content):
acquiring a played screenshot corresponding to the first time (Horiuchi: pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1003-S1004; the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing when the command was received from the user, to generate a screenshot of the video content; the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table);
Horiuchi discloses displays a first interface comprising the played screenshot (Horiuchi: pars. 0040-0045; Figs. 3B-3C; window 23A/22) and a control for sharing the played screenshot (Horiuchi: pars. 0040-0045; Figs. 3B-3C; “Share”/“Do Not Share” buttons), but does not explicitly disclose displaying a first interface comprising a video content acquiring control.
However, Huang discloses a method for capturing and sharing screenshots including the steps of displaying a first interface comprising the played screenshot, a control for sharing the played screenshot, and a video content acquiring control (Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Fig. 7; dialog box asking user for a confirmation to perform screenshot operation; “Add a video on a current interface to a screenshot?” “Yes/No;” Fig. 11: “Delete/Edit/Share” buttons enable user to delete/edit/share captured screenshot): and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Huang with the system/method of Horiuchi. One would have been motivated to enable users to capture, edit and share screenshots when watching a video (Huang: pars. 0128-0129).
The combination of Horiuchi and Huang further discloses: in response to detecting a trigger operation on the video content acquiring control, acquiring second video media content corresponding to the first time, wherein the second video media content comprises video media content with a first duration captured from the first video media content with reference to the first time (Horiuchi: pars. 0076-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; steps S1003-S1004; the screenshot generator 250 captures an image of a video content displayed on the screen at the timing when the command was received from the user, to generate a screenshot of the video content; the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table; see also pars. 0040-0045. Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Figs. 7-8 and 11-13).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Horiuchi and Huang discloses the interaction method according to claim 1.
The combination of Horiuchi and Huang further discloses wherein the video content acquiring control comprises prompt information, which prompts that the second video media content is acquirable after the trigger operation being performed on the video content acquiring control (Horiuchi: pars. 0040-0045; Figs. 3A-3C. Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Fig. 7; dialog box asking user for a confirmation to perform screenshot operation; “Add a video on a current interface to a screenshot?” “Yes/No;” Fig. 11: “Delete/Edit/Share” buttons enable user to delete/edit/share captured screenshot).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Horiuchi and Huang discloses the interaction method according to claim 1.
The combination of Horiuchi and Huang further discloses wherein the second video media content corresponding to the first time comprises:
video media content having an ending point earlier than the first time; video media content taking the first time as an ending point; video media content having a start point later than the first time; video media content taking the first time as a start point; or, video media content having a start point earlier than the first time and an ending point later than the first time (Horiuchi: pars. 0078-0083; if the generation time of the screenshot is 18:05:10 on Mar. 28, 2016, and the playback start time of the video content is 18:00 on Mar. 18, 2016, the SNS processor 240 identifies the position of the generated screen shot corresponding to the video content being played back as the position at 5 minutes and 10 seconds from the start of the playback. Huang: pars. 0098, 0111 and 0128-0129; Figs. 7-11).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Horiuchi and Huang discloses the interaction method according to claim 1, wherein the second video media content comprises silent video media content (Horiuchi: pars. 0194-0200; Fig. 17B; Huang: par. 0111; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Horiuchi and Huang discloses the interaction method according to claim 1.
The combination of Horiuchi and Huang further discloses wherein after acquiring the second video media content corresponding to the first time, the method further comprises at least one of:
storing the second video media content in a preset storage location (Horiuchi: pars. 0075-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 10; the screenshot generator 250 associates the generated screenshot with the time when the screenshot was generated, and stores it in the captured image data management table. Huang: pars. 0100-0102); or
playing the second video media content (Horiuchi: pars. 0079-0080 and 0112-0115. Huang: pars. 0100-0102).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 3. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 4. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 5. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to an electronic device corresponding to the method recited in claim 6. Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 3. Claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 4. Claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 5. Claim 23 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi (US 2019/0082215), published on Mar. 14, 2019, in view of Huang (US 2020/0042148), published on Feb. 6, 2020, and further in view of Miura et al. (“Miura,” US 2019/0270020), published on Sept. 5, 2019.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Horiuchi and Huang discloses the interaction method according to claim 1.
Horiuchi and Huang do not explicitly disclose wherein after acquiring the second video media content corresponding to the first time, the method further comprises at least one of: generating third video media content by combining the played screenshot and the second video media content.
However, Miura discloses a video image processing method/apparatus, wherein after the acquiring second video media content corresponding to the first time, the method further comprises:
generating third video media content by combining the played screenshot and the second video media content (Miura: pars. 0171-0172; Fig. 18; share menu-trimming is used to trim/edit, create and share a plurality of screenshots of gameplay video).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Miura with the system/method of Horiuchi and Huang. One would have been motivated to enable users to trim, edit, create and share a plurality of screenshots of gameplay video (Miura: pars. 0171-0172).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi (US 2019/0082215), published on Mar. 14, 2019, in view of Huang (US 2020/0042148), published on Feb. 6, 2020, and Miura et al. (“Miura,” US 2019/0270020), published on Sept. 5, 2019, and further in view of Luo (US 2020/0252553), published on Aug. 6, 2020.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Horiuchi and Huang and Miura disclose the interaction method according to claim 7.
Horiuchi, Huang and Miura do not explicitly disclose applying first special effects to the played screenshot to generate the third video media content, or applying second special effects to the second video media content to generate the third video media content.
However, Luo discloses a video image processing method/apparatus comprising applying first special effects to the played screenshot to generate the third video media content, or applying second special effects to the second video media content to generate the third video media content (Luo: pars. 0024, 0034, 0048 and 0053-0054; Figs. 2-6; by adding drawn special effect elements to video images in a form of a sticker, in dynamic video images correspondingly captured in a scenario such as self-photographing or a video call, an effect that the drawn special effect elements move along with a face in the dynamic video images can be produced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Luo with the system/method of Horiuchi, Huang and Miura. One would have been motivated to enable users to add special effect to captured video wherein special effect element can be flexibly changed by different doodle operation of the user (Luo: par. 0024).
Regarding claim 9, Horiuchi, Huang, Miura and Luo disclose the interaction method according to claim 8.
The combination of Horiuchi, Huang, Miura and Luo further discloses wherein after generating the third video media content, the method further comprises at least one of:
storing the third video media content in a preset storage location (Horiuchi: pars. 0075-0080 and 0112-0115; Fig. 5; screenshots are stored in the storage device. Miura: pars. 0081 and 0118); or
playing the third video media content (Horiuchi: pars. 0079-0080 and 0112-0115; share and playback screenshots. Luo: pars. 0053-0054. Miura: pars. 0171-0172; Fig. 18; preview/playback screenshots).
The motivation is the same that of claim 8 above.
Inquiries
/LINH K PHAM/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174