DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/07/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP 606.01 [R-2]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter as follows. Claim 16 is drawn to a “computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions”. Using the word “comprising”, the claim defines computer readable medium as computer code which is non-statutory subject matter. The Examiner suggests to use “embodied with”, “storing” or “encoded with” instead.
In addition, the specification does not preclude transitory signals by way of explicit definition. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and state-of-the-art, the full scope of the claimed " computer-readable storage medium" covers both transitory and non-transitory media. Transitory media includes signals, carrier waves, etc. on which executable code was recorded and from which computers acquired such code. Transitory media do not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (In re Nuijten), and are therefore non-statutory. The examiner suggests clarifying the claim(s) to exclude such non-statutory signal embodiments, such as (but not limited to) by adding the modifier "non-transitory" to the claimed medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zisimopoulos et al. (hereafter referred to as “Zisimopoulos”, US 2019/0164012), and in view of applicant admitted prior art (hereafter referred to as “AAPA”, see page 2 of the specification on conventional process of style transfer).
Regarding claim 1, Zisimopoulos discloses a process (Fig. 7) for applying style images ISij (Style images 705) to at least one content image ICi (Virtual Image 735) containing entity classes i (i: 1, 2, ...M) (pg. [0091] “label-to-label style transfer, allowing region-based style transfer from style to content images”, the regions correspond to the claimed entity classes, see e.g. Fig. 11), wherein attributes of a plurality j of style images (ISij: ISi1, ISi2...... ISiN) (Fig. 7, units 715, 720 and 725, pg. [0106] the mean and the covariance matrix of feature vector Φs (i.e., “attributes”) of the style images), each containing entity classes i (i: 1, 2, ...M) (pg. [0091] “label-to-label style transfer”), are transferred to the content image ICi (Fig. 7, style transfer 730), the process comprising the steps, for each of the entity classes i (i: 1, 2, ...M) (multiple styles and multiple classes style transfer, see e.g., pg. [0109]-[0120]), of:
down-sampling the at least one content image ICi, to derive a content feature vector FCi (Fig. 7, the encoder 710 encodes the virtual image 735; pg. [0106] the vectorized feature representation Φc corresponds to the claimed content feature vector);
down-sampling the j style images ISij, to derive j style feature vectors (FSij: FSi1, FSi2,..., FSiN) (Fig. 7, the encoder 710 encodes the style images 705; pg. [0106] the vectorized feature representation Φs corresponds to the claimed style feature vector);
stylizing the content feature vector FCi, by transferring attributes of the style feature vectors (FSij: FSi1, FSi2,..., FSiN) to the content feature vector FCi, to derive j stylized content feature vectors (FCSij: FCSi1, FCSi2,..., FCSiN) (Fig. 7, style transfer 730, pg. [0106], equation (8), ΦCS corresponds to the claimed stylized content feature vectors);
inputting a plurality of variable blending factors (αij: αi0, αi1, αi2,..., αiN) (pg. [0106], equation (9), (1-α) and α in equation 9 correspond to claimed αi0 and αi1);
combining a factor αi0 of the content feature vector FCi with a factor (αij: αi1, αi2,..., αiN) of each of the respective stylized content feature vectors (FCSij: FCSi1, FCSi2,..., FCSiN) to derive a blended feature vector Fi* (pg. [0106], equation (9), Φwct corresponds to the claimed blended feature vector);
up-sampling the blended feature vector Fi* to generate a blended stylized content image ICSi (Fig. 7, decoder 717 performs up-sampling, styled virtual image 750 corresponds to the claimed blended stylized content image),
wherein the stylizing step comprises transforming the content feature vector FCi, wherein the content feature vector FCi acquires a subset of the attributes of the style feature vector (FSij: FSi1, FSi2,..., FSiN) (pg. [0106] equations (7) and (8), “allows the coloring transform to inject the style into the feature representation Φc”).
Even though Zisimopoulos discloses using encoder/decoder architecture for generating a styled image (Fig. 8 and pg. [0093]), and the symbols shown in Fig. 9 seems to indicate down-sampling by encoder and up-sampling by decoder, Zisimopoulos does not expressly disclose that the encoder performs down-sampling and the decoder performs up-sampling.
However, as stated in AAPA, “conventional processes which typically (but not exclusively) use neural network architecture, comprising an "autoencoder” … The autoencoder has two major parts: an "encoder", which down-samples a given output in both the content image and style image to produce a compact "feature vector" for each, and a "decoder" which up-samples the compact feature vector of the original input images”.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the well-known features as described in AAPA into Zisimopoulos’s system to yield the invention as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim1, wherein the combining step comprises generating a weighted average of the content feature vector FCi and stylized content feature vectors FCSij using the plurality of variable blending factors (αij: αi0, αi1, αi2,..., αiN) as weighting factors (pg. [0106], equation (9)).
Regarding claim 3, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim1, wherein the combining step comprises combining a blending factor αi0 of the content feature vector FCi with a sum of the plurality of variable blending factors αij of the stylized content feature vector FCSij, according to the relation
(pg. [0106], equation (9), N=1, (1-α) and α correspond to claimed αi0 and αi1, respectively)
Regarding claim 4, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the stylizing step comprises at least a transformation of coloring (pg. [0106], Whitening and Coloring Transform (WCT)).
Regarding claim 5, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim 4, wherein the attributes of the style feature vectors (FSij: FSi1, FSi2,..., FSiN) are statistical properties of the style feature vectors (FSij: FSi1, FSi2,..., FSiN) (pg. [0106], “transform Φc to approximate the covariance matrix of Φs”, “Prior to whitening, the mean is subtracted from the features Φc and the mean of Φs is added to Φcs after recoloring”. The mean and the covariance matrix of feature vector Φs correspond to the claimed attributes).
Regarding claim 6, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim 5, wherein the attributes of the style feature vectors (FSij: FSi1, FSi2,..., FSiN) are a mean and covariance of the style feature vectors (FSij: FSi1, FSi2,..., FSiN) (see analysis of claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose computing a quality parameter Q of the blended stylized content image ICSi for a range of values of the plurality of variable blending factors (αij: αi0, αi1, αi2,..., αiN).
However, as indicated in Zisimopoulos (pg. [0129]-[0130]), in order to achieve a more realistic result, different α values are selected for different segmentation labels (“a=0:8 for iris, cornea and skin, a=0:5 for the eye ball and a=0:3 for the tools”).
Defining a parameter to measure quality of a processed image is well known and common practice in the art. To automatically assess how realistic a stylized eye is, for example, a preset quality measure is certainly required. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claim 7 from the teachings of Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA.
Regarding claim 8, please refer to analysis of claim 7, finding an optimal α value so as to achieve the highest quality (e.g., the most realistic) would have been quite obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claim 8 from the teachings of Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, both IOU and FID are common metrics used to assess the quality of images created by a generative model (see e.g., section 3.4 of the Balint paper of 2020, cited but not relied upon). Using either of them to measure image quality involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claims 9 and 10 from the teachings of Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA.
Regarding claim 11, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim 1, wherein a sum of the plurality of variable blending factors (αij: αi0, αi1, αi2,..., αiN) is equal to one (Zisimopoulos, pg. [0106], equation (9)).
Regarding claim 12, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim 11, wherein j=1, and wherein the inputting step comprises inputting a single blending factor αi1 and wherein the combining step comprises combining a proportion αi0 = (1- αi1) of the content feature vector FCi, with a proportion of the stylized content feature vector FCSi1 according to the relation Fi* = (1- αi1) FCi + αi1 FCSi1 ( Zisimopoulos, pg. [0106], equation (9)).
Regarding claim 13, Zisimopoulos in view of AAPA discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the process is implemented by a computer (Zisimopoulos, Fig. 15).
Claims 14-16 have been analyzed and are rejected for the same reasons as outlined above in the rejection of claim 1. Zisimopoulos’s system is computer-based. Processor(s) and storage(s) are the main building blocks of a computer system. Zisimopoulos’s system includes a GPU (pg. [0081]).
Contact Information
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666