DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10 of the remarks, filed January 8, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, 16, and 17 under 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lutz (EP 2230728 A1) and Pepe (US 2002/00994715) which discloses a connection box and a cable seal socket allowing a cable to be received in a form-fitting manner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Brief Description of the Drawings do not include figures 10 and 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz (EP 2230728 A1), in view of Pepe (US 2002/00994715).
Regarding claim 1, Lutz discloses a cable connection unit for a connection box, the cable connection unit comprising:
a cable (6 of Figures 1, 4) having at least two electrical conductors (2, 3, 4 of Figures 1, 4) which are surrounded by a cable sheath (6 of Figures 1, 4);
a cable seal (7, 8 of Figures 1, 4) radially enclosing the cable sheath; and
a cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) wherein the at least two electrical conductors are held fanned out (see Figure 1, 4).
Lutz does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable seal is configured to be received in a cable seal socket of the connection box in a form-fitting manner to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box.
Pepe discloses wherein the cable seal is configured to be received in a cable seal socket (16, 34 of Figure 1-2) of the connection box (1 of Figure 1-2) in a form-fitting manner (Para. 0028) to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a receiving socket in the connection box that the cable of Lutz is to be connected to, as taught by Pepe, to provide a funnel through which the electrical cable is inserted into the connection box [Pepe: Para. 0027].
Regarding claim 2, Lutz discloses wherein the cable seal (7, 8 of Figures 1, 4) is a one-piece injection-molded part and is fastened to the cable sheath (6 of Figures 1, 4) by an injection-molding process (Page 5, paragraphs 0002-0003).
Regarding claim 3, Lutz discloses wherein the cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) is a one-piece injection-molded part and is fastened to the electrical conductors (2, 3, 4 of Figures 1, 4) by an injection-molding process (Page 5, paragraphs 0002-0003).
Regarding claim 4, Lutz discloses wherein the cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) has a two-part design, wherein the two parts can be interlocked with each other via latches (20, 21 of Figure 1, 2, 4).
Regarding claim 5, Lutz discloses wherein the cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) has two contact openings which each have an essentially rectangular cross-section (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Lutz discloses wherein the contact openings (2c, 3c, 4c of Figure 1, 4) are arranged, in the plugging direction, one behind the other and offset relative to one another (see Figures 1, 4).
Regarding claim 7, Lutz discloses wherein the cable (6 of Figures 1, 4) has one cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) and one cable seal (7, 8 of Figures 1, 4).
Lutz does not explicitly disclose one cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) and one cable seal (7, 8 of Figures 1, 4) at both ends of the cable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a cable manager and cable seal at both ends of the cable of Lutz to provide comprehensive protection from environmental factors like dust, water, and chemicals, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Lutz discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable (6 of Figures 1, 4) has a length of no more than three meters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the cable of Lutz have a length of no more than three meters since it was known in the art the well-known benefits of improved signal strength and reduced noise, leading to better performance.
Regarding claim 9, Lutz discloses wherein the cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) has testing openings (2c, 3c, 4c of Figure 1, 4), wherein each testing opening is associated with one of the at least two electrical conductor (2, 3, 4 of Figures 1, 4).
Regarding claim 10, Lutz discloses a system, comprising:
a connection box (see Figure 1, 4); and
a cable connection unit including a cable (6 of Figures 1, 4) having at least two electrical conductors (2, 3, 4 of Figures 1, 4) which are surrounded by a cable sheath (6 of Figures 1, 4), a cable seal (7, 8 of Figures 1, 4) radially enclosing the cable sheath, and a cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) wherein the at least two electrical conductors are held fanned out (see Figure 1, 4),
wherein the connection box has at least one socket region (2c, 3c, 4c of Figures 1, 4) for the cable connection unit in which the cable seal and the cable manager can each be inserted.
Lutz does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one socket region of the connection box includes a cable seal socket, and the cable seal is configured to be received in the cable seal socket of the connection box in a form-fitting manner to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box.
Pepe discloses wherein the at least one socket region of the connection box includes a cable seal socket, and the cable seal is configured to be received in a cable seal socket (16, 34 of Figure 1-2) of the connection box (1 of Figure 1-2) in a form-fitting manner (Para. 0028) to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a receiving socket in the connection box that the cable of Lutz is to be connected to, as taught by Pepe, to provide a funnel through which the electrical cable is inserted into the connection box [Pepe: Para. 0027].
Regarding claim 11, Lutz discloses wherein the socket region of the connection box has insulation displacement contacts (12, 13, 14 of Figure 2, 3).
Regarding claim 12, Lutz discloses wherein two of the insulation displacement contacts (12, 13, 14 of Figure 2, 3) correlate with one contact opening of the cable connection unit.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz (EP 2230728 A1) in view of Pepe (US 2002/00994715) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Jaouen (EP 2061118 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lutz discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection box (see Figure 1, 4) has a hinged cover.
Jaouen discloses wherein the connection box (2 of Figures) has a hinged cover (3 of Figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a hinged cover in the connection box of Lutz, as taught by Jaouen, in order to guards against physical damage and minimize wire degradation.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz (EP 2230728 A1), in view of Jaouen (EP 2061118 A1) and Pepe (US 2002/00994715).
Regarding claim 16, Lutz discloses a method for connecting a cable connection unit to a connection box (see Figure 1, 4), the method comprising:
inserting a cable seal (7, 8 of Figures 1, 4) and a cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) connected to one end of a cable of the cable connection unit into a connection region (19 of Figure 2) of the connection box; and
as a result of which the electrical conductors (2, 3, 4 of Figures 1, 4) of the cable are each pushed into an insulation displacement contact (12, 13, 14 of Figure 2, 3) of the connection region and thereby electrically contacted.
Lutz does not explicitly disclose including inserting the cable seal of the cable connection unit into a cable seal socket within the connection region of the connection box and whereby the cable seal of the cable connection unit engages the cable seal socket within the connection region of the connection box in a form-fitting manner to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box; and
a cover of the connection box.
Pepe discloses including inserting the cable seal of the cable connection unit into a cable seal socket (16, 34 of Figure 1-2) within the connection region of the connection box (1 of Figure 1-2) and whereby the cable seal of the cable connection unit engages the cable seal socket within the connection region of the connection box in a form-fitting manner (Para. 0028) to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a receiving socket in the connection box that the cable of Lutz is to be connected to, as taught by Pepe, to provide a funnel through which the electrical cable is inserted into the connection box [Pepe: Para. 0027].
Jaouen discloses a cover (3 of Figures) of the connection box (2 of Figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a cover on the connection box of Lutz, as taught by Jaouen, in order to guards against physical damage and minimize wire degradation.
Regarding claim 18, Lutz discloses wherein a first end of the cable (6 of Figures 1, 4) is connected to a first connection box (see Figure 1, 4) and a second end of the cable is connected to a second connection box (5 of Figure 1, 4).
Claims 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz (EP 2230728 A1) in view of Pepe (US 2002/00994715) as applied to claim 10 above (for claims 14-15), and further in view of Bonvallat (US 6,099,343).
Regarding claims 14, 15, Lutz discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the system has a test device by which a correct electrical contacting between a respective insulation displacement contact (12, 13, 14 of Figure 2, 3) and an associated electrical conductor (2, 3, 4 of Figures 1, 4) can be checked (claim 14);
wherein the test device has contact pins which can each be pushed into a testing opening of the cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) (claim 15).
Bonvallat discloses wherein the cable manager has testing openings, wherein each testing opening is associated with one electrical conductor (Col. 1:46-54) (claim 9);
wherein the system has a test device by which a correct electrical contacting between a respective insulation displacement contact and an associated electrical conductor can be checked (Col. 1:46-54) (claim 14);
wherein the test device has contact pins which can each be pushed into a testing opening of the cable manager (Col. 1:46-54) (claim 15);
pushing the cable manager down with a test device (Col. 1:46-54) (claim 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have testing openings and a test device in the system of Lutz, as taught by Bonvallat, to ensure line continuity when the lid is closed and cuts the line when the lid is open [Bonvallat: Col. 1:46-54].
Regarding claim 17, Lutz discloses a method for connecting a cable connection unit to a connection box (see Figure 1, 4), the method comprising:
inserting a cable seal (7, 8 of Figures 1, 4) and a cable manager (7 of Figures 1, 4) connected to one end of a cable of the cable connection unit into a connection region of the connection box.
Lutz does not explicitly disclose including inserting the cable seal of the cable connection unit into a cable seal socket within the connection region of the connection box such that the cable seal of the cable connection unit at least partially engages the cable seal socket in a form-fitting manner to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box; and
pushing the cable manager down with a test device.
Pepe discloses including inserting the cable seal of the cable connection unit into a cable seal socket (16, 34 of Figure 1-2) within the connection region of the connection box (1 of Figure 1-2) such that the cable seal of the cable connection unit at least partially engages the cable seal socket in a form-fitting manner (Para. 0028) to assist in providing a sealed environment within the connection box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a receiving socket in the connection box that the cable of Lutz is to be connected to, as taught by Pepe, to provide a funnel through which the electrical cable is inserted into the connection box [Pepe: Para. 0027].
Bonvallat discloses pushing the cable manager down with a test device (Col. 1:46-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have testing openings and a test device in the system of Lutz, as taught by Bonvallat, to ensure line continuity when the lid is closed and cuts the line when the lid is open [Bonvallat: Col. 1:46-54].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834