DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 9/15/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 12 is canceled. Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant argues the amended claim limitation of “is carried out within a time period not exceeding 24 hours counting from the addition of the water-soluble polymer P1 in the inverse emulsion form to the aqueous solution M1” overcomes the prior art rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner notes neither TANAKA or SUGIWARA teach against the intended immediate use of the polymer solution. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to use the solution in a timely manner to avoid degradation of the solution or issues from transportation of the material.
In response to applicant's argument that prior art does not teach the immediate use of the formed solution, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant argues that prior art, TANAKA and SUGIWARA, do not teach the addition of the polymer P1 into aqueous solution M1 as an inverse emulsion.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes that TANAKA teaches the starting polymer is polyacrylamide [0020] that is water-soluble [0025] in a water-in-oil (inverse) emulsion polymerization [0014]. The polyacrylamide undergoes a Hoffman reaction in an inverse emulsion form where the polyacrylamide is mixed with sodium hypochlorite and sodium hydroxide [0026] these being the alkali earth metal hypohalide and alkali earth metal hydroxide, respectively. The Examiner notes the polymerization is an inverse emulsion polymerization making the result an inverse emulsion and TANAKA does not teach anything to suggest a change in state. This teaches the inverse emulsion state of P1 and P2 prior to addition into the papermaking furnish.
Applicant argues the immediate addition of the polymer to solution would result in advantageous unexpected results.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the immediate use of the formed solution from M1 and P2 is advantageous, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues the amended claim limitation of “inverse emulsion form” further distinguishes the instant application, overcoming the Double Patenting rejection of the previous Action.
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 9/15/2025, with respect to claims 1-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 6/16/2025 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (JP2002212898A ESPACENET machine translation) in view of SUGIWARA (JP2009150009A ESPACENET machine translation).
For claim 1, TANAKA teaches a method of improving drainage for papermaking by using a polymer additive in a papermaking raw material (fiber) [0012]. This teaches “A method for producing a sheet of paper or cardboard from a fibrous suspension comprising: a) injecting a polymer P2 into a fibrous suspension”. The method includes forming the sheet of paper and drying the sheet through dewatering [0001]. This teaches the limitation of “b) forming of a sheet of paper or cardboard, c) drying of the sheet of paper or cardboard”. TANAKA teaches the polymer is formed by a HOFFMAN reaction before adding the polymer to the material [0001]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the polymer P2 is prepared, before said a)”. TANAKA teaches the starting polymer is polyacrylamide [0020] that is water-soluble [0025] in a water-in-oil (inverse) emulsion polymerization [0014]. The Examiner notes the polymerization is an inverse emulsion polymerization making the result an inverse emulsion and TANAKA does not teach anything to suggest a change in state. This teaches the inverse emulsion state of P1 and P2 prior to addition into the papermaking furnish. This teaches the limitation of “from a water-soluble polymer P1 in an inverse emulsion form, the water-soluble polymer P1 is a water-soluble polymer of at least one nonionic monomer selected from the group consisting of acrylamide, methacrylamide, N,N-dimethylacrylamide, and acrylonitrile”. The polyacrylamide undergoes a Hoffman reaction in an inverse emulsion form where the polyacrylamide is mixed with sodium hypochlorite and sodium hydroxide [0026] these being the alkali earth metal hypohalide and alkali earth metal hydroxide, respectively. This teaches the limitation of the instant claim of “wherein the polymer P2 is obtained by a reaction Re comprising adding the water- soluble polymer P1 in the inverse emulsion form to an aqueous solution M1 comprising of: (i) an alkali metal hydroxide, or an alkaline earth metal hydroxide, or mixtures thereof and(ii) an alkali metal hypohalide, or an alkaline earth metal hypohalide, or mixtures thereof”.
TANAKA teaches the reaction but does not teach how long the reaction takes. SUGIWARA also teaches the Hoffman reaction using acrylamide, sodium hydroxide, and sodium hypochlorite [0021]. The reaction also takes place within several tens of minutes to within a few minutes [0022]. The examiner understands this time range to be less than an hour and more than one minute based on the use of “minutes” as opposed to “hours”. This range is within the range of the instant claim. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the art of TANAKA with the times of SUGIWARA to produce an effective polymerization. One would be motivated by the successful polymerization taught by SUGIWARA and the similarity of reaction composition. This teaches the limitation of “the range of the instant claim. the reaction Re has a reaction time of 10 seconds to 5 hours after the addition of the water-soluble polymer P1 in the inverse emulsion form”.
Regarding the introduction of P2 to aqueous solution, The Examiner notes neither TANAKA or SUGIWARA teach against the intended immediate use of the polymer solution. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to use the solution in a timely manner to avoid degradation of the solution or issues from transportation of the material. This teaches the limitation of “wherein said a) is carried out within a time period not exceeding 24 hours counting from the addition of the water-soluble polymer P1 in the inverse emulsion form to the aqueous solution M1”.
For claim 2, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the use of acrylamide in the range of 50 to 90 mol% [0009]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein in that the polymer P1 contains at least 50 mol% of at least one nonionic monomer selected from the group consisting of acrylamide, methacrylamide, N,N-dimethylacrylamide, and acrylonitrile”.
For claim 3, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the use of a copolymer acrylamide [0012 and 0014]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the polymer P1 is a homopolymer or a copolymer of acrylamide or of methacrylamide”.
For claim 6, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the molar amount of hypohalous acid (sodium hypochlorite) and alkali (sodium hydroxide) relative to the molar amount of the base polymer (amide) [0021]. The examiner understands this percentage is the molar ratio of the hypohalide and hydroxide to acrylamide which are the alpha and beta coefficients respectively. TANAKA further teaches the alpha amount is 20 mol% to 120 mol% (equivalent to 0.2 to 1.2 as a ratio) and the beta amount is from 10 to 250 mol% (equivalent to 0.1 to 2.5 as a ratio) [0021]. Both ranges overlap that of the instant claim of “wherein, for the reaction Re, the coefficient Alpha = moles of hypohalide/moles of nonionic monomer of the polymer P1 is between 0.1 and 1.0 and the coefficient Beta = moles of hydroxide/moles of hypohalide is between 0.5 and 4.0”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
For claim 7, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the copolymer of acrylamide is diluted to 18% [0026]. The copolymer has a molar percent of acrylamide ranging from 50% to 90% (equivalent to a weight percent of 42 to 87% at a molar mass of 71.08g/mole for acrylamide and 97.16 g/mole for diallylamine) [0026]. The acrylamide fraction of the 18% copolymer solution ranges from 8 to 16wt% of the diluted solution. This value is within the range of the instant claim. This teaches the limitation of “wherein between 0.1 and 20% by weight of polymer P1, with respect to the weight of the aqueous solution M1, are added to the aqueous solution M1”. See 2144.05(I).
For claim 10, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the reaction product is neutralized to a pH range of 5 to 7.5 [0021]. This range is within the range of the instant claim of “wherein, before the injection into the fibrous suspension, the pH of the reaction mixture obtained by the reaction Re and containing the polymer P2 is adjusted by addition of acid between 0.5 and 7.5”.
For claim 11, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the reaction product is added at before the fan pump [0022]. The examiner understands this is in the white water system. This meets the limitation of “wherein the polymer P2 or P3 is introduced into the white water and/or into the thick pulp and/or into the mixture formed by the white water and the thick pulp after homogenization of the fibrous suspension in the dilution pump”.
For claim 13, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the aqueous solution is made of sodium hydroxide and sodium hypochlorite [0026]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the aqueous solution M1 is an aqueous solution of sodium hydroxide and sodium hypochlorite”.
For claim 14, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the reaction can be done from 30°C to 60°C [0021]. This range abuts the instant claim range. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the reaction Re is carried out at a temperature between 10 and 30 °C”. See 2144.05(I).
For claim 15, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the copolymer of acrylamide is diluted to 18% [0026]. The copolymer has a molar percent of acrylamide ranging from 50% to 90% (equivalent to a weight percent of 42 to 87% at a molar mass of 71.08g/mole for acrylamide and 97.16 g/mole for diallylamine) [0026]. The acrylamide fraction of the 18% copolymer solution ranges from 8 to 16wt% of the diluted solution. This value is within the range of the instant claim. This teaches the limitation of “wherein between 0.3 and 10% by weight of polymer P1, with respect to the weight of the aqueous solution M1, are added to the aqueous solution M1”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
For claim 16, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA does not teach a reaction temperature within the claimed range. SUGIWARA also teaches the Hoffman reaction using acrylamide, sodium hydroxide, and sodium hypochlorite [0021]. SUGIWARA also teaches that the reaction time is dependent on the reaction temperature [0022]. SUGIWARA also teaches that the reaction can take a few minutes when completed at 20°C [0022]. SUGIWARA also teaches this condition is sufficient to produce an effective product [0022]. This value is within the instant claim limitation range of “wherein the reaction Re is carried out at a temperature between 15 and 25°C”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the art of TANAKA with the times of SUGIYAMA to produce an effective polymerization. One would be motivated by the successful polymerization taught by SUGIWARA and the similarity of reaction composition.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (JP2002212898A ESPACENET machine translation) and SUGIWARA (JP2009150009A ESPACENET machine translation) in view of FAVERO (WO2020094960A1 ESPACENET machine translation).
For claim 4, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the polymerization takes place in a water-in-oil (inverse) emulsion [0014]. The water-in-oil emulsion has a water phase, and oil phase. TANAKA further teaches the acrylamide is in the aqueous phase [0020]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the inverse emulsion comprises: -An aqueous phase comprising at least the polymer P1, -An oil phase”. Though TANAKA teaches the inverse emulsion, TANAKA is silent to the use of an emulsifying agent and inverse agent. FAVERO teaches the synthesis of an inverse emulsion of acrylamide [0162] and the components required. FAVERO teaches the inverse emulsion uses an emulsifying surfactant (agent) [0067] and inverting agent [0068]. FAVERO teaches this is an advantageous invention for use in papermaking [0019]. This teaches the limitation of “-At least one emulsifying agent and at least one inversion agent”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to combine the inverse emulsion method of FAVERO into the method of TANAKA to produce an effective inverse emulsion. One would be motivated by the successful emulsion synthesis taught by FAVERO and the common use for papermaking.
For claim 5, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA teaches the use of a solution with acrylamide at 50% by weight [0025]. This value is within the range of the instant claim. Though TANAKA teaches the inverse emulsion, TANAKA is silent to the use of an emulsifying agent and inverse agent. FAVERO teaches the synthesis of an inverse emulsion of acrylamide [0162] and the components required. FAVERO teaches the inverse emulsion uses an emulsifying surfactant (agent) [0067] and inverting agent [0068]. FAVERO teaches the inverse emulsion has a weight ratio of aqueous phase to the oily phase from 30/70 to 90/10 [0075]. This oil composition of 30% to 90% overlaps the instant claim range. This water composition of 10% to 70% encompasses the instant claim range. This teaches the instant claim limitation of “wherein the inverse emulsion of the polymer P1 comprises from 15 to 40% by weight of oil, from 20 to 55% by weight of water, from 15 and 50% by weight of polymer, the percentages being expressed with respect to the total weight of the inverse emulsion of the polymer Pl”. FAVERO teaches this is an advantageous invention for use in papermaking [0019]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to combine the inverse emulsion method of FAVERO into the method of TANAKA to produce an effective inverse emulsion. One would be motivated by the successful emulsion synthesis taught by FAVERO and the common use for papermaking.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (JP2002212898A ESPACENET machine translation) and SUGIWARA (JP2009150009A ESPACENET machine translation) in view of HUND (EP2840100A1 ESPACENET machine translation).
For claim 8, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 1, as above. TANAKA does not teach the addition of functional groups that include aldehyde. HUND teaches a polymer solution [0001] for use as a drainage agent for papermaking [0003] that uses acrylamide [0029] like TANAKA. HUND also teaches that the acrylamide can be polymerized before addition into papermaking [0069]. HUND teaches the use of a branching agent that includes glyoxal (an aldehyde) [0049]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein, at the end of the reaction Re, and before the injection into the fibrous suspension, the polymer P2 is functionalized with a compound comprising at least one aldehyde function to yield a polymer P3”. HUND also teaches that the addition of the treatment agent greatly improves the retention of fillers during the papermaking process [0071]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the inverse emulsion method of TANAKA with the method of HUND to produce an effective additive. One would be motivated by the improved additive retention taught by HUND and the common use for papermaking.
For claim 9, TANAKA and SUGIWARA teach the method according to claim 8, as above. TANAKA does not teach the addition of functional groups that include aldehyde. HUND teaches a polymer solution [0001] for use as a drainage agent for papermaking [0003] that uses acrylamide [0029] like TANAKA. HUND also teaches that the acrylamide can be polymerized before addition into papermaking [0069]. HUND teaches the use of a branching agent that includes glyoxal (an aldehyde) [0049]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the compound comprising at least one aldehyde function is glyoxal”. HUND also teaches that the addition of the treatment agent greatly improves the retention of fillers during the papermaking process [0071]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the inverse emulsion method of TANAKA with the method of HUND to produce an effective additive. One would be motivated by the improved additive retention taught by HUND and the common use for papermaking.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748