DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2025 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, has been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-30 and 39-60 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected on 12/30/2025, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 31-36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Ebrahim Rezagah et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2022/0217497 A1) hereinafter referred as Rezagah, in view of Zhang et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2024/0098761 A1) hereinafter referred as Zhang.
For claim 1, Rezagah disclose a method of wireless communication performed by an assisting user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a positioning request from a target UE (paragraph [0012], lines 5-7), the positioning request including a zone identifier (ID) identifying a zone in which the target UE is located (paragraph [0012], lines 8-11);
determining, based on the assisting UE being outside a minimum positioning range (Min- PR) (paragraph [0083], lines 1-2) and (paragraph [0087], lines 1-2) and whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE (paragraph [0081], lines 1-5); and
transmitting, based on the assisting UE being within the Min-PR of the target UE, the positioning response to the target UE (paragraph [0084]-[0087], lines 1-2).
However, Rezagah disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE as recited in claim 1.
Zhang from the same or analogous art teaches the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE (paragraph [0030]-[0034], lines 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE as taught by Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah.
The within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE can be modify/implemented by combining the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah. As disclosed in Zhang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the maximum position range where allows to control the range of communication of the device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 2, Rezagah disclose the method, further comprising: transmitting, based on the assisting UE being outside the Min-PR (paragraph [0083], lines 1-2) and (paragraph [0087], lines 1-2) and the positioning response to the target UE (paragraph [0123], lines 3-6). However, Rezagah disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the within the Max-PR of the target UE as recited in claim 2.
Zhang from the same or analogous art teaches the within the Max-PR of the target UE (paragraph [0030]-[0034], lines 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the within the Max-PR of the target UE as taught by Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah.
The within the Max-PR of the target UE can be modify/implemented by combining the within the Max-PR of the target UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah. As disclosed in Zhang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the maximum position range where allows to control the range of communication of the device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 3, Rezagah disclose the method , further comprising: ignoring, based on the assisting UE being outside the Max-PR of the target UE, the positioning request (paragraph [0068], lines 1-10).
For claim 4, Rezagah disclose the method , wherein the Min-PR is the same as a minimum communication range (paragraph [0087], lines 1-2) and (paragraph [0214], lines 1-4).
For claim 5, Rezagah disclose the method, wherein the Min-PR is different from a minimum communication range (paragraph [0213], lines 5-17 discloses the UE2 is within a predetermined distance D1, D3 to D5. Dependent on the distance is smaller or equal to a communication range requirement.).
For claim 6, Rezagah disclose the method, further comprising: receiving a configuration of the Min-PR (paragraph [0068], lines 31-35). However, Rezagah disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station as recited in claim 6.
Zhang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station (paragraph [0030]-[0034], lines 1-3) and (paragraph [0042], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station as taught by Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah.
The configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah. As disclosed in Zhang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the maximum position range where allows to control the range of communication of the device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 8, Rezagah disclose the method , wherein determining whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE is based on one or more factors, the one or more factors comprising: a battery level of the assisting UE, a speed of the assisting UE, a distance between the assisting UE and the Max-PR, a direction from the assisting UE to the Max-PR, a processing capability of the assisting UE, whether the assisting UE has a known location, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0132], lines 1-32).
For claim 31, Rezagah disclose an assisting user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (fig 10);
at least one transceiver (fig 10); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory (fig 10) and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a positioning request from a target UE (paragraph [0012], lines 5-7), the positioning request including a zone identifier (ID) identifying a zone in which the target UE is located (paragraph [0012], lines 8-11);
determine, based on the assisting UE being outside a minimum positioning range (Min-PR) (paragraph [0083], lines 1-2) and (paragraph [0087], lines 1-2) whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE (paragraph [0081], lines 1-5); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, based on the assisting UE being within the Min-PR of the target lE, the positioning response to the target UE (paragraph [0084]-[0087], lines 1-2). However, Rezagah disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE as recited in claim 31.
Zhang from the same or analogous art teaches the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE (paragraph [0030]-[0034], lines 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE as taught by Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah.
The within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE can be modify/implemented by combining the within a maximum positioning range (Max-PR) of the target UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah. As disclosed in Zhang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the maximum position range where allows to control the range of communication of the device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 32, Rezagah disclose the assisting UE, further comprising: transmitting, based on the assisting UE being outside the Min-PR (paragraph [0083], lines 1-2) and (paragraph [0087], lines 1-2) and the positioning response to the target UE (paragraph [0123], lines 3-6). However, Rezagah disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the within the Max-PR of the target UE as recited in claim 32.
Zhang from the same or analogous art teaches the within the Max-PR of the target UE (paragraph [0030]-[0034], lines 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the within the Max-PR of the target UE as taught by Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah.
The within the Max-PR of the target UE can be modify/implemented by combining the within the Max-PR of the target UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah. As disclosed in Zhang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the maximum position range where allows to control the range of communication of the device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 33, Rezagah disclose the assisting UE, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: ignore, based on the assisting UE being outside the Max-PR of the target UE, the positioning request (paragraph [0068], lines 1-10).
For claim 34, Rezagah disclose the assisting UE, wherein the Min-PR is the same as a minimum communication range (paragraph [0087], lines 1-2) and (paragraph [0214], lines 1-4).
For claim 35, Rezagah disclose the assisting UE, wherein the Min-PR is different from a minimum communication range(paragraph [0213], lines 5-17 discloses the UE2 is within a predetermined distance D1, D3 to D5. Dependent on the distance is smaller or equal to a communication range requirement.).
For claim 36, Rezagah disclose the assisting UE, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, via the at least one transceiver, a configuration of the Min-PR (paragraph [0068], lines 31-35). However, Rezagah disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station as recited in claim 36.
Zhang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station (paragraph [0030]-[0034], lines 1-3) and (paragraph [0042], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station as taught by Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah.
The configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration of the Max-PR from a serving base station with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhang into the position signaling within a wireless communication system of Rezagah. As disclosed in Zhang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the maximum position range where allows to control the range of communication of the device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 38, Rezagah disclose the assisting UE, 38. (Original) The assisting UE of claim 31, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether to transmit a positioning response to the target UE based on one or more factors, the one or more factors comprising: a battery level of the assisting UE, a speed of the assisting UE, a distance between the assisting UE and the Max-PR, a direction from the assisting UE to the Max-PR, a processing capability of the assisting UE, whether the assisting UE has a known location, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0132], lines 1-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 37 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is shown in the following table:
US-10993177-B2
Young; Kristen S.
US-20200196227-A1
Young; T. Kristen
US-20210219268-A1
LI; Qing
US-20210050954-A1
RYU; Hyunseok
US-20180146333-A1
Lien; Pei-Yuan
US-20230008519-A1
HUANG; HSIU-LING
US-10816969-B2
Li; Jia Iun
US-20200259250-A1
Diamond; Lance B.
US-20200088581-A1
Steenhoek; Larry E.
US-20180041868-A1
GUNNARSSON; Fredrik
US-20230180171-A1
Modarres Razavi; Sara
US-20200146041-A1
KIM; Youngsub
US-20240314576-A1
Ramachandran; Vignesh Raja Karuppiah
US-20230262487-A1
SUNG; Jihoon
US-20230388756-A1
Jia; Jianxin
US-20150296366-A1
Lee; Ji-Cheol
US-20220053591-A1
ESTEVEZ; David Gutierrez
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642