Drawings
Changes to the drawings filed on 01/02/2026 are accepted.
Specification
Changes to the specification filed on 01/02/2026 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “A method for connecting…by a mining hose connecting device comprising:” and should be “A method for connecting…by a mining hose connecting device, the method comprising:” to avoid ambiguity and that it is the method that comprises the processes after “comprising” and not the mining hose connecting device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lambkin (US 1,181,676).
In regard to claim 1, Lambkin discloses a mining hose connecting device (Fig. 4 shows a hose connecting device. See note below.) for connecting a first hose and a second hose (Fig. 4 shows two hose connected), comprising:
a joint unit (Fig. 4, sleeves 36 define a joint unit), wherein the joint unit comprises a first joint and a second joint (Fig. 4, the two sleeves 36 define first and second joints), an inner diameter of the first joint is matched with an outer diameter of the first hose, and an inner diameter of the second joint is matched with an outer diameter of the second hose (Fig. 4, each 36 have at least one inner diameter that matches with an outer diameter of the hoses by at least contact or by at least the outer diameter of the hoses fitting within 36); wherein the inner diameter of the first joint is bonded with the first hose, and the inner diameter of the second joint is bonded with the second hose (Fig. 4, the inner diameters of 36 are at least bonded by pressure and contact with the respective hoses. See https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/bond that defines bond as including at least “come or be in close contact with”.):
a first fastening unit (Fig. 4, the sleeve at 33 define at least a first fastening unit), wherein the first fastening unit is arranged symmetrically about a first plane (Fig. 4, the cross-section shows at least 33 is symmetrical about at least one plane), an inner diameter of the first fastening unit is respectively in clearance fit with outer diameters of the first joint and the second joint (Fig. 4, an inner diameter of 33 receives a portion of each 36 as shown and has at least a clearance fit such that outer diameters of 36 can be inserted into 33), and the first plane is parallel to an extension direction of the first fastening unit (Fig. 4 shows the first plane is parallel to an axial extension direction of 33 since the part 33 is symmetrical about at least one center of 33);
a second fastening unit (Fig. 4, the sleeves at 35 define a second fastening unit), comprising a first fastener and a second fastener (Fig. 4, both 35 define first and second fasteners), wherein inner diameters of the first fastener and the second fastener are respectively in clearance fit with an outer diameter of the first fastening unit (Fig. 4, at the threaded portion of 35 define an inner diameter which respectively are in clearance fit by threads with an outer diameter of 33. This interpretation is similar to the applicant’s invention shown in Fig. 1 where the first and second fasteners 31 and 32 are threaded to the first fastening unit.).
It is noted that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP § 2114. The recitation “mining hose connecting device” is a nominal recitation of the intended manner of operation of the system, and does not add any further structure than the “hose connecting device". Therefore, little patentable weight is given to "mining".
In regard to claim 2, Lambkin discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a washer arranged at a connection of the first joint and the second joint (Fig. 4, the coupling 30 and nut 34 define a washer at a connection between 36), wherein the washer comprises a washer body (Fig. 4, 30 defines a washer body) and a backing ring (Fig. 4, nut 34 defines a backing ring), the washer body comprises a channel for media to circulate (Fig. 4, longitudinal bore of 30 defines a channel for fluid media to circulate), both ends of the washer body are respectively matched with second inner diameters of the first joint and the second joint (Fig. 4, ends at 31 of 30 are respectively matched with at least second inner diameters of 36 such that 31 inserts into 36. See https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/match which “match” can include the meaning of “fit together or make suitable for fitting together”.), the backing ring is connected with the washer body (Fig. 4, 34 is connected to 30 by threads), an outer diameter of the backing ring is larger than the washer body (Fig. 4, outermost diameter of 34 is larger than at least one diameter of 30), and the backing ring is arranged at the connection of the first joint and the second joint (Fig. 4, 34 is arranged at the connection of 36).
In regard to claim 4, Lambkin discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 2, wherein an inner diameter of the channel is less than or equal to inner diameters of the first hose and the second hose (Fig. 4, inner diameter of the channel of 30 is at least less than the inner diameters of the first and second hoses).
In regard to claim 7, Lambkin discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inner diameters of the first fastener and the second fastener are respectively in thread fit with the outer diameter of the first fastening unit (Fig. 4, 35 are thread fitted with the outer diameter of 33 as shown).
In regard to claim 9, Lambkin discloses a method for connecting a first hose and a second hose by a mining hose connecting device, the method comprising:
running the first hose through a first fastener, and running the second hose through a second fastener;
matching an outer diameter of the first hose with an inner diameter of a first joint, and matching an outer diameter of the second hose with an inner diameter of a second joint;
making an inner diameter of a first fastening unit respectively in clearance fit with outer diameters of the first joint and the second joint; and
making inner diameters of the first fastener and the second fastener respectively in clearance fit with an outer diameter of the first fastening unit (See claim 1 above that require the same features recited in claim 9).
In regard to claim 10, Lambkin discloses the method of claim 9, wherein matching the outer diameter of the first hose with the inner diameter of the first joint, and matching the outer diameter of the second hose with the inner diameter of the second joint further comprises:
providing a washer, wherein the washer comprises a washer body and a backing ring, the washer body comprises a channel for media to circulate, the backing ring is connected with the washer body, and an outer diameter of the backing ring is larger than the washer body; and
arranging the washer body and the backing ring at a connection of the first joint and the second joint, and matching both ends of the washer body respectively with the inner diameters of the first joint and the second joint (See claim 2 above that require the same features recited in claim 10).
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 20200002010 U).
In regard to claim 1, Kim discloses a mining hose connecting device (Fig. 3 shows a mining hose connecting device) for connecting a first hose and a second hose (Fig. 3, hoses H1 and H2), comprising:
a joint unit (Fig. 3, couplings C1 and C2 define a joint unit), wherein the joint unit comprises a first joint and a second joint (Fig. 3, C1 and C2 define first and second joints), an inner diameter of the first joint is matched with an outer diameter of the first hose, and an inner diameter of the second joint is matched with an outer diameter of the second hose (Fig. 3, C1 and C2 have at least an inner diameter that respectively match with an outer diameter of H1 and H2 in order to fit radially over H1 and H2); wherein the inner diameter of the first joint is bonded with the first hose, and the inner diameter of the second joint is bonded with the second hose (Fig. 3, C1 and C2 are at least bonded by close contact with H1 and H2):
a first fastening unit (Fig. 2, 10 and 20 define a first fastening unit), wherein the first fastening unit is arranged symmetrically about a first plane (Fig. 2, the first fastening unit is arranged symmetrically about at least a plane defined at the split between 10 and 20), an inner diameter of the first fastening unit is respectively in clearance fit with outer diameters of the first joint and the second joint (Figs. 2 and 3, inner diameter of 10 and 20 is at least in clearance fit with outer diameters of C1 and C2 since 10 and 20 fit over C1 and C2), and the first plane is parallel to an extension direction of the first fastening unit (Fig. 2, the first plane is parallel to an axial extension direction of 10 and 20);
a second fastening unit (Fig. 3, both 30 define a second fastening unit), comprising a first fastener and a second fastener (Fig. 3, both 30 define first and second fasteners), wherein inner diameters of the first fastener and the second fastener are respectively in clearance fit with an outer diameter of the first fastening unit (Figs. 2 and 3, the thread fit of 30 onto 10 and 20 define a clearance fit with an outer diameter of the first fastening unit).
In regard to claim 2, Kim discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a washer arranged at a connection of the first joint and the second joint (Fig. 3, the nipple N defines a washer at a connection of C1 and C2), wherein the washer comprises a washer body (Fig. 1, threaded portion of N defines a washer body) and a backing ring (Fig. 1, the hexagonal ring portion of N defines a backing ring), the washer body comprises a channel for media to circulate (Fig. 1, hole S defines a channel for fluid media to circulate), both ends of the washer body are respectively matched with second inner diameters of the first joint and the second joint (Fig. 1, both ends of the washer body have external threads which match with inner thread diameters of C1 and C2), the backing ring is connected with the washer body (Fig. 1, the backing ring is at least connected with the washer), an outer diameter of the backing ring is larger than the washer body (Fig. 1, an outer diameter of the backing ring defined by a circle that circumscribes the corners of the hexagonal shape is larger than an outer diameter of the washer body), and the backing ring is arranged at the connection of the first joint and the second joint (Fig. 3, the backing ring is arranged at the connection of C1 and C2).
In regard to claim 5, Kim discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 1, wherein first joint and the second joint are respectively provided with clamping columns and/or clamping grooves (Fig. 3, the parts P1 and P2 define at least clamping columns of joint C1 and P3 and P4 define at least clamping columns of joint C2), and the first fastening unit is connected with the joint unit through the clamping columns and/or the clamping grooves (Fig. 3, 10 has grooves at 12 and 14 and 20 also have identical grooves to 12 and 14 such that the grooves define clamping grooves connected with the clamping columns of the first and second joint).
In regard to claim 7, Kim discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inner diameters of the first fastener and the second fastener are respectively in thread fit with the outer diameter of the first fastening unit (Figs. 2 and 3, inner diameters of 30 are thread fit with the outer diameter of 10 and 20).
In regard to claim 8, Kim discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 1, wherein one end of the first joint away from the second joint and one end of the second joint away from the first joint are respectively provided with a joint fastening ring (Fig. 3, the parts P1 and P3 define at least a joint fastening ring), and the joint fastening rings are in clearance fit with the first fastening unit (Fig. 3, P1 and P3 are at least in radial clearance fit with 10 and 20).
In regard to claim 9, Kim discloses a method for connecting a first hose and a second hose by a mining hose connecting device, the method comprising:
running the first hose through a first fastener, and running the second hose through a second fastener;
matching an outer diameter of the first hose with an inner diameter of a first joint, and matching an outer diameter of the second hose with an inner diameter of a second joint;
making an inner diameter of a first fastening unit respectively in clearance fit with outer diameters of the first joint and the second joint; and
making inner diameters of the first fastener and the second fastener respectively in clearance fit with an outer diameter of the first fastening unit (See claim 1 above for the same reasons which requires the same features as claim 9).
In regard to claim 10, Kim discloses the method of claim 9, wherein matching the outer diameter of the first hose with the inner diameter of the first joint, and matching the outer diameter of the second hose with the inner diameter of the second joint further comprises:
providing a washer, wherein the washer comprises a washer body and a backing ring, the washer body comprises a channel for media to circulate, the backing ring is connected with the washer body, and an outer diameter of the backing ring is larger than the washer body; and
arranging the washer body and the backing ring at a connection of the first joint and the second joint, and matching both ends of the washer body respectively with the inner diameters of the first joint and the second joint (See claim 2 above for the same reasons which requires the same features as claim 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 3:
Lambkin discloses the mining hose connecting device as claimed in claim 2, however, does not show or suggest the backing ring is also provided with a seal ring. While Nehaus discloses a seal ring, the Examiner agrees with applicant’s arguments filed on 01/02/2026 that it would not have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Lambkin and Nehaus. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lambkin and Nehaus, alone or in combination, to include the backing ring is also provided with a seal ring with a reasonable expectation of success because such a modification would require hindsight reasoning and reconstruction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Lambkin’s joints are internal inserts that expand the hose from the inside in contrast to claim 1 that requires a join unit where the inner 27 diameter of the first/second joint is matched and bonded with the outer diameter of the 28 hose, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because applicant’s arguments failed to reasonably consider the Non-Final Rejection filed on 10/01/2025, the prior art Lambkin, and claim 1. Claim 1 recites “the joint unit comprises a first joint and a second joint, an inner diameter of the first joint is matched with an outer diameter of the first hose, and an inner diameter of the second joint is matched with an outer diameter of the second hose, wherein the inner diameter of the first joint is bonded with the first hose, and the inner diameter of the second joint is bonded with the second hose” which each 36 of Lambkin can be reasonably interpreted as first and second joints that respectively have inner diameters that bond by contact to the respective first and second hoses similar to applicant’s invention shown in Fig. 1 where the joints appear to be bonded by contact an on the outer surfaces of the first and second hoses. Therefore, each 36 are at least sleeves that encapsulates the respective hose which is similar to what applicant argued as the meaning of the joints which the present invention are external sleeves that encapsulate the hose. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and failed to reasonably consider the Non-Final rejection filed on 10/01/2025.
In response to applicant’s arguments that claim 1 specifically requires that the inner diameter of the first fastening unit is in a clearance fit with the outer diameters of the joint which a clearance fit allows for a sliding, non-rotational assembly which is distinct from the rotational, frictional locking mechanism of Lambkin’s threads, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because applicant’s arguments failed to reasonably consider the Non-Final Rejection filed on 10/01/2025, the prior art Lambkin, and claim 1. Applicant’s arguments focus on the threads with regard to the first fastening unit, however, the Examiner did not rely upon the threads with regard to the first fastening unit and the clearance fit over the first and second joints. Claim 1 recites “a first fastening unit…an inner diameter of the first fastening unit is respectively in clearance fit with outer diameters of the first join and the second joint” which the sleeve part 33 of Lambkin can be reasonably interpreted as a first fastening unit and since each 36 can slide within 33 as shown, then 33 can be reasonably interpreted as being in a clearance fit with each 36. Furthermore, “a clearance fit” does not restrict rotational movement and applicant’s arguments failed to provide sufficient facts and evidence that the recitation “clearance fit” would require rotational restriction. Additionally, claim 1 recites “a second fastening unit…are respectively in clearance fit with an outer diameter of the first fastening unit” which are the nuts 31 and 32 in Fig. 1 that are threaded onto the first fastening unit 5, and therefore, contradicts applicant’s arguments about “clearance fit” not being rotational and not being threads. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and unclear.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Kim does not “comprise” of the joints C1 and C2 and is merely an external shell added after the joints have been established, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because what is existing and added by Kim define at least a whole system that “comprises” C1 and C2. Even in the claims of Kim requires the nipple “N” and first and second couplings “C1” and “C2” connected to hoses “H1” and “H2”. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Kim’s bodies 10 and 20 function solely as a safety containment shell and do not require a fluid-tight seal of the connection, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because claim 1 does not require a fluid-tight seal of the connection but rather a first fastening unit in clearance fit over the first and second joints which 10 and 20 are split bodies with threaded ends similar to applicant’s invention that fits over a first joint and a second joint. Furthermore, 10 and 20 provide at least a seal against large external objects. Applicant’s arguments continue to argue that 10 and 20 of Kim do not “realizes the end face seal of the joint unit”, however, claim 1 does not recite the first fastening unit realizing an end face seal of the joint unit and 10 and 20 at least realize a seal exists prior to applying 10 and 20 even if the limitation “realizes the end face seal of the joint” was included in claim 1. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that claim 2 a washer that is an integral structure and Lambkin lacks any such intermediate sealing washer structure that interfaces with the joint counterbores, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because claim 2 does not require a washer to be a single integral structure and applicant’s “washer” is a not a traditional or standard washer, therefore, the term does not inherently require a single integral structure. If applicant intended washer to require being a single integral structure formed as a single part, then it must be properly claimed. Therefore, the parts 30 and 34 of Lambkin can be reasonably interpreted as a washer having a washer body at 30 and backing ring at 34 which 30 has a fluid channel for media to circulate. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments failed to provide sufficient facts and evidence from claim 2 that distinguishes over Lambkin and that the parts 30 and 34 of Lambkin can be reasonably interpreted as a washer. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that nipple “N” cannot be interpreted as a washer having a washer body and a backing ring because it is not part of Kim’s invention as previously mentioned above for claim 1, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree for the same reasons above for claim 1 and that the nipple “N” can be reasonably interpreted as a washer in a similar manner as applicant’s invention because “N” is a ring-shaped body having at least two distinct portions as a washer body and a backing ring which is how applicant’s claimed washer is defined that includes a washer body portion distinct from a backing ring portion. Applicant’s arguments continue to argue that the recited “backing ring” is designed to support a sealing element or interface with a joint counterbore, however, claim 2 does not recite such requirements and nor does it inherently requires such requirements. Claim 2 recites “a backing ring…the backing ring is connected with the washer body, an outer diameter of the backing ring is larger than the washer body, and the backing ring is arranged at the connection of the first joint and the second joint” which lacks any mention of supporting a sealing element and are features met by the hexagonal portion of Kim that is connected to the washer body, an outer diameter defined by the circumscribing of the corners of the hexagonal shape, and the hexagonal portion is arranged at the connection of the first and second joints. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679