DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 1, 2, and 8 are amended. Claim 13 was previously withdrawn from consideration, as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 08/04/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5 filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 2, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 2 to distinguish between the chamber of the device and chamber of the infrared heater, amended claim 1 to correct the antecedent basis issue with the limitation “the base body”, and amended claim 8 to further define the position of the body of the electrodes. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 2, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-9, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 8, Applicant argues a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to provide the heating column of Zhou within a heat dissipation case as disclosed by Park because such modification would increase manufacturing difficulty by requiring the infrared radiation coating (112) of Zhou be applied to the inside of a narrow internal cavity of a “base tube”. The Examiner disagrees. The prior rejection relied upon modifying the heat column of Zhou by providing the heating column within a heat dissipation case (111, 112, Fig. 4) as taught by Park. The prior rejection did not propose applying the infrared radiation coating (112) of Zhou on the inner surface of the ceramic tube (111) disclosed by Zhou. The modification relied upon does not require the infrared radiation coating (112) of Zhou be applied to the inner surface of a tube.
On pg. 8, Applicant argues a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to provide the heating column of Zhou within a heat dissipation case as disclosed by Park because Zhou discloses the infrared radiation coating (112) is positioned on the outermost surface to directly emit infrared radiation to the surrounding substrate and the proposed modification would degrade thermal efficiency. The Examiner disagrees. Zhou discloses that infrared radiation heating may not require a heat transfer medium ([0007]) but Zhou does not appear to disclose the infrared radiation column must be positioned in direct contact with the aerosol forming substrate for thermal efficiency. In regards to the motivation to modify Zhou with Park, Park discloses the heat dissipation case (110, 111, 112) provides a protective covering for the heater (120) and prevents damage to the heater (120, [0006]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide the heating column of Zhou within a heat dissipation case as disclosed by Park to protect and prevent damage to the heating column.
Therefore, the below rejections are maintained and modified based on Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation, “wherein the body of the first electrode and the body of the second electrode are both arranged adjacent to the first end”, however, the specification does not support this limitation. The specification discloses, “Referring to Fig. 5 for understanding, in another example, both the body 1231 and the body 1241 are arranged at the first end 122a” ([0054]). However, Fig. 5 appears to illustrate the first electrode body (1231) and second electrode body (1241) arranged at opposing ends of the carbon material containing heating body (122), where the first electrode body (1231) is arranged near the first end (122a) and the second electrode body (1241) is arranged near the second end (122b). The specification does not appear to disclose the body of the first electrode and the body of the second electrode are both arranged adjacent to the first end, wherein the first end is arranged close to the closed end of the elongated base body of the infrared heater. Therefore the specification does not support this limitation.
No prior art rejection is given for claim 8, as it is unclear how the device would function if both the body of the first electrode and the body of the second electrode were both arranged adjacent to the first end because the specification discloses the first electrode and second electrode are spaced apart to transfer heat longitudinally through the carbon material containing heating body ([0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 109674093 A, as cited on IDS dated 10/15/2023, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) in view of Park (WO 2020017696 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/04/2024, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses an aerosol generating system (Fig. 1, [0009]), comprising:
A cartridge chamber (12, “a first chamber”, Fig. 1, [0046]),
An infrared heating column (11, “infrared heater”, Fig. 4, [0047]), and;
A shell component (4, “a core”) housing a battery (3) for supplying electric power (Fig. 1, [0045, 0047]).
The infrared heating column (11, “infrared heater”, Fig. 4) comprises:
An infrared radiation coating (112) comprising carbon fiber (“a carbon material containing heating body”) extending longitudinally from first end (top end connected to 113) to a second end (bottom end connected to 18, Fig. 4, [0047, 0052]),
A first and second electrode (115, 116) arranged on the infrared radiation coating (112), and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 4, [0047]), and;
The first and second electrode (115, 116) are electrically connected to a battery assembly (3) and are used to energize the infrared radiation coating (112) to release infrared radiation (i.e. generate infrared rays, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0047]).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose an elongated base body having a closed end and open end, wherein the carbon material containing heating body is accommodated in a second chamber in communication with the open end of the elongated base body.
However, Park, directed to a heater module (100, Fig. 1) for an electronic cigarette ([0017]), discloses:
A heater module (100) comprising a heat dissipation case (110) having a closed end (112) and open end (111a) in which a heater (120) is inserted into (Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0017, 0019,0025]).
The inner cavity of the hater dissipation case (110, 111, 112, Fig. 2, Fig. 4) is considered to be a second chamber.
The closed end (112) is configured to be inserted in an aerosol forming substrate (Fig. 7).
The heat dissipation case (110, 111, 112) provides a protective covering for the heater (120) and prevents damage to the heater (120, [0006]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou by accommodating the heating column within heat dissipation case as taught by Park because both Zhou and Park are directed to aerosol generating devices, Park teaches the heat dissipation case protects the heater and prevents heater damage, and this involves applying a known outer covering to a similar heating structure in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Providing the heating column (11, “infrared heater”) of Zhou within a heater dissipation case (110, Fig. 1) as taught by Park would result in the first end (top end Fig. 4) of the infrared radiation coating (Zhou: 112, “carbon material containing heating body”) being arranged close to the closed end of the heater dissipation case (Park: 110, Fig. 1) and the first and second electrodes (Zhou: 115, 116) being accommodated in the second chamber formed by the inner cavity of the heater dissipation case (Park: 110, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses a first and second electrode (115, 116) comprising a ring shaped body (cross section of infrared heating column 11 shown in Fig. 4) arranged on the infrared radiation coating (112, “carbon material containing heating body”), where the first electrode (116) is connected to the battery (3) via a wire (114, “an electrode lead”) and the second electrode (115) can be directly connected to the battery (3, Fig. 4, [0047]).
Park discloses a second chamber formed by the inner cavity of the hater dissipation case (110, 111, 112, Fig. 2, Fig. 4). The body of the first and second electrode (115, 116) are part of the heating column and therefore providing the heating column of Zhou in a heater dissipation case of Park, would result in the body of the first and second electrode being accommodated in the second chamber.
Zhou discloses the second electrode (115) abuts a control component (2, Fig. 3, [0023, 0045]) but does not explicitly disclose how the lower/second electrode (115) is directly connected to the battery (3).
However, Park, directed to a heater module (100, Fig. 1) for an electronic cigarette ([0017]), discloses:
A heater (120) comprising heater electrode terminals (123) each connected to a power supply unit (130) via first and second conductive lines (131, 132, “an electrode lead”, Fig. 5, [0026]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Zhou by connecting the lower/second electrode to the battery via a conductive line as taught by Park because both Zhou and Park are directed to aerosol generating devices, Zhou teaches the lower/second electrode is directly connected to the battery but is silent to the connection means, Park teaches a heater having two electrodes connected to a power supply via conducting lines, and one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar heaters for how to connect the electrodes to a battery, and this involves applying a known connection with a conductive line in a similar heater in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses the first electrode body (116) is arranged at the first/upper end of the infrared radiation coating (112, “carbon material containing heating body”) and the second electrode body (115) is arranged at the second/lower end of the infrared radiation coating (112, “carbon material containing heating body”, Fig. 4, [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses two ring shaped electrodes (115, 116, Fig. 4) connected to the infrared radiation coating (112, “carbon material containing heating body”, Fig. 4, [0047]). The portion of the infrared radiation coating (112) occupied by the ring shaped electrodes (115, 116) is considered to be a first electrode hole and second electrode hole.
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses the infrared radiation coating (12) comprises carbon fiber (Fig. 4, [0047, 0052]).
Claims 4-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 109674093 A, as cited on IDS dated 10/15/2023, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) in view of Park (WO 2020017696 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/04/2024, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Cui (US 20230100970 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses the wire (114) extends through a ceramic tube (111, Fig. 4, [0047]) and Park discloses conductive lines (131, 132) pass through the open end (111a) of the heat dissipation case (110, Fig. 5).
Zhou and Park do not explicitly disclose a groove recessed from a side surface in a radial direction of the infrared radiation coating/carbon material containing heating body.
However, Cui, directed to a heating apparatus (4, Fig.4, [0051]) for an electronic cigarette, discloses:
A positioning groove (115) provided on a surface of the casing plate (111) to fix a heating element wire (120) in within the casing (111, Fig. 4, [0038, 0051-0052]).
The positioning groove (115) may be formed on each side of the casing (111, [0051]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou, in view of Park, by providing a positioning groove on the outer surface of the infrared radiation coating as taught by Cui because both Zhou and Cui are directed to aerosol generating devices, Cui teaches a positioning groove for fixing a wire in a housing, and this involves applying a known positioning groove to a housing in a similar heater in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses a ring shaped lower second electrode (115) having a through hole extending longitudinally in which the wire (114, “electrode lead of the first electrode”) extends through (Fig. 4, [0047]).
Park discloses conductive lines (131, 132) that pass through the open end (111a) of the heat dissipation case (110, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses an insulating film (113) coated on the heat dissipation case (110, Fig. 4b, [0023]).
The infrared radiation column (Zhou: 11) is provided in the heat dissipation case (Park: 110, Fig. 4) and therefore the insulating film (Park: 113) on the periphery of the heat dissipation case (Park: 110, Fig. 4) is sleeved (i.e. covering or surrounding) on a periphery of the first electrode lead (Zhou: 114, Fig. 4).
The Examiner notes that claim 6 does not require the insulating member be provided on a surface of the first electrode lead.
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses an insulating film (113) coated on the heat dissipation case (110, Fig. 4b, [0023]).
The infrared radiation column (Zhou: 11) is provided in the heat dissipation case (Park: 110, Fig. 4) and therefore the insulating film (Park: 113) on the periphery of the heat dissipation case (Park: 110, Fig. 4) is sleeved (i.e. covering or surrounding) on a periphery of the first electrode lead (Zhou: 114, Fig. 4).
The Examiner notes that claim 14 does not require the insulating member be provided on a surface of the first electrode lead.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 109674093 A, as cited on IDS dated 10/15/2023, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) in view of Park (WO 2020017696 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/04/2024, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) and Cui (US 20230100970 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Asmus (US 20210392955 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses a temperature sensor (17) provided on the control component (2, Fig. 1, [0041, 0061]).
Zhou, Park, or Cui do not explicitly disclose a temperature sensor at least partially arranged in the groove.
However, Asmus, directed to a heating element (1) for a system for providing an inhalable aerosol (Fig. 1, [0072]), discloses:
A temperature sensor (13) arranged in a longitudinal groove on a heating element (1) which provides a space saving arrangement (Fig. 2, [0044, 0072-0073]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou, in view of Park and Cui, by providing a temperature sensor within the groove as taught by Asmus because both Zhou and Asmus are directed to aerosol generating devices, Asmus teaches positioning a temperature sensor in a groove of a heating element is a space saving arrangement, and this involves positioning a known temperature sensor in a groove in a similar heater in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 109674093 A, as cited on IDS dated 10/15/2023, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) in view of Park (WO 2020017696 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/04/2024, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Russell (US 20180055089 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses a first and second electrode hole formed by the portion of the infrared radiation coating (112) occupied by the ring shaped electrodes (115, 116), as discussed in claim 9 above.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose the first electrode body is threadably connected to the first electrode hole and second electrode body is threadably connected to the second electrode hole.
However, Russell, directed to a vaporizer (102, Fig. 2, [0032]), discloses:
A female threaded electrical contact and male threaded electrical contact (202) for mechanical and electrical coupling of a vaporizing unit (106) to a battery unit (104), allowing the battery unit (104) to be attached and detached from the vaporizing unit (106, Fig. 2, [0035]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou, in view of Park, by providing a threaded connection between the electrodes and the electrode holes as taught by Russell because both Russell and Inoue are directed to aerosol generating devices, Russell teaches the threaded connection allows the component to be attached and detached, and this involves applying a known threaded connection in an electrical contact a similar heater in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 109674093 A, as cited on IDS dated 10/15/2023, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) in view of Park (WO 2020017696 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/04/2024, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Inoue (WO 2021025032 A1, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou is silent to a sealing member to seal the open end of the elongated base body.
However, Inoue, directed to a tobacco heating device (1, Fig. 1, [0011]), discloses:
A tobacco heater (1) comprising a base (10) inserted into an opening in a flange (30, Fig. 1, [0011-0012, 0028]), and
A bonding layer (40, “a seal member”) for bonding the substrate (10) to the flange (30, Fig. 3, [0029]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou, in view of Park, by providing a bonding layer between the lower/second end of the infrared radiation column and the opening of the heat dissipation case as taught by Inoue because both Zhou and Inoue are directed to aerosol generating devices, Inoue teaches the bonding layer is used to secure a heater to an opening in the base, and this involves applying a known bonding layer to a similar heater in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755