DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on October 16, 2023, is acknowledged.
Cancellation of claims 10-11, 13, 15, 18-19, 22-26, 28, 31-32 and 34-37 has been entered.
Claims 1-9, 12, 14, 16-17, 20-21, 27, 29-30, 33 and 38 are pending in the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,550,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as set forth below.
Instant application
U.S. Patent No. 12,550,538
Claim 1 states,
A display substrate, comprising:
(1) a base substrate, at least comprising a first display region;
(2) a plurality of sub-pixels, located in the first display region of the base substrate,
(3) wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element,
(4) the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer, and a first electrode and a second electrode located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers,
(5) wherein the display substrate further comprises an isolation structure, at least one isolation structure is arranged between adjacent sub-pixels,
(6) the isolation structure comprises a first sub- isolation structure and a second sub-isolation structure which are stacked, and the first sub-isolation structure is located between the second sub-isolation structure and the base substrate;
in an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels,
(7) a size of the first sub-isolation structure in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels is less than a size of the second sub- isolation structure in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels, so that the second sub- isolation structure comprises a part protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation structure; or,
(8) a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation structure and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees, and/or
(9) a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the second sub-isolation structure and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees;
(10) at least one film layer among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation structure.
Claim 1 states,
A display substrate, comprising:
(1) a base substrate, comprising at least a first display region;
(2) a plurality of sub-pixels located in the first display region on the base substrate,
(3) each sub-pixel of at least a part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprising a light-emitting element, (4) the light-emitting element comprising a light-emitting functional layer and a first electrode and a second electrode located on two sides of the light-emitting functional layer in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode being located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprising a plurality of film layers, a pixel defining pattern located at a side of the first electrode away from the base substrate, the pixel defining pattern located at least in the first display region comprising a plurality of first openings, one sub-pixel corresponding to at least one first opening, the light-emitting element of the sub-pixel at least partially located in the first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the first opening being configured to expose the first electrode,
(5) wherein the display substrate further comprises a defining structure, at least one defining structure is arranged between at least two adjacent sub-pixels, and
(6) the defining structure comprises a first sub-structure and a second sub-structure which are stacked, the first sub-structure is located between the second sub-structure and the base substrate, and a material of the first sub-structure is different from that of the second sub-structure; along an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels,
(7) an edge of the second sub-structure in the defining structure between the adjacent sub-pixels protrudes relative to an edge of the first sub-structure to form a protruding portion; or,
(9) a slope angle between at least a part of a side surface of the second sub-structure and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-structure and the second sub-structure is a first slope angle,
(8) a slope angle between at least a part of a side surface of the first sub-structure and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-structure and the second sub-structure is a second slope angle, and (8/9) at least one of the first slope angle and the second slope angle is greater than 60 degrees, and a surface area of the second sub-structure close to the first sub-structure is not less than an area of the contact surface between the first sub-structure and the second sub-structure,
(10) at least one of the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the defining structure, the pixel defining pattern further comprises a plurality of second openings, and at least a part of the defining structure is exposed by the second opening.
Claim 2 states,
wherein a material of the first sub- isolation structure is different from a material of the second sub-isolation structure.
Claim 1 states,
the defining structure comprises a first sub-structure and a second sub-structure which are stacked, the first sub-structure is located between the second sub-structure and the base substrate, and a material of the first sub-structure is different from that of the second sub-structure.
Claim 33 states,
wherein the light-emitting functional layer comprises at least one light-emitting layer, and at least one light-emitting layer and at least one other film layer are included in film layers in the light- emitting functional layer disconnected at the isolation structure; an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one other film layer which is disconnected on the base substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one light-emitting layer which is disconnected on the base substrate; or, an area of a part, of the at least one other film layer which is disconnected, covering the isolation structure is greater than an area of a part, of the at least one light-emitting layer which is disconnected, covering the isolation structure.
Claim 16 states,
wherein the light-emitting functional layer comprises at least one light-emitting layer, and the film layers of the light-emitting functional layer disconnected at the defining structure comprise at least one light-emitting layer and at least one other film layer; an area of an orthogonal projection of the at least one other film layer disconnected on the base substrate is larger than that of the at least one light-emitting layer disconnected on the base substrate; or an area of a part of the at least one other film layer, which is disconnected, for covering the defining structure is larger than that of the at least one light-emitting layer, which is disconnected, for covering the defining structure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 20-21, 33 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (US 2012/0205678 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses a display substrate (Figs. 2A-2C), comprising: a base substrate (101), at least comprising a first display region (103); a plurality of sub-pixels (201), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (201) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element, the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (105), and a first electrode (103) and a second electrode (107) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (105) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (103) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (105) and the base substrate (101), and the light-emitting functional layer (105) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0110]), wherein the display substrate (101) further comprises an isolation structure (113), at least one isolation structure (113) is arranged between adjacent sub-pixels, the isolation structure comprises a first sub-isolation structure (135a) and a second sub-isolation structure (135b) which are stacked (Fig. 4C), and the first sub-isolation structure (135a) is located between the second sub-isolation structure (135b) and the base substrate (101); in an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, a size of the first sub-isolation structure (135a) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels is less than a size of the second sub-isolation structure (135b) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels, so that the second sub-isolation structure (135b) comprises a part protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation structure (135a, Fig. 4C); or, a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation structure (135a) and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure (135b) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (forms a 90º angle, Fig. 4C), and/or a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the second sub-isolation structure (135b) and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure (135b) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (forms a 90º angle, Fig. 4C); at least one film layer (105) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda discloses a display substrate wherein a material of the first sub- isolation structure is different from a material of the second sub-isolation structure (¶[0149]).
Regarding claim 20, Ikeda discloses a display substrate further comprising: a pixel defining pattern (109), wherein at least the pixel defining pattern (109) located in the first display region comprises a plurality of first openings (Fig. 2B), one sub-pixel (201) corresponds to at least one first opening (Fig. 2B), and the light emitting element of the sub-pixel (201) is at least partially located in the at least one first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel (201), and the at least one first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (103); wherein the pixel defining pattern (109) further comprises a plurality of second openings, the isolation structure (113) is located in the second opening (Fig. 3C), and a gap is arranged between the isolation structure and a sidewall of the second opening (Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 21, Ikeda discloses a display substrate wherein the pixel defining pattern comprises a pixel defining portion (Fig. 2B) located between the first opening and the second opening which are arranged adjacently, and an included angle between a sidewall of the pixel defining portion formed as a sidewall of the first opening and a plane parallel to the base substrate is different from an included angle between a sidewall of the pixel defining portion formed as a sidewall of the second opening and the plane parallel to the base substrate (Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 33, Ikeda discloses a display substrate wherein the light-emitting functional layer comprises at least one light-emitting layer (105), and at least one light-emitting layer (105) and at least one other film layer are included in film layers in the light-emitting functional layer disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 2B); an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one other film layer which is disconnected on the base substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one light-emitting layer which is disconnected on the base substrate; or, an area of a part, of the at least one other film layer which is disconnected, covering the isolation structure is greater than an area of a part, of the at least one light-emitting layer which is disconnected, covering the isolation structure (emission layer 105 is a stacked-layer structure, Fig. 9A; as shown in Fig. 12, the width of the stacked layer structure covering the isolation structure is gradually reduced away from the top surface of the isolation structure during deposition, as such, an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one other film layer is greater that an area orthographic projection of the at least one light-emitting layer, positioned over the at least one other film layer, on the base substrate).
Regarding claim 38, Ikeda discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 107359263 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a display substrate (Figs. 7a-7h), comprising: a base substrate (11), at least comprising a first display region (Fig. 3); a plurality of sub-pixels (13), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (13) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element, the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (1601), and a first electrode (12) and a second electrode (15) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (17) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (12) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (1601) and the base substrate (11), and the light-emitting functional layer (1601) comprises a plurality of film layers (Fig. 5), wherein the display substrate (11) further comprises an isolation structure (14), at least one isolation structure is arranged between adjacent sub-pixels, the isolation structure comprises a first sub-isolation structure (14, top portion) and a second sub-isolation structure (14, bottom portion) which are stacked (Fig. 7d), and the first sub-isolation structure (14) is located between the second sub-isolation structure (14, top portion) and the base substrate (11); in an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, a size of the first sub-isolation structure (14, bottom portion) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels is less than a size of the second sub-isolation structure (14, top portion) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels, so that the second sub-isolation structure comprises a part (19) protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation structure (Fig. 7d); or, a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation structure (135a) and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure (135b) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (forms a 90º angle, Fig. 7d); at least one film layer (1601) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 7e).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses a display substrate wherein a material of the first sub-isolation structure (14) and a material of the second sub-isolation structure (14) both comprise a same element (Fig. 7e).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses a display substrate wherein the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure are integrally formed (Fig. 7e), and a material of the first sub-isolation structure comprises an organic material (¶s[0080-0086]).
Regarding claim 38, Wang discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 20, 21, 27, 33 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR 20150075188 A).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display substrate (Fig. 2), comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region (Fig. 2); a plurality of sub-pixels (¶[0054]), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element, the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (170), and a first electrode (130) and a second electrode (180) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (170) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (130) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (170) and the base substrate (110), and the light-emitting functional layer (170) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0036]), wherein the display substrate (110) further comprises an isolation structure, at least one isolation structure is arranged between adjacent sub-pixels, the isolation structure comprises a first sub-isolation structure (150) and a second sub-isolation structure (160) which are stacked (Fig. 2), and the first sub-isolation structure (150) is located between the second sub-isolation structure (160) and the base substrate (110); in an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, a size of the first sub-isolation structure (150) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels is less than a size of the second sub-isolation structure (160) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 2), so that the second sub-isolation structure (160) comprises a part protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation structure (150, Fig. 2); or, a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation structure (150) and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure (160) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (Fig. 2), and/or a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the second sub-isolation structure (160) and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure (150) and the second sub-isolation structure (160) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (Fig. 2); at least one film layer (170) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses a display substrate wherein a material of the first sub-isolation structure (150) is different from a material of the second sub-isolation structure (160, ¶[0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses a display substrate wherein the material of the first sub-isolation structure (150) comprises an inorganic non-metallic material or a metallic material or a metal oxide (¶[0051]), and the material of the second sub-isolation structure (160) comprises an organic material (¶[0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses a display substrate wherein each isolation structure further comprises a third sub-isolation structure (135) stacked with the second sub-isolation structure (160) and the first sub-isolation structure (150), and the third sub-isolation structure (135) is located between the first sub-isolation structure (150) and the base substrate (110); in the arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, in the isolation structure between adjacent sub-pixels, a maximum size of the third sub-isolation structure (135) is greater than a maximum size of the first sub-isolation structure (150, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses a display substrate further comprising: a pixel defining pattern (140), wherein at least the pixel defining pattern (140) located in the first display region comprises a plurality of first openings (Fig. 2), one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening (Fig. 2), and the light emitting element of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the at least one first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel (Fig. 2), and the at least one first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (130); wherein the pixel defining pattern (140) further comprises a plurality of second openings, the isolation structure (150) is located in the second opening (Fig. 2), and a gap is arranged between the isolation structure (150) and a sidewall of the second opening (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses a display substrate wherein the pixel defining pattern comprises a pixel defining portion (140) located between the first opening and the second opening which are arranged adjacently (Fig. 2), and an included angle between a sidewall of the pixel defining portion (140) formed as a sidewall of the first opening and a plane parallel to the base substrate is different from an included angle between a sidewall of the pixel defining portion formed as a sidewall of the second opening and the plane parallel to the base substrate (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 27, Park discloses a display substrate further comprising: a pixel defining pattern (140), wherein at least the pixel defining pattern (140) located in the first display region comprises a plurality of first openings (Fig. 2), one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening, and the light emitting element of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the at least one first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the at least one first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (130); the pixel defining pattern (140) further comprises a plurality of second openings (Fig. 2), and the isolation structure (150) is located in the second opening and spaced apart from a sidewall of the second opening (Fig. 2); a blocking portion is arranged between the third sub-isolation structure and the base substrate, and the blocking portion is arranged in the same layer as the first electrode.
Regarding claim 33, Park discloses a display substrate wherein the light-emitting functional layer comprises at least one light-emitting layer (170), and at least one light-emitting layer (170) and at least one other film layer are included in film layers in the light-emitting functional layer disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 2); an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one other film layer which is disconnected on the base substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one light-emitting layer which is disconnected on the base substrate; or, an area of a part, of the at least one other film layer which is disconnected, covering the isolation structure is greater than an area of a part, of the at least one light-emitting layer which is disconnected, covering the isolation structure (emission layer 170 is a stacked-layer structure, as shown in Fig. 2, the width of the stacked layer structure covering the isolation structure is gradually reduced away from the top surface of the isolation structure during deposition, as such, an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one other film layer is greater that an area orthographic projection of the at least one light-emitting layer, positioned over the at least one other film layer, on the base substrate).
Regarding claim 38, Park discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 20-21 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2021/0376283 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a display substrate (Fig. 3A), comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region (Fig. 1); a plurality of sub-pixels (SP), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (SP) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element (150), the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (152), and a first electrode (151) and a second electrode (153) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (152) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (151) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (152) and the base substrate (110), and the light-emitting functional layer (152) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0085]), wherein the display substrate (110) further comprises an isolation structure (130), at least one isolation structure (130) is arranged between adjacent sub-pixels, the isolation structure comprises a first sub-isolation structure (132) and a second sub-isolation structure (133) which are stacked (Fig. 3B), and the first sub-isolation structure (132) is located between the second sub-isolation structure (133) and the base substrate (110); in an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, a size of the first sub-isolation structure (132) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels is less than a size of the second sub-isolation structure (132) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 3A), so that the second sub-isolation structure (133) comprises a part protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation structure (132, Fig. 3B); or, a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation structure (132) and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure (133) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (forms a 90º angle, Fig. 3B), and/or a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the second sub-isolation structure (135b) and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure (132) and the second sub-isolation structure (133) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (forms a 90º angle, Fig. 3B); at least one film layer (152) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 3B, ¶[0087]).
Regarding claim 2, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein a material of the first sub-isolation structure (132) is different from a material of the second sub-isolation structure (133, ¶[0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein the material of the first sub-isolation structure (132) and the material of the second sub-isolation structure (133) both comprise metal (133, ¶[0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein each isolation structure (130) further comprises a third sub-isolation structure (131) stacked with the second sub-isolation structure and the first sub-isolation structure, and the third sub-isolation structure (131) is located between the first sub-isolation structure (132) and the base substrate (110); in the arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, in the isolation structure between adjacent sub-pixels, a maximum size of the third sub-isolation structure (131) is greater than a maximum size of the first sub-isolation structure (132, Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 7, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein a distance between a surface of the isolation structure (130) facing the base substrate and the base substrate (110) is less than a distance between a surface of the first electrode (151) facing the base substrate and the base substrate (110, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 20, Shin discloses a display substrate further comprising: a pixel defining pattern (119), wherein at least the pixel defining pattern (119) located in the first display region comprises a plurality of first openings (at SP1), one sub-pixel (SP1) corresponds to at least one first opening (Fig. 3A), and the light emitting element (150) of the sub-pixel (SP1) is at least partially located in the at least one first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel (SP1), and the at least one first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (151); wherein the pixel defining pattern (119) further comprises a plurality of second openings (TR), the isolation structure (130) is located in the second opening (Fig. 3A), and a gap is arranged between the isolation structure (130) and a sidewall of the second opening (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 21, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein the pixel defining pattern (119) comprises a pixel defining portion (119) located between the first opening (at SP1) and the second opening (TR) which are arranged adjacently, and an included angle between a sidewall of the pixel defining portion (119) formed as a sidewall of the first opening (at SP1) and a plane parallel to the base substrate is different from an included angle between a sidewall of the pixel defining portion (119) formed as a sidewall of the second opening (TR) and the plane parallel to the base substrate (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 38, Shin discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 9 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim (US 2022/0181399 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shim discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region (AA); a plurality of sub-pixels (SPA1, SPA2), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (SPA) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element (200), the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (230), and a first electrode (210) and a second electrode (250) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (230) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (210) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (230) and the base substrate (110), and the light-emitting functional layer (230) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0087]), wherein the display substrate (110) further comprises an isolation structure (Fig. 3), at least one isolation structure is arranged between adjacent sub-pixels, the isolation structure comprises a first sub-isolation structure (273) and a second sub-isolation structure (180) which are stacked (Fig. 3), and the first sub-isolation structure (273) is located between the second sub-isolation structure (180) and the base substrate (110); in an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, a size of the first sub-isolation structure (273) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels is less than a size of the second sub-isolation structure (180) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels, so that the second sub-isolation structure comprises a part (UC) protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation structure (273); at least one film layer (230) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Shim discloses a display substrate wherein a material of the first sub- isolation structure (273, ¶[0103]) is different from a material of the second sub-isolation structure (180, ¶[0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Shim discloses a display substrate wherein the material of the first sub-isolation structure (273) comprises an inorganic non-metallic material or a metallic material or a metal oxide (¶[0103]), and the material of the second sub-isolation structure (180) comprises an organic material (¶[0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Shim discloses a display substrate wherein a surface of the second sub-isolation structure (180) away from the base substrate (110) is a curved surface, and the curved surface is bent toward the first sub-isolation structure (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Shim discloses a display substrate wherein the second sub-isolation structure (180) comprises a central region and edge regions located at both sides of the central region, which are distributed along an arrangement direction of two sub-pixels adjacent to the second sub-isolation structure, and along the direction perpendicular to the base substrate (110), a thickness of the central region of the second sub-isolation structure (180) is greater than a thickness of the edge region of the second sub-isolation structure (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 38, Shim discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 20150075188 A) in view of Shin et al. (US 2021/0376283 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses a display substrate wherein an organic layer (120) is arranged between the first electrode (130) and the base substrate (110), the first electrode (130) is in contact with a surface of the organic layer (120), but fails to exemplify wherein the organic layer comprises an organic layer opening, the isolation structure is located in the organic layer opening, and the isolation structure is spaced apart from a sidewall of the organic layer opening.
Shin discloses a display substrate (Fig. 3A), comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region (Fig. 1); a plurality of sub-pixels (SP), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (SP) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element (150), the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (152), and a first electrode (151) and a second electrode (153) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (152) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (151) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (152) and the base substrate (110), and the light-emitting functional layer (152) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0085]), wherein the display substrate (110) further comprises an isolation structure (130), at least one isolation structure (130) is arranged between adjacent sub-pixels, the isolation structure comprises a first sub-isolation structure (132) and a second sub-isolation structure (133) which are stacked (Fig. 3B), and the first sub-isolation structure (132) is located between the second sub-isolation structure (133) and the base substrate (110); in an arrangement direction of adjacent sub-pixels, a size of the first sub-isolation structure (132) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels is less than a size of the second sub-isolation structure (132) in the isolation structure between the adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 3A), so that the second sub-isolation structure (133) comprises a part protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation structure (132, Fig. 3B); or, a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation structure (132) and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure and the second sub-isolation structure (133) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (forms a 90º angle, Fig. 3B), and/or a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the second sub-isolation structure (135b) and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-isolation structure (132) and the second sub-isolation structure (133) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (forms a 90º angle, Fig. 3B); at least one film layer (152) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 3B, ¶[0087]), wherein an organic layer (120) is arranged between the first electrode (130) and the base substrate (110), the first electrode (130) is in contact with a surface of the organic layer (120), wherein an organic layer (117) is arranged between the first electrode (151) and the base substrate (110), the first electrode (151) is in contact with a surface of the organic layer (117), the organic layer (1170 comprises an organic layer opening (TR), the isolation structure (130) is located in the organic layer opening (TR), and the isolation structure (130) is spaced apart from a sidewall of the organic layer opening (Fig. 3A) in order to provide a configuration wherein the auxiliary electrode of the isolation structure is disposed on the same layer as the source/drain electrode. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the base substrate comprising an opening as disclosed by Shin in the display substrate of Park in order to provide a configuration wherein the auxiliary electrode of the isolation structure is disposed on the same layer as the source/drain electrode.
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses a display substrate further comprising: a pixel defining pattern (140), wherein at least the pixel defining pattern (140) located in the first display region comprises a plurality of first openings (right side opening, Fig. 2), one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening, and the light emitting element (130/170/180) of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the at least one first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel (Fig. 2), and the at least one first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (130); wherein the pixel defining pattern (140) further comprises a plurality of second openings (left side opening, Fig. 2), the second opening is configured to expose the isolation structure (150) and at least part of the organic layer opening, and a gap is arranged between the isolation structure (150) and a pixel defining portion of the pixel defining pattern (140).
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2021/0376283 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0135814 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein the light-emitting functional layer comprises a first light-emitting layer, a charge generation layer and a second light-emitting layer which are stacked (¶s[0082-0085]), the charge generation layer is located between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer, and the charge generation layer is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A). Shin fails to exemplify the base substrate further comprises a second display region, and the first display region surrounds at least part of the second display region.
Park discloses a display substrate comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region (DA1, Fig. 1); a plurality of sub-pixels (PX), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (PX) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element (LED), the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (370), and a first electrode (191) and a second electrode (270) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (370) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (191) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (370) and the base substrate (110), wherein base substrate further comprises a second display region (DA2), and the first display region (DA1) surrounds at least part of the second display region (DA2), the second display region is provided with a plurality of second pixel areas (PX2) and transmission areas (TA) allowing a sensing module to transmit light within a predetermined wavelength toward an object provided on the display panel or receive light reflected from the object. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the second display region as disclosed by Park in the display substrate of Shin in order to provide with a plurality of second pixel areas (PX2) and transmission areas (TA) allowing a sensing module to transmit light within a predetermined wavelength toward an object provided on the display panel or receive light reflected from the object.
Regarding claim 30, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein a film layer located at one side of the charge generation layer facing the base substrate and in the light-emitting functional layer is disconnected at the isolation structure (Fig. 3A, (¶s[0082-0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 17 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 12, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 12, and specifically comprising the limitation of a ratio of a thickness of the first sub-isolation structure to a thickness of the light-emitting functional layer is in a range of 0.7-1.5, the second electrode is continuous at the part of the second sub-isolation structure protruding relative to the edge of the first sub-isolation structure.
Regarding claim(s) 17, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 17, and specifically comprising the limitation of further comprising: a first conductive layer, located between the first electrode and the base substrate; a second conductive layer, located at one side of the first conductive layer away from the base substrate, wherein the first conductive layer comprises a first power signal line and a data line, the second conductive layer comprises a second power signal line, and the first sub-isolation structure is arranged in the same layer as the second conductive layer.
Regarding claim(s) 27, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 27, and specifically comprising the limitation of further comprising: a pixel defining pattern, wherein at least the pixel defining pattern located in the first display region comprises a plurality of first openings, one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening, and the light emitting element of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the at least one first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the at least one first opening is configured to expose the first electrode; wherein the isolation structure is located at one side of a pixel defining portion of the pixel defining pattern away from the base substrate, or the pixel defining pattern further comprises a plurality of second openings, and the isolation structure is located in the second opening and spaced apart from a sidewall of the second opening; a blocking portion is arranged between the third sub-isolation structure and the base substrate, and the blocking portion is arranged in the same layer as the first electrode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han et al. (US 2019/0326372 A1) discloses an electro-luminescent display device including an anode disposed on a substrate; a bank having an opening that exposes a portion of the anode and having an undercut structure adjacent to the opening; a dummy pattern disposed at the undercut structure of the bank; an organic light-emission layer disposed on the anode and electrically disconnected with at least one of adjacent pixels; and a cathode disposed on the organic light-emission layer
Kim (US 2016/0149155) discloses an organic light-emitting display device including a thin-film transistor on a substrate, an auxiliary electrode member in a contact area on the substrate, the auxiliary electrode member being spaced apart from the thin-film transistor, an insulating member on the thin-film transistor and the auxiliary electrode member, the insulating member including an opening through which at least a part of the auxiliary electrode member is exposed in the contact area, and an organic light-emitting element on the insulating member.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879