DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is one run-on sentence lacking a subject-verb grammatical structure. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in the Cross-Reference to Related Applications section, please also insert the WIPO publication number and date of the PCT application indicated therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 11-16 and their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “viral filtration media” in the preamble, however the body of the claim does not demonstrate where the substrate and polymer claimed therein would deal with something “viral” such as removing viruses. Thus, it is unclear what the claimed invention is directed to carry out.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “Q is a divalent linking group” referring to an earlier recited formula, but no Q is recited in the formula, making it unclear how Q is related to this formula. It is thus indefinite, and also lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “Q is selected from…” referring to an earlier recited formula, but no Q is recited in the formula, making it unclear how Q is related to this formula. It is thus indefinite, and also lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “R3 is …” referring to an earlier recited formula, but no R3 is recited in the formula, making it unclear how R3 is related to this formula. It is thus indefinite, and also lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a virus-containing sample” on line 6. It is not clear if this limitation is the same limitation as “a virus-containing sample” on line 1 of the claim, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a (meth)acrylic acid monomer” on line 2. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a (meth)acrylic acid monomer” as in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the filtration media”. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a/the viral filtration media” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “at least a portion of the target material” and “other material”. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “at least a portion of the target material” and “other material” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a moving virus-containing sample” on lines 1-2. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a/the virus-containing sample” as in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the filtration media” on lines 2 & 4. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a/the viral filtration media” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “at least a portion of the target virus”. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “at least a portion of the target virus” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a moving virus-containing sample” on lines 1-2. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a/the virus-containing sample” as in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the filtration media” on lines 2 & 4. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a/the viral filtration media” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “other material”. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “other material” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a moving virus-containing sample” on line 2. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a/the virus-containing sample” as in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the filtration media” on line 3. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a/the viral filtration media” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “at least a portion of the target virus”. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “at least a portion of the target virus” in Claim 11, or not. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hester et al., (“Hester”, US 2010/0209693).
Regarding Claims 1, Hester discloses a viral filtration media, (See paragraph [0103], Hester), comprising: a porous substrate comprising a surface, (See paragraph [0024], Hester), having a polymer grafted thereto, (See paragraph [0012], [0021] & [0028], Hester), wherein the grafted polymer comprises interpolymerized monomers, (See paragraph [0028]), comprising: a (meth)acrylic acid monomer, (See paragraph [0050]); and a poly(alkylene oxide) monomer optionally including a hydrocarbon chain, (See paragraph [0037], [0043]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The filtration media of claim 1 wherein the (meth)acrylic acid monomer is methacrylic acid, (See paragraph [0050], Hester).
Claim 8: The filtration media of claim 1 wherein the poly(alkylene oxide) monomer is present in an amount of 2 wt-% to 75 wt-%, based on the total weight of the interpolymerized monomers, (See paragraph [0045], [0076], Hester; anticipates the claimed range from either 2 to 25 or 2 to 10 wt%).
Claim 9: The filtration media of claim 1 wherein the porous substrate is a porous polymeric nonwoven substrate, (See paragraphs [0025] & [0026], Hester).
Regarding Claim 10, Hester discloses an article comprising the viral filtration media of claim 1, (See paragraphs [0012] & [0110], Hester).
Claim(s) 11 & 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vail et al., (“Vail”, US 2018/0066095).
Regarding Claims 11 & 13-15, Vail discloses a method of filtering a virus-containing sample, (See paragraph [0002] & [0031], Vail), the method comprising: providing a viral filtration media, (See paragraph [0031], Vail), comprising: a porous substrate comprising a surface having a polymer grafted thereto, (See paragraph [0033] & [0034], Vail), wherein the grafted polymer comprises interpolymerized monomers comprising: a (meth)acrylic acid monomer, (See paragraphs [0034] & [0035], Vail); providing a virus-containing sample comprising a target virus, (See Figure 1 or Figure 2, See paragraph [0069] or [0070]-[0072]; See paragraph [0020]); and contacting the viral filtration media with the virus-containing sample under conditions effective to separate at least a portion of the target virus from other material in the virus-containing sample, (See Figure 1 or Figure 2, See paragraph [0069] or [0070]-[0072]; See paragraph [0020]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 13: The method of claim 11 wherein contacting comprises allowing a moving virus-containing sample to impinge upon an upstream surface of the filtration media for a time sufficient to effect separation of at least a portion of the target virus from other material in the virus-containing sample, (See Figure 2, See paragraph [0072], then paragraphs [0073]-[0075], Vail).
Claim 14: The method of claim 13 wherein contacting comprises allowing a moving virus-containing sample to impinge upon an upstream surface of the filtration media for a time sufficient to effect binding of at least a portion of the target virus in the virus- containing sample to the filtration media, (See Figure 2, See paragraph [0072], then paragraphs [0073]-[0075], Vail).
Claim 15: The method of claim 13 wherein contacting comprises allowing a moving virus-containing sample to impinge upon an upstream surface of the filtration media for a time sufficient to effect binding of at least a portion of other material in the virus- containing sample to the filtration media, (See Figure 2, See paragraph [0072], then paragraphs [0073]-[0075], Vail).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hester et al., (“Hester”, US 2010/0209693), in view of Kihara et al., (“Kihara”, US 2018/0296988).
Regarding Claim 3, Hester discloses the filtration media of claim 1 wherein the poly(alkylene oxide) monomer has the formula:
, (See paragraph [0037], Hester), wherein: Z is a polymerizable ethylenically unsaturated group, (See paragraph [0037], Hester, “Z is an acrylate or…polymerizable ethylencially unsaturated group”); Q is a divalent linking group, (See paragraph [0037], Hester; there is no Q claimed previously); R1 is H or an alkyl group, (See paragraph [0037], “R1 is a H or a C1 to C4 alkyl group”); and m is 2 to 100, (See paragraph [0037], “n is from 2 to 100”).
Hester does not disclose that R2 is H or an alkyl group.
Kihara discloses a filtration media where its R2 is H or an alkyl group, (See paragraph [0180], Kihara discloses acryloyl and alkyl groups as interchangeable selections, (Hester discloses an acryloyl group in the R2 location)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the filtration media of Hester by incorporating that R2 is H or an alkyl group as in Kihara because Kihara provides a “fluorinated polymer”, (See paragraph [0174], Kihara), with “a divalent organic group” and “substituent”, (See paragraph [0180], Kihara), generating a coating layer where “the durability…is excellent”, (See paragraph [0284], Kihara), which will help “the…porous substrates…overcome such durability problems”, (See paragraph [0109], Hester), which is a common concern in Hester.
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 4: The filtration media of claim 3 wherein Z is selected from the group consisting of:
wherein: R3 is H or CH3; and r is 1-10, (See paragraph [0037]; “-C(O)-CH=CH2”, middle CH meets R3 is H, and r is not required).
Claim 5: The filtration media of claim 3 where Q is selected from the group consisting of: -O-, -NR3-, -C(O)O-, and -C(O)NR3-, wherein R3 is H or CH3, (See paragraph [0037]).
Claim 6: The filtration media of claim 3 wherein R2 is an alkyl group, (See paragraph [0180], Kihara discloses acryloyl and alkyl groups as interchangeable selections, (Hester discloses an acryloyl group in the R2 location)).
Claim 7: The filtration media of claim 3 wherein m is 2 to 50, (See paragraph [0037], “n is from…preferably 5 to 20”, Hester).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vail et al., (“Vail”, US 2018/0066095), in view of Hester et al., (“Hester”, US 2010/0209693).
Regarding Claim 12, Vail discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the interpolymerized monomers comprise: a (meth)acrylic acid monomer, (See paragraphs [0034] & [0035], Vail); but does not disclose a poly(alkylene oxide) monomer optionally including a hydrocarbon chain.
Hester discloses a filtration media and method also including a poly(alkylene oxide) monomer optionally including a hydrocarbon chain, (See paragraph [0037], [0043], Hester).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Vail by incorporating a poly(alkylene oxide) monomer optionally including a hydrocarbon chain as in Hester in order to “provide the desired hydrophilicity”, (See paragraph [0037], Hester), because “those monomers that are more hydrophilic…may be preferred…due to their compatibility or solubility characteristics with the…group containing acrylic monomer”, (See paragraph [0035], Hester).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vail et al., (“Vail”, US 2018/0066095), in view of Seshadri et al., (“Seshadri”, US 2010/0075560).
Regarding Claim 16, Vail discloses the method of claim 13 wherein contacting comprises allowing a moving virus-containing sample to impinge upon an upstream surface of the filtration media for a time sufficient to effect separation of at least a portion of the target virus, (See Figure 2, See paragraph [0072], then paragraphs [0073]-[0075], Vail), but does not explicitly disclose separation of at least a portion of the target virus from another virus in the virus-containing sample.
Seshadri discloses a method with separation of at least a portion of the target virus from another virus in the virus-containing sample, (See paragraphs [0095] & [0096], Seshadri).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Vail by incorporating separation of at least a portion of the target virus from another virus in the virus-containing sample as in Seshadri so it “allows the selective capture or binding of target biomaterials…while other materials, lacking the specific binding interactions…are passed”, (See paragraph [0021], Seshadri),
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779