DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4-7,9,11,13,17-21,23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20230077671 A1) hereinafter as Choi in view of Sun et al (US 20220078754 A1) hereinafter as Sun.
Regarding claim(s) 1,13,26, Choi discloses a resource allocation method, performed by a first user device (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 46, when using the unlicensed spectrum, the initiator UEX may reserve the transmission for responder UEs UEA, UEB, and UEC, so that the responder UEs may not need to perform LBT.), comprising:
sending first reserved resource indication information, wherein the first reserved resource indication information is configured to indicate a first reserved resource (See Fig(s). 8 step 802, See ¶ 8, 132, a first initiator UE to initiate a first ranging session, …the first message comprising first ranging signal resources including a time and frequencies for the responder UE to broadcast a first ranging signal in the first ranging session…. See Fig(s). 5, step 1A, See ¶ 72),
and the first reserved resource is a reserved resource used by the first user device for subsequent sending of a Sidelink ranging signal (See Fig(s). 5, See ¶ 5,82, the ranging signal properties to be used by the responder UEA 506 in the ranging session with initiator UEX 502, such as a session ID and PRS resources, including frequency channel and timing instances …..the ranging signaling is used for positioning of UEs relative to other UEs for sidelink communication).
Choi fails to disclose wherein sending the first reserved resource indication information based on the SCI comprises: sending the first reserved resource indication information based on first SCI, wherein the first SCI comprises a first information field and a second information field, the first information field is configured to carry the first reserved resource indication information, and the second information field is configured to carry communication control information for Physical Sidelink Shared Channel, PSSCH, data transmission.
Sun discloses wherein sending the first reserved resource indication information based on the SCI comprises: sending the first reserved resource indication information based on first SCI, wherein the first SCI comprises a first information field and a second information field, the first information field is configured to carry the first reserved resource indication information, and the second information field is configured to carry communication control information for Physical Sidelink Shared Channel, PSSCH, data transmission (See ¶ 65, one or more of the first transmitted communication 502 and the second transmitted communication 508 may be sidelink communications. The first transmitted communication 502 includes a PSSCH 506 portion and a PSCCH 504 portion (e.g., sidelink control information format 1 (SCI-1)) communicated over two subchannels during a single slot.).
and wherein the reserved resource is implicitly indicated through a time-frequency resource position of a PSSCH associated with a Physical Sidelink Control Channel, PSCCH, for transmitting the first SCI.
Further with regards to claim 13, Choi discloses a processor and memory for performing the method of claim 1 (See Fig(s). 7, processor 702, memory 704).
Regarding claim(s) 4,17, Sun discloses wherein the first information field comprises[[is]] a reserved bit in the first SCI (See Fig(s). 9, See ¶ 88). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 5,18, Sun discloses wherein the reserved resource is explicitly or implicitly indicated through at least one of: [[a]]the bit comprised in the first information field; a time-frequency resource position of Physical Sidelink Control Channel, PSCCH, for transmitting the first SCI (See ¶ 65, The first transmitted communication 502 includes a PSSCH 506 portion and a PSCCH 504 portion (e.g., sidelink control information format 1 (SCI-1));
Regarding claim(s) 6,19, Sun discloses, wherein sending the first reserved resource indication information based on the SCI comprises: sending the first reserved resource indication information based on second SCI, wherein the second SCI is SCI dedicated to indicating Sidelink ranging (See ¶ 88, In some examples, the group reservation signal 904 may include the same information provided in an SCI-1 message, and the control signal 906 may include the same information as an SCI format 2 (SCI-2) message. That is, the group reservation signal 904 may include a bit-field (e.g., 2-bit) configured to provide a location of the control signal 906 so that a receiving UE can decode the control signal 906. In some examples, the control signal 906 includes a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) that provides the receiving UE with information required for it to decode a corresponding data signal 908.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 7,20, Sun discloses wherein the second SCI and third SCI have the same Sidelink transmission channel formats, and the second SCI and the third SCI multiplex the same time and frequency resources (See ¶ 88); wherein the third SCI is SCI configured to indicate PSSCH data transmission, and the second SCI is SCI dedicated to indicating Sidelink ranging (sidelink ranging is taught within Choi ). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 9,21, Sun discloses wherein the SCI comprises 1st-stage SCI and/or 2nd-stage SCI (See ¶ 88, In some examples, the group reservation signal 904 may include the same information provided in an SCI-1 message, and the control signal 906 may include the same information as an SCI format 2 (SCI-2) message.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 11,23, Choi discloses receiving second reserved resource indication information sent by a second user device, wherein the second user device is another device sending the Sidelink ranging signal different from the first user device, the second reserved resource indication information is configured to indicate a second reserved resource, and the second reserved resource is a reserved resource used by the second user device for subsequent sending of the Sidelink ranging signal; and determining a resource different from the second reserved resource as the first reserved resource (See ¶ 8, receiving a second pre-ranging request message from a second initiator UE to initiate a second ranging session, the second pre-ranging request message comprising second ranging signal resources including a time and frequencies for the responder UE to broadcast a second ranging signal in the second ranging session).
Claim(s) 10,22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20230077671 A1) hereinafter as Choi in view of Sun et al (US 20220078754 A1) hereinafter as Sun further in view of Chae et al (US 20210266212 A1) hereinafter as Chae
Regarding claim(s) 10,22, Chae discloses wherein sending the first reserved resource indication information comprises: sending the first reserved resource indication information based on Media Access Control Unit, MAC CE (See ¶ 70,97 the BS may configure at least one DL/UL BWP for the UE associated with the wideband carrier, activate at least one of DL/UL BWP(s) configured at a specific time (by L1 signaling which is a physical-layer control signal, a MAC control element (CE) which is a MAC-layer control signal, or RRC signaling).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Chae within Choi , by providing MAC layer signaling it improves security/troubleshooting, efficient bandwidth allocation, and better data flow via resource scheduling.
Claim(s) 24,25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20230077671 A1) hereinafter as Choi in view of Sun et al (US 20220078754 A1) hereinafter as Sun further in view of Deng et al (US 20250008547 A1) hereinafter as Deng with priority to PCT/US2020/019296 on Fe. 21, 2020.
Regarding claim(s) 24,25, Deng discloses wherein the second SCI and third SCI have the same Sidelink transmission channel formats (See ¶ 98, the traffic type may be determined based on one or more SCI formats. In such cases a first SCI format may be used for unicast traffic, a second SCI format may be used for groupcast traffic, and a third SCI format may be used for broadcast traffic.), and
the second SCI and the third SCI use different time and frequency resources (See ¶ 4);
wherein the third SCI is SCI configured to indicate the PSSCH data transmission (See ¶ 99-100).
The use of SCI formats allows for efficient scheduling and management of the sidelink resources, contributing to the overall performance and reliability of V2X communications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Deng within Choi, so as to enhance overall network performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,4-7,9-11,13 and 17-26 have been considered, however, they are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411