In a Preliminary Amendment filed on October 17, 2023, claims 4-6, 8, and 9 were amended. The Specification was also amended.
Claims 1-10 are pending, of which claims 1 and 10 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 and 10/20/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
35 USC § 112(f) Analysis
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as reciting means for performing a specified function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Referring to independent claim 1, this claim recites the claim limitations “a first acquisition unit” and “a second acquisition unit”.
Paragraph [0049] of the published Specification describes “Next, an example of functions of the operational status display device implemented on the numerical controller 2 will be described.” Paragraph [0050] provides that “FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an example of the functions of the operational status display device. A operational status display device 20 includes an event setting table 211, an accepting unit 212, a first acquisition unit 213, an operational data acquisition unit 214, an operational data storage unit 215, a second acquisition unit 216, an image acquisition unit 217, an image storage unit 218, and a display unit 219.” Paragraph [0056] describes “The operational data is time-series data acquired from a sensor or the like installed in the machining machine 1 during an operation of the machining machine 1. The operational data is acquired on a predetermined period basis. The operational data includes torque data on a spindle, torque data on each control axis, a position deviation on each control axis, sound data, vibration data, and opening/closing confirmation signal data on an opening/closing door.” And Paragraph [0058] provides “The feature data is characteristic data appearing in operational data when an event occurs in the machining machine 1. The feature data is, for example, operational data indicating a value that is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Further, the feature data is operational data indicating a predetermined time-series pattern.”
Therefore, for purposes of examination and in accord with FIGS. 2 and 7 and paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0056], and [0058] of the Specification, as published, the “first acquisition unit” is construed as a functional block of a numerical controller to acquire the operational data identity information and the extraction condition associated with the event designation information from the event setting table and the “second acquisition unit” is construed as a functional block of the numerical controller to acquire the feature data from the operational data based on the operational data identity information and the extraction condition.
Referring to claim 2, this claim recites “an image acquisition unit”. Paragraph [0080] of the published specification provides “The image acquisition unit 217 acquires an image capturing the machining machine 1. The image acquired by the image acquisition unit 217 includes a moving image. The image acquisition unit 217 acquires an image from the image capture device 9 that captures an image of a part or the whole of the machining machine 1. The image acquisition unit 217 acquires time information together with the image capturing the machining machine 1. The time information represents a time of image capturing being performed or an elapsed time from start of image capturing.” Therefore, for purposes of examination and in accord with FIGS. 2 and 7 and paragraphs [0050] and [0080] of the Specification, as published, the “image acquisition unit” is construed as a functional block of a numerical controller to acquire an image capturing the machining machine.
Referring to claim 4, this claim recites “a display history acquisition unit” and “an event setting unit”. Paragraph [0102] of the published specification describes “The operational status display device 20 may further include: a display history acquisition unit that acquires a display history of the image and the operational data displayed on the display screen; and an event setting unit that sets the extraction condition in the event setting table 211 based on the display history acquired by the display history acquisition unit.” Paragraph [0103] of the published specification provides “FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating an example of functions of the operational status display device 20. The operational status display device 20 further includes a display history acquisition unit 220 and an event setting unit 221 in addition to the functions illustrated in FIG. 2 . Since the functions other than the display history acquisition unit 220 and the event setting unit 221 are the same as those in the operational status display device 20 illustrated in FIG. 2 , the description thereof will be omitted.” Paragraph [0104] describes “The display history acquisition unit 220 acquires a display history of images and operational data about the machining machine 1 displayed on the display screen.” Therefore, for purposes of examination and in accord with FIGS. 2 and 7 and paragraphs [0050] and [0102]-[0104] of the Specification, as published, the “display history acquisition unit” is construed as a functional block of a numerical controller to acquire a display history of the image and the operational data displayed on the display screen and the “event setting unit” is construed as a functional block of a numerical controller to set the extraction condition in the event setting table based on the display history acquired by the display history acquisition unit.
Referring to claim 5, this claim recites “an event setting unit”. Paragraph [0102] of the published specification describes “The operational status display device 20 may further include: a display history acquisition unit that acquires a display history of the image and the operational data displayed on the display screen; and an event setting unit that sets the extraction condition in the event setting table 211 based on the display history acquired by the display history acquisition unit.” Therefore, for purposes of examination and in accord with FIGS. 2 and 7 and paragraphs [0050] and [0102] of the Specification, as published, the “event setting unit” is construed as a functional block of a numerical controller to set the extraction condition in the event setting table based on an operation performed on the operational data displayed on the display screen.
Referring to claim 6, this claim recites “an occurrence location accepting unit”. Paragraph [0117] of the published specification describes “FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example of functions of the operational status display device 20 including the occurrence location accepting unit. The functions other than an occurrence location accepting unit 222 are the same as the functions of the operational status illustrated in FIG. 2 . Thus, the display device 20 description of the functions other than the occurrence location accepting unit 222 will be omitted.” Paragraph [0118] describes “The occurrence location accepting unit 222 accepts designation of an occurrence location of an event. For example, the occurrence location accepting unit 222 accepts designation of an occurrence location of an event based on designation of a position on an image of the machining machine 1 displayed on the display screen.” Therefore, for purposes of examination and in accord with FIG. 11 and paragraphs [0117] and [0118] of the Specification, as published, the “event setting unit” is construed as a functional block of a numerical controller to accept designation of an occurrence location of the event. Claim 6 also simply add more detail to or are cumulative to the “first acquisition unit” of independent claim 1.
Referring to claim 7, this claim adds more detail to or are cumulative to the “occurrence location accepting unit” of claim 6.
Referring to claim 8, this claim recites “an accepting unit”. Paragraph [0050] of the published specification provides that “FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an example of the functions of the operational status display device. A operational status display device 20 includes an event setting table 211, an accepting unit 212, a first acquisition unit 213, an operational data acquisition unit 214, an operational data storage unit 215, a second acquisition unit 216, an image acquisition unit 217, an image storage unit 218, and a display unit 219.” Paragraph [0064] describes “The accepting unit 212 accepts input of event designation information. For example, the event designation information is input by the operator from the input/output device 3.” Therefore, for purposes of examination and in accord with FIG. 2 and paragraphs [0050] and [0064] of the Specification, as published, the “event setting unit” is construed as a functional block of a numerical controller to accept designation of an occurrence location of the event. Claim 8 also simply add more detail to or are cumulative to the “first acquisition unit” of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because computer readable storage medium is not a patentable subject matter. In the claim, the “computer readable storage medium” is not described as non-transitory in the specification, in which case the computer readable storage medium may be transitory. Such a recitation does not exclude the computer readable storage medium from being a signal per se. Thus, the broadest, reasonable interpretation of the “computer readable storage medium” in view of the specification encompasses non-statutory subject matter that is unpatentable under 35 USC 101.
The Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okita et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0243351 A1) (“Okita”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Okita teaches:
An operational status display device comprising: Okita: Abstract (“A failure location specifying device, a failure location specifying method, and a failure location specifying program capable of specifying locations of various failures occurring in a mechanism unit of a machine efficiently are provided.”)
an event setting table storing Okita: FIGS. 5-9 and Paragraph [0034] (“Specifically, the storage unit 20 stores a failure history database 21 and the like constructed as a retrieval target in addition to a failure location specifying program for causing the control unit 10 to execute various functions of the present embodiment. The failure history database 21 is provided outside the failure location specifying device 1 and may read and write data by communicating with the failure location specifying device 1.”) [The stored information in the failure history database reads on “an event setting table”.]
event designation information that designates an event occurring in a machining machine, Okita: Paragraph [0041] (“FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating a definition example of a failure unit according to the present embodiment. For example, a mechanism unit of a machine tool is divided into the following failure units. M001: location including a motor that drives a machine tool, a pulse coder that gives feedback on a rotating position of the motor, and the like. C001: location including a joint or the like which is a connection portion for transmitting dynamic power from a motor to a ball screw or the like. B001: location including greasing spots to which grease is supplied automatically or manually, or the like in addition to a ball screw, a ball nut, and a bearing driven by a motor via a joint in order to align a table. T001: location including greasing spots to which grease is supplied automatically or manually, or the like in addition to a table and a linear motion guide (LM guide).”) Okita: Paragraph [0046] (“FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example of a data set that defines a failure unit according to the present embodiment. In a data set, a part number and a part name that form a failure unit are registered with respect to an event code which is an identifier indicating the failure unit. In this example, an event message for notifying of the causes of a failure, a countermeasure procedure, and the like is registered for each event code.”) Okita: Paragraph [0047] (“The correlating unit 13 matches a constituent part correlated with an event code with a countermeasure part of a failure history and stores information on one or a plurality of events in the failure history database 21 of the storage unit 20 in correlation with the event code (the failure unit).”) [The event code information of the failure units of the machine tool reads on “event designation information that designates an event occurring in a machining machine”.]
operational data identity information that identifies operational data on the machining machine, and Okita: Paragraph [0055] and FIGS. 8 and 9 (“The input unit 15 receives data related to vibration during machining of a machine as an input. Specifically, the input unit 15 receives time-series data of disturbance torque for a command signal to the motor of a machine, for example, as data related to vibration. The disturbance torque is estimated on the basis of a torque command value and a speed feedback, for example, as a load different from a normal torque generated resulting from failures of a mechanism unit. Moreover, the input unit 15 may receive disturbance torque with respect to a command signal to a selected machine as the data related to vibration when operation data such as a present position of a machine is designated.”) Okita: Paragraph [0059] (“In step S1, the input unit 15 receives the input of time-series data of disturbance torque as the data related to vibration from a machine. The sampling range of the data may be limited using operation data of a machine such as position information by a method illustrated in FIG. 11, for example.”) [The time-series data of disturbance torque reads on “operational data”.]
an extraction condition used for extracting feature data indicating occurrence of the event from the operational data, which are stored in association with each other; Okita: Paragraph [0049] (“The correlating unit 13 may store one or a plurality of pieces of feature data indicating a failure event in the failure history database 21 in correlation with one event code.”) Okita: Paragraph [0050] (“The feature extracting unit 14 extracts a failure keyword included in event information as feature data of each event code correlated by the correlating unit 13.”) Okita: Paragraph [0052] (“FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating an example of the failure history database 21 based on feature data according to the present embodiment. A failure keyword is extracted by the feature extracting unit 14 from a description of an event correlated with an event code, and the failure keyword is stored in the failure history database 21 as feature data [sp] indicating the event. Here, the number assigned to a failure keyword and a countermeasure part in the drawing indicate the number of occurrences in a failure history having the same event code.”) Okita: Paragraph [0053] (“The failure keyword which is event information often includes onomatopoeia such as “grinding sound” or “rumbling sound”. Sounds described by the onomatopoeia can be reproduced using a corresponding portion of a machine in a laboratory. The frequency of the reproduced sound is stored as a specific frequency band generated resulting from a failure in respective portions of the mechanism unit in correlation with the event code.”) Okita: Paragraph [0057] (“A. plurality of thresholds can be set. In this way, the level of failures can be classified into a warning level in which a machine does not operate normally but a failure has not occurred and a failure level in which a failure is likely to have occurred in a machine, for example. For example, in FIG. 9, amplitudes (dB) which are thresholds are set to determine detection level 1 (warning level) and detection level 2 (failure level).”) Okita: Paragraph [0061] (“In step S3, the output unit 16 determines whether the frequency detected in step S2 is registered as the specific frequency band in the failure history database 21. The flow proceeds to step S4 when a determination result of YES is obtained, and the flow ends when a determination result of NO is obtained.”) Okita: Paragraph [0062] (“In step S4, the output unit 16 extracts an event code of which the specific frequency band includes the detected. frequency from the failure history database 21.”) [The extracted failure keyword and/or failure levels reads on “an extraction condition used for extracting feature data indicating occurrence of the event”.]
a first acquisition unit that, based on the event designation information, acquires the operational data identity information and the extraction condition associated with the event designation information from the event setting table; Okita: Paragraphs [0052], [0053], [0055], and [0057] and FIGS. 8 and 9 [As described above.] [The input unit receiving time-series data of a corresponding portion of the machine reads on “a first acquisition unit that, based on the event designation information, acquires the operational data identity information and the extraction condition associated with the event designation information from the event setting table”.]
a second acquisition unit that acquires the feature data from the operational data based on the operational data identity information and the extraction condition acquired by the first acquisition unit; and Okita: Paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0052], and [0062] and FIGS. 8 and 9 [As described above.] [The feature extracting unit reads on “a second acquisition unit”.]
a display unit that displays the feature data acquired by the second acquisition unit on a display screen. Okita: Paragraph [0036] (“FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a configuration example of a machine which is an observation target of a failure location specifying method according to the present embodiment. A machine is classified into a control unit and a mechanism unit, and the control unit displays an alarm number and the content of an alarm detected by a controller (CNC) on a display device to inform an operator of a situation. Moreover, as for failures that occur in the mechanism unit, a controller monitors a situation of a motor of the mechanism unit driven by a servo amplifier and outputs an overcurrent alarm, an overload alarm, or the like for the motor.”)
Regarding claim 8, Okita teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. Okita further teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 1 further comprising an accepting unit that accepts input of the event designation information, wherein based on the event designation information accepted by the accepting unit, the first acquisition unit acquires the operational data identity information and the extraction condition associated with the event designation information from the event setting table. Okita: Paragraphs [0041], [0052], [0053], [0055], and [0057] and FIGS. 8 and 9 [As described in claim 1.]
Regarding claim 9, Okita teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 9 depends. Okita further teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 1, wherein the extraction condition includes at least any one of numerical data and a time-series pattern. Okita: Paragraph [0055] and FIGS. 8 and 9 [As described in claim 1.] Okita: Paragraph [0059] (“In step S1, the input unit 15 receives the input of time-series data of disturbance torque as the data related to vibration from a machine. The sampling range of the data may be limited using operation data of a machine such as position information by a method illustrated in FIG. 11, for example.”)
Regarding independent claim 10, Okita teaches:
A computer readable storage medium storing an instruction that causes a computer to perform: Okita: Claim 9 (“A non-transitory computer-readable medium having a failure location specifying program recorded thereon, the failure location specifying program causing a computer to execute:…”)
The remaining recitations of independent claim 10 recite similar limitations as corresponding independent claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita in view of Ando ((US Patent Publication No. 2017/0090436 A1) (“Ando”).
Regarding claim 2, Okita teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Okita does not expressly teach the features of claim 2. However, Ando describes a numerical control system for a machine tool. Ando teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 1 further comprising
an image acquisition unit that acquires an image capturing the machining machine, Ando: Paragraph [0026] (“FIG. 2 is a schematic block diagram of the numerical control system … connecting a numerical controller 2 to a plurality of I/O units 31a, 31b, 31c, . . . mounted inside a control panel 30 of a machine tool 3.”) Ando: Paragraph [0027] (“The numerical controller 2 includes a fault detection means 10, a display means 11,…”) Ando: Paragraph [0010] (“…a plurality of I/O units mounted inside a control panel of a machine tool, … a fault detection means for detecting a defect occurrence region, a defect of the numerical controller or the I/O unit occurring in the defect occurrence region, and a display means for preparing display data displaying the defect occurrence region on a shape image of the control panel based on information related to the defect occurrence region, the I/O assignment data, the relevant information, and the CAD data.”)
wherein the display unit displays the feature data and the image corresponding to the feature data on the display screen. Ando: Paragraph [0029] (“The display means 11 operates when the fault detection means 10 detects a defect in an I/O unit, and prepares display data indicating a defect occurrence region on a shape image of the control panel. Upon receiving the type of the defect and the identifier assigned to the I/O unit from the fault detection means 10, the display means 11 specifies an identifier of an I/O unit in mounting information associated with the identifier with reference to the relevant information table stored in the relevant information storage means 22 using the identifier. Then, the display means 11 prepares the display data indicating the defect occurrence region on the shape image of the control panel based on the specified identifier of the I/O unit in the mounting information, respective data stored in the CAD data storage means 20, and the type of the defect. A general image processing technology may be used to prepare the display data. Then, the prepared display data is displayed as an alarm image in a display unit 40 connected to the numerical controller 2.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Okita and Ando before them, for the display of Okita to acquire an image capturing the machining machine, wherein the display unit displays the feature data and the image corresponding to the feature data on the display screen because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing machine parameters and fault detection.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification so that an operator may clearly detect a place of the fault without referring to a circuit diagram or a mounting diagram. In addition, since CAD data can be appropriated for preparation of an alarm display image at the time of the occurrence of a fault, the alarm display image may be easily prepared for each machine. Ando Paragraph [0015]
Regarding claim 6, Okita and Ando teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 6 depends. Okita further teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 2 further comprising an occurrence location accepting unit that accepts designation of an occurrence location of the event, wherein the event setting table further stores occurrence location information indicating the occurrence location in association with the event designation information, the operational data identity information, and the extraction condition, and Okita: Paragraphs [0034], [0041], [0046], and [0047] and FIGS. 8-9 [As described in claim 1.] [The failure location reads on “occurrence location information”.]
wherein based on the designation of the occurrence location accepted by the occurrence location accepting unit, the first acquisition unit acquires the operational data identity information and the extraction condition associated with the occurrence location information from the event setting table. Okita: Paragraphs [0052], [0053], [0055], and [0057] and FIGS. 8 and 9 [As described in claim 1.]
Regarding claim 7, Okita and Ando teach all the claimed features of claim 6, from which claim 7 depends. Ando further teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 6, wherein the occurrence location accepting unit accepts designation of the occurrence location when one region of a plurality of regions of the image displayed on the display screen is selected. Ando: Paragraph [0010] (“A numerical control system of the invention is a numerical control system configured by connecting a numerical controller to a plurality of I/O units mounted inside a control panel of a machine tool, the numerical control system including a CAD data storage means for storing CAD data for control panel design, the CAD data storage means including shape information indicating an external shape and an internal structure of the control panel and mounting information indicating at least a location and a direction, an I/O unit inside the control panel being mounted at the location and installed in the direction, an I/O assignment data storage means for storing I/O assignment data recording a connection state of the I/O unit, a relevant information storage means for recording relevant information between the I/O assignment data and the mounting information of each of the I/O units, a fault detection means for detecting a defect occurrence region, a defect of the numerical controller or the I/O unit occurring in the defect occurrence region, and a display means for preparing display data displaying the defect occurrence region on a shape image of the control panel based on information related to the defect occurrence region, the I/O assignment data, the relevant information, and the CAD data.”)
The motivation to combine Okita and Ando as provided in claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita in view of Ando, and further in view of Cella et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0157312 A1) (“Cella”).
Regarding claim 3, Okita and Ando teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 3 depends. Okita and Ando do not expressly teach the features of claim 3. However, Cella describes an intelligent vibration platform for machine tools. Cella teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 2, wherein the display unit displays a playback status display region indicating playback status of the image on the display screen and highlights a playback position of the image corresponding to the feature data in the playback status display region. Cella: Page 726, first column, lines 8-57 (“Having a playback interface for an industrial digital twin wherein a user may replay data for an industrial situation in the industrial digital twin and observe visual representations of events related to the situation. In embodiments, provided herein is a system for data collection in an industrial environment having heat maps displaying collection data for AR/VR and Having an industrial digital twin with an adaptive user interface that adapts a set of available data, features or visual representations based on at least one of a user profile, a user role, a user behavior, a user training level, and a detected characteristic of a user. In embodiments, provided herein is a system for data collection in an industrial environment having heat maps displaying collection data for AR/VR and having an industrial digital twin with an adaptive user interface that adapts a set of available data, features or visual representations based on … a set of failure mode conditions… and a set of maintenance state conditions… In embodiments, provided herein is a system for data collection in an industrial environment having heat maps displaying collection data for AR/VR and having a system for visually highlighting problem elements. In embodiments, provided herein is a system for data collection in an industrial environment having heat maps displaying collection data for AR/VR and having a system for visually highlighting industrial elements in different colors based on vibration fault level state.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Okita, Ando, and Cella before them, for the display of Okita to display a playback status display region indicating playback status of the image on the display screen and highlights a playback position of the image corresponding to the feature data in the playback status display region because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing machine parameters and fault detection.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification for collecting, discovering, capturing, disseminating, managing, and processing information about industrial machines, including factual information (such as about internal structures, parts and components), operational information and procedural information, including know-how and other information relevant to maintenance, service and repairs. Cella Paragraph [05114]
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita in view of Ando, and further in view of Endo et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2009/0125139 A1) (“Endo”).
Regarding claim 4, Okita and Ando teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 4 depends. Okita and Ando do not expressly teach the features of claim 4. Endo describes a numerical controller for performing control of path table operation. Endo teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 2 further comprising:
a display history acquisition unit that acquires a display history of the image and the operational data displayed on the display screen; and Endo: Paragraph [0063] (“FIG. 7 is an example of operating history information that is displayed on the display screen of the display device 14.”) Endo: Paragraph [0064] (“When operating history information display instruction is input, operating history information (date and time information, reference signal value, control axis position, M codes, and signal information representing the state of the numerical controller) picked up during sampling in the state where an alarm is first generated is displayed.”) Endo: Paragraph [0067] (“Additionally, if scroll instruction is input by the input means 13, operating history information that is picked up at each sampling event is displayed on the display screen of the display device 14 retroactively starting with the point that the alarm was generated. Thereupon, in cases where the reference signal value goes back to the position of the value instructed by the path table, the cursor CS is displayed in the data position in the path table format data representing this value.”)
an event setting unit that sets the extraction condition in the event setting table based on the display history acquired by the display history acquisition unit. Endo: Paragraph [0010] (“Further, the source of alarm generation is investigated by reading alarm generation history information stored in history buffer 100 with display control means 101 and displaying alarm generation history information on display device 102 or is investigated on the basis of alarm generation history information stored in external storage device 104 via external output means 103.”) Endo: Paragraph [0043] (“Operating history information displayed on the display device 38 (date and time information 30, reference signal information 31, synchronization control data 32, and information 33 representing the state of the numerical controller) or operating history information stored in the external storage device 40 is referred to in order to specify the source of alarm generation. In addition, when operating history information stored in the operating history saving memory 36 is displayed on the display device 38 (or when operating history information is stored in the external storage device 40), table format data (path table data) 35 of the program name specified by the information 33 representing the state of the numerical controller which is included in operating history information is read from memory and displayed on the display device 38 (or stored in the external storage device 40 with operating history information).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Okita, Ando, and Endo before them, for the display of Okita to acquires a display history of the image and the operational data displayed on the display screen; and an event setting unit that sets the extraction condition in the event setting table based on the display history acquired by the display history acquisition unit because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing machine parameters and fault detection.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to facilitate investigation of the source of alarm generation when an alarm is generated and operation has to be suspended while operation of tools such as the machine tool is being controlled by the numerical controller and make it possible to specify the position in which an alarm was generated during path table operation. Endo Paragraphs [0006] and [0016]
Regarding claim 5, Okita and Ando teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 5 depends. Okita and Ando do not expressly teach the features of claim 5. Endo describes a numerical controller for performing control of path table operation. Endo teaches:
The operational status display device according to claim 2 further comprising an event setting unit that sets the extraction condition in the event setting table based on an operation performed on the operational data displayed on the display screen. Endo: Paragraph [0010] (“Further, the source of alarm generation is investigated by reading alarm generation history information stored in history buffer 100 with display control means 101 and displaying alarm generation history information on display device 102 or is investigated on the basis of alarm generation history information stored in external storage device 104 via external output means 103.”) Endo: Paragraph [0043] (“Operating history information displayed on the display device 38 (date and time information 30, reference signal information 31, synchronization control data 32, and information 33 representing the state of the numerical controller) or operating history information stored in the external storage device 40 is referred to in order to specify the source of alarm generation. In addition, when operating history information stored in the operating history saving memory 36 is displayed on the display device 38 (or when operating history information is stored in the external storage device 40), table format data (path table data) 35 of the program name specified by the information 33 representing the state of the numerical controller which is included in operating history information is read from memory and displayed on the display device 38 (or stored in the external storage device 40 with operating history information).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Okita, Ando, and Endo before them, to include an event setting unit that sets the extraction condition in the event setting table based on an operation performed on the operational data displayed on the display screen because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing machine parameters and fault detection.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to facilitate investigation of the source of alarm generation when an alarm is generated and operation has to be suspended while operation of tools such as the machine tool is being controlled by the numerical controller and make it possible to specify the position in which an alarm was generated during path table operation. Endo Paragraphs [0006] and [0016]
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yukutomo et al. (US Patent No. 5,469,352 A) describes an operation history display device of a numerical control apparatus for displaying the history of I/O signals and an operation history control means for storing the signal name of the signal to which the change has been caused to a history buffer as history data together with the present time, and a display control means for displaying the history data stored in the history buffer on a display unit in response to a predetermined operation performed by the operator.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117