Response to Amendment
The claims submitted on 03/23/2026 are being examined in this office action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsh-Croft et al (US PUB. 20180115161, herein Marsh) in view of Padmanabh et al (US PUB. 20120212872, herein Padmanabh).
Regarding claim 1, Marsh teaches An electrical appliance comprising:
a plurality of electrical loads, each electrical load being powered from a common power source (0029 “It will be appreciated that kitchen countertop appliances (for example, toaster ovens) can operate on electrical circuits used by other appliances and lights. The appliance can have one or more high power switched loads (for example, heating elements), and can produce a respective switching signal to control power supplied to each load.”, fig. 3, 0050);
a controller including a processor coupled to a memory (0049 “FIG. 3 shows a load control system 300 that uses a control module 310 that controls a zero crossing circuit or switch 312 that selectively switches each half waveform of an input AC power source 114 to provide a controlled supply waveforms 316, 317 to respective loads 118, 119);
and a plurality of switches, each electrical switch being electrically coupled to the power source, the controller, and a respective electrical load of the plurality of electrical loads (fig. 3 0084 “where each individual load switches on or off once every 10 half cycles (causing 12 Hz, perceivable changes), but when combined and staggered, the total load on the power line switches at a 24 Hz frequency (or, in other words, changes to the load occur at least every 41 ms)”;
wherein the appliance is configured to iteratively:
select, by the controller, a plurality of numbers from the sequence of numbers (fig. 4 0053 “an input waveform 410 is a typical AC waveform and is selectively switched for each of the separate loads, for example as shown at 420 (for load 118), and at 425 (for load 119). The first load 118 is selectively switched to remove half-cycles at 421 and 422. The second load 119 waveform 425 is selectively switched to remove half-cycles at 426, 427 and 428”);
generate, by the controller, a switching signal for any electrical load of the plurality of electrical loads (fig. 4 0053 “an input waveform 410 is a typical AC waveform and is selectively switched for each of the separate loads, for example as shown at 420 (for load 118), and at 425 (for load 119). The first load 118 is selectively switched to remove half-cycles at 421 and 422. The second load 119 waveform 425 is selectively switched to remove half-cycles at 426, 427 and 428”) [which is associated with a respective numerical range which includes a number from the plurality of numbers];
and activate, for each switching signal, a respective switch of the plurality of switches to electrically connect the respective electrical load to the power source over a period of time (fig. 3 and 4, 0053 “an input waveform 410 is a typical AC waveform and is selectively switched for each of the separate loads, for example as shown at 420 (for load 118), and at 425 (for load 119). The first load 118 is selectively switched to remove half-cycles at 421 and 422. The second load 119 waveform 425 is selectively switched to remove half-cycles at 426, 427 and 428”).
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the memory has stored therein a sequence of numbers and a plurality of numerical ranges, each numerical range being associated with a respective electrical load from the plurality of electrical loads and which is associated with a respective numerical range which includes a number from the plurality of numbers.
Padmanabh wherein the memory has stored therein a sequence of numbers and a plurality of numerical ranges, each numerical range being associated with a respective electrical load from the plurality of electrical loads (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values”)
which is associated with a respective numerical range which includes a number from the plurality of numbers (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Marsh with the teachings of Padmanabh since Padmanabh teaches a means for “switch is configured to facilitate application of reduced value of AC mains voltage to the electrical load, wherein the reduced voltage is applied to the electrical load for a pre-specified duration of time” (0008).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the plurality of numbers includes n numbers such that a maximum power consumption via simultaneous activation of n electrical loads from the plurality of electrical loads does not exceed a power threshold for the electrical appliance (0014 “a method for protecting an electrical load from overload current includes applying a reduced value of AC voltage to an electrical load through a voltage transformer, wherein the AC voltage is received from an electric mains supply. Further, the method includes measuring reduced value of current through the electrical load. An estimated current consumption value is compared with a threshold overload current value, where the estimated current consumption value is associated with current flowing through the electrical load if the electrical load is directly connected to the electric mains supply. The electrical load is switched off if the estimated current consumption value is greater than the threshold overload current value”).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the sequence of numbers is a sequence of tuples (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values”).
Claim 20 is rejected using similar reasoning as the rejection of claims 3 due to reciting similar limitations.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 3.
Padmanabh teaches wherein each tuple includes n tuple elements (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values”).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 4.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the sequence of numbers is generated based on a low-discrepancy sequence (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values”).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the sequence of numbers is stored in a non-volatile manner in the memory (0033 0025).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the sequence of numbers is dynamically generated by the processor and stored in a volatile manner in the memory (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values” 0025 0033).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Marsh teaches wherein electrical power consumed by the electrical appliance has a short term flicker severity of less than or equal to 1.0 (0031).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the appliance includes one or more user input devices for setting operation of at least some of the electrical loads of the plurality of loads, wherein the processor is configured to dynamically scale the plurality of numerical ranges based on one or more input signals generated by the one or more user input devices (0011 “the microcontroller receives one or more threshold overload current values from a server in the computer network. The one or more threshold overload current values are set by the application user”).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Marsh teaches wherein the electrical appliance further includes a zero-crossing detector, wherein the controller is configured to activate, for each switching signal, the respective switch of the plurality of switches in response to receiving a zero-crossing detection signal from the zero-crossing detector (fig. 3, 0016 0017).
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the plurality of numerical ranges is set by the processor based on a current configuration of the electrical appliance (0015).
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 1.
Marsh teaches wherein the electrical application is a kitchen appliance (0002).
Regarding claim 19, Marsh teaches An electrical appliance comprising:
a controller including a processor coupled to a memory (0049 “FIG. 3 shows a load control system 300 that uses a control module 310 that controls a zero crossing circuit or switch 312 that selectively switches each half waveform of an input AC power source 114 to provide a controlled supply waveforms 316, 317 to respective loads 118, 119),
a plurality of electrical load elements, wherein at least one of the plurality of electrical load elements (fig. 3 0084 “where each individual load switches on or off once every 10 half cycles (causing 12 Hz, perceivable changes), but when combined and staggered, the total load on the power line switches at a 24 Hz frequency (or, in other words, changes to the load occur at least every 41 ms)”) [is associated with one of the stored plurality of numerical ranges], wherein the controller is configured to.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the memory has stored therein a sequence of numbers and a plurality of numerical ranges; is associated with one of the stored plurality of numerical ranges, read a first portion of the sequence, wherein the first portion comprises at least one number, determine the numerical range in which the first portion of the sequence falls therein, and based on the determination, selectively power at least one of the electrical load elements.
Padmanabh teaches wherein the memory has stored therein a sequence of numbers and a plurality of numerical ranges (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values”);
electrical load elements is associated with one of the stored plurality of numerical ranges (0015)
read a first portion of the sequence, wherein the first portion comprises at least one number, determine the numerical range in which the first portion of the sequence falls therein, and based on the determination, selectively power at least one of the electrical load elements (0015 “threshold overload current values corresponding to various electrical loads are received from a server in the computer network. The threshold overload current values are configured by a network user and stored in the server of the computer network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the threshold overload current values are received from the server and are used by the microcontroller for comparison with estimated current consumption values”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Marsh with the teachings of Padmanabh since Padmanabh teaches a means for “switch is configured to facilitate application of reduced value of AC mains voltage to the electrical load, wherein the reduced voltage is applied to the electrical load for a pre-specified duration of time” (0008).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsh-Croft et al (US PUB. 20180115161, herein Marsh) in view of Padmanabh et al (US PUB. 20120212872, herein Padmanabh) in further view of Leontitsis et al (US PUB. 20180285988, herein Leontitsis).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 5.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the low- discrepancy sequence is a base-n Halton sequence.
Leontitsis teaches wherein the low- discrepancy sequence is a base-n Halton sequence (0133 “data may be completed using e.g. a Halton Sequence for random number generation. At S159, for each day with missing values, a random non-missing value may be picked, and be used to complete the missing ones using e.g. the Halton Sequence”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Marsh and Padmanabh with Leontitsis since Leontitsis teaches a means for improving missing data (0133).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsh-Croft et al (US PUB. 20180115161, herein Marsh) in view of Padmanabh et al (US PUB. 20120212872, herein Padmanabh) in further view of Briel et al (NPL Randomized Load Control: A Simple Distributed Approach for Scheduling Smart Appliances, herein Briel).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teach The electrical appliance according to claim 3.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the sequence is based on a stochastic or pseudo-random sequence.
Briel teaches wherein the sequence is based on a stochastic or pseudo-random sequence (abstract “We present randomized load control, a simple distributed approach for scheduling smart appliances. Randomized load control schedules the start time of appliances that are programmed to run within a specified time window, so that the aggregate load achieves a given ideal load”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Marsh and Padmanabh with Briel since Briel teaches a means for achieving a given ideal load (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding the rejection of claim 5 and 6 under 35 USC 112(b) have been considered and are deemed persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues on page 10 that the instant specification explains in paragraph 0072 and 0083 that claim 1 seeks to provide an electrical appliance for controlling multiple electrical loads using less memory and a simplified control which is different than Marsh since Marsh teaches using lookup tables which are contrasts the claimed mathematical sequence. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., electrical appliance for controlling multiple electrical loads using less memory and a simplified control) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues on page 11 that Marsh does not teach using a “mathematical” sequence of numbers stored in memory. Examiner notes that the claim does not require a “mathematical” sequence of numbers. The lookup table information stored in Marsh does correspond to the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed sequence of numbers under broadest reasonable interpretation (0033).
Applicant then argues that Marsh does not teach numerical ranges associated with respective electrical loads. However, as shown in the rejection of claim 1, Padmanabh was relied upon to teach this since the threshold overload current values being in relation to different loads correspond to the broadest reasonable interpretation of numerical range being associated with electrical loads (0015).
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 and its dependent claims are maintained. Claim19 recites similar limitations and is similarly rejected along with its dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116