DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the EPDM" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as --the EPDM seal--.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the assembly" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as --an assembly--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gruhler et al. (US 2020/0408303; hereinafter “Gruhler”).
In regard to claim 11, Gruhler discloses an electric battery housing capable of housing at least one module of a battery (“battery box;” [0007]), said housing being produced in two parts, comprising: a bottom housing (second object 114 such as “a box base part of the battery;” [0127]) necessarily having at least flat junction edge to delineate the fluid space 104 and a top housing (first object 112 such as “a box lid of a battery;” [0127]) necessarily having at least flat junction face for which the sealing element 110 fits against, the bottom housing and the top housing being configured to come to bear against one another to form the housing via placement of the flat junction edge in contact with the flat junction face such that the second fluid space 104 is created and separated from the exterior (i.e. the first fluid space 102), an EPDM seal (“elastic sealing body 118 and/or the elastic sealing body parts 126” which are made from elastomer material 133 which can be EPDM; [0137]) necessarily being inserted between the flat junction edge and the flat junction face to render the housing seal-tight (i.e. to form the interior second fluid space 104), wherein a metal frame (“base body 116 and/or the base body parts 124” which are made from metallic base body material 135; [0138]) is fixed to the EPDM seal, and an assembly composed of the EPDM seal and the metal frame is necessarily inserted between the flat junction edge of the bottom housing and the flat junction face of the top housing to form the interior second fluid space 104. See [0125]-[0138] and Figure 1.
In regard to claim 15, Gruhler discloses wherein the EPDM seal is overmolded (“injection molded;” [0142]) on the metal frame.
In regard to claim 16, Gruhler discloses wherein a total length of the metal frame is less than or equal to the total length the EPDM seal. See [0151]-[0155] and Figure 1.
In regard to claim 17, Gruhler discloses wherein the total length of the metal frame is strictly less than that of the EPDM seal, so that said metal frame appears discontinuous along said EPDM seal as the metal frame (base body parts 124) are provided in two distinct pieces which meet at an abutment region 134. See [0151]-[0155] and Figure 1. Thus, the EPDM seal does not have a metal frame at the abutment region 134 and the length of the metal frame is strictly less than that of the EPDM seal.
In regard to claim 20, Gruhler discloses wherein the metal frame is produced in a metal to be chosen from steel and aluminum. See [0138].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruhler in view of Olivier (FR 3067436 with reliance upon the English-language machine translation).
In regard to claim 17-19, the following rejection is applied in case it is held that Gruhler does not disclose wherein the length of the metal frame is strictly less than that of the EPDM seal.
Olivier discloses a rigid frame and elastomer seal comprised of a metal frame and EPDM elastomeric material for use with batteries of electric vehicles. Olivier teaches that the seal 1 has discontinuous segments 2A-2J of metal frame having a continuous elastomeric seal (elastomeric sealing material 21) joined by connecting elements 3A to 3J. Thus, the seal 1 has zones without any metal frame wherein the zones each comprise a main segment linking two zones having the metal frame as defined by the connecting elements 3A-3J. As the connecting elements 3A-3J each have a wavy shape, the main segments linking the two zones have at least one secondary segment crossing the main segment by being at right angles thereto and has three parallel secondary segments crossing the main segment by being at right angles thereto as the wavy shape contains perpendicular segments of connecting elements. See Figures 1-9, pages 2-5 of the translation and the abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the use of discontinuous metal frame pieces with connecting flexible seal segments as disclosed by Olivier with the seal arrangement of Gruhler for the purpose of enabling the seal to be condensed in size prior to installation and to keep a stable seal even when connection elements have been twisted during assembly of the seal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not teach, suggest or render obvious wherein the EPDM seal is arranged to occupy a central position and the metal frame is arranged to occupy an off-centered position as the EPDM seal is disclosed to be on the periphery of the metal frame in the prior art.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774