Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 17 and 18, in the reply filed on 5/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US5260350).
Wright, abstract, teaches composition produced by the mixing of colloidal silica with the reaction product of an amino-organofunctional silane and a multifunctional acrylate.
Wright, col. 2, teaches the composition comprises:
(A) at least one multifunctional acrylate monomer;
(B) an amino-organofunctional silane modified multifunctional acrylate monomer and,
(C) colloidal silica.
(C) as taught by Wright reads on a silicate as claimed in claim 1.
(B) as taught by Wright reads on compound B) as claimed in claim 1.
Wright, col. 3, teaches the amino-organofunctional silane modified multifunctional acrylate compounds of this invention can be prepared by intimately mixing an amino-organofunctional silane compound having at least one primary amine or secondary amine group with an acrylate functional compound as described in component (A).
A hexanediol acrylate plus anilinopropyltrimethoxysilane have a molecular weight around 400 g/mol.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that the amino-organofunctional silane modified multifunctional acrylate monomer as taught by Wright would have a molecular weight around 400 g/mol.
Regarding claim 5, Wright teaches a hexanediol acrylate which has two ester groups.
Regarding claim 7, Wright teaches silica.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Wright, claim 8, teaches the colloidal silica does not exceed 60% by weight of the sum of the weights of the multifunctional acrylic monomer, amino organofunctionalsilane and colloidal silica.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although Wright teaches a composition, Wright does not teach compound B) comprising ethylenically unsaturated groups in an amount up to 2 mmol/g to as claimed in claim 2.
Although Wright teaches amine groups, Wright does not teach compound B) comprising at least two tertiary amine groups as claimed in claim 4.
Although Wright teaches a composition, Wright does not teach compound B) as represented in the formula (I) as claimed in claim 6.
Although Wright teach silica, Wright does not teach fumed silica as claimed in claim 8.
Although Wright teaches a composition comprising acrylates, Wright does not teach compound B) comprising no ethylenically unsaturated groups as claimed in claim 17.
There is no motivation in the reference to modify the composition to obtain the compositions as claimed in claims 2, 4, 6, 8 and 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20110021699 teaches wetting agents and dispersants.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 7/13/26