DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “the elastic pads” is interpreted as referring to “a plurality of elastic pads” anteriorly introduced, without raising antecedent basis issues. No correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 2, recites the limitation “a projection” which should be changed to “the projection”.
Claim 9, line 3, recites the limitation “a tooth or teeth of the shaft cooperating” which should be changed to “the tooth or teeth of the shaft cooperating”.
Claim 16, line 2, recites the limitation “electrical motor” which should be changed to “electric motor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, recites “An autonomous vehicle comprising the steering coupling according to claim 1 or an active steering arrangement.” The use of the alternative term “or” renders the scope of the claim unclear and ambiguous. It is unclear whether claim 17 is intended to cover an autonomous vehicle comprising the steering coupling according to claim 1, an autonomous vehicle comprising an active steering arrangement (in effect representing an independent claim), or both alternatives within a single claim scope. See related discussion under 35 USC 112d, below.
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 recites, "an autonomous vehicle comprising the steering coupling according to claim 1 or an active steering arrangement." Claim 17 references claim 1, but alternatively recites "or an active steering arrangement" without reference to any preceding claim. Thus, claim 17 is drafted in the alternative such that it either (A) may depend from claim 1 or (B) may stand independently by reciting an autonomous vehicle comprising an active steering arrangement without incorporating the limitations of any particular preceding claim, or ambiguously both (A) and (B). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. See related discussion under 35 USC 112b, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. US 20200047789 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Yoshida et al. discloses [steering coupling 10 for connecting a steering gear 7 and a steering aid device 4] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0077 & 0079) comprising:
[a first, outer, shaft 12 having a plurality of inward projecting teeth,] (Fig. 2-4; Paragraph 0082)
[a second, inner, shaft 11 having a plurality of outward projecting teeth in direct cooperation with the first outer shaft to form a steering coupling,] (Fig. 2-4; Paragraph 0082)
[the first shaft and the second shaft being configured to rotate together in both rotational directions around a common axis,] (Fig. 2-4; Paragraph 0082) and
[at least one elastic pad 140a-k,] (Fig. 2-4; Paragraph 0082)
[wherein the at least one elastic pad is provided in a pocket of one of the shafts and where the at least one elastic pad abuts pocket side walls in both said rotational directions of the shaft in which the pocket is located,] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0082); and [wherein the at least one elastic pad has a projection extending out from the pocket and wherein said projection abuts sides in both said rotational directions of a tooth or teeth of the shaft cooperating with the shaft provided with the pocket.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0082; As shown in Fig. 3, Yoshida et al. illustrates wherein the projections of the elastic pad 140a-k are inserted into the pocket of the outer shaft 12 and matched with the teeth of the cooperating shaft.)
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein a plurality of elastic pads is provided in a corresponding number of pockets.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0100; Yoshida et al. discloses a plurality of elastic pads 140a-k that are configured to serve as the elastic member disposed between the outer teeth member 11 (inner shaft) and the inner teeth member 12 (outer shaft).)
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the teeth of the shafts are formed as splines to form a spline coupling.] (Fig. 3 and 5; Paragraph 0083-0084; As shown in Fig. 5, Yoshida et al. illustrates wherein the teeth of the inner 11 and outer shafts 12 are formed as splines that a coupled to each other.)
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the at least one elastic pad is made of an elastomer material or a rubber material.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0090)
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the at least one elastic pad is press fit into the pocket] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0082) and [wherein the at least one elastic pad is press fit against the teeth of the shaft cooperating with the shaft provided with the pocket.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0082; As shown in Fig. 3, Yoshida et al. illustrates wherein the projections of the elastic pad 140a-k are inserted into the pocket of the outer shaft 12 and matched with the teeth of the cooperating shaft.)
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the elastic pads 140a-k only extend over a part of the axial length of the teeth of the shafts 12 in the steering coupling.] (Fig. 5; As shown in Fig. 5, Yoshida et al. illustrates wherein the elastic pads 140a-k extend over a part of the axial length of teeth of the first outer shaft 12.)
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the pocket(s) holding said at least one elastic pad is located at an end section of the shaft in which the pocket(s) are located.] (Fig. 3; As shown in Fig. 3, Yoshida et al. illustrates wherein the pockets that hold the elastic members 140a-k are at an end section of the first outer shaft 12.)
Regarding claim 8, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the at least one elastic pad is formed by a solid material.] (Fig. 3 and 5; Paragraph 0090; Yoshida et al. discloses that the elastic member 140a-k is made from resin material which is a solid material.)
Regarding claim 9, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the at least one elastic pad has a projection with projecting parts that match the shape of a tooth or teeth of the shaft cooperating with the shaft provided with the pocket.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0082; As shown in Fig. 3, Yoshida et al. illustrates wherein the projections of the elastic pad 140a-k are inserted into the pocket of the outer shaft 12 and matched with the teeth of the cooperating shaft.)
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida et al. discloses [when a plurality of elastic pads is provided, wherein the plurality of elastic pads is connected together by a connection part 141.] (Fig. 7B-C; Paragraph 0090; As shown in Fig. 4, Yoshida et al. illustrates wherein the elastic pads are connected together through a connection pads 141.)
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the connection part 141 and the elastic pads 140a-k are formed as one integral element.] (Fig. 7B-C; Paragraph 0090; As shown in Fig. 7B-C, Yoshida et al. illustrates the connection part 141 and the elastic pads 140a-k being formed as one integral element.)
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the connection part has an annular shape.] (Fig. 7B-C; Paragraph 0090)
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein one shaft is provided with a recess at the end section and wherein the connection part is located in said recess.] (Annotated Fig. 4; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4, Yoshida et al. illustrates the first outer shaft 12 having a recessed portion at the end section and wherein the connection part is located in the recess.)
Annotated Fig. 4 of Yoshida et al. [Note: consider reviewing the MS Word version of the Office Action, because – unlike the PDF version - it includes colors]
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida et al. discloses [wherein the recess has an undercut section shaped to prevent the connection part from moving in an axial direction of the shaft with the recess.] (Annotated Fig. 4; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 4 above, Yoshida et al. illustrates the recess having an undercut that is shaped to prevent the connection part 141 from moving in an axial direction of the shaft with the recess.)
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida et al. discloses [an active steering arrangement comprising the steering coupling 10] (Fig. 2-5; Paragraph 0082) and [further comprising an electric motor 4 connected to one of the shafts to provide assisting steering force to the steering of a vehicle.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0077 & 0079)
Regarding claim 16, Yoshida et al. discloses [a control module 3 connected to the electrical motor for control of the assisting steering force applied by the electrical motor.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0077)
Regarding claim 17, Yoshida et al. discloses [an autonomous vehicle comprising the steering coupling or an active steering arrangement.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0075-0076)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Menjak et al. US 20040154422 A1 – comprises a gear mechanism for minimizing backlash including a convoluted spring positioned between an external spline of a gear or shaft and an internal spline of a gear. The gear mechanism may include a cam and cam follower arrangement upon two adjacent gears positioned on the same shaft. Two stacked gears may include a U-shaped backlash eliminating element passing through both gears. The gear mechanism may include rollers which may be conically shaped.
Miyawaki US 20090270185 A1 – comprises a motor vehicle steering shaft provided with: an inner shaft and a tubular outer shaft fitted into each other and to transmit a torque to and from each other; a rigid coupling element for rigidly coupling the inner shaft and the outer shaft in a circumferential direction (C) of the inner shaft when a relative rotation amount of the inner shaft and the outer shaft exceeds a predetermined range; and an elastic coupling element for elastically coupling the inner shaft and the outer shaft in the circumferential direction (C) of the inner shaft when the relative rotation amount of the inner shaft and the outer shaft is within the predetermined range. The elastic coupling element includes a resin member. The inner shaft and the outer shaft are elastically supported mutually via the resin member at a central position of the predetermined range when no torque is loaded to the steering shaft.
Kikuchi et al. US 20170036691 A1 – comprises a first shaft and a second shaft facing each other in an axial direction to transmit rotational force acting in a circumferential direction. A first unit includes a set of coupling protrusions spaced from one another in the circumferential direction, and is coupled to the first shaft. Ends of radial protrusions project in the circumferential direction with respect to ends of another radial protrusions in the circumferential direction when a relative rotation angle between the first unit and a second unit is smaller than a predetermined angle.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611