DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/17/2023 where claims 1-58 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 10/17/2023. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, 12, 28, 29, 30 36, 37, 39, 55, 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (WO 2015100578 A1) hereinafter Cui , copy attached and further in view of Nilsson et al. (US 20240080145 A1) hereinafter Nilsson provisional application 63/138,667 dated Jan 18th, 2021.
As to claim 1. Cui teaches A method of communication performed by a base station, comprising([0011] base station)
receiving, from a location server, a positioning information request message including a request supported by a user equipment (UE) for frequency hopping sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission; ([0022] [0237][0238]small base station controller receiving a positioning measurement request from the positioning server for locating the target terminal includes, the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal)
and
transmitting, to the location server, a positioning information response message including supported by the UE, ([0025] small cell controller reporting the positioning measurement results, including base station-side parameters and terminal-side parameters, to the positioning server according to the positioning measurement request includes)
the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. ([0238] the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal.)
Cui does not teach for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters; the PFS configuration parameters; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns
Nilsson teaches for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters; ([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding, SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol; to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.
the PFS configuration parameters([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claims 28, 55, 57 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising: receiving, from the location server, a positioning measurement request message instructing the base station to measure SRS,([0022][0023] Receiving, by the small base station controller, the positioning server, by using a macro base station, to acquire the, obtaining request of the configuration information of the uplink SRS of the target terminal, where the acquiring request carries the address information of the macro base station)
the positioning measurement request message ([0022] The small base station controller receives a positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station; )
Cui does not teach indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS,
the PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS, ([0031][0043] partial frequency sounding i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot per frequency hop, is referred to as subband level partial frequency sounding; SRS enhancement that facilitates sounding a wide bandwidth using one or more frequency hops per slot that together span, over all slots),
PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 29is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2
As to claim 3. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the location server, a positioning request message , ([0023] positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station)
Cui does not teach activation, to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS
the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS),
the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS, and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS ;([0004] [0096] Fig. 7, aperiodic SRS transmission, the RRC configuration does not activate an SRS transmission from the user equipment (UE), but instead a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.)
the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS, ([0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 (i.e., PFS) is activated for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position nstart is incremented by mSRS,b-hop RBs (where mSRS,b-hop is the hopping bandwidth) which depends on c-SRS and b-hop) after each slot/position, in which SRS has been transmitted.
the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. . ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 30 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3
As to claim 9. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein the requested PFS configuration further indicates a number of sub-hops within the PFS pattern. ([0030][0031] the number of frequency hops per slot times the bandwidth per hop is less than the transmission bandwidth) ; entire transmission bandwidth in a slot is referred to as partial frequency sounding; the schemes considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 36 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 9
As to claim 10 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein the time duration to apply the PFS pattern comprises a time interval, a number of frequency hops, or a number of symbols. ([0102] Fig. 13, the configured frequency-hopping pattern (as in legacy NR) is used within each subband, but the subband is changing over time. when there are 4 SRS symbols/e.g., time duration per frequency hop, within each slot. The frequency-hopping pattern within each subband (i.e., within the hopping bandwidth) is unchanged from current NR)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 37 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10
As to claim 12. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches , further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, an SRS configuration for the frequency hopping SRS transmission by the UE, the SRS configuration including a PFS configuration to apply to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. ([0023][0024] Fig. 3, SRS resources in an SRS resource set configured with usage ‘antennaSwitching’ are used to sound the channel in the uplink so that the gNB can use reciprocity to determine suitable downlink precoder, UE is expected to transmit one SRS port per UE antenna; frequency hopping where different parts of the frequency band are sounded in different OFDM symbols, which means that the power spectral density (PSD) for the SRS will improve)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claims 39 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12
Claim(s) 4, 6 8 31, 33 ,35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 20220110085 A1) hereinafter Khoryaev
As to claim 4, The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein: the transmission of SRS is aperiodic, ([0004] [0005] The SRS configuration includes an SRS transmission pattern based on an SRS resource configuration grouped into SRS resource sets)
an SRS resource trigger information element (IE),([0004] [0093]a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.; subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 may be included in SRS Config IE)
the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated, ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. )
and the type of the PFS pattern ([0031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
and the SRS resource trigger IE includes ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. )
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern. . ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim 31 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4
As to claim 6. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein: the transmission of SRS is semi-persistent,([0013] For periodic and semi-persistent SRS, the associated CSI-RS resource is set by the RRC parameter associated CSI-RS, associated CSI-RS resource is for uplink transmission)
the positioning activation request message includes an indication whether PFS is activated ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
and the type of the PFS pattern, (0031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)and
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim 33 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6
As to claim 8 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches whether the requested PFS configuration was activated. activated ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach further comprising: transmitting, to the location server, a positioning activation response message indicating
Khoryaev teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the location server, a positioning activation response message indicating([0065] Fig. 4b,the UE transmits to the serving gNB DL PRS measurement report and, at 430, the gNB sends this report to the Location Function/Server. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim 35 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8
Claim(s) 5, 7, 32,34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20230047048 A1) hereinafter Liu
As to claim 5. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches, and the type of the PFS pattern. ([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
Claim 32 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5
As to claim 7 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches and the type of the PFS pattern. ([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
Claim 34 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7
Claim(s) 11, 13, 38, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #112 electronic R3-211823, Online, May 17 – 27, 2021, Source: CATT; Title: Consideration on Latency Improvement, Agenda Item: 19.3, Document for: Discussion and Decision hereinafter 3GPP; copy attached.
As to claim 11. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message.
3GPP teaches wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message. ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
Claim 38 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 11
As to claim 13. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message.
3GPP teaches wherein the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message. ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, , NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE; Step 8-2, NRPPA request UE SRS activation response)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
Claim 40, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 13
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16, 22, 23 41, 42, 43 49, 50 56, 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (WO 2015100578 A1) hereinafter Cui , copy attached and further in view of Nilsson et al. (US 20240080145 A1) hereinafter Nilsson provisional application 63/138,667 dated Jan 18th, 2021.
As to claim 14. Cui teaches A method of communication performed by a location server, comprising:
transmitting, to a base station serving a user equipment (UE), a positioning information request message including a request parameters supported by the UE for frequency hopping sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission; ([0022] [0237] [0238] positioning server transmitting to base station controller a positioning measurement request from for locating the target terminal including the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal)
and receiving, from the base station, a positioning information response message including supported by the UE, ([0025] small cell controller reporting the positioning measurement results, including base station-side parameters and terminal-side parameters, to the positioning server according to the positioning measurement request includes)
the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. ([0238] the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal.)
Cui does not teach for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration, the PFS configuration parameters; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns,
Nilsson teaches for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration ([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding, SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol; to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol., the PFS configuration parameters; ([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency hopping)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claims 41,56, 58 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
As to claim 15 the combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising: transmitting, to one or more neighboring base stations of the UE a positioning measurement request message instructing the one or more neighboring base stations to measure SRS from the UE, ,([0023][034] The small base station controller receives a positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, he small cell controller receives a request from the positioning server to obtain configuration information for the uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) of the target terminal)
the positioning measurement request message([0022] The small base station controller receives a positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station; )
Cui does not teach indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS, the PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS, ([0031][0043] partial frequency sounding i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot per frequency hop, is referred to as subband level partial frequency sounding; SRS enhancement that facilitates sounding a wide bandwidth using one or more frequency hops per slot that together span, over all slots),
PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 42 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 15
As to claim 16. the combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, a positioning activation request message ([0023] positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station)
Cui does not teach to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS, the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS, the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS, ;([0004] [0096] Fig. 7, aperiodic SRS transmission, the RRC configuration does not activate an SRS transmission from the user equipment (UE), but instead a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.)
the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS, ([0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 (i.e., PFS) is activated for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position nstart is incremented by mSRS,b-hop RBs (where mSRS,b-hop is the hopping bandwidth) which depends on c-SRS and b-hop) after each slot/position, in which SRS has been transmitted).
the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 43 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16
As to claim 22. . The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches, wherein the requested PFS configuration further indicates a number of sub-hops within the PFS pattern. . ([0030][0031] the number of frequency hops per slot times the bandwidth per hop is less than the transmission bandwidth) ; entire transmission bandwidth in a slot is referred to as partial frequency sounding; the schemes considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 49 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 22
As to claim 23. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein wherein the time duration to apply the PFS pattern comprises a time interval, a number of frequency hops, or a number of symbols. ([0102] Fig. 13, the configured frequency-hopping pattern (as in legacy NR) is used within each subband, but the subband is changing over time. when there are 4 SRS symbols/e.g., time duration per frequency hop, within each slot. The frequency-hopping pattern within each subband (i.e., within the hopping bandwidth) is unchanged from current NR)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 50 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 23
Claim(s) 17, 19, 21 44, 46, 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 20220110085 A1) hereinafter Khoryaev
As to claim 17. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein: the transmission of SRS is aperiodic, ([0004] [0005] The SRS configuration includes an SRS transmission pattern based on an SRS resource configuration grouped into SRS resource sets)
an SRS resource trigger information element (IE), ),([0004] [0093]a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.; subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 may be included in SRS Config IE)
the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. ) and the type of the PFS pattern, ([0031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
and the SRS resource trigger IE includes ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. )
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern. . ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim 44 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 17
As to claim 19. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches, wherein:the transmission of SRS is semi-persistent, ,([0013] For periodic and semi-persistent SRS, the associated CSI-RS resource is set by the RRC parameter associated CSI-RS, associated CSI-RS resource is for uplink transmission)
the positioning activation request message includes an indication whether PFS is activated ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
and the type of the PFS pattern, ((031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach)and the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claims 46 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 19
As to claim 21 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches further comprising: whether the requested PFS configuration was activated. ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach receiving, from the base station, a positioning activation response message indicating
Khoryaev teaches receiving, from the base station, a positioning activation response message indicating ([0065] Fig. 4b,the UE transmits to the serving gNB DL PRS measurement report and, at 430, the gNB sends this report to the Location Function/Server. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim 48 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 21
Claim(s) 18, 22, 45 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20230047048 A1) hereinafter Liu
As to claim 18. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches,, and the type of the PFS pattern. ([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
Claim 45 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 18
As to claim 20. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches and the type of the PFS pattern entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
Claim 47 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 20
Claim(s) 24, 25, 51, 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #112 electronic R3-211823, Online, May 17 – 27, 2021, Source: CATT; Title: Consideration on Latency Improvement, Agenda Item: 19.3, Document for: Discussion and Decision hereinafter 3GPP; copy attached.
As to claim 24. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach , wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message.
3GPP teaches wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message. ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
Claim 51 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 24
As to claim 25. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein:the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message.
3GPP teaches wherein: the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message. . ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, , NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE; Step 8-2, NRPPA request UE SRS activation response)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
Claim 52 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 25
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 26, 27, 53, 54 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 16 prior art Kim et al. [US 10575166 B2] teaches in (54) Fig. 6, A conventional UE reports all frequency bands that it supports via rf-Parameters, and also reports a measurement gap requirement for respective frequency bands via measParameters.
(55) In the second exemplary embodiment of the invention, the UE 405 determines information to be included in rf-Parmeters and measParameters, considering a mode of a current serving network. If the UE 405 is connected to an FDD network, it reports FDD bands and the measurement gap requirement for the FDD bands, via a legacy field, e.g., rf-Parameters and measParameters. The UE 405 reports information regarding a mode, different from that of a current serving network, via an extension field (e.g., rf-Parameters and measParameters defined as a lower field of a UE-EUTRA-Capability-v11xy-IEs field).
And also in (56) For example, FGI 25 is related to inter-frequency for E-UTRA bands. Although the UE 405 has set FGI 25 of featureGroupindicators of UE-EUTRA-Capability as a legacy related-field to ‘1’ in order to indicate that it has been subjected to an IOT for inter-frequency measurement with respect to the FDD bands, if the FDD bands and TDD bands are reported via rf-Parameters of the legacy related-field, the eNB of the previous release may mistakenly determine that the UE 405 has been subjected to an IOT for inter-frequency measurement with respect to all bands including FDD bands and TDD bands. Therefore, exemplary embodiments of the invention report bands with respect to modes.
And prior art Lin et al. [US 20180242101 A1] disclose in para [0162] Fig. 2,Each network node 201, 203, 205 may then receive the device-unique reference signal transmissions 217a-c by the wireless device 209. Each network node 201, 203, 205 may determine a position measurement of the wireless device 209 based on the device-unique reference signal transmissions 217a-c. Further, each network node 201, 203, 205 may transmit, to the network node 207, an indication of the position measurement. Finally, the network node 207 may receive the position measurements and may then determine the position of the wireless device 209 based on the position measurements.
And also in para . [0208] As previously described, the basic concept of UL TDOA is that a positioning server (e.g., E-SMLC) requests the serving eNB to configure the UE with an UL signal). The eNB provides configuration details back to E-SMLC, which distributes the information to a set of Location Measurement Units (LMUs) (e.g., logical node which may be implemented in an eNB or deployed as a standalone unit). When the uplink signal has been transmitted, TOA is estimated at the LMUs and reported to the E-SLMC where the UE position is estimated.
However, combination or prior arts records Kim and Lin does not teach
For claims 26 and 53
receiving, from one or more neighboring base stations of the UE, a measurement response message including an indication that the one or more neighboring base stations do not support PFS within the frequency hopping SRS transmission.
Therefore, claims 26 and 53 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claims 27 and 54 of claims 26 and 53, would also be allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miao; Honglei [US 20210243782 A1] METHODS OF ENHANCED SPS TRANSMISSION AND HARQ FEEDBACK
Cirik; Ali et al. [US 20200221485 A1] Methods, Systems, and Apparatuses for Beam Management
Kazmi; Muhammad et al. [US 20170339660 A1] Signaling and Using CRS Muting in Shared Cell for Positioning
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413