DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 04/07/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-35 has been considered and entered. Claims 28-31,33, 24 are amended.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s argument, filed on 04/07/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-35 has been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
The Applicants states in scanned page 4 that
“Accordingly, the combination of Cui and Nilsson does not disclose or suggest the feature of "transmitting, to the location server, a positioning information response message including the PFS configuration parameters supported by the UE,
the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission," as recited in independent claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Prior art Cui teaches in para [0044]a small base station controller receiving a request from a positioning server to obtain positioning signal configuration information of a positioning small base station configured to provide services to a target terminal;
And in para [0088] the configuration information of the uplink SRS includes one or more of the following: uplink SRS transmission timing, transmission bandwidth, transmission sequence, transmission frequency, and frequency hopping information.
And [0077] reports the obtained uplink SRS configuration information to the positioning server according to the acquisition request, so that the positioning server notifies the positioning measurement unit of the configuration information, the positioning measurement unit performs positioning measurement according to the configuration information, and reports the positioning measurement result to the positioning server, and the positioning server determines the location of the target terminal according to the positioning measurement result.
And similarly in para [0092]The small cell controller receives positioning measurement requests from the positioning server. Based on the positioning measurement requests, the small cell controller reports the positioning measurement results, including base station-side parameters and terminal-side parameters, to the positioning server so that the positioning server can determine the location of the target terminal. This enables positioning of the target terminal based on small cells.
Therefore Cui discloses small cell controller receives positioning measurement requests from the positioning server, reports the positioning measurement results, including base station-side parameters and terminal-side parameters, to the positioning server so that the positioning server can determine the location of the target terminal and the configuration information of the uplink SRS includes one or more of the following: uplink SRS transmission timing, transmission bandwidth, transmission sequence, transmission frequency, and frequency hopping information.
Cui does not explicitly teaches frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters supported by a user equipment (UE) for frequency hopping sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission
Nilsson discloses in para [0089]Fig. 7, FIG. 8 pattern reveals that the transmission bandwidth of 24 RBs are now sounded using a contiguous set of 8 RBs per slot but with a varying frequency-domain start position. Thus, particular embodiments may sound the entire transmission bandwidth with SRS transmissions of 4 PRBs per OFDM symbol and in a contiguous bandwidth per slot
In para [0097] FIGS. 9 and 10, in the case when the frequency-domain start position is incremented for each slot and the case when it is incremented after the entire hopping bandwidth has been sounded, respectively.
Here, subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17=true, c-SRS=4 (cell specific SRS) , b-hop=1, (frequency hopping pattern of the SRS transmission across multiple slots.) b-SRS=2,( SRS bandwidth configuration) freqDomainPosition=0,freqDomainShift=0, nrofSymbols=4 and startPosition=3. According to this configuration, the entire bandwidth is 16 RBs, the hopping bandwidth is 8 RBs, and there are 4 SRS symbols per slot.
And also in para [0098] In some embodiments, the frequency-domain starting position is incremented after Π.sub.i=b-hop.sup.b-srsN.sub.i frequency hops if Π.sub.i=b-hop.sup.b-srsN.sub.i is smaller than the number of SRS symbols per slot (i.e., if the entire hopping bandwidth is sounded within a slot), otherwise (i.e., if the entire hopping bandwidth is not sounded within a slot) it is incremented after each slot.
Also in paras [0169] Fig. 17, begins at step 1712, where the wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) receiving a SRS configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern over a plurality of slots wherein a frequency domain starting position varies per slot.
And [0171] In particular embodiments, the SRS configuration comprises a frequency hopping pattern over a plurality of slots and a frequency domain starting position for each slot such that one or more frequency hops per slot together span, over the plurality of slots, a bandwidth for which any gap between the frequency hops is smaller than current new radio (NR) configurations.
And [0172] In particular embodiments, each frequency hop comprises a frequency hop bandwidth and the frequency domain starting position is incremented by the frequency hop bandwidth for each slot of the plurality of slots.
Therefore Nilsson discloses sub-band level frequency hopping i.e., partial frequency sounding and terminal supports partial frequency hopping as frequency hop bandwidth and the frequency domain starting position is incremented by the frequency hop bandwidth for each slot of the plurality of slots.
Applicant also states in scanned page Furthermore, 3, “Nilsson does not cure this deficiency of Cui because Nilsson is merely cited for describing the physical layer concepts of partial frequency sounding and fails to disclose network signaling between a location server and a base station regarding the capabilities supported by a UE”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Nilsson discloses in para [0169] Specifically, the serving small base station parses the instructions in the positioning measurement request that indicate the parameters to be measured on the base station side and the instructions that indicate the parameters to be measured on the terminal side. The serving small base station sends the instructions that indicate the parameters to be measured on the terminal side to the target terminal, which then measures the parameters on the terminal side and simultaneously measures the parameters on the base station side itself.
And in para[0177] specifically, the small cell controller receives the positioning measurement results sent by the serving small cell that provides services to the target terminal, and then reports the positioning measurement results to the macro cell.
The method by which the small base station controller locates the corresponding macro base station is as follows: when reporting the positioning measurement results, the small base station controller locates the corresponding macro base station based on the address information saved in step 2.
And in para [0193] Specifically, the macro base station reports the positioning measurement results reported by the small base station controller to the positioning server.
Therefore Nilsson discloses signalling between base station and positioning server.
Applicant also states in scanned page 3, “Referring now to the "transmitting" feature of independent claim 1, in rejecting this feature, the Examiner again relied on Cui for disclosing a "small cell controller reporting the positioning measurement results," including "the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal" (1/12/2026 Office Action, p. 4). The Examiner relied on Nilsson for disclosing "subband-level partial frequency sounding" (Id. at pp. 4-5).
Similar to the "receiving" feature, independent claim 1 requires transmitting a response including parameters "supported by" the UE that indicate the patterns the UE is "capable of applying." Cui's disclosure of reporting an active configuration "configured by" the target terminal fails to disclose reporting a UE's capabilities, such as what the UE supports and is capable of applying. A UE may be capable of applying a variety of PFS patterns even if it is actively configured to use a single pattern or no pattern at all. There is simply no disclosure or suggestion in Cui of a base station transmitting to a location server "the PFS configuration parameters supported by the UE, the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission."
The Examiner also respectfully submits that Nilsson discloses in para an SRS enhancement that facilitates sounding a wide bandwidth using one or more frequency hops per slot that together span, over all slots, either
a contiguous bandwidth or (2)
a bandwidth for which the gap between the frequency hops is smaller than what is possible in the current release of new radio (NR).
Some embodiments facilitate time-varying subband-level frequency hopping for periodic/semi-persistent SRS resources according to a predefined rule.
And in para [0044] a “subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.
Andin para [0045] a wireless device receive’ s SRS configuration comprising a frequency hopping pattern over a plurality of slots wherein a frequency domain starting position varies per slot; and transmitting SRS according to the received SRS configuration.
Prior art Cui discloses in para [0320] The serving small base station sends the uplink reference signal configuration of the target terminal to the small base station controller. This uplink reference signal configuration includes one or more of the following: transmission timing, transmission frequency, transmission bandwidth, transmission sequence, and frequency hopping information of the target terminal's uplink reference signal.
Therefore, combination of Cui and Nilsson discloses target terminal support subband level frequency hopping
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, 12, 28, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (WO 2015100578 A1) hereinafter Cui , copy attached and further in view of Nilsson et al. (US 20240080145 A1) hereinafter Nilsson provisional application 63/138,667 dated Jan 18th, 2021.
As to claim 1. Cui teaches A method of communication performed by a base station, comprising([0011] base station)
receiving, from a location server, a positioning information request message including a request supported by a user equipment (UE) for frequency hopping sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission; ([0022] [0237][0238]small base station controller receiving a positioning measurement request from the positioning server for locating the target terminal includes, the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal)
and
transmitting, to the location server, a positioning information response message including supported by the UE, ([0025] small cell controller reporting the positioning measurement results, including base station-side parameters and terminal-side parameters, to the positioning server according to the positioning measurement request includes)
the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. ([0238] the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal.)
Cui does not teach for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters; the PFS configuration parameters; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns
Nilsson teaches for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters; ([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding, SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol; to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.
the PFS configuration parameters([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claims 28, 35, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising: receiving, from the location server, a positioning measurement request message instructing the base station to measure SRS,([0022][0023] Receiving, by the small base station controller, the positioning server, by using a macro base station, to acquire the, obtaining request of the configuration information of the uplink SRS of the target terminal, where the acquiring request carries the address information of the macro base station)
the positioning measurement request message ([0022] The small base station controller receives a positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station; )
Cui does not teach indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS,
the PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS, ([0031][0043] partial frequency sounding i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot per frequency hop, is referred to as subband level partial frequency sounding; SRS enhancement that facilitates sounding a wide bandwidth using one or more frequency hops per slot that together span, over all slots),
PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 29is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2
As to claim 3. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the location server, a positioning request message , ([0023] positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station)
Cui does not teach activation, to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS
the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS),
the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS, and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS ;([0004] [0096] Fig. 7, aperiodic SRS transmission, the RRC configuration does not activate an SRS transmission from the user equipment (UE), but instead a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.)
the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS, ([0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 (i.e., PFS) is activated for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position nstart is incremented by mSRS,b-hop RBs (where mSRS,b-hop is the hopping bandwidth) which depends on c-SRS and b-hop) after each slot/position, in which SRS has been transmitted.
the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. . ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim 30 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3
As to claim 9. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein the requested PFS configuration further indicates a number of sub-hops within the PFS pattern. ([0030][0031] the number of frequency hops per slot times the bandwidth per hop is less than the transmission bandwidth) ; entire transmission bandwidth in a slot is referred to as partial frequency sounding; the schemes considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
As to claim 10 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein the time duration to apply the PFS pattern comprises a time interval, a number of frequency hops, or a number of symbols. ([0102] Fig. 13, the configured frequency-hopping pattern (as in legacy NR) is used within each subband, but the subband is changing over time. when there are 4 SRS symbols/e.g., time duration per frequency hop, within each slot. The frequency-hopping pattern within each subband (i.e., within the hopping bandwidth) is unchanged from current NR)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
As to claim 12. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches , further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, an SRS configuration for the frequency hopping SRS transmission by the UE, the SRS configuration including a PFS configuration to apply to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. ([0023][0024] Fig. 3, SRS resources in an SRS resource set configured with usage ‘antennaSwitching’ are used to sound the channel in the uplink so that the gNB can use reciprocity to determine suitable downlink precoder, UE is expected to transmit one SRS port per UE antenna; frequency hopping where different parts of the frequency band are sounded in different OFDM symbols, which means that the power spectral density (PSD) for the SRS will improve)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
As to claim 33 Cui teaches A location server, comprising: ([0008] a positioning server
one or more memories a memory;
at least one or more transceivers; and
at least one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories memory and the at least one or more transceivers, the at least one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to ([0209] positioning server inherently includes processor, memory computer program code stored in the memory and executed by the processor)
transmit, via the at least one or more transceivers, to a base station serving a user equipment (UE), a positioning information request message including a request for supported by the UE for frequency hopping sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission; ([0022] [0237][0238]small base station controller receiving a positioning measurement request from the positioning server for locating the target terminal includes, the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal)
and
receive, via the at least one or more transceivers, from the base station, a positioning information response message including the PFS configuration parameters supported by the UE, ([0025] small cell controller reporting the positioning measurement results, including base station-side parameters and terminal-side parameters, to the positioning server according to the positioning measurement request includes)
the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. ([0238] the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal.)
Cui does not teach partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters, the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns
Nilsson teaches partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters, ([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding, SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol; to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.
the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns 0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim(s) 4, 6 8 31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 20220110085 A1) hereinafter Khoryaev
As to claim 4, The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein: the transmission of SRS is aperiodic, ([0004] [0005] The SRS configuration includes an SRS transmission pattern based on an SRS resource configuration grouped into SRS resource sets)
an SRS resource trigger information element (IE),([0004] [0093]a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.; subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 may be included in SRS Config IE)
the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated, ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. )
and the type of the PFS pattern ([0031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
and the SRS resource trigger IE includes ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. )
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern. . ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim 31 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4
As to claim 6. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein: the transmission of SRS is semi-persistent,([0013] For periodic and semi-persistent SRS, the associated CSI-RS resource is set by the RRC parameter associated CSI-RS, associated CSI-RS resource is for uplink transmission)
the positioning activation request message includes an indication whether PFS is activated ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
and the type of the PFS pattern, (0031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)and
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
As to claim 8 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches whether the requested PFS configuration was activated. activated ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach further comprising: transmitting, to the location server, a positioning activation response message indicating
Khoryaev teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the location server, a positioning activation response message indicating([0065] Fig. 4b,the UE transmits to the serving gNB DL PRS measurement report and, at 430, the gNB sends this report to the Location Function/Server. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim(s) 5, 7, 32,34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20230047048 A1) hereinafter Liu
As to claim 5. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches, and the type of the PFS pattern. ([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
Claim 32 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5
As to claim 7 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches and the type of the PFS pattern. ([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
Claim 34 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7
Claim(s) 11, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #112 electronic R3-211823, Online, May 17 – 27, 2021, Source: CATT; Title: Consideration on Latency Improvement, Agenda Item: 19.3, Document for: Discussion and Decision hereinafter 3GPP; copy attached.
As to claim 11. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message.
3GPP teaches wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message. ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
As to claim 13. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message.
3GPP teaches wherein the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message. ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, , NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE; Step 8-2, NRPPA request UE SRS activation response)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16, 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (WO 2015100578 A1) hereinafter Cui , copy attached and further in view of Nilsson et al. (US 20240080145 A1) hereinafter Nilsson provisional application 63/138,667 dated Jan 18th, 2021.
As to claim 14. Cui teaches A method of communication performed by a location server, comprising:
transmitting, to a base station serving a user equipment (UE), a positioning information request message including a request parameters supported by the UE for frequency hopping sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission; ([0022] [0237] [0238] positioning server transmitting to base station controller a positioning measurement request from for locating the target terminal including the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal)
and receiving, from the base station, a positioning information response message including supported by the UE, ([0025] small cell controller reporting the positioning measurement results, including base station-side parameters and terminal-side parameters, to the positioning server according to the positioning measurement request includes)
the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. ([0238] the configuration information of the uplink SRS and frequency hopping information of the uplink probe reference signal configured by the target terminal.)
Cui does not teach for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration, the PFS configuration parameters; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns,
Nilsson teaches for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration ([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding, SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol; to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol., the PFS configuration parameters; ([0031][0032] subband-level partial frequency sounding to enhance coverage without sacrificing multiplexing capacity, the UE wants to concentrate the UE power onto a subset of the 24 PRBs in each OFDM symbol.; the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency hopping)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
As to claim 15 the combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising: transmitting, to one or more neighboring base stations of the UE a positioning measurement request message instructing the one or more neighboring base stations to measure SRS from the UE, ,([0023][034] The small base station controller receives a positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, he small cell controller receives a request from the positioning server to obtain configuration information for the uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) of the target terminal)
the positioning measurement request message([0022] The small base station controller receives a positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station; )
Cui does not teach indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS, the PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches indicating a PFS configuration for frequency hopping of the SRS, ([0031][0043] partial frequency sounding i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot per frequency hop, is referred to as subband level partial frequency sounding; SRS enhancement that facilitates sounding a wide bandwidth using one or more frequency hops per slot that together span, over all slots),
PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping of the SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
As to claim 16. the combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Cui teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, a positioning activation request message ([0023] positioning measurement request forwarded by the positioning server via a macro base station, wherein the positioning measurement request carries the address information of the macro base station)
Cui does not teach to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS, the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS, the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern.
Nilsson teaches to instruct the UE to activate transmission of SRS, ;([0004] [0096] Fig. 7, aperiodic SRS transmission, the RRC configuration does not activate an SRS transmission from the user equipment (UE), but instead a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.)
the positioning activation request message indicating a requested PFS configuration for frequency hopping transmission of SRS, ([0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 (i.e., PFS) is activated for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position nstart is incremented by mSRS,b-hop RBs (where mSRS,b-hop is the hopping bandwidth) which depends on c-SRS and b-hop) after each slot/position, in which SRS has been transmitted).
the requested PFS configuration indicating at least a type of a PFS pattern the UE is expected to apply to the frequency hopping transmission of SRS ([0044] subband” whose bandwidth equals the SRS hopping bandwidth that varies over time (e.g., over slots or after all frequency hops within that bandwidth has been sounded) and spans the maximum sounding bandwidth over all sounded slots. Within each subband, normal frequency-hopping schemes apply.)
and a time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
As to claim 22. . The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches, wherein the requested PFS configuration further indicates a number of sub-hops within the PFS pattern. . ([0030][0031] the number of frequency hops per slot times the bandwidth per hop is less than the transmission bandwidth) ; entire transmission bandwidth in a slot is referred to as partial frequency sounding; the schemes considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
As to claim 23. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein the time duration to apply the PFS pattern comprises a time interval, a number of frequency hops, or a number of symbols. ([0102] Fig. 13, the configured frequency-hopping pattern (as in legacy NR) is used within each subband, but the subband is changing over time. when there are 4 SRS symbols/e.g., time duration per frequency hop, within each slot. The frequency-hopping pattern within each subband (i.e., within the hopping bandwidth) is unchanged from current NR)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
Claim(s) 17, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 20220110085 A1) hereinafter Khoryaev
As to claim 17. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches wherein: the transmission of SRS is aperiodic, ([0004] [0005] The SRS configuration includes an SRS transmission pattern based on an SRS resource configuration grouped into SRS resource sets)
an SRS resource trigger information element (IE), ),([0004] [0093]a dynamic activation trigger is transmitted via the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink from the gNodeB (gNB) to instruct the UE to transmit the SRS once, at a predetermined time.; subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 may be included in SRS Config IE)
the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. ) and the type of the PFS pattern, ([0031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
and the SRS resource trigger IE includes ([0093][0094] when subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBsafter each slot in which SRS has been transmitted. )
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern. . ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
As to claim 19. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches, wherein: the transmission of SRS is semi-persistent, ,([0013] For periodic and semi-persistent SRS, the associated CSI-RS resource is set by the RRC parameter associated CSI-RS, associated CSI-RS resource is for uplink transmission)
the positioning activation request message includes an indication whether PFS is activated ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
and the type of the PFS pattern, ((031]partial frequency sounding. schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
the time duration to apply the PFS pattern. ([0031] [0036], Fig. 6, partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, all 24 PRBs are sounded over the 3 slots (6 OFDM symbols/time duration) with 4 PRBs being sounded in each hop).
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach)and the positioning activation request message includes
Khoryaev teaches the positioning activation request message includes ([0064] Fig. 4b, the location function entity can provide configuration of DL/UL resources to a serving gNB and/or one or more other gNBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
As to claim 21 The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches further comprising: whether the requested PFS configuration was activated. ([0094] subbandLevelHopping-p/sp-r17 is activated (i.e., when it is set to true) for a periodic/semi-persistent SRS resource, the frequency-domain start position n.sub.start is incremented by m.sub.SRS,b-hop RBs after each slot in which SRS has been transmitted)
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach receiving, from the base station, a positioning activation response message indicating
Khoryaev teaches receiving, from the base station, a positioning activation response message indicating ([0065] Fig. 4b,the UE transmits to the serving gNB DL PRS measurement report and, at 430, the gNB sends this report to the Location Function/Server. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khoryaev with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Khoryaev teaches that, indication by UE time interval or specific resources when it expects from gNB to receive MsgB or monitor PDCCH channel for MsgB reception would reduce UE power consumption and allocate some processing time for network/gNB. (Khoryaev [0058])
Claim(s) 18, 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20230047048 A1) hereinafter Liu
As to claim 18. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches,, and the type of the PFS pattern. ([0031]partial frequency sounding. the schemes/pattern, considered herein, i.e., not sounding the entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the SRS resource trigger IE indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
As to claim 20. The combination of Cui and Nilsson specifically Nilsson teaches and the type of the PFS pattern entire transmission bandwidth in a slot by using a minimum of four RBs of contiguous bandwidth per frequency hop, is referred to as subband-level partial frequency sounding)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Nilsson with the teaching of Cui because Nilsson teaches that, subband-level partial frequency hopping SRS coverage as well as SRS multiplexing capacity is, in theory, enhanced compared to transmitting SRS over the entire transmission bandwidth in a single OFDM symbol. (Nilsson [0031])
The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated
Liu teaches wherein a bitfield in the positioning activation request message indicates whether PFS is activated ([0103][0156] ([0155] gNB may dynamically activate partial SRS resources out of all the configured SRS resources associated with the same aperiodic SRS triggering state for antenna switching; aperiodic SRS triggering state for the UE with the same UE capability are listed as a bitmap, partial sounding across frequency.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because Liu teaches that, the enhancement on SRS switching is supported recently including identifying and specifying enhancements on aperiodic SRS triggering to facilitate more flexible triggering. (Liu [0103])
Claim(s) 24, 25is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Nilsson and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #112 electronic R3-211823, Online, May 17 – 27, 2021, Source: CATT; Title: Consideration on Latency Improvement, Agenda Item: 19.3, Document for: Discussion and Decision hereinafter 3GPP; copy attached.
As to claim 24. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach , wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message.
3GPP teaches wherein the positioning activation request message is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Positioning Activation Request message. ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
As to claim 25. The combination of Cui and Nilsson does not teach wherein: the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message.
3GPP teaches wherein: the positioning information request message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message, and the positioning information response message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Response message. . ([section 5, page 5] 8.1.3.2, step 6-2, , NRPPa transport, activate UE SRS transmission, activation request to UE; Step 8-2, NRPPA request UE SRS activation response)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of 3GPP with the teaching of Cui and Nilsson because 3GPP teaches that, NR positioning enhancements signalling, and procedures would improve positioning latency of the NR positioning methods, for DL and DL+UL positioning methods, reduces latency related to the request and response of location measurements or location estimate and positioning assistance data.(3GPP[introduction])
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 26, 27, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 16 prior art Kim et al. [US 10575166 B2] teaches in (54) Fig. 6, A conventional UE reports all frequency bands that it supports via rf-Parameters, and also reports a measurement gap requirement for respective frequency bands via measParameters.
(55) In the second exemplary embodiment of the invention, the UE 405 determines information to be included in rf-Parmeters and measParameters, considering a mode of a current serving network. If the UE 405 is connected to an FDD network, it reports FDD bands and the measurement gap requirement for the FDD bands, via a legacy field, e.g., rf-Parameters and measParameters. The UE 405 reports information regarding a mode, different from that of a current serving network, via an extension field (e.g., rf-Parameters and measParameters defined as a lower field of a UE-EUTRA-Capability-v11xy-IEs field).
And also in (56) For example, FGI 25 is related to inter-frequency for E-UTRA bands. Although the UE 405 has set FGI 25 of featureGroupindicators of UE-EUTRA-Capability as a legacy related-field to ‘1’ in order to indicate that it has been subjected to an IOT for inter-frequency measurement with respect to the FDD bands, if the FDD bands and TDD bands are reported via rf-Parameters of the legacy related-field, the eNB of the previous release may mistakenly determine that the UE 405 has been subjected to an IOT for inter-frequency measurement with respect to all bands including FDD bands and TDD bands. Therefore, exemplary embodiments of the invention report bands with respect to modes.
And prior art Lin et al. [US 20180242101 A1] disclose in para [0162] Fig. 2,Each network node 201, 203, 205 may then receive the device-unique reference signal transmissions 217a-c by the wireless device 209. Each network node 201, 203, 205 may determine a position measurement of the wireless device 209 based on the device-unique reference signal transmissions 217a-c. Further, each network node 201, 203, 205 may transmit, to the network node 207, an indication of the position measurement. Finally, the network node 207 may receive the position measurements and may then determine the position of the wireless device 209 based on the position measurements.
And also in para . [0208] As previously described, the basic concept of UL TDOA is that a positioning server (e.g., E-SMLC) requests the serving eNB to configure the UE with an UL signal). The eNB provides configuration details back to E-SMLC, which distributes the information to a set of Location Measurement Units (LMUs) (e.g., logical node which may be implemented in an eNB or deployed as a standalone unit). When the uplink signal has been transmitted, TOA is estimated at the LMUs and reported to the E-SLMC where the UE position is estimated.
However, combination or prior arts records Kim and Lin does not teach
For claims 26 and 53
receiving, from one or more neighboring base stations of the UE, a measurement response message including an indication that the one or more neighboring base stations do not support PFS within the frequency hopping SRS transmission.
Therefore, claims 26 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claim 27 of claim 26, would also be allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GAO; Yukai et al. [ US 20190253214 A1] SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL ANTENNA SWITCHING IN SCHEDULED ENTITIES HAVING AT LEAST FOUR ANTENNAS
Shin; Cheol Kyu et al. [US 20190158244 A1] METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING REFERENCE SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413