DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 has the limitation “wherein the second biasing torque and the fourth biasing torque are exerted via the first torque arm.”, this is confusing. The preceding limitation states “the first biasing torque and the third biasing torque are exerted via the first torque arm”, which suggests that all for biasing torques are exerted onto the first torque arm and none to the second torque arm. There is also no structural relationship between the second and fourth biasing torques and the first torque arm. For examination purposes the examiner will interpret the claim as, “wherein the second biasing torque and the fourth biasing torque are exerted via the second torque arm.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20220035419 A1; hereinafter “Park”) in view of Hwang (US 20210373612 A1; hereinafter “Hwang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses a folding device (100A in figure 1) comprising:
a continuous display (126 in figure 1);
a hinge assembly (106 in figure 1), defining a first hinge axis (HA1 in figure 3A) and a second hinge axis (HA2 in figure 3A), comprising a barrel (304 in figure 3A);
a first hinge arm assembly (302(1) in figure 3A), rotatably connected to the hinge assembly (106) about the first hinge axis (HA1);
a second hinge arm assembly (302(2) in figure 3A), rotatably connected to the hinge assembly (106) about the second hinge axis (HA2);
a first shaft (320(1) in figure 3C), defining a first shaft axis (the hinge shaft 320(1) is on the same axis as the first hinge axis HA1 in figure 3C), connected to the barrel (the hinge shaft 320(1) is connected to the communication member 304 in figure 3C);
a second shaft (320(2) in figure 3D), defining a second shaft axis (the hinge shaft 320(1) is on the same axis as the second hinge axis HA2 in figures 3C and 3D), connected to the barrel (the hinge shaft 320(2) is connected to the communication member 304 in figures 3C and 3D);
a first spring member (332(1) in figure 3C), configured to exert a first biasing torque about the first shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”);
a second spring member (332(2) in figure 3C), configured to exert a second biasing torque about the second shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”);
a first torque arm (306(1) in figure 3B), mechanically coupled to the first spring member (the timing arm 306(1) is mechanically coupled to the timing gear 332(1) in figure 3C), configured to:
rotate about the first shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”); and
slide relative to the first hinge arm assembly (the timing arm 306(1) has a travel slot 326(1) which allows it to slide relative to the friction arm 302(1) in figure 4D); and
a second torque arm (306(2) in figure 3B), mechanically coupled to the second spring member (the timing arm 306(2) is mechanically coupled to the spring 330(2) in figure 3B), configured to:
rotate about the second shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”); and
slide relative to the second hinge arm assembly (the timing arm 306(2) has a travel slot 326(2) which allows it to slide relative to the friction arm 302(2) in figure 4D).
Park does not teach a first spring member, mounted about the first shaft, and
a second spring member, mounted about the second shaft.
However, Hwang teaches a first spring member (242a in figure 2), mounted about the first shaft (231 in figure 1), and a second spring member (242b in figure 2), mounted about the second shaft (232 in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a first spring member, mounted about the first shaft, and a second spring member, mounted about the second shaft into Park, as taught by Hwang. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to provide a cam-type hinge force to give the device a smoother resistance, making it feel like it locks into certain positions when folded or unfolded. ([Paragraph 0080] of Hwang)
Regarding Claim 2, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, wherein a transverse cross-section of the hinge assembly (106 in figure 1) is coplanar with a longitudinal cross-section of the continuous display (126 in figure 1) when the continuous display is fully opened (a cross-section of the hinge assembly 106 is coplanar with a cross-section of the display 126 when the device is fully opened in figures 1, 5A, and 6L).
Regarding Claim 3, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first supporting plate (shown in figure 6B below) connected to the first hinge arm assembly (302(1) in figure 6B);
a first bias member (330(1) in figure 6B), connected to the first supporting plate (the first supporting plate is connected to the spring 330(1) in figure 6B below), configured to facilitate articulation of the first supporting plate relative to the first hinge assembly (the spring 330(1) helps move the Fr Arm (302(1) and the first supporting plate relative to the hinge assembly 106 in figure 6B below);
a second supporting plate (shown in figure 6B below) connected to the second hinge arm assembly (302(2) in figure 6B); and
a second bias member (330(2) in figure 6B), connected to the second supporting plate (the second supporting plate is connected to the spring 330(2) in figure 6B below), configured to facilitate articulation of the second supporting plate relative to the second hinge assembly (the spring 330(2) helps move the Fr Arm (302(2) and the second supporting plate relative to the hinge assembly 106 in figure 6B below).
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 3, wherein the first bias member (230(1) in figure 3B) comprises a first spring loaded pin (318(1) in figure 3B), and
wherein the second bias member (230(2) in figure 3B) comprises a second spring loaded pin (318(2) in figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, wherein the hinge assembly comprises:
a first hinge gear (332(1) in figure 3C) configured to rotate about the first hinge axis (the timing gear 332(1) is configured to rotate about the first hinge axis HA1 in figure 3C); and
a second hinge gear (332(2) in figure 3C) configured to rotate about the second hinge axis (the timing gear 332(2) is configured to rotate around the second hinge axis HA2 in figure 3C), wherein the first gear is configured to mesh with the second gear to synchronize movement of the first hinge arm assembly and the second hinge arm assembly ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing arms 306 can also define timing gears 332. In this case, the timing gears 332 directly intermesh with one another without intervening gears. The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, wherein the first shaft (320(1) in figure 3C) is permanently attached to a first sidewall defined by the barrel ([Paragraph 0023] “The communication member 304 can define hinge shafts 320.” The hinge shaft 320(1) is permanently attached to a sidewall defined by the communication member 304 in figure 3C), and wherein the second shaft (320(2) in figure 3C) is permanently attached to a second sidewall defined by the barrel ([Paragraph 0023] “The communication member 304 can define hinge shafts 320.” The hinge shaft 320(2) is permanently attached to a sidewall defined by the communication member 304 in figure 3C).
Regarding Claim 11, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the first biasing torque exerted by the first spring and the second biasing torque exerted by the second spring modulate an amount of force needed to open and close the folding device ([Paragraph 0043] “Viewed from one perspective, the offset of the timing axes TA from the hinge axes HA can cause the timing arms 306 to be forced against the springs 330 as the first and second portions approach the zero-degree orientation. The timing arms 306 compress the springs 330 and store potential energy in the springs. The potential energy is exerted on the timing arms. Due to the offset between the timing axes TA and the hinge axes HA, the timing arms 306 create a torque on the first and second portions that can be viewed as a pop-up force. Thus, the device may be held in this zero-degree orientation, such as with a lock. When the lock is removed, the pop-up force created by the compressed springs 330 can force the first and second portions to rotate to an open orientation, such as 20-30 degrees, for example. At this point in the rotation, the springs 330 are uncompressed and thus do not create any more pop-up force.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, Park does not teach a third spring mounted about the first shaft and configured to exert a third biasing torque about the first shaft axis; and
a fourth spring mounted about the second shaft and configured to exert a fourth biasing
torque about the second shaft axis.
However, Hwang teaches a third spring (242c in figure 2) mounted about the first shaft (231 in figure 2) and configured to exert a third biasing torque about the first shaft axis ([Paragraph 0087] “The plurality of elastic bodies 242a, 242b, 242c, and 242d may provide an elastic force required for cam motion of the first cam member 241a and the second cam member 241b, respectively.”); and
a fourth spring (242d in figure 2) mounted about the second shaft (232 in figure 2) and configured to exert a fourth biasing torque about the second shaft axis ([Paragraph 0087] “The plurality of elastic bodies 242a, 242b, 242c, and 242d may provide an elastic force required for cam motion of the first cam member 241a and the second cam member 241b, respectively.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a third spring mounted about the first shaft and configured to exert a third biasing torque about the first shaft axis; and a fourth spring mounted about the second shaft and configured to exert a fourth biasing torque about the second shaft axis into Park, as taught by Hwang. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to provide a cam-type hinge force to give the device a smoother resistance, making it feel like it locks into certain positions when folded or unfolded. ([Paragraph 0080] of Hwang)
Regarding Claim 13 as best understood, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, Park in view of Hwang further teach wherein the first biasing torque and the third biasing torque ([Paragraph 0087] “The plurality of elastic bodies 242a, 242b, 242c, and 242d may provide an elastic force required for cam motion of the first cam member 241a and the second cam member 241b, respectively.” Of Hwang) are exerted via the first torque arm (306(1) in figure 3B of Park), and wherein the second biasing torque and the fourth biasing torque ([Paragraph 0087] “The plurality of elastic bodies 242a, 242b, 242c, and 242d may provide an elastic force required for cam motion of the first cam member 241a and the second cam member 241b, respectively.” Of Hwang) are exerted via the second torque arm (306(2) in figure 3B of Park).
Regarding Claim 14, Park teaches a folding device comprising:
a first assembly (128(1) in figure 1);
a second assembly (128(2) in figure 1);
a continuous display spanning the first assembly and the second assembly (the display 126 spans across the first portion housing 128(1) and the second portion housing (128(2) in figure 1);
a hinge assembly (106 in figure 1), (HA1 in figure 3A) and a second hinge axis (HA2 in figure 3A), comprising a barrel (304 in figure 3A);
a first hinge arm assembly (302(1) in figure 3A) connected to the first assembly (the first friction arm assembly 302(1) is connected to the first portion housing 128(1) in figures 2 and 3A) and rotatably connected to the hinge assembly (106) about the first hinge axis (HA1);
a second hinge arm assembly (302(2) in figure 3A) connected to the second assembly (the second friction arm assembly 302(2) is connected to the second portion housing 128(2) in figures 2 and 3A) and rotatably connected to the hinge assembly (106) about the second hinge axis (HA2);
a first shaft (320(1) in figure 3C), defining a first shaft axis (the hinge shaft 320(1) is on the same axis as the first hinge axis HA1 in figure 3C), connected to the barrel (the hinge shaft 320(1) is connected to the communication member 304 in figure 3C);
a second shaft (320(2) in figure 3D), defining a second shaft axis (the hinge shaft 320(1) is on the same axis as the second hinge axis HA2 in figures 3C and 3D), connected to the barrel (the hinge shaft 320(2) is connected to the communication member 304 in figures 3C and 3D);
a first spring (332(1) in figure 3C), configured to exert a first biasing torque about the first shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”);
a second spring (332(2) in figure 3C), configured to exert a second biasing torque about the second shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”);
a first torque arm (306(1) in figure 3B), mechanically coupled to the first spring member (the timing arm 306(1) is mechanically coupled to the timing gear 332(1) in figure 3C), configured to rotate about the first shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”) and transmit the first biasing torque to the first assembly ([Paragraph 0027] “Biasing members 328, such as springs 330 can bias the timing arms 306 toward the hinge assembly 106 and/or the friction arms 302 away from the hinge assembly. The timing arms 306 can convey this force to the hinge assembly 106 to create a pop-up force from the closed orientation to an open orientation.”); and
a second torque arm (306(2) in figure 3B), mechanically coupled to the second spring (the timing arm 306(2) is mechanically coupled to the spring 330(2) in figure 3B), configured to rotate about the second shaft axis ([Paragraph 0028] “The timing gears 332 can synchronize rotation (e.g., extent of rotation) of the first and second portions 102 and 104 around the first and second hinge axes HA1 and HA2.”) and transmit the second biasing torque to the second assembly ([Paragraph 0027] “Biasing members 328, such as springs 330 can bias the timing arms 306 toward the hinge assembly 106 and/or the friction arms 302 away from the hinge assembly. The timing arms 306 can convey this force to the hinge assembly 106 to create a pop-up force from the closed orientation to an open orientation.”).
Park does not teach a first spring member, mounted about the first shaft, and
a second spring member, mounted about the second shaft.
However, Hwang teaches a first spring member (242a in figure 2), mounted about the first shaft (231 in figure 1), and a second spring member (242b in figure 2), mounted about the second shaft (232 in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a first spring member, mounted about the first shaft, and a second spring member, mounted about the second shaft into Park, as taught by Hwang. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to provide a cam-type hinge force to give the device a smoother resistance, making it feel like it locks into certain positions when folded or unfolded. ([Paragraph 0080] of Hwang)
Regarding Claim 15, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 14, Park further teaches wherein the first biasing torque exerted by the first spring and the second biasing torque exerted by the second spring modulate an amount of force needed to open and close the folding device ([Paragraph 0043] “Viewed from one perspective, the offset of the timing axes TA from the hinge axes HA can cause the timing arms 306 to be forced against the springs 330 as the first and second portions approach the zero-degree orientation. The timing arms 306 compress the springs 330 and store potential energy in the springs. The potential energy is exerted on the timing arms. Due to the offset between the timing axes TA and the hinge axes HA, the timing arms 306 create a torque on the first and second portions that can be viewed as a pop-up force. Thus, the device may be held in this zero-degree orientation, such as with a lock. When the lock is removed, the pop-up force created by the compressed springs 330 can force the first and second portions to rotate to an open orientation, such as 20-30 degrees, for example. At this point in the rotation, the springs 330 are uncompressed and thus do not create any more pop-up force.”).
Regarding Claim 16, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 14, Park does not teach a third spring mounted about the first shaft and configured to exert a third biasing torque about the first shaft axis; and
a fourth spring mounted about the second shaft and configured to exert a fourth biasing
torque about the second shaft axis.
However, Hwang teaches a third spring (242c in figure 2) mounted about the first shaft (231 in figure 2) and configured to exert a third biasing torque about the first shaft axis ([Paragraph 0087] “The plurality of elastic bodies 242a, 242b, 242c, and 242d may provide an elastic force required for cam motion of the first cam member 241a and the second cam member 241b, respectively.”); and
a fourth spring (242d in figure 2) mounted about the second shaft (232 in figure 2) and configured to exert a fourth biasing torque about the second shaft axis ([Paragraph 0087] “The plurality of elastic bodies 242a, 242b, 242c, and 242d may provide an elastic force required for cam motion of the first cam member 241a and the second cam member 241b, respectively.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a third spring mounted about the first shaft and configured to exert a third biasing torque about the first shaft axis; and a fourth spring mounted about the second shaft and configured to exert a fourth biasing torque about the second shaft axis into Park, as taught by Hwang. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to provide a cam-type hinge force to give the device a smoother resistance, making it feel like it locks into certain positions when folded or unfolded. ([Paragraph 0080] of Hwang)
Regarding Claim 17, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 14, Park in view of Hwang further teach wherein the first torque arm (306(1) in figure 3B of Park) further transmits the third torque (the elastic body 242c transmits a third torque onto the first rotating shaft 231 in figure 2 of Hwang) to the first assembly (the torque of the elastic body 242c of Hwang transmits to the first timing arm 306(1) which transmits to the first portion housing 128(1) of Park), and wherein the second torque arm (306(2) in figure 3B of Park) further transmits the fourth torque (the elastic body 242d transmits a fourth torque onto the second rotating shaft 232 in figure 2 of Hwang) to the second assembly (the torque of the elastic body 242d of Hwang transmits to the second timing arm 306(2) which transmits to the second portion housing 128(2) of Park).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20220035419 A1; hereinafter “Park”) in view of Hwang (US 20210373612 A1; hereinafter “Hwang”) and further in view of Lee (US 20200233464 A1; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 6, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 5, except wherein the hinge assembly comprises: a first auxiliary gear; and
a second auxiliary gear, wherein the first auxiliary gear is configured to mesh with the first hinge gear and the second auxiliary gear to synchronize movement of the first hinge arm assembly and the second hinge arm assembly, and wherein the second auxiliary gear is configured to mesh with the second hinge gear and the first auxiliary gear to synchronize movement of the first hinge arm assembly and the second hinge arm assembly.
However, Lee teaches wherein the hinge assembly (511 in figure 9) comprises: a first auxiliary gear (593 in figure 9); and
a second auxiliary gear (594 in figure 9), wherein the first auxiliary gear (593) is configured to mesh with the first hinge gear (591 in figure 9) and the second auxiliary gear (594) to synchronize movement of the first hinge arm assembly and the second hinge arm assembly ([Paragraph 0098] “When the first gear 591 rotates, the third gear 593 connected to the first gear 591 rotates; when the third gear 593 rotates, the fourth gear 594 connected to the third gear 593 rotates; and when the fourth gear 594 rotates, the second gear 592 connected to the fourth gear 594 rotates.”), and wherein the second auxiliary gear (594) is configured to mesh with the second hinge gear (592 in figure 9) and the first auxiliary gear (593) to synchronize movement of the first hinge arm assembly and the second hinge arm assembly ([Paragraph 0098] “When a rotation force is applied one of the gears, the first gear 591 and the fourth gear 594 rotate in a substantially same direction, and the second gear 592 and the third gear 593 rotate in a substantially same direction. The first gear 591 and the second gear 592 rotate in opposite directions, and the third gear 593 and the fourth gear 594 rotate in opposite directions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein a first auxiliary gear; and a second auxiliary gear, wherein the first auxiliary gear is configured to mesh with the first hinge gear and the second auxiliary gear to synchronize movement of the first hinge arm assembly and the second hinge arm assembly, and wherein the second auxiliary gear is configured to mesh with the second hinge gear and the first auxiliary gear to synchronize movement of the first hinge arm assembly and the second hinge arm assembly into Park, as taught by Lee. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to prevent damage to the display and the hinge that can be caused by interference between simultaneously rotated shafts. ([Paragraph 0003-0004] of Lee).
Regarding Claim 10, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, except wherein the continuous display comprises an organic light-emitting diode display.
However, Lee teaches wherein the continuous display (900 in figure 1) comprises an organic light-emitting diode display ([Paragraph 0072] “the light emitting display panel 900 may be an organic light emitting diode (“OLED”) display panel 900.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the continuous display comprises an organic light-emitting diode display into Park, as taught by Lee. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to have a display that is flexible or foldable and resistant to creasing and breaking ([Paragraph 0072] of Lee).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20220035419 A1; hereinafter “Park”) in view of Hwang (US 20210373612 A1; hereinafter “Hwang”) and further in view of Rosen et al (US 20160320809 A1; hereinafter “Rosen”).
Regarding Claim 9, Park in view of Hwang teaches the folding device of claim 1, except wherein the hinge assembly comprises a barrel cap that is permanently attached to the barrel.
However, Rosen teaches wherein the hinge assembly (400 in figure 4) comprises a barrel cap (630 and 640 in figure 4) that is permanently attached to the barrel ([0030] “Referring back to FIGS. 4 and 5, in at least some examples, the hinge assembly 400 includes a first end cap 630 and a second end cap 640 (shown in FIG. 4). Each end cap 630, 640 may include a plurality of clamshelled pieces that are coupled together (e.g., using glue), and an anodized aluminum shell that is pressed over the clamshelled pieces to facilitate concealing a seam between the clamshelled pieces. At least a portion of the first hinge body 410 and/or the second hinge body 480 extend between the first end cap 630 and the second end cap 640.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the hinge assembly comprises a barrel cap that is permanently attached to the barrel into Park, as taught by Lee. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to conceal a seam between the barrel and the cap preventing dirt and other outside debris from entering the hinge. ([0030] of Rosen).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and
are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. § 103 Park et al (US 20220035419 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20210373612 A1).
Hwang teaches a first spring member (242a in figure 2), mounted about the first shaft (231 in figure 1), and a second spring member (242b in figure 2), mounted about the second shaft (232 in figure 2). Hwang’s teaching of the first and second springs mounted about the first and second shaft could easily be incorporated into Park’s teaching of the folding device and its hinge assembly. The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to provide a cam-type hinge force to give the device a smoother resistance, making it feel like it locks into certain positions when folded or unfolded. ([Paragraph 0080] of Hwang)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAKOTA M TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841